We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thurlestone Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

504 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 504: English reviews
Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were treated to afternoon tea at this stunning hotel. We were shown into a large airy lounge which had recently been completely refurbished and had amazing views. The service was second to none. The tea presented on a 3-tier stand consisted of a variety of finger sandwiches; freshly made scones with home-made jam and clotted cream and a selection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deputy2014
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear deputy2014 I am delighted you enjoyed your afternoon tea and look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind regards Kevin Keenan, General Manager

Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dated clientele but a nice room. Had afternoon tea. Service fab. Tea slightly disappointing in a sense that the cakes were not very nice. Someone in the kitchen tried to be too clever and would have been happy with some French fancies! Would rather have had more sandwiches and scones which were very good. This place does so many things...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AH1969
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AH1969 I am delighted that you found the service to be good and overall enjoyed your afternoon tea. Sorry that you found our clientele to be dated, however given time we shall all become so! Kind regards Kevin Keenan, General Manager

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

20 plus of us went for a dear friends 70th birthday bash over three days and what a fabulous time we had. The hotel is spacious and airy with glorious unspoilt views. The food is star worthy, wonderful breakfasts and gourmet dinners. The spar is superb and there are some cabinets of jewellery etc for us shopaholics. But best of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandy R Thank you for such a ‘glowing’ review, especially regarding your waitress Ruth, who will be delighted with your remarks! I am very pleased to hear how much you and your friends enjoyed your stay and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Kevin Keenan, General Manager

Wales
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had the fixed price Sunday lunch today and were fairly happy. We were seated next to the huge windows with a beautiful view of the countryside and the bay, enhanced by bright sunshine. All the waiters were charming and efficient and willing to engage in conversation; they seemed happy in their jobs, not always the case in similar hotels....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whistleman2
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Whistleman2 I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant for Sunday Lunch but sorry that you were disappointed with the portion sizes. Please be assured I have taken your comments on board and hope this does not deter you from visiting us again. Kind regards Kevin Keenan, General Manager

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Lovely, friendly, comfortable hotel with great rooms and views (at the front) on a dramatic part of the South Devon coast. On coastal path, adjacent to South Hams, beautiful Bantham. Great over 40 years ago and even better now!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P3766FFeric
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear P3766FFeric I was very pleased to read how impressed you were with the Thurlestone, having compared it to 40 years ago! Thank you for your review and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Kevin Keenan, General Manager

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I recently spent some of half term staying at the Thurlestone Hotel having taken a quick look around after Sunday lunch a couple of months prior. The new playroom (with a perfectly situated viewing/coffee) area is a game changer for families on those days when the weather isn't so good. As well as having a fantastic set up for younger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonny S
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonny S I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and your children had such a great time in our new children’s facilities. Many thanks for booking again and I look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind regards Kevin Keenan, General Manager

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 30 October 2016

After a Windy walk along the cliffs we stopped for a coffee at The Thurlestone Hotel. We were so impressed with the staff and the location that we asked to see a room for a future visit. The General Manager Kevin was delightful, and extremely helpful and friendly, he showed us a couple of room options as well as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delphine J
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Delphine J Thank you for such a 'glowing' review! I was delighted to show you around the hotel and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards Kevin Keenan, General Manager

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from our annual visit to Thurlestone Hotel. When September comes our family starts the countdown to our very special week away during the October half term. Our highlights : - The attentive staff : reception, restaurant, children's club, housekeeping, management. - The delicious food at breakfast and our 4 course evening meal. - Dressing up for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma F
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gemma F We are delighted you and your family were able to join us again for your annual October visit and had such a lovely time! Great to read how much the children enjoyed their stay and found so much to do. We look forward to seeing you all in 2017. Kind regards Kevin Keenan, General Manager

Chatillon, France
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

I've worked at the thurlestone hotel 24 years ago (when i was 19 ! ) and me and my family just had the opportunity to enjoy the customer experience. The spa, the afternoon tea, and the treatment were absolutly perfect. Decoration, Every details and the service quality show that you are in an high class hotel. That was an incredible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lanoefamily
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lanoefamily I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to the hotel after 24 years! I am sure you noticed a lot of improvements but found it to be the ‘Thurlestone’ as you remember. I hope you won’t leave it so long next time to visit us. Kind regards Kevin Keenan, General Manager

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We did not actually stay at the hotel but patronised the establishment several days and ate at the village inn "pub" three days ( it has a monopoly in Thurlestone, so not much choice). Actually we were looking forward to finding a real pub in this remote village but instead found a sort of annex of the hotels restaurant....pity. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boldwizard
Kevin K, General Manager at Thurlestone Hotel, responded to this review

Dear boldwizard I am very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your recent visit to the hotel and Village Inn and thank you for your feedback, which I have taken on board. We do appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know about any aspect of their visit, whether they are guests in the hotel or...

433 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (275)
Viewed
Amenities (61)
Viewed
Double Room (Changeable to Twin or Family) (37)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (11)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Seaview Balcony Double or Family Room (40)
Viewed
Seaview Balcony Double Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurlestone
4.8 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
697 reviews
4.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
160 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
376 reviews
13.9 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Thurlestone Hotel

Address: Thurlestone | Nr Kingsbridge, Thurlestone TQ7 3NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Thurlestone
Price Range: £159 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurlestone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thurlestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurlestone Hotel Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thurlestone Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Thurlestone Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front rooms have lovely views across the bay but back rooms are still good but less expensive”
 of 5 bubbles P3766FFeric, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The sea view rooms are the best”
 of 5 bubbles 627jonnys, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wonderful sea views”
 of 5 bubbles lucylJ3000NC, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Splash out on sea view room with a balcony......fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles 2010visitor, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“worth the expense to have sea view & balcony we were on 1st floor view still magic.!!”
 of 5 bubbles redesdale, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay