Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mortons Manor Hotel

Room with a view
Traveller (113)
Durdle Door
Room & Suite (35)
Evening meal
Dining (19)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 2 hotels in Corfe Castle
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
Sitting at the base of Corfe Castle the listed II* Mortons Manor is steeped full of history and dates back to 1590. The Tudor building was built in the shape of an ‘E’ to honour Queen Elizabeth who stayed here. Located in the heart of the Purbecks the hotel is family owned and proud of its three-star AA award for hospitality. The perfect place to relax after exploring all that the Jurassic coast has to offer. Our award winning two rosette restaurant is the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion or dinner throughout your stay. The Mortons Manor team looks forward to offering you a very warm welcome
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
195Reviews0Q+A47Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 147
  • 30
  • 12
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Murmeltier wrote a review Sept 2020
West Sussex53 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked for my husband’s pre birthday treat, also nostalgic as his mother was brought up in Corfe. The hotel has had a lovely refurb since we last visited under previous owners. Room was spotless, so many thoughtful, quality extras and masses of storage space (I don’t travel light!). Staff were all lovely, nothing too much trouble.

Food very good indeed. We will look forward to a return visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hannah C, Marketing at Mortons Manor Hotel
Responded 1 Oct 2020
Thank you Murmeltier for your lovely review of your visit. We are so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your experience with us for your husbands birthday treat. I will pass all your lovely comments on the team. Thank you again, Mortons Manor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian Brundell wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We've stayed at mortons manor on 4 occasions now, and as always it was outstandanding, the rooms have been re decorated and are very comfortable. The beds have all had new mattresses pillows and bed linen and are extremely comfortable. The food in the restaruant is first class. The staff as always are very friendly polite and welcoming. Would highly recommend a stay here
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hannah C, Marketing at Mortons Manor Hotel
Responded 7 Sept 2020
Thank you Corfe69 for your review on your stay with us. I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the different qualities of the hotel that impressed you. I will pass your amazing words onto the kitchen team and tell them how much you liked the food. Thank you again, Mortons Manor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rambler wrote a review Oct 2021
Devon, United Kingdom295 contributions152 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just had a short break at this hotel. The location is great, just a few minutes walk from the village and Corfe Castle. The interior is tastefully decorated and our room No 10 had a lovely view over the garden to Corfe Castle. The room wasn’t very big, but was spotless and had everything you needed including a good size flat screen TV and the bathroom had a great shower and plenty of room on a long shelf to put your toiletries. The bed was very comfy, but a bit too warm for us so they quickly changed the duvet for a sheet and blanket. The staff are an asset to the hotel, very friendly and welcoming and can’t do enough for you. The breakfast was very nice, but one niggle was that the portion of scrambled egg was very small, so I asked for a larger portion the next day. One guest was confused because one day she only had one rasher of bacon and the next day it was two and my husband was disappointed that there was no black pudding. We booked our stay 6 weeks in advance and only managed to get an evening table booking for one evening, so you need to book a table as soon as you make your booking. The evening meal was delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: For a quiet room ask for one overlooking the garden/Corfe Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hannah C, Marketing at Mortons Manor Hotel
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Thank you Diane, I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed many of the charms and characteristic of Mortons Manor. We are very proud of our staff, they really try to make everyones stay as enjoyable as possible. I will pass on your kind words to them. Thank you again, Mortons Manor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eli232 wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom9 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had our wedding at Mortons House at the end of November. From the moment we first visited the hotel we loved it despite it being a little tired. The new owners have transformed the hotel completely, gradually refurbing each room, making the place light, airy and stylish, whilst maintaining the lovely old features of the building. The ceremony was held in the panelled Oak Room, followed by a three course meal in the main dining room. We had exclusivity of the place on the day of the wedding. The staff and meal were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble (special shout out to Ronelle the Hotel Manager who oversees wedding arrangements and Karen the owner). All our guests had a great time and many commented on having had such an enjoyable day. Thanks Mortons - we'll see you again soon. Mr & Mrs V
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from mortonshousehotel, Manager at Mortons Manor Hotel
Responded 30 Jun 2020
Thank you Mr & Mrs V! We loved celebrating your wedding here. We're so thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us from start to finish. :) Thank you for your lovely words about the hotels transformation I will pass them on. See you very soon, thank you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AlexVin100 wrote a review Dec 2020
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom28 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It has been a funny old year and, with Covid restrictions, all of our other holidays had been cancelled. So we decided to book a couple of nights away... this was our second attempt as the first one got postponed due to the November lockdown. From that postponement, through to the run up to the trip and throughout our stay, the staff could not have been more helpful - they rearranged things, took meal orders for our stay and explained what the “Covid secure” arrangements would be. It made us feel incredibly confident that we would be looked after.

On arrival we were greeted warmly and shown around the hotel - it is just beautiful! We stayed in the Terrace Suite overlooking the terrace and with occasional glimpses of the trains on the Steam Railway. It is beautifully furnished and quiet.

We ate dinner on both evenings in the restaurant and... wow! Just wow! The food is just amazing! Locally sourced produce and home made bread... everything was deliciously cooked.

The staff are incredibly friendly and made us feel so welcome - thank you so much for a perfect few days away. We hope to come back and visit again!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hannah C, Marketing at Mortons Manor Hotel
Responded 4 Jan 2021
Thank you AlexVin100 for your lovely review on your stay with us. I am so happy to read how much you enjoyed all the aspect of the hotel and your stay especially during this strange strange time. We hope you'll come visit us again soon! Mortons Manor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
friendlyhiker2016 wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom198 contributions73 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros:- Morton’s Manor is a historic country house located in the village of Corfe in Dorset. A home away from home set in the perfect location for site seeing Corfe Castle, tearooms and Swanage. The staff were very friendly and check in was very swift. We were not in the main part of the house we stayed in a room in the annex at the side of the building. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and had a lovely perfume smell. Had a great nights sleep both nights but the walls are fairly thin between the rooms (no sound proofing) so we needed to close the bathroom door to avoid hearing the next door room chatting and laughing loudly. Covid precautions are in place with a one way system through the hotel, masks and social distancing. We ate dinner in the restaurant both nights and the food was well presented and very tasty and we had a drink in the main drawing room beforehand. Overall a really pleasant, homely stay in Morton’s we would definitely come back here for another weekend break in Dorset. Cons:- No fresh fruit option on the breakfast menu. I would add fresh fruits to the breakfast menu because there is no fruit other than tinned pears so I missed having fresh fruit salad at breakfast. On the second night the people upstairs had a shower, this caused the water pipes in our room to make a deafening screaming/screeching sound which lasted around 15-20 minutes. Thin walls between rooms in the annex, consider sound proofing the walls/pipes.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hannah C, Marketing at Mortons Manor Hotel
Responded 28 Sept 2020
Thank you Friendlyhiker2016 for your review of your stay with us. I am pleased to read how comfortable you were during your stay and that you were able to make the most of our amazing sites around us. I will pass your comments onto management and the kitchen. We are pleased you had a lovely time and hope to see you again soon. Mortons Manor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janet22_10 wrote a review Jul 2020
London, United Kingdom27 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were friendly, the rooms clean and the fool was very good. This was our first stay away from home post lockdown and we were very careful about choosing a hotel that provided assurance on COVID protection measures. Mortons House took great care in ensuring that guests were comfortable with their precautions and even desiganted us a family couch in the lounge. The location is really good for visiting the Jurassic coast and the village is quaint. The rooms have been recently refurbished and were spotlessly clean. The staff were really friendly and coped with our fussy dining requirements really well. The food was really good although I was a little disappointed in my eaton mess which had been deconstructed. I am a bit of a purist when it comes to eaton mess though!.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hannah C, Marketing at Mortons Manor Hotel
Responded 29 Jul 2020
Thank you Janet22_10 for your lovely review of your stay with us especially after this unsettled time. I am trilled to read that you were happy with the precautions in place and that your stay wasn't interrupted by them. Thank you for your comments on our staff and food I am pleased you enjoyed them during your stay. We are in a fantastic location and pleased you were able to explore the local area. We hope you'll come and visit us again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ath198 wrote a review Jan 2020
Epsom, Surrey4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Morton’s House hotel is well situated in the village of Corfe Castle and a great base for some fantastic walks to the coast at Swanage and Studland. The standout features for us were the staff, who were attentive without being overbearing, and the amazing quality of the food. Particular mention should be given to Luke who found the time to answer all our questions and gave us great advice on a variety of topics from local walks to recommendations from the wine list. Our thanks to the whole team for a fantastic few days.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from mortonshousehotel, Manager at Mortons Manor Hotel
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are so pleased to read how much our staff impressed you during your stay. They really do try to make everyone's stay enjoyable and memorable. We will pass your special thanks onto Luke. We are in an amazing location and you are right the walks are lovely. We hope you'll visit us again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul P wrote a review Jun 2021
St. Albans, United Kingdom86 contributions75 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What an amazing hotel. Recently refurbished to very high standard and with a keen eye for detail. We had a castle view which was spectacular. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom not only well stocked but with space to leave wash items etc. Breakfast menu was varied and interesting. Also very tasty and not too much. One advantage of COVID is waiter service so that food is hot fresh and not stewed under buffet lamps. Outdoor bar terrace is a great sun trap and well accessed to the detailed bar menu. Evening meal in restaurant was to die for. Well presented tasty and again right quantities. Will return
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hannah C, Marketing at Mortons Manor Hotel
Responded 17 Jun 2021
Thank you Paul, I'm so happy to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will pass all your lovely comments onto our staff and hope you'll come back and visit us again soon! Thank you Mortons Manor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
safariman2011 wrote a review Oct 2021
Southampton, United Kingdom37 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Have just returned from a three night break. From the moment you drive in to the large, safe parking area this establishment exudes class. The buildings are well maintained as is everything inside. We were based this time in the three room annex. This was great as you have your own entrance and can come and go with ease without having to enter the main building. The room was spotless with ample storage space, plenty of coathangers, and a good en suite. Towels , bottled water, tea/coffee facilities etc were changed daily. The staff , especially Karris, were welcoming, very friendly and helpful. The food was first class and apparently prepared by a master chef finalist. Superb attention to detail. The hotel ensures that in the restaurant the tables are well spread and generally covid secure. This was our second time here and no doubt there will be a third. Thoroughly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The annex is great if you want extra covid security away from the main building.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hannah C, Marketing at Mortons Manor Hotel
Responded 9 Nov 2021
Thank you Safariman2011 for your review of your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay and will share all your lovely comments with the staff. We hope you'll be back for your third visit very soon. Thank you again, Mortons Manor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Hannah K wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go here "
Read full review
JDarby wrote a tip Oct 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"For a special evening book a table"
Read full review
Janet W wrote a tip Jun 2023
Hereford, United Kingdom30 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book now. Absolutely wonderful."
Read full review
Chris H wrote a tip May 2023
Salisbury, United Kingdom78 contributions72 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just enjoy your visit!"
Read full review
hooligirl2019 wrote a tip Jan 2023
Fareham, United Kingdom12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If they are like ours they are all perfect"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Corfe Castle area.
PRICE RANGE
£179 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mortons hotel corfe castle, mortons corfe castle
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Mortons House Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetIsle of PurbeckCorfe Castle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MORTONS MANOR HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Mortons Manor Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mortons Manor Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Dorset Adventure Park (0.4 miles), Corfe Castle (0.08 miles), and The Etches Collection, Museum of Jurassic Marine Life (3.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mortons Manor Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mortons Manor Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mortons Manor Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mortons Manor Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Down The Beach, Java Independent Coffee House, and Garden Gate Tea Room.
Is Mortons Manor Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Corfe Castle.
Does Mortons Manor Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Mortons Manor Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Jurassic Coast (3.9 miles), Wareham Town Walls Walk (4.0 miles), and Fort Henry (4.8 miles).
Is Mortons Manor Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Corfe Castle HotelsCorfe Castle Hotel DealsHotels near Mortons Manor Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire