We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Waterside Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Waterside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 214: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for my boyfriend's birthday. We stayed in the master suite and everything was so perfect! I requested little chocolates and a card for my boyfriend and that was there on arrival. When we checked in I brought a cake for my boyfriend to give to him for dinner and they were spot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rabiya R
SimpsInns, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review We are so pleased you enjoyed your boyfriend's celebrations and the team, restaurant and hotel all lived up to your expectations, I shall pass your comments back to the team who I know will be delighted to hear your comments. The Waterside is a very popular destination for weddings all year round and we put just...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel for one night to attend my brothers funeral the next day in West Kilbride. Bed was the most uncomfortable we had experienced. We hardly slept due to noise from traffic on the road at the front of the hotel. A maintenance man just knocked and walked into the room even although my wife and I were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GerryMac02
SimpsInns, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review We actively review all our guest feedback and I shall pass your comments onto the departments concerned.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Extremely disappointed regarding lunch on the 6/1/2017 Fish soggy, undercooked,separated from batter. This Restaurant in terms of service and food has sadly deteriorated significantly What a pity the restaurant has a prominent sea view location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neilturnbull2017
SimpsInns, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am genuinely surprised at your thoughts. As you would expect due to our location our fish dishes are very popular and generally command great reviews and feedback. I will pass your comments back to our fantastic chef who I every confidence will cook your fish to your liking on your next visit. You have...

Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a lovely night at the hotel recently first time in this area hotel is nice and well kept from afar. On closer inspection things aren't up to standards of other hotels. We booked the deluxe room which was large and spacious but noted there is damp patches on the celling and when jacuzzi bath was switched on the bath...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eilidhmul27
SimpsInns, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Im pleased you enjoyed a 'lovely night' at the Waterside. The Deluxe and indeed our standard rooms are both of a large size offering a spacious area for you to relax and enjoy your time here. Im also pleased you enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant which offers a great selection from our menus and...

Glasgow
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Second time at the Waterside. ❤️❤️❤️ this hotel. Gorgeous hotel. Room is so comfortable and stylish. Jacuzzi Bath is great as is shower. Love the Scottish Fine Soaps Sea Kelp products. Great food. Lovely helpful friendly staff. Can't wait to go back x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
SimpsInns, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, I will ensure your comments are passed back to the team. We are very proud of our lovely hotel and the quality team we work with. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Waterside in the near future

Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We often visit the waterside restaurant which is always 10/10 for service and food quality however for a special occasion we decided to stay over and we loved every minute of it! The rooms were super clean, bedding amazing quality and the service again was too notch! If I wasn't already married I'd get married there too!! Amazing place with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank freddie120916
SimpsInns, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing review we really do appreciate your comments I will ensure your comments are passed along to the team I know they will be pleased to hear them. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Waterside in the near future

Kelso, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great room , clean fab shower nice view of the sea . Very helpful front of house staff . Really nice attitude . Booked taxis with a local firm which was the cheapest one I have had all year . Uber eat your heart out. If you are going to stay in west Kilbride stay here! Rooms are a really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
SimpsInns, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review its great to know you enjoyed your festive time here at the Waterside. Why not treat yourself in the summer time and come experience our wonderful al fresco dining out in our garden area.

norwich
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our second visit and we were just as pleased . Food was so scrummy and the service very good. Also love the decor and the views. Would highly recommend The Waterside would be super for a wedding!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jojoNorwich
SimpsInns, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased you enjoyed our scrummy menu and the service is something we do pride ourselves on. The Waterside is a very popular wedding destination all year round and our newly weds always enjoy the amazing back drop. Thanks again for the review I look forward to welcoming you to the Waterside in the near future

montrose
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Check in was fast. Got to room which was a lovely room. When we arrived at the room it had the most awful smell in it. The window was open when we arrived so we just shut them incase the smell was coming from out side but no that didn't help. We got ready for the party night then went...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank snarps
George P, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad you found our rooms here at the Waterside lovely, all our rooms are the same high standard. Rest assured we have no issues regarding odours and disappointingly your issue appears to be a one off. Based on your feedback we are monitoring all our rooms on a daily basis.

cumbernauld glasgow
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

We have been here several times for lunch and dinner which is always superb but this was our 1st time staying in the hotel and it didn't disappoint. We decided to upgrade our room on arrival and our room was stunning views of the beach were lovely even though it's December so cold and wet. The bathroom was a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marys2010
SimpsInns, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review and we are pleased you enjoyed your suite, all our rooms give you plenty of space and are very comfortable, but the suites really are something special. We never get tired of enjoying the stunning views. I look forward to personally welcoming you to The Waterside again in the near future.

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kilbride
0.3 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 1 in West Kilbride
1,355 reviews
10.0 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
3.7 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardrossan
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 6 in Troon
1,911 reviews
12.8 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#4 of 6 in Troon
439 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Fenwick Hotel
The Fenwick Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fenwick
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Address: Ardrossan Road | Off A78 Shore Road, West Kilbride KA23 9NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > West Kilbride
Price Range: £78 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Hotel West Kilbride, Ayrshire, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Waterside Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Waterside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid a room facing the road at the front of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles GerryMac02, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 314 has great view. Worth upgrading for.”
 of 5 bubbles BwanaHazel, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If possible get a room with a sea view ,stunning scenery.”
 of 5 bubbles stevieblue, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose a deluxe seaview room”
 of 5 bubbles anneone, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“go for one of the rooms with a view of Arran”
 of 5 bubbles stanleysmith84, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay