We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Caledonian Hotel

81 High Street, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 4NG Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (81)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (24)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Leven
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Caledonian is the perfect place for any occasion, whether you’re celebrating a special day, meeting up with friends or wanting to enjoy a relaxing family meal, the team at the Caledonian will make you feel welcome. We have a selection of delicious mains as well as sweet treats for you to enjoy. We’ll make your visit to the Caledonian special!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
432Reviews2Q+A55Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 218
  • 79
  • 51
  • 41
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Stacy P wrote a review 17 Feb
2 contributions
Really great meal, the home made nachos were the best any of us have any had. Our server was lovely and great. Only down said was we were unable to add a tip by card. Unfortunately none.of us had any cash on us and therefore could not leave a tip and the meal and service was definitely deserving of one. Will definitely come back
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lisa N wrote a review 8 Feb
Fife, United Kingdom1 contribution
We were out celebrating a birthday with family and we have been there many times before and enjoyed the meals. Our starters were really nice and we all enjoyed them. The main course was disappointing. There was no flavour to the chicken fajitas. My mother and mother in law both ordered hunters chicken and they were dry, overcooked and one of them had to go back as it was so dry. They kindly changed it and made a new one, but this was no better and my mother did not eat it. The chicken was dry and overdone again, the only thing that was different was the amount of sauce over it. Probably to hide how dry the chicken actually was. We complained about it but no apology, not a word. The food was barely touched but we were still charged for it. There was someone next to us who returned their food too as it wasn't nice. We most certainly won't recommend our friends and family to go and we won't be back. It's such a shame as we would go frequently as they allow pets and the food was always good. Don't know what's happened, but won't waste our money on substandard food.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Connie and Jim S wrote a review 2 Feb
1 contribution
Meal was delicious and the waitress service was fantastic. Lynne, our waitress was enthusiastic, energetic and very helpful. Altogether a very pleasant experience. Would recommend, and when we go back, will be asking for Lynne to serve us again 5*
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jane W wrote a review Jan 2024
Fife, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Went for lunch here food excellent definitely improved as have been on a few occasions before and have not been impressed. Service has improved also a lot more attentive. We enjoyed our lunch immensely. Will be back well done for looking to improve thank you
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Jane W, Thank you for a lovely review. We have done a lot of work with service, it is good to hear that it has paid off. hope to see you soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GoPlaces20661547709 wrote a review Dec 2023
3 contributions
Went for a birthday lunch with the wife and we weren't disappointed food was lovely and service was quick and friendly. Tartaric sauce was missing from my order but just a quick word with our waitress and had it within 2 minutes would definitely go back here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel
Responded 27 Dec 2023
Hi Goplaces20661547709, great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our pub. Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tracy R wrote a review Nov 2023
Dunfermline, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a great stay at this hotel, we were checked in by Jade who made us feel really welcome, the room we had was so nice, it was immaculate as is the whole hotel, the bed was really comfy and the breakfast was really good we were served by Claire who was lovely . The staff are all so friendly, we would definitely recommend l!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel
Responded 6 Dec 2023
Thanks for your positive review. We're looking forward to your next visit with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tom R wrote a review Nov 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom244 contributions105 helpful votes
Always a friendly welcome and not been here for a while. A nice welcome from staff and our server Claire. Lots of choice on the menu and was served in no time and was outstanding. We sit in the pet section with our dog and staff are really friendly to the pets as well. Would not hesitate to recommend
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel
Responded 6 Dec 2023
Thanks for the five star rating!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Laura G wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
We stayed here for one night. The room was very nice and clean. All the staff we encountered were very nice and helpful especially Claire who served us at breakfast. She was very helpful and attentive
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel
Responded 6 Dec 2023
Laura G, thank you for sharing your positive experience!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fiona W wrote a review Oct 2023
St. Andrews, United Kingdom21 contributions11 helpful votes
We came here for lunch as it’s dog friendly. The food was very good and good sized portions and they were happy to amend some items to fit with personal tastes. The staff were all friendly and helpful. They were particularly helpful and kind to an elderly woman who came in whilst we were eating. We’ll definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Fionaw768, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at our pub.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kay R wrote a review Oct 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We are a group of unpaid carers who meet up every Monday and Friday mornings. Love the friendly staff at the Cali. Teresa, Jade & Claire look after our group so well. The breakfast is delicious wither it’s a full breakfast or sourdough toast.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel
Responded 25 Oct 2023
Fifefilly, we're glad we could help! Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review, see you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Leven area.
PRICE RANGE
£72 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
caledonian hotel leven
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandFifeLevenmouthLeven
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CALEDONIAN HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Leven)

Frequently Asked Questions about Caledonian Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Caledonian Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Together Levenmouth Escape Rooms (0.09 miles), Mollys (0.1 miles), and Leven War Memorial (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Caledonian Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Caledonian Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Caledonian Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Caledonian Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Base Restaurant, Mavi Steakhouse And Cocktail Bar, and Caledonian Hotel - Pub & Grill.
Is Caledonian Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Leven.
Are there any historical sites close to Caledonian Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Railway Viaduct (2.4 miles).
Is Caledonian Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.