We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Waterside Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Waterside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 221: English reviews
Start your review of The Waterside Hotel
 Click to rate
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

An attractive hotel tastefully decorated in a maritime,New England style.The sea view from our spacious,comfortable room was glorious. The staff were all unfailingly efficient and courteous.Breakfast was delicious.Would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MERMAID6
Glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for dinner b&b. Was very impressed. The room was lovely and there was a separate tv sitting area in the middle of the hotel to give added space and outdoor seating. The bedroom was very large and had double doors out onto a sea view. The bathroom had whirlpool bath with over head and side showers. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicatsali
SimpsInns, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review the deluxe rooms with views out across to Arran really are spectacular not only because of the views but for the great Waterside theme that runs through all of our rooms. I will pass your comments back to the team and I know they will be delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Looking forward to...

North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic food, lovely relaxing place, fabulous staff. Superb furnishings in room, rainforest shower.staff were unobtrusive but very attentive. Great cocktail menu. Breakfast covered everything you could possibly wish for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacaladh
SimpsInns, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review we are pleased you enjoyed your visit. You should try The Waterside during in the summer months it really feels like you are overseas. I will pass your comments back to the team who I know will be delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Port Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night DB&B on an ITISON deal. We paid an extra 30 pounds to upgrade to a master suite and weren't disappointed - this was a great room with a sea view, balcony, great bed, fast WIFI, table, chairs, dressing table and sofa. The only slight negative was the TV which raised and lowered from a slim...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tamtheman
SimpsInns, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. All our rooms are upto the same great standard but we are particularly proud of the suite's. The restaurant does get very busy over peak times and im pleased you enjoyed the breakfast we have here at the Waterside. I will pass your comments back to our...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Utterly disgusted by the prices in this place. Attended a wedding here and I assume they bank on people having no alternative but to buy their drinks. I will NEVER set foot in their bar again. Greedy, greedy, greedy Simpsinns. And not acceptable!!! Staff are abysmal (as appears to be the case with all Simpsinns venues). No charisma, charm or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spac21
SimpsInns, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for your review, We do regular checks of our pricing with local competition to ensure we are competitive with likewise establishments. We take great pride in our team who really are an asset to our business I am sorry you found them to be abysmal during your visit.

Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I received a gift voucher for an overnight stay at this hotel. I had never been before so had no expectations, albeit it did look nice on the website. Well...... the website does not do it justice. The rooms are beautifully decorated, very clean and well equipped. We had a beautiful view of the beach which just made it for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 320,576
SimpsInns, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are very proud of the Waterside and yes we do believe our team are our greatest asset. I will pass your review onto the team who I know will be delighted with your lovely words. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Waterside in the near future

Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have been here several times for lunch but never stayed until I seen the deal on itson for BB & Fizz... We upgraded to the Master Suite for a supp of £35.00 and it was worth it the view from the balcony with palm trees, the sea and miles of untouched sandy beach what a view to wake up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peggysue93
SimpsInns, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review The Waterside really is a lovely idyllic place to relax and unwind. We make full use of the Garden area in the summertime which always proves a very popular place to be. I will pass your comments onto our team who I know will be delighted to read your kind words.

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for my boyfriend's birthday. We stayed in the master suite and everything was so perfect! I requested little chocolates and a card for my boyfriend and that was there on arrival. When we checked in I brought a cake for my boyfriend to give to him for dinner and they were spot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rabiya R
SimpsInns, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review We are so pleased you enjoyed your boyfriend's celebrations and the team, restaurant and hotel all lived up to your expectations, I shall pass your comments back to the team who I know will be delighted to hear your comments. The Waterside is a very popular destination for weddings all year round and we put just...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Stayed at this hotel for one night to attend my brothers funeral the next day in West Kilbride. Bed was the most uncomfortable we had experienced. We hardly slept due to noise from traffic on the road at the front of the hotel. A maintenance man just knocked and walked into the room even although my wife and I were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GerryMac02
SimpsInns, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review We actively review all our guest feedback and I shall pass your comments onto the departments concerned.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Extremely disappointed regarding lunch on the 6/1/2017 Fish soggy, undercooked,separated from batter. This Restaurant in terms of service and food has sadly deteriorated significantly What a pity the restaurant has a prominent sea view location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neilturnbull2017
SimpsInns, Mike C at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am genuinely surprised at your thoughts. As you would expect due to our location our fish dishes are very popular and generally command great reviews and feedback. I will pass your comments back to our fantastic chef who I every confidence will cook your fish to your liking on your next visit. You have...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kilbride
0.3 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 1 in West Kilbride
1,384 reviews
10.0 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
3.7 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardrossan
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
13.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 6 in Troon
1,944 reviews
12.8 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#4 of 6 in Troon
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Address: Ardrossan Road | Off A78 Shore Road, West Kilbride KA23 9NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > West Kilbride
Price Range: £86 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterside Hotel West Kilbride, Ayrshire, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Waterside Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Waterside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room with a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles MERMAID6, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 321 over looking the Beach with Balcony”
 of 5 bubbles Peggysue93, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid a room facing the road at the front of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles GerryMac02, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 314 has great view. Worth upgrading for.”
 of 5 bubbles BwanaHazel, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If possible get a room with a sea view ,stunning scenery.”
 of 5 bubbles stevieblue, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5