We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park

Traveller (168)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 campsite in Weston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
AA 5 pennant 2023 Platinum Award, 5 star Visit England 2023, Practical Caravan Top 100 Parks 2023, South West Holiday Park of the Year 2018, Visit Devon GOLD Award 2017, David Bellamy GOLD Award, AA Best Campsite for England. For over forty years Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park in Devon has been carefully fashioned by the Franks family, from the open Devonshire meadowland to its current multi award winning standard. No straight lines here, just gentle curves, spacious groves, seclusion, privacy and peace and quiet. Oakdown is Sidmouth and East Devon's only AA 5 Pennant Park!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Golf course
Squash offsite
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Convenience store
Paid wifi
Tennis court offsite
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Gift shop
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shops
First aid kit
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Seating area
Sofa
Iron
Oven
Electric kettle
Walk-in shower
Hair dryer
Kitchenware
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
543Reviews8Q+A37Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 435
  • 76
  • 21
  • 9
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
David R wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
First time we stayed here but will be definitely going back next year.we stayed in one of the barrel pods which we both thought was brilliant.going to go back next year to stay in our camper van. Site was really clean and toilet block was exceptional.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Oakdown Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park
Responded 8 Nov 2023
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Really lovely to read. Its great that you enjoyed the Barrel Pods and thanks for the kind comments about the cleanliness of the amenities. See you next year.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kevin M wrote a review Aug 2023
Coleshill, United Kingdom2 contributions
Property's Favourite Review
Have stayed at this site several times..(caravan & a pod) Faultless...outstanding staff,very well run..spotlessly clean & well maintained. Have stayed at several sites in devon/ Cornwall, this site surpasses them all . Hoping for a return visit this year. Very relaxing...peaceful visit & super handy for visiting some wonderful places around Devon.. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Oakdown Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park
Responded 7 Aug 2023
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Really lovely to read on a Monday morning. I love seeing reviews from regulars. It's great that time and time again we maintain the high standards that you expect. I will pass on your kind comments to the team See you again this year hopefully.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
marlynn52 wrote a review Nov 2023
Fareham, United Kingdom320 contributions173 helpful votes
This place is the best, that’s why we’ve been visiting since 1994 and return as often as possible. Staff, well-trained, experienced, attentive, brilliant. Park has everything you could need and more, clean and tidy and full of nature. Lodges superb, so modern, clean and fully equipped. Everything we need for a relaxing, peaceful holiday. Back in the Spring.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Oakdown Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park
Responded 6 Nov 2023
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. What a great line to start....so true :). We have had an unhappy customer lately who had nothing positive to say, so this was so welcome! Its great reading that you have been coming since 1994 - and still find the park has everything you could need, and more! We look forward to welcoming you back in the spring. If you have any photos of the park in the early years, we would love to see them.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
john b wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Oakdown is our happy place we have been coming for 50 years and still love the place.We have seen many changes and seen it grow, but we still find it a very relaxing site. The staff are all very helpfull and friendly,the shop is first class serving realy good cooked food.We look forward to returning again in 2024.Keep up the good work Oakdown. John Burgess.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Oakdown Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park
Responded 6 Nov 2023
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I absolutely love reading comments from people who have been coming for years and still find Oakdown such a pleasure. There have been so many changes over the years, but the importance of a high standard has always remained. We look forward to seeing you in 2024 and if you have any old photos of the park from the early days, we would love to see them.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nicky P wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Been several times, Fabulous site. Very clean & scenic. Stayed in a pet friendly lodge. Last year being a brand new one. Normally get older models on other sites but not here. They're stunning. They also provide bed, blanket, bowl & treats for your Pooches. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate & biscuits for us humans. Just rebooked for next year. Added bonus is its located right next door to the donkey sanctuary
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Oakdown Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park
Responded 6 Nov 2023
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I love reading comments like yours, short but sweet and covered all the important bits! Look forward to seeing you again next year and ill put in a request for good weather.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Brock17 wrote a review Oct 2023
Bridgwater, United Kingdom1 contribution
+1
My wife and I rang Oakdown back in early July as it was one of the Campsites we were looking to move & store our caravan and with the possibility of having a Seasonal pitch going forward. We went to Oakdown for an afternoon to take a look around. A couple of weeks later we decided to go to the site for a short Holiday to see what the area had to offer and what it was like to actually stay as a client at Oakdown, as we do not tow our large twin wheelbase Caravan we decided to camp. We arrived on the 24th August for the bank holiday weekend, a 4 night stay until Monday 28th August and we paid a small extra fee so we didn’t have to be off until 5pm. We were welcomed by a lovely gentleman in reception at our car window who arranged for us to be shown to our pitch Holly 3. When we parked up we immediately noticed the deep muddy track marks on the pitch (we found out later that the people that had used the pitch before us had been given running boards) The man left & we started to unpack - as I came around from the boot of the car I noticed a foul smell, I had stepped in dog poo, that was disgusting, we had to leave the unpacking and I had to visit the dog washing facility to clean off my sandals, while my wife got a stick and moved the dog poo into the bushes. (NOT IMPRESSED) we found 2 more “deposits” on the pitch which we dealt with. (Unacceptable) We then found 2 tent pegs (both different) stuck in the mud with the sharp point sticking up (good job they didn’t puncture our tyre or injure ourselves. Putting that behind us we erected our tent, made up the bed, put the fairy lights up, put the carpet down, added the chairs and brought in the fridge and kitchen equipment. We then got our brand new electric cable (15 meters long) out to plug in our fridge, but we had to plug into pitch No2 as we did not have our own electric box, it was then we found that our cable was not long enough, we went back to reception and the gentleman that showed us to our pitch came back with an extension cable, he said that pitch 3 did have its own electric box but it had been damaged & removed !!! We had to pay a £25 returnable deposit for the extension cable which is fine if reception is open, this might be something that is held by or stored where a Warden can access it going forward, however we feel the electric should be accessible with a standard 15 meter lead without having to get an extension cable. As a gesture of goodwill he said he would put our deposit for the cable in the till and also a free Wi-Fi code, the next day we went to collect the Wi-Fi code and the deposit was in the till but no Wi-Fi for us to collect so had to explain everything to the lady who gave us one from the till, we returned the code the next day as it did not work for more than approximately 2 min at a time. Over the course of the next couple of days our pitch became completely muddy to the extent that our car became completely stuck after returning from a day out, the wheels were just spinning and mud was flying everywhere, we were unable to get off the pitch. I went to reception at 17:15 to ask for some running boards and help to move my car, I was told no-one was available and the running boards were not kept at reception, so I arranged for somebody to come to the pitch at 9am, and it was noted in a book in reception. The next day we waited until 09:45 & no sign of anyone, I went back to reception to complain and Was told they would send someone over straight away, we were so cross my wife and I got some branches from the floor and stacked them up behind the wheel and got the car out by ourselves, the man came and moved some of the larger mounds of mud and threw them in the hedge and put some running boards down, we also found out that this pitch is not normally used “Later” in the season due to mud, my wife said its not late in the season and we have paid “High” season prices, and if the pitch is not suitable it should be removed from the books. On the final day we went to the cafe for breakfast - our order was not what we asked for but by this point we had had enough so did not bring it up with the staff (they also have open sided bins in the outside eating area which is swarming with wasps). while packing up on the final day we could still smell poo….. after looking around we noticed in the top corner of the plot there was deteriorating amounts of loo paper, it seems somebody had been using the area as a late night toilet. I think looking back at our terrible few days and it was absolutely terrible we have concluded that between a client leaving and a new client arriving nobody does pitch inspection/litter pick which we find totally unacceptable, you wouldn’t not clean the amenity block and think it was OK? Also if Oakdown think a pitch is not suitable for a client we feel a telephone call explaining this and giving us the opportunity to cancel/move our weekend would have been a sensible and courteous option, neither of these were offered. We also asked if we could book a super pitch for camping and were told flatly NO - ……. we feel this is pitch snobbery as the fee would be the same no matter what was being set up on the pitch, it was the last straw for us, the initial day with Oakdown in July when we looked around was a distant memory. We would definitely not recommend this site - the email we had back from Oakdown was a poorly execute list of excuses that did nothing to satisfy the totally horrible weekend we had, one of the *excuses" was - "it was busy" because it was peak season......
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Oakdown Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park
Responded 30 Oct 2023
This review was sent to our reception and we responded directly to you in September. You did add in your email that you would be posting this on Trip Advisor, Google and Trust Pilot so we have been expecting it. Its rare to have such a bad review, so it was taken seriously, every point address and every point apologised for. We took full responsibly for the lack of pitch checking before you arrived on a full bank holiday weekend.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jenny C wrote a review Oct 2023
16 contributions9 helpful votes
Not a great experience for us. On arrival we were taken to the far field and given the most furthest plot away from everything and everyone.. Couldn’t get Wi-Fi reception and had to walk to facilities, when it was very clear that we could have been placed so much closer. Around us was about 20 long term caravans all set up from the season, nobody in them. We tolerated this for 2 days and then went to the other site to reception and explained that we was not that happy on that plot, so they just said, oh move to anywhere you want over here then…. So we did, and was amongst fellow travellers, near facilities and received Wi-Fi.. whoop whoop.. shame that was only for an afternoon and evening as we was moving off the next day but at least we had a few happy hours.. Such a shame we wasn’t included from the outset..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Oakdown Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park
Responded 23 Oct 2023
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. As soon as i read your message i went and spoke to the reception team. I gather you booked online, so unfortunately, the pitch was computer generated. If you had come in to us, we would of moved you straight away. Jo mentioned that she offered you a pitch on Copper Beech - but until you came in - no one was aware that you were unhappy. Im sorry that this problem meant that you didn't have a good experience. We would be pleased if you came back again and maybe called and gave your requirements to the reception team who would give you a more suitable pitch. Hope to see you again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Peggy222444 wrote a review Oct 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked in for our first family camping trip. From the minute we arrived we were met by extremely friendly and helpful staff. We were escorted to our large pitch next to the play park-which our kids thought was brilliant. We thought the same as it allowed us to set up in peace! The central facilities are amazing and the bathrooms are spotless and very well appointed. There are chest freezers to use and washing machines and dryers. The family bathrooms are great too. The whole site is very well maintained and tidy. Staff always present around the site to answer questions. The shop and cafe were well stocked and well priced. Highly recommend a round of golf whilst there and a walk to the donkey sanctuary. What a great place to spend your holiday. Very highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Oakdown Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park
Responded 22 Oct 2023
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. It's so lovely to get a good review, even at the end of the season. It shows that our standards never drop. The weather was pretty good this week, we were very lucky, unlike the rest of the country - so i hope you managed to get out and about and explore the area. Thanks again for your kind comments regarding the site, the staff, the golf and the cafe/shop. Please do come back and stay again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Diana M wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Sadly our experience here wasn't great. We had asked for a sunny pitch for our one night and had paid an extra £10 to stay all day the following day. Although we know they can't be guaranteed I had spent time explaining our preferences. When we got there we were given a totally different pitch under trees, so very shady. We were offered 2 other pitches much the same. Consequently we had a little morning sun and then shade. Not impressed with the customer service at all. We were told our original booking was given to another family who were staying for 7 nights, so we had to move. Had Oakdown contacted us to explain the move we would have cancelled our booking but were not given the option. We did ask for a refund for the extra day as we left at 8.30am the following morning but this was declined. Will not be back. Cleanliness of site was really good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Oakdown Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park
Responded 4 Sept 2023
Thank you for your review. I needed to speak with the reception and warden team before i felt able to reply. I believe that during your stay we had a technical issue, so had to juggle some of our bookings. You were staying with us for one night, so the reception team took the decision to move you rather than the week long booking. You were on Sycamore 1a, but you were offered Evergreen and Pine, which are our most requested pitches, so we think we offered you like for like. In our booking confirmation, we state that we cannot guarantee pitches, but we do try our very best to make people 'unmoveable' but sometimes we have no choice. I believe that you had a lovely chat with the ladies on reception about the area and asked advice on getting to the beach etc... and didn't mention being unhappy. It's a shame you left early, as there are so many things to do locally.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elaine W wrote a review Jul 2023
Newbury, United Kingdom70 contributions18 helpful votes
When we arrived a staff member came to the car to check us in, then we were taken to our pitch. The pitch was large enough for the car, caravan and awning. The whole site was well kept, very tidy. Large site with touring & tent pitches, static caravans & camping pods. The amenity block has everything you need all in one place (toilets, showers, laundrette, dish washing sinks etc) Disabled access and facilities. Plenty of bins for recycling. WiFi available at a small fee (£12 for the week) On-site cafe served reasonably priced delicious food. The small on-site shop had the essentials. The only fault, which is totally out of the owners hands, is the noisy, busy main road we were pitched near.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Oakdown Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park
Responded 10 Jul 2023
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Yes the road can be a problem for some people, but next time you book, just state that you would like to be away from the road. We have plenty of other pitches to choose from. The park map is online. The rest of your comments were great, lovely to read. Hope to see you again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Weston area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Oakdown Holiday Caravan Park
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonSidmouthWeston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OAKDOWN TOURING & HOLIDAY CARAVAN PARK - Updated 2024 Prices (Devon)

Frequently Asked Questions about Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park
Which popular attractions are close to Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park?
Nearby attractions include Peak Hill Llamas (2.2 miles), Beer Quarry Caves (3.0 miles), and The Donkey Sanctuary (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and a golf course.
Which room amenities are available at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park?
Top room amenities include a dining area, an oven, and a seating area.
Is parking available at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Someday Something, The Courtyard, and Neil's Restaurant.
Is Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Weston.
Are any cleaning services offered at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Blackbury Camp (1.8 miles), Margells (1.6 miles), and Bomb Shelter (3.8 miles).
Is Oakdown Touring & Holiday Caravan Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.