We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Twitchen House Holiday Village

Save
Share
Twitchen Park Mortehoe Station Road, Woolacombe EX34 7HW England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (786)
Room & Suite (166)
Pool & Beach (67)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 16 Speciality lodging in Woolacombe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
With its Edwardian manor house and situated on a sleepy Devon lane that meanders down to Mortehoe village, the park is an ideal haven for a leisurely holiday. Set in acres of picturesque woodland, you can easily walk down to the beach through the beautiful countryside or you'll find loads of fun facilities on the Park for all ages.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Game room
Mini golf
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Paid internet
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shops
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
3,082Reviews71Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,417
  • 931
  • 384
  • 175
  • 175
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Olwynne F wrote a review Nov 2020
3 contributions
This year has been very strange and stressful with Covid-19 causing lots of problems for everyone. This holiday gave us the chance to relax and enjoy a safe break. The caravan was very clean and spacious, the entertainment was good despite all the distancing rules. We had an 8 year old with us who thoroughly enjoyed the pottery painting and the fire making. Chris, the Adventure Activities leader was an amazing at teaching the children to make fire in many different ways. He had an easy way with the kiddies and taught them in an easy to understand way and gave them time to achieve their goal, never rushing them. The swimming pool was the only place we didn't visit this year as the restrictions meant queuing outside before going in and not being able to use the changing rooms so you had to change back at your caravan (rather a cold walk when you are wet!) and that wasn't particularly appealing in our climate. Lots to explore off the Park as well. Highly recommend this park as a base.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Darvill, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village
Responded 9 Nov 2020
Dear Olwynne F, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad that you were able to feel safe and relaxed whilst staying with us here at Twitchen House. It will give me great pleasure to pass on your kind comments to the team here and I am so glad that your family enjoyed our EXplorers activities. Thank you for the feedback regarding the swimming pool, I will ensure your comments are noted and considered as we move into next season, unfortunately with the current climate this has meant we have had to impose changes to enable our guests to enjoy as much as possible as safely as possible, our guest feedback is invaluable as this helps us improve year on year. We hope we can welcome you and your family back again soon. Debbie Wheeler - General Manager
Read more
JuJuLondon wrote a review Nov 2020
London, United Kingdom37 contributions25 helpful votes
I haven't been on a caravan holiday for around 15 years, I was looking forward to it as we always stayed in caravans and holiday parks when I was growing up. However, Twitchen House was another level. Very organised, great facilities for families, swimming pools, sea views and space. The caravan was so cute inside, with fresh white linen, lots of pillows and a kitchen with all the necessary stuff you need. The living area was comfortable and spacious and had a lovely electric fire, corner sofa and views across the bay. One bathroom and mini ensuite with loo and sink in the main double room, which was perfect. I highly recommend this place, book ahead to avoid disappointment. We even found a morning to do some pottery painting, our own wonderful memory of our holiday. I wouldn't change a thing, even the weather was glorious for October. Thank you Twitchen House Holiday Village for making our long weekend perfect in every way. The staff was delightful too.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Darvill, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village
Responded 9 Nov 2020
Dear JuJuLondon, I am very pleased that you chose us to be your first Holiday Park to visit after 15 years and its great to see that we were able to be a part of your perfect holiday. I am so very pleased you were able to visit our Art Shed and take away a little piece of Twitchen House with you. I am also glad you were able to book in for all the activities you wanted and were able to enjoy our swimming pools too. We hope in the future we can welcome you back. Debbie Wheeler - General Manager
Read more
Carolyn Lyon wrote a review Nov 2020
Wigan, United Kingdom16 contributions
+1
Absolutely amazing stay at Twitchen House we booked a caravan exclusive with hot tub for 4nights.. we come here as my sister lives in Braunton which is a short drive away from here.. we booked for three adults and 3 children as my sister and her 3 children were coming to stay for a few nights. The caravan was amazing spotlessly clean good size main bedroom has en-suite which was great and the decking area, hot tub and bbq was just amazing.. we stay here last year in a gold caravan but thought this time with it Being autumn we would go for one with a hot tub and it was defo worth the extra cost.. can not fault it in anyway everything was just perfect.. that perfect we have already booked to stay for a week in June next year and we can’t wait. Even during the difficult times we had an amazing time the entertainment was great and all the staff were great they went out there way to make our holiday extra special. Well done everyone at Twitchen House keep up the great work and we will see you next year ☺️
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Darvill, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village
Responded 9 Nov 2020
Dear Carolyn, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is wonderful to see you had an amazing stay with us here at Twitchen. Its lovely to see you enjoyed our very latest edition New Wave Exclusive with hot tub caravans and were able to include your family in on your stay. I will ensure your kind comments are passed on to the team and we will look forward to welcoming you back again in June. See you next year, Debbie Wheeler - General Manager
Read more
bensT9107YL wrote a review Oct 2020
Swadlincote, United Kingdom212 contributions35 helpful votes
Just returned from a 4 night stay in a caravan. Very impressed with the booking process and the communication leading up to and during the break. It’s easy enough to find, though the road to the site and Mortehoe needs to be taken with care. Arrival was swift, organised and friendly and the gold caravan was in a decent clean state on arrival, close to the house and with a distant view of the sea. Everything worked well and we were impressed by the sizeable and powerful shower. Although we didn’t use all of the facilities we had a look around and were impressed both at the layout and the attention to restrictions. We also checked out the camping facilities which looked good and are considering that for next year. The shop was pretty well stocked although we’d brought most of the things we needed. There were a few gift type presents in there which is useful. We used the app to order food to the caravan more than once and were impressed by the ease of use, choice, speed of delivery and quality of the food. We also used the pool which was great. I actually preferred it with the restricted slots - with fewer people in there it was easier to swim. The slides are great too! The walks around the campsite are lovely and there are a few options to walk to Woolacombe and Mortehoe. Due to the weather it did need good walking boots but was well worth it. The walk to Woolacombe takes around 30 minutes. Woolacombe is only a 5-10 minute drive away and the beach is well worth seeing. There are also plenty of eating places. Ilfracombe is only around 20 mins away and is a nice place to spend a few hours. We also visited National Trust Arlington Court in the way home which is within 30mins drive and a nice place. The autumn week has given us a taster and we’d love to go back and do a bit more when the weather is better and hopefully restrictions are lifted. I thought the place was exceptionally well run with helpful and friendly staff and would happily recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Darvill, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village
Responded 9 Nov 2020
Dear bensT9107YL, thank you for your great review. I am very pleased to see that you found the caravan as it should and were able to use the beautiful countryside walks we have on Park even when the weather wasn’t too kind. I am glad you were able to take advantage of the new food app we have here at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks and it was received so well, given the restrictions this year we think it’s a great addition. Our camping and touring facilities are well-kept and have all you might need, if that is something you are looking to do next time you visit please don’t hesitate to give our Sales Centre a call directly and they will be happy to help with any further questions you may have. I will ensure that all of your feedback is passed on to the team here at Twitchen House and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Debbie Wheeler - General Manager
Read more
Lucky92 wrote a review Oct 2020
Rushden, United Kingdom83 contributions12 helpful votes
Just on our way home from 6 nights stay here ... we chose this site for October half term as it had plenty of activities/good swimming pool with water slides in case the weather was bad. We were staying in our touring caravan and had gale force winds & torrential rain for most of the week but still had a great time! The swimming pool booking system works really well and many times we used the pool and it was really quiet. We loved the on site pool with 2 water slides here and also the pool at Woolacombe bay holiday park that we were also allowed to use. The Woolacombe Bay pool has a pirate ship pool/splash area which was a lot of fun for the kids and adjacent main pool with stunning views over the countryside. Twitchen house facilities were really modern and clean with good shop and laundry. The kids activities were well organised and the staff really friendly and helpful. The food/drink ordering via the app worked really well and it really felt like they had their Covid secure procedures well established and were efficient in their table service. Plenty of hand gel/hand washing facilities, one way system inside areas with well enforced mask wearing/social distancing. The showers and toilets throughout the site were spotless. Lovely kids play area and just 20 minutes woodland walk to the beach (muddy at this time of year but beautiful walk and views). Would highly recommend this site and will definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Darvill, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village
Responded 9 Nov 2020
Dear Lucky92, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Its wonderful to see you were able to have a great holiday even when the weather wasn’t at its best. We are really lucky that we are able to offer "4 Parks for the price of 1" which means our guests have the best choice when planning their day. It will give me great pleasure to forward your kind comments on to the staff here at Twitchen House. We are glad to see you found all facilities and amenities around the site up to standard and as they should be. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon. Debbie Wheeler - General Manager
Read more
Previous
ALSO KNOWN AS
twitchen house holiday village hotel woolacombe, twitchen holiday park woolacombe
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonWoolacombe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
270
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Twitchen House Holiday Village
Which popular attractions are close to Twitchen House Holiday Village?
Nearby attractions include Borough Farm Sheepdog and Falconry Displays (1.0 miles), Walk - Morte Point Trail (0.3 miles), and Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Twitchen House Holiday Village?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Twitchen House Holiday Village?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Twitchen House Holiday Village?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Twitchen House Holiday Village?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Twitchen House Holiday Village?
Conveniently located restaurants include Biffen's Kitchen, Antidote, and Nelly May's Parlour.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Twitchen House Holiday Village?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Twitchen House Holiday Village?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Twitchen House Holiday Village?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Twitchen House Holiday Village?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room (4.7 miles) and Chambercombe Manor (4.4 miles).
Is Twitchen House Holiday Village accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.