We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Sandaway Beach Holiday Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

528 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 527: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was here in September for the 9th year running, the caravan was spotless and very homely, the staff as always are very helpful. It was an amazing holiday, so good we have booked up for two holidays next year one in April and September, so that says it all really

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joolz B
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Joolz Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts on the cleanliness of the caravan. I am pleased to hear that you will be coming back to see us again - our...

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I will never in my life go budget again , where do l start OMG , got a wowcher voucher for the October half term bargain l thought but my oh my , the caravan was budget for sure , tiny , damp , greasy oven and work surfaces , the fridge had crumbs of food everywhere obviously wasn't cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jody995
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Jody I am very sorry that the accommodation provided during your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. This is a very popular holiday park and the caravans are in constant use. I wonder if you told the park manager or head office of your displeasure while you were there, it is always so difficult to deal...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for October half term mid week. We were in a two bedroom caravan. Booked through a wowcher deal so good price for school holidays. The caravan was clean, great supply's, very good hot water and heated well, even a oil radiator for the twin room. It is a small park and we did get some basics in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sians100
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Sians Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments. We take great pride in keeping all grades of accommodation up to a very high standard and it’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. All comments will be passed on to our Housekeeper and the cleaning team. We are...

Bungay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016

This was our 6the visit to Sandaway. Spent first week with my husband. My daughter and grandaughter joined us for week 2. Stayed in platinum caravan, usually have gold but they were fully booked. As always very pleased with accomodation but didn't think there was much difference between platinum and gold. Had breakfast pack for 1st time and thought it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Sharon Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were. We pride ourselves on our customer care at John Fowler Holidays, and are delighted to hear that you shared that experience. Loyal customers such as yourselves are...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

This place is friendly, welcoming and amazing views and the caravan had great views and clean and quite. After a bad experince at another JF (John Fowler) site we was worried what we would walk into. Zoe is down to earth and friendly, so is Lee and Kayleigh will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. I would recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steven G
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Steven Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments. It is comforting to learn that we have been able to restore your confidence in John Fowler Holidays. We are a family business, having been in existence for 60 years and have always prided ourselves...

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely holiday and thankyou to all of the staff who have been so welcoming. The caravan was very nice and comfortable. We enjoyed the short walk down to the beach and the scenery is beautiful! Thankyou Zoe and lee

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chloe m
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Chloe Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments. We take great pride in keeping all grades of accommodation up to a very high standard and it’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. All comments will be passed on to our Housekeeper and the cleaning team. We are...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Thank you Zoe, Kayleigh and Lee for making a bad start to our holiday turn good and enjoyable. From the moment we arrived Zoe was warm and friendly and made us feel welcome. The caravan was warm and amazing views. Kayleigh is great allways willing to help and very friendly. Lee great barman nothing was to much trouble and getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbell73593
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Tinkerbell Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the reception and bar teams, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts on the customer service. We would hope that you will come back to see us again very soon. Our returning customers...

Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

I find it very surprising reading through these reviews on how diverse they can be so I felt it necessary to write a review which I practically never do. When we arrived everything was set to go our keys were ready, we had expected an older caravan due to taking our dog with us and we got exactly what was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Masadies G
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments. Once again our Stripeys have been singled out for extra praise and there is no doubt that they deserve it. They are all doing a brilliant job this year and work extremely hard to...

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Very nice holiday site would recomend to everyone. Entertainment, restaurant And a bar.Childrens amusments. Great place to be.The caravans on site are very well looked after, clean and tidy There is also a shop on site that is well stocked.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael h
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Michael Thank you for awarding our park 5 stars following your recent visit, we really appreciate it. We try our best to cater for everyone and your review shows that we are getting it right. Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable....

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Terrible state!!...stayed 30th sep for 3nights....sofa bed was not good enough for a dog to sit on..forget two people sleeping on it!!....we did not have a dog!...no shower...minimal hot water for small bath...luckily it was only my wife and I who stayed there...NOT good for family summer holiday....people work hard for a week in this beautiful part of Devon....in summer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nigelbj
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Nigel I am very sorry that the accommodation provided during your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. This is a very popular holiday park and the chalets are in constant use. I wonder if you told the park manager or head office of your displeasure while you were there, it is always so difficult to deal...

412 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (403)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (40)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (266)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
0.4 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
496 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ilfracombe Holiday Park
The Ilfracombe Holiday Park
#24 of 26 in Ilfracombe
924 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#2 of 26 in Ilfracombe
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Bideford Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
1.2 mi away
Watermouth Lodges
Watermouth Lodges
#5 of 8 in Berrynarbor
211 reviews
14.4 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#1 of 9 in Westward Ho
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park stands on a low cliff at the very edge of the ocean with breathtaking sea views. Three minutes walk down a picturesque stepped path brings you to Sandaway Beach, privately owned by us, a rocky foreshore and a sprinkling of sand but a real sun trap and haven of peace and quiet, but beware of the tides. A short scramble over the rocks takes you to our secret spot, Mermaid's Cove, this is truly a place of magic and tranquillity for that really quiet swim or sunbathe. Relax with a cool drink in our Smuggler's Bar, take in the superb sea, and Exmoor views. Enjoy excellent pub grub, and basket meals from our Chef's Corner, and view our nightly family entertainment in our clubhouse. A feature of Sandaway is our lovely kidney shaped swimming pool. There is a well stocked shop, take-away meals, pool table, amusements, a special indoor children's soft play area and an outdoor playground. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandaway Beach Holiday Park

Address: Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 9ST, England (Formerly John Fowler Sandaway Holiday Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Price Range: £19 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Sandaway Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park Combe Martin, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandaway Beach Holiday Park staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Sandaway Beach Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would rather stay in a cardboard box”
 of 5 bubbles 513freddiet, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book the most expensive caravan you can afford”
 of 5 bubbles BeckyE755, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Caravans near the reception have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles LoveVegasBabyYeah, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“When advertises sleeps 4-6, think very carefully about the ages.”
 of 5 bubbles 96ehoh99, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in a Premier caravan which comes with bedlinen and a dish washer”
 of 5 bubbles JuneR704, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay