The Dorset Hideaway
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Dorset Hideaway

Cardsmill Lane Bridge Farm, Bridport DT6 6RW England
Traveller (216)
Hot tub hire on private deck with view
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#12 of 23 campsites in Bridport
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Small award winning luxury 5 Star Camping, caravanning and glamping site. We have separate underfloor heated male and female washrooms and a disabled/family wet room. The site is situated in a rural location with panoramic views of the surrounding hills with uninterrupted views. No traffic noise, peaceful and relaxing location with on site Spa and hot tub/sauna/steam rooms to hire on own private deck with amazing views. Small fishing ponds. High season bar & take away and weekly on site family activities (bingo, quiz nights, tractor trailer rides etc) Only 3 miles from the main A35 road route into the region and 3 miles from Charmouth beach. We are a family run and family friendly site and accept well behaved dogs attached to owners on leads! We have a dedicated completely fenced dog exercise area with pop bin & bags provided and a heated dogwash room. There are numerous walks direct from the site. We offer a 'store and stay' facility where you can store your caravan in our yard and then use the site as and when you like. We have free basic wifi in the site information room. We offer seasonal pitches too. We look forward to welcoming you on site.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Hot bath
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Spa
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
283Reviews3Q+A21Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 165
  • 32
  • 22
  • 35
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dom C wrote a review Sept 2020
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom12 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment of booking this site (I had to call up as I messed up the booking) we have been met with really friendly help service and good clear understanding of what needed to be done on arrival.
With the new restrictions in place due to Covid-19 I was a little aprehensive going away this summer as I had read a lot of sites were either not following the guidlines or were putting heavy restrictions in place. Dorset Hideaway for me hit the perfect balance, we felt safe able to follow the rules easily, the shower booking system (where you book a whole block for your family bubble for an alocated amount of time) was brilliant, each time after the blocks were sanitised.
The shop is well stocked, and reasonably priced for a campsite shop, not looking to rip off people who have forgotten a camping essential like most places do.
All the staff on the site were really friendly and so hard working, nothing was too much trouble.
The site has been deisnged very well, it has everything from an alocated dog exercise field with a poo bin and poo bags to 2 large fishing lakes.
the layout of the site is lovelly and not too cramped together.
great atmosphere, we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mrs Smith wrote a review Aug 2020
Marple, United Kingdom5 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This campsite is located just as it’s named - hidden away down a long track. If you’re looking for a campsite off the beaten track, this is the right place.

The campsite itself is well laid out and The facilities are clean and modern. The pitches are really big though I’m not sure I understand why you have to pay extra for a gazebo on your own pitch but that’s by the by.

The adventure park is great for children and is safe and clean but could be open later on a summer’s evening. The spa is lovely and very professional.

Due to COVID, the shower situation is that you book a 25 minute slot for your whole family. This is not ideal when you’re a family of 5. There are no additional sinks available to brush teeth etc so that’s also tricky. In addition, the shower slots were very hard to come by. On one evening, we were delayed without a signal so rang last minute to cancel our booking. Unfortunately, the owner was very unpleasant to my husband and told him we couldn’t book another slot for the rest of our holiday and then hung up on him. On another occasion, she rudely told my husband not to cycle on the site. Whilst we appreciate they have their rules, I don’t think it’s ever necessary to be rude to customers.

The shop is a bit hit and miss and we found it closed on a few occasions when it was advertised as being open. The takeaway van on site has to have food ordered before 5. All in all, these things didn’t make our holiday as relaxing as it could have been.

It’s a shame really as this campsite could be brilliant but some of the rules are just a bit too rigid and unnecessary and the owner’s manner really let it down for us.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
972paulinee wrote a review Sept 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom23 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well what can I say we stayed at the dorset hideaway for 2 weeks 31-14 September me and the husband for a relaxing break from the madness booking online really easy with notification email instantly. Lovely welcome pack email couple of days prior to arrival including directions and changes due to covid following government guidelines. We had no problems finding it passing through some lovely little villages and pubs along the way we were met by shaun who welcomed us gave us a map and the pitch were we were to camp all I can say is from the website what you see is what you get it was beautiful surrounded by beautiful fields with sheep and cows lovely large grass areas with goal posts for children to play and 2 ponds 1 larger than the other stocked with fish I wouldn't really call them a pond as they are huge lovely wild meadow surrounding them. The pitch were we were situated was huge 10x10 more than enough room for our large tent and 4x4 freshly mowed and marked out. Orginised shower facilities cleaned after each person in a beautiful state of the art facility, we took our own portable potty as advised due to social distancing and had a nice room to empty that into. The site is well orginised and the staff were welcoming and friendly. We ordered a fire pit for duration of are stay and we are so glad we did we used it as a barbecue also and made some lovely food on it. The shop on site was well stocked with local produce. The surrounding areas were spectacular you can walk easily along country lane to shave cross pub just 1.2 miles away there is so much to do in the surrounding areas it sure is a fantastic base to visit dorset and west Devon areas, we truly had a fantastic stay and would not hesitate to visit again hopefully in the very near future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bigreddrum wrote a review Aug 2020
Winchester2 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I would have to echo some Of the reviews left below regarding the site owner and her attitude towards clients. I completely understand that these are very stressful and difficult times but even taking that into account and trying to be kind, it is difficult to justify some of the communication.

On arrival After waiting a long time after a long journey in the heat (totally understand this happens and that is not my complaint) I was greeted with a long list of DON’T’s and seemingly no DOs my son was told sharply to stand back or leave the shop as he had no mask on (he’s 9) And
this was followed by the comment “they’re the ones that spread it”. Again totally understand that you are all under a lot of stress and pressure but it just seemed totally unnecessary and rude. My son was a bit upset about it...

I also overheard the owner saying that it’s tough luck if people have to wait in a queue for up to an hour because “a holiday is a luxury at the moment ..” whilst I broadly agree with this sentiment I’m not sure it’s an ideal way to run your site if you want to attract and keep clients. I felt that the tone for the whole stay was reflected in the above statement. We should think ourselves lucky to be having a holiday so should just put up with any level of rudeness ! (We stayed in a site in Cornwall during Covid also and they managed to be polite and welcoming whilst also enforcing some strict rules and regulations so it is possible!)

We booked a chicken and found that they were not offering this service on arrival- again no problem and completely understandable but it would be nice to have been told prior to booking.

During Covid times there are only two toilets available for campers and they are a little dark. You have to book for the shower block but when we tried Booking in the morning the only Slots available were for 7.15pm. There was no other place to go just To go and brush teeth or wash your face other than the two toilets so it was a bit tricky.

However having said all of the above the site is in a really beautiful location, I suspect in non Covid times when the showers and extra toilets could be available some of my complaints would be totally resolved. The views across the site are beautiful and it’s ideally located for some fabulous trips to the Dorset coast.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
piratepixie wrote a review Aug 2020
Southampton, United Kingdom83 contributions26 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I visited and stayed in a yurt last month, on arrival we rang to see when we could check
in (

our info said 2) was told 3pm. Wanted.... rang again 3.15. Huffy woman arrived on her bike. When I said we were waiting a while we were told 'Covid' and guests waited an hour at the weekend! So? I've just driven 2 hours and would at least expect, hi, sorry I'm a bit late, how was your journey?
Nope, just a check list of my entire medical history and did we have gloves, masks and sanitizer ?
We were then shown to the accommodation, had to remove our shoes OUTSIDE as to not hurt the floor, we were wearing canvas daps! ( ever seen the keeping up appearances episode with Richard sat on the steps)?
We were shown what not to do, given a piece of paper to sign to say we would b
e responsible if we burnt the place down
and show the 'private' hot tub. right behind the pod , in the field, with no fencing. So you can save hi to your neighbours sat watching you.
We didn't bring robes as they said these were provided. They were not. You want people to remove shoes but what about wet people from the hot tub with no robes? Apparently they were needed in the spa, which coincidently, wasn't open.
we went out and bought out own. no flip flops either!
No plastic champagne flutes. guess what? bought them too!
Make sure you lock your private bathroom door, you'll be charged if anything happens to the picture, that was £1000. look on Groupon next time, you'll get that for 20 quid.
Anyway, pods nice, as mentioned before, like being in the Bucket residence. you can't relax of fear you'll damage something.
wouldn't go back. wouldn't reccomend.
Rude and condescending.
oh and by the way, some people can light woodburners, some people actually have them themselves!
I'm sure there will be another answer: it's not me it's you. But rest assured. It is you!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shannon R wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived at the Dorset hideaway on Monday, I was pleasantly surprised when we turned up however when checking in before I even got a hello or a welcome I was listed of a lot of questions which were very unneeded and also was given a big lists of donts. After reading some other reviews it seems to be a running theme on poor customer service which I can completely agree with! Things weren’t completely explained properly which mislead us a bit into thinking that what we were getting was a lot better than expected however what we got for our money was a lot less than expected! As soon as we were shown the tent we were very underwhelmed. The tent seemed a bit shabby and it was overrun by bugs, we know that it’s hard to keep this under control as we were in a field however as soon as we got into the tent there were two giant hornets flying around, there also seems to be a very big wasp problem which we know can’t be completely controlled but we should probably be aware of the problem as I’m severely allergic! Privacy was a bit of a problem as the tent was right next to the hot tub which meant that every time we were sat outside our tent with our firepit (which we had to pay extra for) we almost felt like we were intruding and so much for saying that we all had to be quiet at 11pm as people got in the hot tub at 10:30 pm and were in there for over an hour shouting and laughing which we didn’t mind but it seems to be one rule for one and one rule for another, all depending on how much money they’re making from you which is the impression we got. The loos didnt seem like they were cleaned very often and we know due to the pandemic that there has to be a lot of changes however only two toilets for a whole campsite is ridiculous! The showers were cleaned everytime someone used it which was reassuring and Steve the assistant warden was lovely and he couldn’t do enough for you! This being said we did enjoy our holiday however we will probably not be returning here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura R wrote a review Jun 2021
Oxford, United Kingdom182 contributions90 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from 3 nights at the Dorsey Hideaway over the bank holiday weekend. Although we had a lovely time this was owing to the company we went with rather than the site.
Upon arrival, the lady barely acknowledged us and instead continued to faff with paperwork. After a good 5 minutes she looked up and the first thing she said was ‘I take it you two are in a bubble together’ no hello, welcome. Nothing.
She circled the toilets and showers along with our pitch on a map, told us not to park on the grass and sent us on our way with a warning that the speed limit was 5mph and if we didn’t know how slow that was it was walking speed.
When we arrived at our pitch there was another couple who’s pitch should have been behind ours however the pitch number didn’t exist. A gentleman who worked on site directed them to another pitch where they proceeded to start putting up their tent only to be told to move about 20 minutes later.
2 groups from our party had asked to be next to each other as they both have young children, calls were made in advance of our arrival but my friend was met with promises of a call back that never materialised then was told off for calling multiple times, when the second family arrived they were directed to a pitch away from the first family (which was also a small pitch despite having paid for a large one) A member of the group went to reception to discuss this and was point blank refused entry as she was not wearing a mask. When she advised she was exempt the lady on reception asked her to prove it - sorry but this is illegal.
The only toilet and shower facilities we were advised about were portaloo/portashowers. The shower temperature could not be adjusted and was scalding hot and the toilets/showers only appeared to be cleaned once a day. I’m also convinced that the toilets were not emptied the entire weekend as the blue flushing liquid soon turned to a disgusting brown colour and the toilets could be smelt from our pitch which was at the other end of the field. (I felt sorry for the people pitched closer to them)
There is no kids park as advertised on the website and the dog wash facilities also mentioned on the website were ‘not open’
We discovered a proper shower block on our final evening and I personally feel like these weren’t mentioned as they were tucked away by the permanently parked caravans. It felt like they were being kept for their returning guest.
The plus side is they do a hay bail tractor ride in the evenings that all the kids seemed to loved.
All in all a lovely weekend spent with friends but next time we will go elsewhere.
I can only assume that this lady wanted permanently pitched caravans rather than people visiting for short term periods only as she is possibly one of the rudest people I have ever met. If she speaks to the permanently pitched residents the way she did to members of our party, I’m surprised she has any customers.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TDH team, Owner at The Dorset Hideaway
Responded 6 Aug 2022
Thank for your review,if you had looked at our website you would of seen we do not accept group bookings and if you book as individuals we do not guarantee pitches together.You and your group were intimidating to our reception staff and refusing to wear a mask inside at that time was required and we have a right to protect ourselves so much as possible by refusing you entry.Other reviews really liked the portable shower block we hired that weekend and the main shower block you drove past every time you left the site.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maggie and Nigel wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our third visit to the Hideaway - tucked away amongst rolling countryside around 6 miles from Bridport in Dorset. Esther and her team are working hard to protect everyone, with new measures in place to encourage social distancing. Use of masks in communal areas is encouraged and alcohol gel provided all around the site. There was someone posted at the shower block throughout the day and evening to ensure people's safety and comfort and to keep the facilities clean between use. Very impressive. We used the Spa for massage and reflexology which is professionally provided by Esther herself in beautiful surroundings which are quite remarkable for the campsite setting. Thank you Hideaway for a warm welcome and comfortable stay on good size pitches with all the facilities needed. We had a lovely relaxing stay as always - we'll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eva wrote a review Aug 2020
United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As a family of four, we loved our 3 nights camping here. We chose this place after a Google search and looking at their website which explained all the measures they are taking to keep people safe and so glad we came here. We felt as safe as possible at a campsite in the current situation. The hand sanitisers are even contactless, something you do not find in many places. We were also worried about previous reviews but we did not find any problems. I think the owners must be very hard working people to keep the place in such a lovely state and perhaps they need to be firm with some customers to keep the campsite pleasant for the majority. There are only 2 toilets but we never found them busy. The shower block booking system is a fantastic idea - we even felt pampered. Our pitch was amazing. I think this campsite is a little hidden gem and the place to come during these times. We will definitely aim to return here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
T Keady wrote a review Aug 2021
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We are just coming to the end of a wonderful stay here. The site is tranquil and maintained beautifully.
There is a small toilet and shower area which is waiting an extension, but to be honest during our stay we never once had to wait or experienced heavy traffic flow in the facilities that had music playing and we’re exceptionally clean and high quality and modern.
Mike is an absolute star!! Very quietly spoken and spent time speaking to us and talking about the watching the stars at night and the fish in the pool when he arrived following messages for wood and questions we had asked. Lovely calm and very hard working man. He did a £1 tractor trailer ride across the fields each evening we were there, which was a lovely experience for the children and families staying.
We bought our dog with us and she had ample space on our pitch. Very generously sized pitches with electric hook ups and water. A separate enclosed dog walking field perfect for training and exercising our dog. Excellent bench and fire pit facilities.
My only down side is if Mike had more support on site throughout the whole day they could really really generate business at the small shop.
We enjoyed our stay and are sad to leave tomorrow morning! I’m sure Mike will miss our random predictive text message requests?!
Thank you so much we hope to return next year with other family members x
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kimbob123 asked a question Jul 2021
United Kingdom14 contributions
How far is the pub
Answer from EzzyP
Dorset, United Kingdom104 contributions55 helpful votes
1 mile from site ( the shaves cross inn) assuming you mean the nearest?
Andrew H asked a question Feb 2020
Littlehampton, United Kingdom36 contributions14 helpful votes
Hi do you have wifi?
Answer from ezzy66
Bridport, United Kingdom49 contributions16 helpful votes
Yes but it’s not fibre so it’s slow but fine for browsing internet not streaming or gaming etc hope that helps?
Answer from ezzy66
Bridport, United Kingdom49 contributions16 helpful votes
I’m afraid not ! :( sorry everything full! - just as another option we have a yurt still avail for the same dates with bookable hot tub (not next to unit) thanks for your enquiry
Emma G wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Closest shops are about 15-20 minutes away. Didn’t bother us at all but might be something to remember if arriving a little later in the day"
Read full review
Stefanie R wrote a tip Aug 2023
Baughurst, United Kingdom16 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Call ahead of arrival to get the best route options depending the direction of travel - especially if travelling with a caravan as the roads around the site are narrow. "
Read full review
Christine H wrote a tip Jun 2023
19 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tight lanes approaching. we came in motor home which made it more difficult to see area - more suited to caravan owners or if you tow a car"
Read full review
Declan D wrote a tip Apr 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you're planning to use mobile internet, it's the country side and there is little to no signal. It's good if you're looking to get away from your phone for a while."
Read full review
Claudiapink wrote a tip Sept 2021
16 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Access to site is through narrow countryside lanes, but our 8ft wide caravan made it there without any problem."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bridport area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetBridport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1,114
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE DORSET HIDEAWAY - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Dorset Hideaway
Which popular attractions are close to The Dorset Hideaway?
Nearby attractions include Charmouth Heritage Coast Centre (3.6 miles), Golden Cap Estate (3.6 miles), and The Town Mill (4.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Dorset Hideaway?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a spa, free parking, and a hot tub.
Is parking available at The Dorset Hideaway?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Dorset Hideaway?
Conveniently located restaurants include Whole Hog Lyme Bay, Baroque, and Red Panda Lyme Regis.
Are pets allowed at The Dorset Hideaway?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Dorset Hideaway?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Town Mill (4.9 miles).
Is The Dorset Hideaway accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Bridport HotelsBridport Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BridportHotels near The Dorset Hideaway
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire