We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Smuggler's Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Smuggler\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 375: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in for a few pints and a game of canasta after walking along the coast path. Good choice of ales and plenty of room for the pram. No pressure to buy more even when we were playing cards - relaxed friendly atmosphere Will call again this week for food on our next walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John E
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Charminster
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dropped in for coffee after a walk along the coastal path. Ended up buying some food as the menu looked so good. Not disappointed. Dog friendly and warm atmosphere. Roaring open fire and attentive staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Newark, UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had walked from Lulworth Cove on the coastal path & just looking for a snack. Attractively done out interior. Having been directed to a table & got all our walking layers removed & ruck sacks deposited, we then had to be moved as the table was reserved ! We only ordered a sandwich & chips to share - so they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank XS-Baggage
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the name of the Public House and date of visit and email us at: anthony@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped off for lunch at The Smugglers Inn. Visiting the area on a unusually warm November Afternoon. The Smugglers Inn was recommended by the Holiday Park staff at Warmwell. We were not disappointed. Superb Location, great character pub. Nice food. Would different return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela U
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Took the opportunity to have a short break in Dorset and opted for The Smugglers as we were taking our dog and needed a good walking base. Going in November we were anticipating a low key stay but the pub has a loyal local following and the staff were kept busy. Despite the first frosts of the year our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and thanks for your great feedback. I am so pleased you had a nice time and I look forward to sharing your review with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Polegate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was very well presented and clean we found info in the desk drawer about pub and local attractions. They sell postcards of the smugglers inn from the bar which had the room where we stayed.Plenty of walks for the able bodied along with our 12 year our sociable old dog was on his holiday too!The walks all seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hovis14
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased we delivered great hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were met with a warm welcome from the Duty Manager, Karen, and shown to our room (number 5), which was very comfortable with good sized ensuite facilities. Above the bed is a small ledge & this was sadly thick with dust, however the rest of the facilities were clean. The bar was large and full of character. The evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen t
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We were staying in Osmington Mills and looked forward to frequenting the Smugglers Inn as it was just 10 minutes walk. However when we arrived at the area after a two hour drive we decided to go straight to the Inn for a lunch. My partner ordered our drinks and asked about lunch and was told in a very grumpy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 967robert
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the name of the Public House and date of visit and email us at: anthony@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Can't believe the negative reviews. This place is a gem Great location and lovely pub Food was great, the pies are excellent, would recommend the mini pies as you can try the different types Can't wait to return, to enjoy even more

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank paul a
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

dorset
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Went there for lunch on Oct. 25th., three adults and two children. We asked for a table and were given a sofa and two armchairs as the other tables were full, they weren't. Ordered at the bar, collected our drinks and sat down. After an hour and no food we enquired as to when it was coming and it transpired...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank willowbed
Hall W, Manager at The Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the name of the Public House and date of visit and email us at: anthony@hall-woodhouse.co.uk

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmington Mills
5.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Lulworth
391 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
936 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
844 reviews
7.4 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
580 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Smuggler's Inn

Address: Osmington, Osmington Mills, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Osmington Mills
Price Range: £82 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Smuggler's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smuggler`s Hotel Osmington Mills
Smugglers Hotel Osmington Mills
The Smuggler's Inn Osmington Mills, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Smuggler's Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Smuggler's Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“front of house if possible as you have a better view and no kitchen noise”
  • complimentary toiletries
  • en-suite
  • Room 5
  • Room 5
  • Room 5
 of 5 bubbles 618karent, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try the Tanglefoot beer.”
 of 5 bubbles Christian_Briddon, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“pre book table for indoor eating. this place gets very busy as it's very popular for walkers”
 of 5 bubbles barty1961, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Best to book, you will be amazed as to the number of tables outside!”
 of 5 bubbles NigelG35, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We didn't stay here, we just had lunch, and waited ages for it.”
 of 5 bubbles Lainey65, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay