We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (114)
Dining (29)
Room & Suite (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Forres
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ramnee Hotel has historically been the number one choice for travellers visiting Forres, offering a welcoming environment and perfect location within this historic town. Only 25 minutes from Inverness Airport, Ramnee Hotel is a popular hotel with couples and older guests, offering flat screen TVs, free wi-fi and it fully licensed. The hotel features room service and is pet-friendly. Plus, guests can enjoy free cooked breakfast, which has made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Forres. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available. While staying at Ramnee Hotel, visitors can check out Findhorn, Randolph's Leap or the many sights like Benromach distillery or Pluscarden Monastery. If you’re looking for a different restaurants apart from our own, Forres High Street has plenty of choice! Looking to explore? Then look no further than The Nelson Tower (0.4mi), Grant Park (0.2mi) with its flower displays or Sueno's stone (0.2mi), the largest Pictish stone in the world! Above all, you will have a warm, quiet stay and will be pampered by our experienced staff. After Hours service available after 9pm.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bowling
Hiking
Children's playground
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Bowling offsite
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Filipino, German and 1 more
339Reviews2Q+A62Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 143
  • 113
  • 50
  • 17
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Roger E wrote a review 11 Apr
Salford, United Kingdom41 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
"Classic Room" 209 was anything but. Filthy, the room needed a good clean. Windows dirty. All the paintwork was chipped, chair had a split on the back corner. The divan base was badly stained. Breakfast was poor, black pudding and haggis had been cut so thinly when it was cooked it fell to pieces, cold beans and mushrooms.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Yeah don't book a classic room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, General Manager at Ramnee Hotel
Responded today
We apologised at the time that on this occasion things were not up to speed in a few places and we offered you a different room at reception and this was turned down. This was the next day. As we explained we are incredibly popular and busy as the only four star hotel left in Forres. However 6 classic rooms had new ensuite floorings this week (including this one). We agreed your beans and mushrooms could have been hotter and we did replace whole new breakfast on a hotter plate. If you read all feedback, we have a loyal and hardworking staff, which is recognised time and again, otherwise people would not come back. We have started refurbishing rooms again with a contractor but it will take time as we financially recover from the pandemic (yes, still!!). On your checkout day, everybody else was smiling and content with their breakfast and stay. I feel the room may have escaped housekeeping in one or two places, but a new room would have substantially solved this.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Passport01778324537 wrote a review Nov 2023
3 contributions
I am a writer. I wanted a 10-day personal retreat in a relatively remote part of Scotland (a meditative environment to shape my next book). I chose this hotel in Forres because of its proximity to Findhorn. I just wanted peace and solitude, no hassles, no distractions– and a desk to work at, with broadband access. The Ramnee Hotel was perfect. It’s a beautiful old mansion, with period interiors and a wonderful ambience. Even the car park and the grounds added to that peaceful, calm atmosphere (which seems detached from the 21st Century with all of its stresses). It was freezing (outside) when I was there, but the interior of the hotel was warm, and the radiator in my room always seemed to be hot (not turned off in the night). I had dinner in the bar nearly every single night, and never got bored of the menu. Breakfast was also varied and very good (I should know – I had it ten times). But the best feature of this hotel was the staff – across the board. From the front desk to the breakfast room to the bar staff to housekeeping – I have never stayed in such a friendly place and with such accommodating staff. I really enjoyed my time there and I hope to return there (perhaps in a warmer season). Imran Ahmad (unimagined org)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, General Manager at Ramnee Hotel
Responded 19 Nov 2023
Thank you so much for your kind review! We remember your stay very well since it was indeed ten days (!) and gives you a complete 360 overview of all chefs, all waiting staff and all front desk staff. You would therefore see and experience things that even I would not be aware of! To receive therefore a resounding thumbs up, is heartening and reassuring, that we are indeed delivering on our star rating with Visit Scotland and as you go on to say, providing such a friendly welcome to guests. Our menu aims to go beyond the standard hotel fare of fish and chips and burgers, and we do feel our food offering is imaginative and colourful enough to last a few days, without the need to trek to the darker reaches of the High Street. We were delighted to be able to allow you space to write and relax. Do come again soon and it was a total pleasure!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Darrell O wrote a review Oct 2023
Congleton, United Kingdom116 contributions52 helpful votes
+1
I travelled 400 miles to Scotland and wanted somewhere nice to stay and found it at the Ramnee. The building is very impressive with lots of period feel. The room and bed were comfortable. A very good breakfast selection and quality. The friendly staff made me feel welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, General Manager at Ramnee Hotel
Responded 19 Nov 2023
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We sincerely believe in quality hospitality and delivering on our four star quality assurance rating to provide warm, comfortable surroundings with premium service to be expected from staff. We look forward to your coming back to stay with us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Christine S wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
The Ramnee is a beautiful Edwardian House hotel. Yes it may be dated, however, it had charm and it was authentic, cosy & private and very peaceful too. I loved my stay and I can honestly say I had the best 4 nights sleep ever. My room was so sweet and the bed/bedding were extremely comfortable and the room was clean and tidy and I had beautiful views over looking the rear garden and distant views of Findhorn and hills beyond. The staff are amazing and so friendly and accommodating. I have severe food allergies and every day they went above and beyond to ensure I was catered for. I’m on a strict gluten free and dairy free diet and it’s the first time in 30 years that I have not suffered from an allergic reaction when staying in a hotel. So thank you so much to ALL the staff. Breakfast was amazing and every day the staff went above & beyond even filling a flask of tea for me and cooking one of my gluten free rolls which I could take with me. I’m already looking at staying again next year.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, General Manager at Ramnee Hotel
Responded 2 Sept 2023
Thank you so much for your feedback, which is honestly the overwhelming response from our guests in print or not in print, that we offer good food, great quiet accommodation and honest, authentic hospitality, which comes from the heart. We take diets very seriously so guests will always find GF options and DF alternatives. As a leading four star hotel in the region we take everything seriously from fire prevention, training of staff, to allergens and guests can rely on us for them to be well looked after. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
frandavidgill wrote a review Aug 2023
Fortingall, United Kingdom3 contributions
Room was comfortable and clean but no toiletries of any kind were provided apart from shower and hand gel, not even a box of tissues, I would have expected more from a hotel of this number of stars. Staff were very friendly and pleasant. The evening menu was very odd -- why make fish and chips with fish imported from New Zealand when Scotland [still] has a fishing industry? Most of our group of 11 did not much enjoy the three evening meals we had, but the breakfasts were excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, General Manager at Ramnee Hotel
Responded 2 Sept 2023
Thank you for your feedback. Some items like tissues may have been missed, so do advise reception and we can help. We stock New Zealand hoki since we are proud New Zealanders and it is infact cheaper than local fish. To stock haddock means a fish order of £150. The problem is with the very suppliers you wish to help out! We enjoyed hosting your group and welcome you back with open arms.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Expedition652997 wrote a review May 2023
Three Legged Cross, United Kingdom1 contribution
Went for an evening meal last night. The meals themselves were generally good but there were no notices about food allergies which I thought was now a legal requirement. The bread was dry and hard. The bowls most meals seemed to be served in are too high meaning you can’t eat unless you elbows are by your ears. The coffee cups look good but are impossible to hold without burning your finger. The menu is limited but these things aside the meal was good
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, General Manager at Ramnee Hotel
Responded 22 May 2023
Thank you for your feedback. We note your points. Maybe in popular periods we use wide curry bowls for other but generally all standard meals like roasts etc are served on plates. The goulash, curry and goujons are served in the bowls. All our allergy advice is on the bottom of the menu and available at front desk. When used in foods sold non-prepacked, information on allergens must be available for potential consumers prior to purchase. This may be provided on a menu, chalkboard, shelf label or verbally but we choose to have them at reception so that would be showing the customer. Perhaps you are thinking of pre-packed which does have to have them listed on the packaging. The Illy-branded coffee cups do have a narrow handle I agree, but these are supplied to us. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MikeH98 wrote a review May 2023
Letchworth Garden City, United Kingdom520 contributions242 helpful votes
Pleasant stay in an attractive looking hotel in a great location. Room was comfortable and clean and breakfast was great. I also had lunch which was nice. Staff were very friendly and looked after me well. Would definitely stay again if in this area
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, General Manager at Ramnee Hotel
Responded 2 Jul 2023
Thank you so much for your review, which is honestly the feedback from the vast majority of guests, that we offer great food, rooms and hospitality. Like many businesses, we are recovering from Covid (still) but this does not mean we take shortcuts on food, which is freshly prepared and monitored by the owners. Do come again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ryanair_fan wrote a review Feb 2023
Edinburgh19 contributions27 helpful votes
The management and staff here were lovely. Very friendly and accomodating with our dogs. As we dined at the hotel, and dogs not allowed in the restaurant, they set up a table for us in a separate room, for dinner and breakfast which was very kind of them. The food was good. Breakfast especially had a good variety of hot dishes, cooked to order. Dinner had a small menu which changes every month or so, and we enjoyed what we ate. The room was pretty tired and dated. It was clean though, and nice and warm. A few repairs needed. We were in the Annexe, which was probably built in the early 80s and for example only had single glazing, so windows were streaming wet by the morning. This didn't spoil our visit however due to the warmth of the welcome and the good food.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, General Manager at Ramnee Hotel
Responded 10 Feb 2023
Thank you so much for your feedback which has been noted. Guests can view our menu online before they arrive and we take great pride in training of our lovely, local staff so that we offer warm hospitality and friendliness. We do take pride in all our food, from the exquisite Nepalese curry to the breakfast choices, all cooked to order. We note we are also one of the few hotels actually offering breakfast in Forres! I agree there are issues with one or two areas and we have a programme in place as you would imagine. We are always happy to adjust to pets dining by creating separate tables elsewhere, as you mention. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sam wrote a review Feb 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom101 contributions88 helpful votes
Front of house were lovely but this hotel needs a huge refurbishment. The condition of the hotel is poor and considering we paid £123 for one room it’s not like it’s cheap either. The location is good. My main issue is the condition of the rooms
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, General Manager at Ramnee Hotel
Responded 5 Feb 2023
Thank you for your review and we are glad you had a good trip here. Main rooms like restaurant and function room and reception ceiling were refurbished pre-Covid along with a few rooms and bar post-Covid. We have been pleased to receive the Travellers Choice Award three years running from TripAdvisor and our recent food review in Spotlight magazine was outstanding.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anne C wrote a review Dec 2022
Aberdeen, United Kingdom136 contributions41 helpful votes
Nice quiet hotel. Dinner in the bar was good, fish for hubby, hunter’s chicken for me. Breakfast was good n hot with plenty of choice. We had a classic room with a good view, only thing missing was some info on the area and hotel menu. Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sales Manager, General Manager at Ramnee Hotel
Responded 17 Dec 2022
Thank you so much for your kind words. We do appreciate all feedback. Do come again to visit us soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Forres area.
PRICE RANGE
£134 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ramnee hotel forres
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandMorayForres
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RAMNEE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison (Forres)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ramnee Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ramnee Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sueno's Stone (0.2 miles), The Nelson Tower (0.2 miles), and Forres Mechanics Football Club (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ramnee Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Ramnee Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ramnee Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ramnee Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mosset Tavern, Franklin's Restaurant at Cluny Bank, and The Bonnie Beastie.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ramnee Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Ramnee Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Ramnee Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ramnee Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Polish, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Ramnee Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Tolbooth (0.2 miles).