We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Woodside Hotel

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (2)
Dining (8)
Room & Suite (8)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good12%
  • Average6%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“quaint hotel”(2 reviews)
“train station”(2 reviews)
“warm welcome”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for The Woodside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
11
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
11
2
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquaint hoteltrain stationwarm welcomestayed herekyleedinburghwedding
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 14 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Absolutely blown away by the Scottish hospitality from the moment we stepped foot in this gorgeous family run hotel. Greeted by genuinely friendly staff, who couldn't do enough to assist us. Yes I am from London! A quaint hotel, we met the owners who have...More

1  Thank Sue C
Response from Johnmctaggart, Owner at The Woodside HotelResponded 22 February 2018

Hi Sue C, We're delighted to read your review. You capture so much of what Aberdour is and hopefully we can build a hotel fit for this amazing part of the world. We're pushing on again and hopefully you can return and see how we're...More

Reviewed 31 January 2018

Very disappointed after choosing this hotel for a relaxing weekend away with my partner to find that there was no dining facilities. This was NOT shown on their website or booking.com which we would have expected to be made aware of when booking a 'hotel'...More

1  Thank paco86
Response from Johnmctaggart, Owner at The Woodside HotelResponded 22 February 2018

Hi paco86 I'm disappointed with your review to be honest. I very candidly explained to you the background to us taking over and why we had no dining facilities at your time of staying. I also explained why the website, which we inherited and were...More

Reviewed 30 December 2017

We had a decent stay but a few things took the edge off firstly after driving 250 miles we looked forward to eating in the restaurant only to find it closed. The pictures made it look a great place to dine and it is but...More

1  Thank Frank B
Response from Johnmctaggart, Owner at The Woodside HotelResponded 1 January 2018

Hi Frank B I'm sorry about the kitchen being closed; it was a decision we simply had to make as new owners. Likewise, the simple mistake with the breakfast. Did you bring this to the attention of the staff? I'm sure they would have corrected...More

Reviewed 25 November 2017

This hotel is well placed for a Edinburgh as there is a train station nearby and it it certainly not Edinburgh prices. Free car park behind the hotel. We were impressed with Kyle who has worked there for 11 years. It was a quiet night...More

Thank Wookie60
Response from Johnmctaggart, Owner at The Woodside HotelResponded 27 December 2017

Hi Wookie60, My wife and I are the new owners of the Woodside hotel. I'm delighted you had a good experience at the hotel. Yes, Kyle is a star, we're very lucky to have him on board, so to speak! Hope to see you again....More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Concierge
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$95 - US$174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$95 - US$174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (2)
Dining (8)
Room & Suite (8)
Pool & Beach (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
anniemartin899
17 April 2018|
Answer
Response from Johnmctaggart | Property representative |
Hi, sorry, we only allow pets in the foyer/reception area.
-1
Votes
Room Tips
"Room 17 was a large room at front of the hotel. Large comfortable room and the shower is excellent."
Read review
"Little bit of road noise at the front so you may want one at the back for full peace & quiet"
Read review
"Check that the restaurant is actually open"
Read review
"We were in the Wallace room with a king size bed"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing