Sandays
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sandays

Sandays Warren Road Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0PQ England
Traveller (12)
Dining (1)
View over back garden
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#6 of 10 B&Bs in Dawlish
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Sandays Bed & Breakfast has three lovely en-suite bedrooms with all facilities and free parking on the premises. There is a varied breakfast menu to suit all tastes and diets. Unlimited use of guest lounge and dining area. Free Wifi. It is a 1-2 minute level walk to the railway station and the bus stop, 3 minutes to all amenities, links golf course and popular beaches (blue flag status over recent years). We are located on the Exe Estuary trail popular with cyclists and walkers. The Warren is an internationally recognised nature reserve. We are less than half an hour by car or train from the beautiful city of Exeter, and within easy reach of many of the delights of South Devon.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business

Location

Sandays Warren Road Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0PQ England
43Reviews0Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
laurenbluehair wrote a review Aug 2020
Swindon, United Kingdom8 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location: Extremely convenient for the beach, shops and restaurants. Beach was literally a 3 -5 minute level walk.

Room/Property: Was clean to a very high standard as was the bathroom. Beds were comfortable and made when we went out and toiletries and teas/coffees were topped up where needed. Room included TV, kettle, hair dryer, fan and good sized wardrobes/drawers and two chairs. Towels and soap etc supplied.

Breakfast: There was a good choice of breakfasts ranging from cereal to a full English. We only had a full English., so we can only comment on this. It was excellent! Drinks were included (fresh orange juice) and tea/coffee etc.

Service: Great communication with the owners prior to arriving. Carole was very welcoming when we arrived and offered local information of places to go if needed. She explained the process of breakfast and room info. Also Covid related processes which were efficient.

Additional Info: Parking is free onsite, free wifi and there are games and a shared fridge available. Great value for money!

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carole Linnell, Owner at Sandays
Responded 29 Aug 2020
Many thanks for this Lauren, such a comprehensive review! I'm sure it will be really helpful for anyone considering visiting us. Hope to see you again, Carole
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kskings wrote a review Jul 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom19 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband, son and I were Sandays first visitors since they were allowed to reopen. We had absolutely no concerns about hygiene and cleanliness concerning Covid19. We have been several times and even before Covid Sandays has always been spotless. Extra precautions are in place such as sanitiser and fewer guests in between each visit. Carole is a welcoming host and her breakfasts are really great. it is very convenient for Dawlish warren and the Mount Pleasant pub which we also like visiting. We shall most certainly be staying here again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms are fine, back one is nearer train line but not really a problem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carole Linnell, Owner at Sandays
Responded 9 Jul 2020
Thank you for this, and it was lovely to see you all again. It's wonderful to be back in business and see Dawlish Warren come back to life again. We all proceed with caution, but every day we hear of something else in the area managing to get started again. There is much to be enjoyed here, especially with the help of some summer sunshine! Carole
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
barry210357 wrote a review Aug 2020
Burntwood, United Kingdom63 contributions58 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our eldest daughter was staying within a couple of minutes walk from Sandays, so, we were very pleased with the location, and our room, complete with en suite, and a 4 poster bed was kept to a very clean standard.
Carole, our host, was very informative and served us a hearty breakfast, each of the 3 mornings we stayed there.
Most of our days were spent out and about with our daughter, her partner and his family, and our granddaughters, around Dawlish Warren, so, the B&B at Sandays was our relaxing haven at the end of the evenings.
We would not hesitate to recommend Sandays, and look forward to further visits in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carole Linnell, Owner at Sandays
Responded 29 Aug 2020
Thank you Barry, great meeting you both. Carole
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deb K wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After such a horrendous year Carole made us welcome and we felt very safe in our surroundings. Sandays is in a perfect location and we were very comfortable in our room. The breakfast was absolutely perfect, tasty and well presented, always served with a smile. Carole was especially helpful and was knowledgeable on local information and thing to do. Thank you again and hope to see you again Very soon Debbie and Les King
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carole Linnell, Owner at Sandays
Responded 21 May 2021
Thank you for being our first guests for many months, and making it such a pleasure to be open again! Look forward to seeing you again in the future. Carole
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nellie1965 wrote a review Aug 2022
Carterton, England, United Kingdom48 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for 4 nights over the August bank holiday. We were greeted by Carole on arrival who was very friendly and explained how things work with breakfast and the keys for the doors. We arrived early but our room was ready and we could park our car and head off to the beach. The room is not massive but more than big enough as we only spent limited time there as we were always out and about. The room was so clean and tidy with a lovely comfortable 4 poster bed!!!!. You choose your breakfast the night before so when you come down you can have cereal and then the rest is ready for you when you want it. Food was very nice and tasty local produce is used. So close to the beach and local pubs etc that walking is no issue. We both really enjoyed our stay and will be back in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carole Linnell, Owner at Sandays
Responded 3 Sept 2022
Hello Neil, thank you for this lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you both here and we look forward to the next time. All the best, Carole
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nadia B wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed here recently and found the room to be clean and liked the Victorian styling, including the ruffles above the bed. The breakfast was tasty and you wouldn’t leave hungry, but unfortunately I didn’t find it varied enough day to day and found the hostess to be stern and treated us like children, although we are pensioners!
My reason for saying this is because I couldn’t manage all my breakfast and wanted to take my boiled egg with me for later at the beach, but I was told I wasn’t allowed to.
The following morning, she cut my portion, although I didn’t ask for it. What’s more, when I mentioned that not everything I ordered was brought to me, the hostess replied, that breakfast time was over!
The third morning she brought me my boiled egg(as requested with shell on) cut in half (see pic)so that, God forbid, I would not to take it with me.
I handed my husband a very rude letter I received from the hostess regarding breakfasts (please see photo).
From our experience of the breakfasts we decided to eat elsewhere.
Please note: If you decide to stay, take coffee with you as she provided coffee sachets which had solidified.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carole Linnell, Owner at Sandays
Responded 20 Aug 2023
Hello Mrs. Nadyia Boden, There are a few house rules at Sandays which we have never had the need to put into words or writing up to now but here goes! Firstly, breakfast is varied and plentiful but we expect it to be eaten in the breakfast room during the normal breakfast period . We don't provide for packed lunches or treats for family/friends or any other such things. Secondly, we don't tolerate abuse or anti-social behaviour of any sort, either to us or to cause disturbance to other guests. We reserve the right to terminate a stay immediately if this occurs. Finally, the option that you were offered and accepted to change to "room only" is a decision that is normally only available at the point of booking (for obvious reasons of planning, keeping food waste to a minimum etc). With a maximum of only 6 guests we get to know people and breakfast is generally a lovely point of contact when guests regularly chat with each other and relax at the start of the day. Sandays is our home and we often cross paths several times during the day with our guests and enjoy sharing their experiences or providing advice. It is not an anonymous approach here as it is in larger places so there is a collective responsibility for the happiness and security of everyone. Of course I realise that is not everyone's cup of tea or (without wishing to offend) everyone's soft boiled egg. I can only wish you the best for future less miserable stays elsewhere. Carole
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
royfootballcoach wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom26 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our first visit to Sandays, and what an excellent b & b.
The moment we walked through the door we knew we would enjoy our stay.
Lovely clean accommodation, our rooms were clean and extremely comfortable.
Carole and David are warm friendly hosts, always willing to help.
I would fully recommend this b and b .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carole Linnell, Owner at Sandays
Responded 19 Jun 2022
Many thanks! It was a pleasure meeting you all and hope to see you again in the future. All the best, Carole
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annette wrote a review Sept 2023
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Another lovely stay at Sandays. Room was clean and very comfortable and had everything I needed. Lovely comfy bed and great quality linen. Plenty of space to store things in room. Great breakfast as always. Free car parking. Very convenient location near to local amenities and train station. Friendly welcome and chats with Carole the host. Will definitely be staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carole Linnell, Owner at Sandays
Responded 27 Sept 2023
Many thanks and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Carole
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JohnandSharon30 wrote a review Sept 2023
Gloucester, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Another fantastic stay. Excellent rooms and a wide selection for breakfast. The host Carol cannot do enough for you and is most welcoming. We will definitely be going back. Thanks John, Sharon and family.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carole Linnell, Owner at Sandays
Responded 14 Sept 2023
Many thanks, much appreciated. Lovely to see you all again. Carole
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Malc H wrote a review Oct 2023
Sheffield7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful homely B&B in Dawlish Warren. 2 doubles and 1 twin room. Lovely owners. Wide choice at breakfast. On-site parking. Very close to railway station, bus stop, beach and sea. Nothing too much trouble.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
kskings wrote a tip Jul 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom19 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are fine, back one is nearer train line but not really a problem"
Read full review
wormington97 wrote a tip Apr 2018
Worcester, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms very good"
Read full review
Sandra M wrote a tip Oct 2016
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 1 has the 4 poster bed."
Read full review
Mary B wrote a tip Feb 2016
Winchcombe, England, United Kingdom18 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for room 2"
Read full review
bashbonk wrote a tip Jul 2015
wickford35 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"four poster bed in large front bedroom"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dawlish area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonDawlish
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SANDAYS - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Sandays
Which popular attractions are close to Sandays?
Nearby attractions include Dawlish Warren Beach (0.3 miles), Dawlish Warren Nature Reserve (0.1 miles), and The Paint Hub (0.03 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandays?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Sandays?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sandays?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sandays?
Conveniently located restaurants include Forest Fungi/ The Farm Shop, The Mount Pleasant Inn, and Velo Shack.
Are there any historical sites close to Sandays?
Many travellers enjoy visiting A La Ronde (3.4 miles) and Powderham (3.6 miles).
All Dawlish HotelsDawlish Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DawlishHotels near Sandays
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire