We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lomond Hills Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lomond Hills Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

526 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 518: English reviews
Start your review of Lomond Hills Hotel
 Click to rate
Maybole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Slightly disappointed. My son took his girlfriend for her 21st. They were in the attic as hotel was busy. Room was very small tv was tiny. They went to use facilities however jacuzzi was cold it put them off using the others. Staff friendly meal was good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _tamie695
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I recently stayed here with my mum and a friend. We had a lovely weekend at the hotel, we have no complaints at all. As the other reviews make clear, the staff are wonderful, Ronnie and his team offer a customer service experience second to none. The hotel feels like a home from home. I used the pool and spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure looking after you, your mum and friend Nicola M during your stay with us. I am so happy to read that our fab staff provided the service and food that made you feel comfortable and that you had the chance to enjoy the use of our leisure centre. I hope that we have the opportunity to...

Gourock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and what a gem of a place this is - I can't say I've ever met friendlier staff in a hotel, for a start. Nothing was too much trouble, and oh! the food, we had evening meals both nights and it was gorgeous. I especially loved the lemon sole goujons which were so fresh and plentiful. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

What a "fabulous review" after your "fabulous visit"! Thank you very much Valerie W for your extremely kind words. It's great to know that you enjoyed the food on our new dinner menu and that you had the opportunity to explore what we have here to see and do in a lovely part in Fife. Hopefully we will see you...

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here for a late valentines meal. Even from booking the table, the staff were extremely friendly on the phone. Arrived and was greeted with really friendly and helpful staff. The lounge was a nice chilled area for a drink before we were seated at our table. The food was really delicious, both myself and my partner were really impressed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TinaV123188
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much TinaV 123188 for posting such a lovely review after your recent visit to our newly refurbished FRAOCH RESTAURANT withing The Lomond Hills Hotel. Our Head Chef took a lot of care selecting new dishes for the menu, which will now be regularly changed to provide lots of variety. I hope that you manage to return soon....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a wonderful visit in Freuchie and a very warm and welcoming stay at the Lomond Hills Hotel. Super cosy pub with locals dropping in. Newly refurbished restaurant has a great menu and really good wine list. Together with the romantic ambience and good service it all adds up to an excellent hotel choice if you're looking for a place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel C
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mel C and thanks for your kind review. Hope you had a safe trip home to South Africa and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bonnie Scotland in the future. It was a pleasure looking after you both and I'm so pleased to see that you enjoyed our food (and wine). Ronnie and all the team.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here one night before a family wedding nearby. Room clean and comfortable and staff very friendly and keen to help especially Erica on reception who was so welcoming and eager to help. We had a nice meal in the restaurant - some areas in the hotel can be a little cold but it was very cold outside

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle95
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks Annabelle95 for posting a lovely review and for your kind words about our wonderful staff. Hope to see you again in the near future (when it's not minus six degrees outside).

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My sister and I took our mother off for a well deserved night away. I saw a deal on itison and thought it was too good to be true! From the minuet we arrived to the time we left the staff could not have been nicer. Rooms were clean, warm and well appointed, tea/coffee biscuits, nice bathroom. Relaxing pre dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

It was a joy to look after you, your sister and especially your charming mum! I'm so pleased to read that we appear to have looked after you all and that you were able to relax on your girlie break. Thank you too for your kind words and wishes for the future. We all hope to see you again soon....

Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We used 'It is on.com ' to book a fantastic deal at this Fife hotel. We ate in the restaurant where the choice for each course was excellent. The food was delicious and the monkfish/king prawn dish as a Valentine's special was sensational. A surprise single rose was a lovely touch although not the 14th! We used the leisure facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce T
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much 178jojo for taking the time to post such a kind review after your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your Valentine's Dinner in our Fraoch Restaurant. I have attended to the bed that you mentioned so future guests can enjoy a peaceful sleep. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes and...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited The Lomond Hills Hotel with my mum and sister on an Itison deal. We had a really lovely girls night away. Rooms were clean, comfortable and warm, swimming pool and spa was an great added extra and the food was delicious. But the best aspect of this hotel is the fabulous staff. From the minute we checked in to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katemac70
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much Katemac70 for posting such a kind review and awarding us five stars. It was a pleasure looking after you all and am delighted to read that you were well looked after by our "fabulous staff". We all hope that you return to stay with us again soon. Best wishes to all three of you. Ronnie and the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I checked out today after an overnight stay. The hotel is lovely with great facilities (much bigger than we realised). The room was gorgeous with a massive four poster bed which was so comfy we found it difficult to leave this morning! The room itself was very spacious and the bathroom was modern with good water pressure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThatChattygirl
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there ThatChattygirl (I remember you well form your nome de plume ha ha. We are all so happy to read how much you both enjoyed your stay, our menu and selection of malt whiskies. Hope to see you again soon as I am sure there a few still to try. Best wishes. Ronnie.

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freuchie
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel
13.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
1,073 reviews
2.7 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
470 reviews
18.6 mi away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
15.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lomond Hills Hotel, established in 1733, is an eighteenth-century converted coaching inn situated at the foot of the Lomond Hills. This comfortable inn is an ideal place to stay when visiting the Kingdom of Fife, whether on business or for pleasure. The Old Inn has been extended over the years and has a candle-lit restaurant serving a superb A La Carte Menu, comfortable lounges and 24 well-appointed en suite bedrooms with full facilities, including free WIFI access using high speed FIBRE. The public bar is always well stocked and offers over 50 malt whiskies and quality Real Ales. Several rooms are available for meetings, conferences, parties, weddings and other functions, from 10 to 200 guests. Call to make an appointment to view what we have on offer. The well-equipped leisure centre is free for guest use comprising of a heated indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and jacuzzi. The village of Freuchie is set amidst rich farming country and is situated in the heart of Fife where it lies within a 25 mile radius of 52 golf courses including St Andrews. Only 25 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 17 miles from St Andrews. Main Line Railway Station (Ladybank) 2 miles. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lomond Hills Hotel

Address: High Street, Freuchie KY15 7EY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Freuchie
Price Range: £70 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lomond Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Lomond Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hills Freuchie
Lomond Hills Hotel Freuchie, Fife, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lomond Hills Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
13 days ago
4 months ago
Stowmarket, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Lomond Hills Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I only seen rooms 2 and 3, both were great!”
 of 5 bubbles 111nicolam, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Honey moon suite is very sunny with a nice view . well equipped gym and swimming pool with jacuzzi and sauna . A wee surprise .”
 of 5 bubbles carolsteel36, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think when booking to ask staff what rooms you get the best views from .”
 of 5 bubbles lorrainec612, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you're not from the UK, get a tutorial on how the shower works.”
 of 5 bubbles 38philipp, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Any room for a quiet night !”
 of 5 bubbles lizholme, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5