Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns

Traveller (209)
Room & Suite (56)
Breakfast with a dollop of brown sauce.
Dining (18)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 2 hotels in Wimborne Minster
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Welcome to Kings Head Hotel, your Wimborne Minster “home away from home.” Kings Head Hotel aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

While staying at Kings Head Hotel, visitors can check out Wimborne Town FC (0.4 mi) and Honeybrook Farm (1.7 mi), some of Wimborne Minster's top attractions.

Rooms at Kings Head Hotel offer a flat screen TV and a desk providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

Free breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Kings Head Hotel, free parking is available.

If you’re looking for an Indian restaurant, consider a visit to Wimborne Tandoori or Taj, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Kings Head Hotel.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Wimborne Minster (0.1 mi), The Tivoli Theatre (0.1 mi), and Wimborne Model Town (0.1 mi), which are some popular Wimborne Minster attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

Kings Head Hotel puts the best of Wimborne Minster at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Room features
Desk
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
1,114Review3Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 400
  • 350
  • 186
  • 99
  • 79
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Shots1926 wrote a review Jun 2021
Farnborough, United Kingdom95 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic stay. So the rooms are a little bit dated but it is an old building the furniture is to reflect a feeling . Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, and, as somewhere to sleep and stay, served it's purpose perfectly. The best thing about the whole stay though was the staff, everyone we met was amazing (and some even better than that) , nothing was to much trouble, they were all so friendly and helpful you felt like you had known them for years. If you want high speed, smooth broadband, WiFi enabled TVs with netflix, air con and modern decor you might want to head somewhere else. But if you want great people, a comfy bed, friendly faces, a good breakfast and a relaxing stay then stay here.
Thanks everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Quieter rooms will be at the back of the hotel. There is a lift to the 2nd floor, but in a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns
Responded 5 Jun 2021
Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team. Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John F wrote a review Mar 2022
10 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just spent a long weekend with my wife at this hotel and we had a great time. The hotel looks on to the small central square of Wimborne very near to a host of pubs, restaurants and cafes as well as a variety of shops. Breakfasts were always pleasant and enjoyable and the restaurant food and service was excellent value for evening meals. Some of the decor is rather dated but I have no problem with the more traditional style of hotel. What impressed us most was the sheer goodwill and pleasantness shown by all of the staff and we had contact with them in many different areas including housekeeping/room cleaning, the bar, reception and the restaurant. Shana seems to ensure the smooth running of all aspects and we saw her at various places including breakfasts and occasionally in the bar or at reception. She leads by example and is always helpful and efficient. We spoke with brother and sister Stuart and Liz who each did housekeeping for our room on some occasions. What delightful people, so understanding and eager to please. To sum up: this hotel is beautifully positioned, with free parking, in the centre of a quiet town. Its staff all try their best to be helpful and the food the hotel provides is always good quality and good value.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns
Responded 29 Mar 2022
Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SanH1 wrote a review Aug 2022
United Kingdom288 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I received a very warm welcome from staff when I arrived here for a one nights stay. Every staff member me and my colleague met was lovely, very relaxed and open, yet professional.
I had room 26 which was really nice. There is plenty of space, a built in wardrobe and a dressing table, fab, ironing board and iron, and hairdryer. Tea and coffee of course.
Staff had thoughtfully opened the window and put the fan on in the room before I arrived, making the room lovely and cool to walk into.
I didn’t stay long in my room, just long enough to offload my things as we were hungry, and the lovely smells emanating from the kitchen on arrival were too much temptation.
I had sirloin steak which was cooked to perfection and soon dispelled the munchies.
After this we went for a walk around the town having not been here before. It is a pity the shops were closed as I would have loved some retail therapy. This town is so beautiful but as were here for work and leaving early the next day, I shall have to return another time.
Back to my room. Worth a mention is the decor and art work, different in a good way.
The double bed was nicely made up with good quality linen, and the mattress was soooooo soft, a delight after staying in hotels with rocks for beds. I was so looking forward to getting in, and it did not disappoint.
First a bath which was so needed. The bathroom was small but clean and functional. The bath is a bit slow to fill, but we got there in the end. The shower was powerful.
I slept so well and didn’t really want to get up the next day, but all good things must come to an end.
Breakfast was good with generous portions, and a good selection. I had poached eggs on what should have been smashed avocado (well that’s what was advertised but I got sliced avocado - not as expected). Nevertheless it was good.
I shall return here when I come back to Wimborne for leisure. I have never stayed in a Greene King Inn before, but I will in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns
Responded 24 Aug 2022
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to let us know how we have got on. We really appreciate reviews like this as it motivates the team. We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time and we look forward to your next visit. We have Greene King hotels all over the country so we hope you will take advantage of that and explore. Many Thanks The Kings Head Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan R wrote a review Jan 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at this hotel for many years & are always made to feel welcome by the staff. Unfortunately they have no control over the changes that we have seen happening.
Breakfast has gone from being served your drinks, toast and cooked breakfast to a help yourself if you can find it breakfast. With one member of staff trying to juggle everything. The evening meal was a joke as most of the items had been crossed off & this was on the busiest week for xmas parties. The young waiter deserved a medal for having to face the customers with this unacceptable situation.
Any reported problems in the rooms were unable to be fixed until they had authorisation from head office & yet they were still offering these rooms to stay in.
If Greene King are not very careful they will lose the remaining loyal staff that try to keep this place running & their loyal customers too. This would be such a shame, as it is on an ideal place to visit such a lovely area.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene_K1ng, Manager at King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you again soon Rebecca Assistant Manger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Honest wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me begin by saying that the staff at this hotel are excellent. They are warm and friendly and very welcoming and go out of tgheir way to may your stay very pleasurable.
However they are being badly let down by their Head Office making changes to cut corners and costs which is resulting in a deterioration in the quality of the building and more importantly service at breakfast. Their head office has made the decision to cut staff breakfast to the bone in that if you want tea/coffee, get it yourself. Cup and saucer? Next to the coffee machine. Toast? Make it yourself. Plate for the toast? Over on the sideboard. Knife for butter? Use your knife that you ate the cooked breakfast with. Newspapaer? Go and buy one......In fact the only thing that the solitary waiter does is to take your room number and your breakfast order.
The condition of the building isn't too great. Paint peeling and a buddliegh growing on the outside wall on the top floor!
This has been our go to hotel in the area for several years and although it was always a little jaded it had a warm feel to it. But now...... we will continue to stay there as it is comfortable and I repeat the staff are great but as for breakfast there are plenty of cafes etc within minutes who have staff who are there to serve you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Marketing at King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns
Responded 1 Nov 2020
Hi Inspire744686, I really appreciate your honest feedback, and it will definitely be taken on board. I'm sorry for the experience you've had, and I hope you'll give us another try as this is not our usual standard.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kat wrote a review Jun 2022
Wareham, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is disgusting please don’t waste your hard earned money, it’s completely overpriced and falling to bits. When we arrived there was no one on reception my husband had to go and find her in the bar, she had a face full of cake and continued to speak with her mouth full (yuck) the room was awful the chair in the room was broken , the room was very small for a double there was bits of wood hanging off the window frame, mind you our son and his husband’s also had a disgusting room and where told not to open their windows as the pigeons would fly in. Take my word there are too many bad things to write them all we have stayed in a lot of hotels in our time together and this was by far the worst and charging £125 per room is just outrageous.
When we went down for breakfast the following morning we waited for quite a while but no one came, the tables where all sticky and horrible, so yet again my husband went to find someone only to be told breakfast wasn’t included with the price of the room, if we wanted it, it would be another £25 added to the bill.
Unbelievable so we left.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
john c wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you to the staff of the King's Head. I phoned to check that they could accommodate an elderly relative with mobility issues and they bent over backwards to make sure we had a room next to the lift and with easy access for a wheel chair.
The accommodation was spacious and comfortable with a good breakfast as well.
The hotel is right in the hub of the town and was easy to get out and explore from.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Owner at King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns
Responded 30 Sept 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us :-)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Smiffta wrote a review Sept 2023
Croydon, United Kingdom1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Kingshead from September 12th to September 15th, 2023.
Check-in on the 12th at 14:00 was a breeze, although the staff member at the front desk initially appeared a bit distant, as if preoccupied with other tasks.
Our room, Room 6, left much to be desired. It showed signs of wear and tear, with wallpaper peeling in places and cobwebs lurking in various corners. The curtains were unevenly hung, and a broken curtain rail made it impossible to close them properly. Some white paint stains adorned the curtains. The bedside lamp had a short cord, making it inconvenient to use from the bed.
Our first evening meal on the 12th was acceptable. The staff, however, were a delight—pleasant and exceptionally helpful.
On Wednesday, the 13th, we were rudely awakened by the noise of a delivery truck unloading goods at 6:30 AM, right below our bedroom window. Breakfast was a letdown, with lukewarm cooked items and underwhelming poached eggs. The sourdough bread was inedible.
Dinner with friends that evening was mediocre, with overcooked chicken dishes and dry fish cakes. The battered fish was passable but lukewarm. Again, the staff shone with their pleasant and helpful demeanor.
The 14th brought another disappointing breakfast with overcooked poached eggs, cold mushrooms, and unpalatable sourdough toast. The traditional English breakfast on the menu was far from what was served.
We opted not to dine at the hotel in the evening.
On the 15th, breakfast was a slight improvement, thanks to a detailed order given to the waitress, which the chef executed well.
In summary, the Kingshead is in dire need of a renovation. We stayed in various rooms during our visits, and all were in need of a makeover. Broken and cracked windows, ceiling water stains, and sweltering rooms during the summer months were recurrent issues. The bathroom was functional but had a cumbersome tap system, and the hot water tap sometimes jammed, making temperature adjustment tricky.
Rooms were reasonably clean, but small touches like changing water glasses and a more thorough cleaning would have been appreciated.
The food quality was inconsistent compared to previous visits, leaning more towards pre-packaged items rather than freshly prepared dishes. The absence of the appealing specials menu of the past was noted.
However, the standout feature of the Kingshead is its exceptional staff. They were unfailingly brilliant, always ready to assist with a smile and engage in friendly conversations. The staff truly made this visit memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SamandSteve1 wrote a review Jan 2020
Chichester, West Sussex, England22 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
16 of us stayed at The Kings Head in Wimborne last weekend as we had our Annual Managers Party. It was a freezing cold weekend but so cosy and warm inside the hotel! Everyone’s room was beautiful, spacious and clean and the staff couldn’t be more helpful and polite, even though we were a bit rowdy when returning late after our party, they were very understanding!! Delicious breakfast served on Sunday Morning from a full English to a vegetarian fry up, something for everyone. Thanks guys for putting up with us and hopefully you won’t mind if we come back next year!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene_K1ng, Manager at King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns
Responded 9 Jan 2020
You are most welcome and look forward to welcoming you back in 2020
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dhealey93 wrote a review Aug 2020
Southampton, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything about this trip was below par.
Firstly every item we ordered off the menu was incorrectly priced meaning we got charged more than stated.
The food itself was of the cheapest quality, I honestly could have made better food myself for £1 from Aldi.
The servers were rude and could be overheard speaking badly of each other.
Everything was just terrible, and so expensive for the terrible quality we received.
Just terrible.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Owner at King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Thank you for your review sorry to hear you weren't happy with your visit, due to high demands of the government eat out scheme we have been limited on menu items, I will take up this matter with our team members who were working regarding personal issues being discussed, please feel free to contact us personally as we would like you to return and rectify your experience with us. :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
billyr38 asked a question Jan 2017
London, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
Restaurent
Answer from Iris W
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom78 contributions36 helpful votes
Hi billyr38, This is a pub with rooms and restaurant - I think in the Greene King group. Hope this helps.
David L asked a question Sept 2016
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
is there car parking avalible
Answer from johnboy59
Crawley, United Kingdom282 contributions133 helpful votes
Yes
David L asked a question Sept 2016
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
is there parking avalible
Answer from benjamino1974
Poole, United Kingdom132 contributions40 helpful votes
Yes guest parking with permit
bec5566 wrote a tip 16 Apr
Hertfordshire25 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay in Room 15!"
Read full review
Nicola D wrote a tip 10 Apr
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom13 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Have lunch."
Read full review
babsBournemouth wrote a tip Feb 2024
bournemouth32 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is easy in the car park round the back of the hotel."
Read full review
Hannah G wrote a tip Dec 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Worth going "
Read full review
Hilary S wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Car park at the rear of the hotel"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wimborne Minster area.
PRICE RANGE
£73 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kings head wimborne
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetWimborne Minster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KING'S HEAD HOTEL BY GREENE KING INNS - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns
Which popular attractions are close to King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns?
Nearby attractions include The Minster Church of St Cuthburga (0.09 miles), The Tivoli Theatre (0.09 miles), and Museum of East Dorset (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns?
Conveniently located restaurants include Renoufs (Wimborne), The Wimborne Pig, and Nusara.
Is King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Wimborne Minster.
Are pets allowed at King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Tivoli Theatre (0.09 miles), Upton Country Park (4.6 miles), and Kingston Lacy (2.0 miles).
Is King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Wimborne Minster HotelsWimborne Minster Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Wimborne MinsterHotels near King's Head Hotel By Greene King Inns
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire