We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sandaway Beach Holiday Park

Sandaway, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 9ST England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (747)
Room & Suite (91)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 6 campsites in Combe Martin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park stands on a low cliff at the very edge of the ocean with breathtaking sea views. Three minutes walk down a picturesque stepped path brings you to Sandaway Beach, privately owned by us, a rocky foreshore and a sprinkling of sand but a real sun trap and haven of peace and quiet, but beware of the tides. A short scramble over the rocks takes you to our secret spot, Mermaid's Cove, this is truly a place of magic and tranquillity for that really quiet swim or sunbathe. Relax with a cool drink in our Smuggler's Bar, take in the superb sea, and Exmoor views. Enjoy excellent pub grub, and basket meals from our Chef's Corner, and view our nightly family entertainment in our clubhouse. A feature of Sandaway is our lovely kidney shaped swimming pool. There is a well stocked shop, take-away meals, pool table, amusements, a special indoor children's soft play area and an outdoor playground.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Internet
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
521Reviews69Q+A79Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 253
  • 125
  • 61
  • 36
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
NeilF wrote a review Oct 2023
Poole, United Kingdom17 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
Have stayed at this park before and most of the other JF parks. This stay was really bad unfortunately. We stayed in a silver caravan. Middle of the range. Obviously signs of wear in older caravans but clearly it should be clean? The door was warped and didn't shut properly so was cold and noisy. The cooker and oven were greasy and dirty. There was old hair caught around the base of the sofas, extractor in kitchen and bathroom were disgusting, the duvet and brown stains on it, the bathroom was not cleaned properly as had age old dust and dirt. Such a shame, went to reception twice to complain but long queues on both occasions. Does Silver accommodation mean dirty or dated? Not good enough on this occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Hi Pete, I am really sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. I am saddened that you were not able to make the team aware of these issues as they truly would have welcomed the opportunity to help rectify these for you. This being said, I appreciate this would have cast a shadow over your stay with us and we will certainly take this on board. I really hope you will stay with us again in the future and have a wholly more successful stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. Best wishes Emily
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ysanne23 wrote a review Oct 2023
Taunton, United Kingdom53 contributions72 helpful votes
Firstly I read a lot of the reviews and was really sceptical about staying here…but it’s what you pay for! I was sad we couldn’t upgrade as they had no availability….but that being said the comfort caravan was great for a weekend away! It was warm clean fresh bedding (who cares we had to put it on ourselves) little dishwasher/ cloth pack which was a bonus! There was plenty of room for us and for what we paid we couldn’t complain at all Don’t get my wrong it’s not the most fancy caravan park but for our 18 month old the soft play and arcade was perfect for her! She loved the club house and jumping on stage The cove was perfect for her to see the beach and sand The fish and chip shop was close by The dinosaur wildlife park was close by Was a bit cold to try the outdoor swimming but looked nice enough Staff were friendly enough Didn’t have any of the food cooked on site but by what we saw was just typical caravan park food! We stayed only 2/3 nights as had to get back for work etc but would stay again! Safe to say our daughter was loving her best life! At the end of the day it was a wet and muddy October budget caravan weekend and we made amazing memories! Only cons would be: The foxy shop only accepted cash so we couldn’t get our daughter a toy she wanted! Even though I offered to pay on card at the bar instead they still Couldn’t do it Couldn’t upgrade (but not the parks fault) Perhaps the kids entertainment could have started around 5/5:30 (a little Earlier) as as soon as our daughter was done by 5:10 for tea was a little wait for anything to start
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Hi there, It is a pleasure to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us overall. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this detailed review. We will be sure to take your feedback on board for future improvements to be made. I am so happy to hear that you made some amazing memories with your daughter and we hope to help you do the same in the future! Best wishes Emily
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hayley J wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
+1
So just returned from a 4 night stay, we booked through the sun holiday deal and rang up a couple of weeks ago to ask if we they could accommodate our dog! On arrival everything seemed ok. We took our 20 month old to the arcade where we saw there was a mini soft play however this was not kept to the best standard! Finally got into our caravan and I can only describe it as being transported back to the 70s! The caravan was clean however it seems like the matinance of the caravan has been neglected! When I looked up on the John fowler site it seems like we were given a value caravan which we were not made aware of! When we looked at our booking on sun holidays it said that we booked Comfort which we couldn’t see as being mentioned on their website! The bed was plastic and rock hard (sleeping in the car would have been comfier)! Our son had been sick so we enquired about laundry room to be told there was none and we had to go down to Ilfracombe to use the laundrette not helpful when you have a toddler who’s not well! The signal is rubbish in the site and no offer of WiFi unless in the club room! When packing up to come home I noticed on the back of the curtains in the living room there was mould! Overall we will not be returning to a John Fowler site.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Hi Hayley, We are really sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. When booking through the Sun Holidays we do advise that you will be allocated an accommodation in our 'Comfort' range which at Sandaway will be either a caravan or a chalet in our Value grade. With these properties being the older style accommodations, they will be of a more basic standard so I can only apologise if this did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We really are sorry to hear this. This winter we will be fully replacing our soft play area with brand new and improved equipment for our younger guests. The site does not have a laundrette unfortunately. We do also advise on the website that mobile signal is patchy on this site due to the coastal location. Better signal can be obtained on the higher parts of the site near the park entrance. Free WiFi is available in the main venue. We are so sorry to hear that you will not be returning, however we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. Best wishes Emily
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Funguy1982 wrote a review Oct 2023
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
Very great park with very great staff. Megan and Laura the entertainment staff very good at their job and know how to keep people entertained. Caravan very nice and clean only issue was over hanging trees in windy weather made some loud bangs. Overall great place and would return the team on the park are very engaged in the customer. Great place see you soon
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. I'm sorry that the weather caused disruption here, but I'm really happy to hear that you still had a great time! We really appreciate your lovely feedback about the caravan and team. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best wishes Emily
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
hazel b wrote a review Oct 2023
5 contributions3 helpful votes
Had 3 weeks at this holiday park,go there a couple of times a year for the last 4 years,very welcoming park,beautiful scenery from the park,very clean and some great people who work there,I have to give great thanks to Jo,Sam,jodie who helped me with my accomodation,with my elderly father,and a thankyou to mark from maintenence, very friendly people will look forward to seeing them again next year, would highly recommend a holiday there
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't miss out on visiting this park
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Hi Hazel, It is absolutely wonderful to read this great 5* review! I am so happy that you had such a great time with us at Sandaway and enjoyed all the park has to offer. We are really grateful for your kind words and I will be sure to pass this feedback along to Sam and the team who work so hard! We really are lucky to have them. Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes Emily
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chris H wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
+1
Where to start with this! Myself and my family stayed at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park in September 2023. We was really looking forward to our midweek getaway and traveled over 6 hours to get there. When checking in, the receptionist briefly went through the booking and stated 4 guests when the booking was made for 5. I showed her the booking confirmation and all I got back as a response was ‘oh……I have it down as 4’. There was no apology and instead the lady just carried on as if nothing was wrong. That aside we got the key and went to the caravan. Upon arriving at the caravan, we were greeted by the path around the steps and door into the caravan covered with cigarette butts everywhere (picture provided). Carrying on in, the caravan was a little small for 5 of us. We had a little look around and thought we would go over to reception and ask if we could upgrade to something bigger but before doing so, I used the bathroom and caught myself on some sharp metal studs sticking out of the wall where some trim had evidently been removed (pictures attached). I went to the reception and the same lady that checked us in was there, I said about the size, the outside area around the steps and the studs in the bathroom and requested if we could move. The lady really didn’t seem that bothered and just told me that they are fully booked and we could be moved or upgrade then carried on with whatever she was doing. No offer to try and sort the issues either which was infuriating. To add further salt to the wounds, I emailed John Fowlers on our return home regarding this and they just said if I would have told them about the issues that they would have sorted it. Evidently not John Fowler as I did but your incompetent receptionist did not listen/wasn’t bothered and did not offer to resolve. If it wasn’t for travel g 6 hours we would have drove back home and requested a full refund! Anyway on the first night, we noticed dead flies on the ceiling in the lounge area (picture attached) and then also found a previous occupants dirty underwear under one of the single beds (picture attached). The flies and underwear I didn’t bother telling the receptionist until checking out as after the experience with her the 1st day I felt as though I’d just be wasting my breath. Sure enough, she really couldn’t care when I told her on check out. She really shouldn’t be doing that job as she was useless. We stripped the beds before leaving as we would anywhere to help the cleaners out (even though they evidently don’t clean properly and found the duvets are stained (picture attached). The arcade onsite had hardly anything working properly and there was only 30 mins of kids entertainment. It’s not as family friendly as they say which was really disappointing. Needless to say, we just stayed away from site other than to sleep as it really isn’t what it’s cracked up to be. One of my kids also caught themselves whilst using the bathroom on the studs and cut themselves which again the reception lady who I believe is also the park manager wasn’t interested. The response from my complaint had not been taken very seriously and the park manager/receptionist has responded to John Fowlers customer service team with a load of bull really to save her own skin. It is 100% not acceptable and as such, I plan on notifying HSE as well as warning others to stay well away from here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t stay here, it really isn’t worth your hard earned money
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Responded 20 Oct 2023
Hello Chris, I am really sorry to hear that your stay with us has led to disappointment on this occasion. I believe you have been in touch with our customer care team in regards to this so please be assured this has been raised in full by the team and will be addressed appropriately with the team on the park for improvements to be made. Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. Best wishes Emily
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Evie C wrote a review Oct 2023
Bargoed, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
What an amazing site! Staff are all really friendly and what laughs we all had. Our accommodation was clean and tidy with everything you needed, clubhouse was clean and tidy although the toilets could do with a little upgrade. The prices of everything was really good, the food was lovely, especially Sunday dinner, it was a great afternoon with the lady in reception and the two in the restaurant area, would highly recommend! Already booked again for next year as the views are what made the holiday extra special. Thank you everyone at Sandaway 😁
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book your Sunday roast, pool can get a little busy, go early to the clubroom as when it gets busy...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Responded 16 Oct 2023
Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving us this review. It is wonderful to read what a lovely time you had staying with us. We can't wait to welcome you back next year! Best wishes Emily
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Beverley B wrote a review Oct 2023
5 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
When we booked, we did so via Hoeseasons. When we arrived, it was a John Fowler site, which, if I had known, I would not have booked, but how wrong I was. The caravan was a platinum plus 3, and it was so lovely, clean, comfortable, and spacious with amazing sea views. The site itself is hilly, and I can see why some people might struggle and parking can be an issue, especially when it's busy. We didn't use the pool, but many people did. The restaurant was great with lovely food and reasonable prices, as was the bar. All the staff were friendly and knowledgeable, would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Very hilly.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Responded 12 Oct 2023
Hi Beverley, I am really pleased to read that your stay with us did not disappoint. We are so blessed to have such a lovely park in such a lovely location, and the view from these caravans really is something else. We are, as you say, a very hilly park but our booking team are always happy to help as best we can so our guests can have the most comfortable and enjoyable stay possible. Thank you so much for leaving us this review. We hope to see you again in the future! Best wishes Emily
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Al B wrote a review Oct 2023
Camborne, United Kingdom54 contributions11 helpful votes
Our second stay this year. Good clean accommodation, friendly staff. Danny in the bar is a star… Just a great place, already booked for next summer and this time we’re taking the grandkids. Thanks everyone 🙏
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Responded 12 Oct 2023
Hi there, What a wonderful 5* review! It is such a pleasure to read that you have had another great stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to leave this for us. We can't wait to welcome you back next year! Best wishes Emily
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dave P wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
+1
My disabled wife and I booked a week and on arrival the caravan that had been allocated to us was totally unsuitable as it was positioned in a muddy, uneven and almost unaccessable position. When we booked we expressed many times that we need to be able to park next to the caravan because of mobility problems. we complained to the staff and was told basically take it or leave it, we decided to request a refund but we're told that we had to write to head office on the following Monday. We decided to stay but as the days went by we had had enough and returned home early , resolving never to holiday with John Fowler again ever. Although their caravans were decent but not worth the money we paid, we could not sleep in the beds because of the dated plastic mattresses, in addition in the twenty first century WiFi is virtually none existent. We have visited John Fowler for more years than I care to remember and family holidays were always very enjoyable but the last couple of visits the site and staff have depreciated immensely. Goodbye from Mr and Mrs price
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Jennings, Other at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Responded 12 Oct 2023
Hello Dave, I am really sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We are unable to guarantee parking unfortunately as while there are spaces next to some of the caravans, these are not allocated and therefore anyone can park there. I do understand however that our booking team did allocate you a caravan which would have a space right next to it. Unfortunately due to this space being on a grassy area, the weather has not helped us and has made some of the park muddy so I am truly sorry this has effected your stay with us and in the end, you decided to leave your stay with us a day early. I do hope you have been able to take some positives away from your visit and I would also like to thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. Best wishes Emily
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Combe Martin area.
PRICE RANGE
£31 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
John Fowler Sandaway Holiday Park
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandExmoor National ParkCombe Martin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
103
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SANDAWAY BEACH HOLIDAY PARK - Updated 2024 Prices (Combe Martin)

Frequently Asked Questions about Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Sandaway Beach Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Combe Martin Museum (0.3 miles), Combe Martin Beach (0.3 miles), and Broadsands Beach (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sandaway Beach Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Black & White, The Galleon Gift Shop & Cafe, and Harbour Deli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Sandaway Beach Holiday Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Combe Martin.
Are pets allowed at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Sandaway Beach Holiday Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room (2.3 miles), Chambercombe Manor (2.5 miles), and St Nicholas Chapel (3.2 miles).
Does Sandaway Beach Holiday Park have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.