We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Asgard B&B

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Asgard B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 83: English reviews
Scotland
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Lovely b and b about 10 minutes walk from the ferry terminal. Dawn made us extremely welcome, and I slept better than I have for ages. Breakfasts were delicious, with home made jams and preserves. Fresh milk for tea, and bottles of water are kept in a fridge in the hallway, which is a really nice touch. I also liked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LJMScotland
mcnab, Owner at Asgard B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, Hope you got home in good time. Dawn

Reviewed 13 October 2016

I have two especially fond memories of the Asgard B&B. One is that it had the largest shower -- by far -- of any place we stayed in the UK. What a luxury it was! The other is of the breakfast menu, which went far beyond the usual offerings. We loved the smoked haddock with eggs and devoured the homemade...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
mcnab, Owner at Asgard B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, I hope the rest of your visit was enjoyable and you returned home safe. Dawn

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

By far the best accommodation I have ever stayed in. I work away from home and have stayed in many different types of accommodation, none have even come close to the level of service received at Asgard B&B. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms are spacious, clean and very tastefully decorated. A nice little touch was fresh milk for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
mcnab, Owner at Asgard B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your posting, we always strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible. You will still be Haralds Ludo partner. Hope to see you soon. Dawn

Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We were disappointed with our stay in large part because we had not been advised of the rules of the house prior to our arrival. Had we known that the living room "lounge" would be closed and locked at 10:00 pm, we would have never considered staying. We were banished to our small rooms at 10:00 pm each night of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dayton0906
mcnab, Owner at Asgard B&B, responded to this review

Sorry you feel this way, but if everyone stays in the lounge till whenever the rest of the guests would be disturbed Just to correct you , the lounge is not looked . If you feel you were 'Banished ' You could have gone out. We have never had our rooms called 'Tiny' before and likewise never had folk complain...

UK, NZ and wherever else
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Lovely, clean house, cute dogs, comfy bed, great breakfasts, and we even had a DVD player in our room! Especially good was the selection of nice things for breakfast; you can even have Dawn's homemade dumpling thingy (as she described it: a bit like boiled xmas cake), and I recommend you do. And the salmon. And the black pudding :D...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mo_5i
mcnab, Owner at Asgard B&B, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review, its god to see how other see the house and us. Dawn

birmingham
Reviewed 13 July 2016

This is an outstanding B&B with ‘quality’ as the watchword. It’s within an easy walk of the town or if you want to drive, parking is not a problem. Our room was so comfortable and the shower was spacious and powerful. There is a relaxing lounge. Dawn and Harald were very helpful and informative about what to see and when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flapjack37
mcnab, Owner at Asgard B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Its so good to read how others see us.

Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely B&B and the owners are very friendly and excellent hosts. The breakfasts are especially good with a large range of choices. The rooms were exactly ad advertised and very comfortable and the views from the sitting room were are lovely. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme R
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2016

The Asgard is only 5 minutes walk from the ferry, which is so convenient. We stayed for 4 nights last August and had a fantastic time - there's so much to see in Orkney. Dawn and Harald keep an immaculate house- incredibly clean and neat. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts were superb. If you love dogs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JCBaxter
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

We arrived off the ferry after a long journey and were so pleased to have chosen to stay at Asgard. Less than 5 minutes from the port meant a great start to our 3 night stay. Food great and hosts welcoming. Puppies a real highlight!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne D
Shelburne, Canada
Reviewed 27 September 2015

Our three days at Asgaard house were extremely pleasant. Asgaard is located just far enough away from the main streets of Stromness to be quiet, but close enough to be at the Ferry dock in just 7 minutes. The view is beautiful out over the bay. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The bed is comfy and the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol_AnnSBF55
mcnab, Owner at Asgard B&B, responded to this review

Sorry for not responding sooner, Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again. Dawn

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
0.6 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
175 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
312 reviews
11.7 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 11 in Stromness
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ferry Inn Stromness
Ferry Inn Stromness
#3 of 11 in Stromness
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Walkers, Anglers, Cyclists, Golfers, Bikers, bussines and holiday makers all welcome, Just leave the kids at home and come and spend a few days in Orkney. The rooms are all on 1 floor with ensuite bathrooms. A large lounge is available for your use. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Asgard B&B

Address: Asgard Cairston Road, Stromness KW16 3JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Asgard B&B Stromness, Orkney Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Asgard B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quite and well situated”
 of 5 bubbles Truls17, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Disabled access is good and there is also a lovely room for singles.”
 of 5 bubbles cmdevlin64, 17 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Ask about Wifi signal availability in the room if it's important to you, the one at the end of the corridors have no signal whatsoever.”
 of 5 bubbles J_Tai0101, 3 May 2015 | Read review
“This property has fantastic bedrooms showers beds pillows in fact all things about this place is excellent also not far from restaurants walking distance would have no hestitation to recommend to family or friends”
 of 5 bubbles 49francess, 1 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Swimming pool and Fitness centre 5 minutes walk away.Ferry 10 minutes stroll along the front.”
 of 5 bubbles 799lynnef, 19 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5