We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Links House at Royal Dornoch

Links House Golf Road, Dornoch IV25 3LW Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (195)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 6 hotels in Dornoch
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated under 100 yards from the first tee at Royal Dornoch Golf Club, Links House offers guests the ultimate in Highlands’ hospitality. The hotel’s luxury accommodation stretches out over three houses, offering guests their choice of 15 exquisite guest rooms, suites, and apartments, each individually decorated, and named after one of Scotland’s great salmon fishing rivers. Guests can enjoy cosy afternoons spent relaxing with a great book in the Main House’s library, and special events and private dining can be accommodated in their Anteroom. Those looking to enjoy a quintessential Afternoon Tea are well catered to, as it is served each Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Guests can look forward to an array of mouth-watering sandwiches, delicious savouries, and delectable desserts. It is best enjoyed with a choice of their finest teas or perhaps with a glass of Joseph Perrier champagne. Links House is also home to MARA – a must-visit fine dining restaurant which presents gifts from Scotland’s waters, fields, forests, and skies, with minimal interruption. Diners can look forward to hyper local produce presented in a menu which shifts with the seasons. With sourdough bread baked prior to each service and dishes which celebrate Scotland’s larder, it’s clear to see why this restaurant has been labelled ‘star of the North’. The hotel offers a curated list of experiences exclusively available for guests. Activities range from one-on-one hawk walks around the majestic gardens of Dunrobin Castle to private tours of the region’s most distinguished distilleries, and the Links House team are on hand to create a bespoke itinerary completely tailored to guests’ interests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
24-hour security
Concierge
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Desk
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Cable / satellite TV
Hair dryer
Tile / marble floor
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Historic Hotel
348Reviews2Q+A73Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 323
  • 18
  • 3
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Daily Daisy wrote a review 6 Apr
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom1129 contributions156 helpful votes
+1
After seeing this hotel on social media and Scotland’s Greatest escape, decided to book for my birthday. Book direct for the best prices and packages. We did the dinner, bed and breakfast one and included whisky tasting. Fantastic welcome and a lovely surprise of an upgrade to a suite with a stunning view of the sea in the distance. The room was huge as was the bathroom and bath! Lots of lovely touches. The bed was massive and so comfortable! Beautiful linen. We were lucky with the weather and sat outside for the afternoon and had a game of pitch and putt in the hotel grounds. Food was outstanding and again lots of lovely extras. Nice ambience and great service. Breakfast - again fantastic! Next time I want to experience their afternoon tea! We will definitely return - the deal we got was outstanding value. Thank you for the birthday card and gifts. Well done to everyone that works so hard - be it from reception, housekeeping, kitchen and waiting staff. You are all amazing at what you do! If you are looking for somewhere special then this is your place! Dornoch is also a nice place to visit and this hotel is ideal if you are doing the NC500.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Frederick B wrote a review 5 Apr
52 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
This hotel is a gem in the Highlands. Outstanding accommodation in a town which has a world class golf course, excellent individual shops, and a beautiful beach Nothing is too much trouble at this hotel as the staff are friendly and efficient. Would certainly return here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LikeLuxury wrote a review 1 Apr
Arbroath, United Kingdom81 contributions53 helpful votes
An outstanding couple of days at Links House - a very warm welcome, good food and relaxing stay. Comfy bed, fluffy pillows and a warm bathroom with underfloor heating. Dinner was excellent, although better on Friday than Saturday, but Saturday was much busier therefore things took a little longer. Same menu for both nights was a little challenging in choice for someone like myself who doesn't eat fish so had the same both nights - very tasty and thoroughly enjoyable. I like the idea of the butlers pantry at the top of the stairs for coffee and tea etc but I would prefer it in my room so an early morning cuppa can be enjoyed without having to make sure you are presentable ;-) Two other small points: only one full length mirror at the door for nearest plug - not easy for hair drying. I have a huge thing about light bulbs - only one out over a picture in our room so very well done. Very Clean and presentable, fabulous linen and towels and lovely little touches - the little Easter eggs at turndown were amazing!. We loved it and will most definitely be back. Special thanks to Kyle for the chat, Fraser for the banter, great cocktails and wine and Phillipa for just being nice. The friendliness of the staff and making sure nothing was too much trouble made it a fabulous stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Derek G wrote a review Mar 2024
Clydebank33 contributions45 helpful votes
I’ve visited Links House attending dinner events at the hotel and was impressed with food and service at Mara. I am due to attend a nearby whisky festival later in the year and wanted my partner to come to Dornoch during the festival. Prior to the trip Links House requested reservation preferences and the quality of communications superb. Phillippa and Phil many thanks. On arrival met Phillippa & Kyle and check-in was very friendly - like being welcomed by family. We were shown to our room and instantly my partner fell in love with our room. Absolutely spotlessly clean with attention to detail from housekeeping evident. We had booked Champagne Afternoon Tea and service was outstanding with Fraser friendly, welcoming and all over every detail managing the room. Food was delicious and service was on point. My partner relaxed in the decadent bathroom as I visited Carnegie whisky shop which is worth a visit for all whisky tourists. On return a small cocktail was left for us both - it’s the small extra touches and attention to detail which makes this hotel a step ahead. It is worth mentioning this was a tour of the Highland and Islands and the 5th hotel of our trip. It was the best. We enjoyed the meal at Mara in the evening with Fraser welcoming us like old friends and making sure our night went well. Food was crafted to the highest standards. We had eaten at Three Chimneys @ Talisker Distillery during out trip which is a Michelin Guide restaurant and I much preferred Mara. The comparison of the venison main course at both restaurants was a win for Mara. Compliments to the chef and their team. Departure morning was a sad morning as we knew we were leaving and wanted to stay longer. Check out went very smoothly due to Phillippa and one last goodbye to Fraser. We have also stayed at nearby Glenmorangie House which we enjoyed however the friendly staff here with the most professional service swings the vote in Links House fovour. Rather than attending the nearby whisky festival alone in October my girlfriend said yes to coming to Dornoch for the weekend as long as we stay at Links House. Thanks Phil, Fraser, Phillippa and the wider team for swinging the decision.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Phil Scott, Other at Links House at Royal Dornoch
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Derek, We are truly humbled by your kind words and delighted that you and your good lady had a lovely time! I will share your experience with the team and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Haste ye back, Phil
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
john m wrote a review Mar 2024
Beauly, United Kingdom1 contribution
Eight of us enjoyed THE most wonderful Afternoon Tea, everything was made by the Chef and sooooo delicious. The staff were very attentive and helpful, the attention to detail was excellent and in such sumptious surroundings. We will be back and cannot recommend it highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Book in plenty of time.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Phil Scott, Other at Links House at Royal Dornoch
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear John, Thank you very much for your kind words! I have passed this on to the team and they are delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! With warmest regards Phil
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gordon A wrote a review Mar 2024
31 contributions41 helpful votes
Not our first visit but our first stay n the Mews and it was simply stunning. The room was everything you would expect of a 5 star hotel, with the addition of a massive bath to soak in. The welcome cocktail and shortbread along with the turndown chocolates are a really nice touch. We had afternoon tea which is just first class, as someone who loves a tea and cake you will struggle to find better value The breakfasts are wonderful, with lots of choice and very filling. What really makes the difference though is the staff. They are are all very approachable and really do care about ensuring that you are having the best stay possible with them. Can't wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Phil Scott, Other at Links House at Royal Dornoch
Responded 4 weeks ago
Wonderful to have you back! We're so glad to hear the team looked after you again on your recent visit. They are truly the heart and soul of what we do. Thank you for your kind words and appreciating the touches we deliver to make your guest journey more comfortable. I have passed your feedback to the team and they are delighted to hear we've looked after you again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Haste ye back Phil
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mrs CJ wrote a review Mar 2024
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom8 contributions
My Wife was gifted an Afternoon Tea voucher as a birthday present. We were met with the loveliest of Staff. Polite, professional and knowledgeable of what food and teas were being served. Nothing was too much effort. Was nice not to be asked every 5 minutes if you were enjoying your food. They kept a discreet distance but instantly knew when they were required. Would highly recommend going there. And as for Granny's original recipie scones...they were 5 star alone! Thank you to everyone who made this a wonderful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Phil Scott, Other at Links House at Royal Dornoch
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir, We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We are very proud of our service and most importantly the team that deliver it. I have shared your kind words with them and we look forward to welcoming you back on another special occaision. Happy birthday for all of us at Links House! Haste ye back Phil
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bethany T wrote a review Mar 2024
13 contributions7 helpful votes
Disappointing stay for the price. We booked the accessible room as it was available, when phoned prior to our stay we were offered an ‘upgrade’ however we refused as it was explained to us the bed would be smaller. We didn’t realise that we needed to indeed take the ‘upgrade’ to the smaller bed in order to have a more pleasant stay. The room itself was lovely however a little dusty, the bathroom taps and shower and rails could do with a polish as water stained. Was expecting sparkling clean for 5 star but felt it was lacking. Our room was next to the kitchen and restaurant and the toilets that the diners use was next to the room. We heard the kitchen staff chatting and cleaning till near midnight. And then again waking us up early in the morning. We had diners chatting outside our room trying to enter our room thinking it was a toilet. Barely got any sleep. Breakfast servers were nice but the eggs Benedict and eggs royal wasn’t great as it came drowned in the hollandaise sauce which didn’t taste very nice and we ended up feeling sick all day from it. The gentlemen who welcomed us, showed us to our room and gave us recommendations on where to eat was lovely and a testament to the hotel and the turndown assistant was an absolute delight. It was an expensive night we thought would be of luxury and relaxation which ended up being the worst stop of our weekend 😞
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t book accessible room if you don’t need to.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Phil Scott, Other at Links House at Royal Dornoch
Responded 5 Mar 2024
Dear Bethany, Thank you very much for your feedback and for choosing Links House. We're delighted to hear that the team looked after you during your stay. Due to the location of our accessible room being in close proximity to the both the restaurant, facilities and exits, it does sometimes attract some additional noise when the hotel and restaurant are full. We are glad to see that the offer of an upgrade was made though. It is unfortunate to see that we didn't meet your expectation this time and we will review your points with our team. We hope to have another opportunity to meet your expectation in the future. With warmest regards, Phil
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tracey R wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous. Beautiful cosy yet elegant and comfortable surroundings and the food is top notch. We went for a Burns night celebration and can’t wait to book back in for next year. The staff are warm friendly and attentive without being intrusive. I love good service and it’s not easy to get it right but I can happily report that Links House Dornoch have nailed it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Phil Scott, Other at Links House at Royal Dornoch
Responded 29 Feb 2024
Dear Tracey, We're delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself at our inaugural Burns Night Event in January. Thank you very much for your kind words and I have shared them with the team. We'll be in touch later in the year to inform you of our next Burns Event! Phil
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Isabel wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
This is an outstanding hotel that doesn’t feel like a hotel, accommodation is spread over 3 houses. The staff are exceptional, the rooms are beautifully furnished and very comfortable the bathroom of our suite was enormous, bath and the biggest walk in shower ever. The restaurant, Mara is very good with quality food. Our trip was a last minute decision for one night, we booked a dinner bed and breakfast package which included whisky tasting at the Carnegie Cellar this was quite an experience, the guy was extremely knowledgeable and interesting 6 whisky’s to sample was quite a challenge. The hotel was fully booked for this night and we were upgraded to a suite. Would definitely recommend the Links House fully deserving of 5 stars. We recently stayed in the Fife Arms, Braemar and I far preferred the Links House.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dornoch area.
PRICE RANGE
£229 - £492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsCaithness and SutherlandDornoch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LINKS HOUSE AT ROYAL DORNOCH - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Links House at Royal Dornoch
Which popular attractions are close to Links House at Royal Dornoch?
Nearby attractions include Dornoch Beach (0.2 miles), Dornoch Cathedral (0.2 miles), and Historylinks Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Links House at Royal Dornoch?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Links House at Royal Dornoch?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Links House at Royal Dornoch?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Links House at Royal Dornoch?
Conveniently located restaurants include Milk & Honey, SandStone Cafe, and Mara at Links House.
Is Links House at Royal Dornoch located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Dornoch.
Are any cleaning services offered at Links House at Royal Dornoch?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Links House at Royal Dornoch?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Janet Horne Memorial Stone (0.1 miles).
Does Links House at Royal Dornoch have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Links House at Royal Dornoch accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.