Clunebeg Lodge Guest House
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Clunebeg Lodge Guest House

Traveller (138)
View from the family room
Room & Suite (43)
Tea and coffee
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#4 of 4 guest houses in Drumnadrochit
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
A warm welcome in the Highlands. We welcome you to Clunebeg Lodge. Situated in the quiet countryside, on the edge of Drumnadrochit, we are ideally placed whether you are visiting Loch Ness, touring the Scottish Highlands or using the Great Glen Way. We have 9 en-suite rooms with complimentary coffee/ tea biscuits on our welcome room tray and toiletries for the en suite. All rooms have a view of the countryside. We provide a full Scottish breakfast to set you up for your day. We also have evening meals available in our lodge restaurant served between 18:00 hours to 21:00 hours, up to three courses, with a main course from £8.95. Menu and daily specials of which many are home made. We are happy to cater for vegetarians and can provide varied range of packed lunches. Our rates are very competitive for the area with low season twin or double bedded room for two persons from £29 per person per night including breakfast, to High season at £37.50 Per person per night including breakfast. At Clunebeg House we also have four person/ family rooms, room only from £90 low season to £100 high season and also offer a two room suite plus luxury bathroom with spa bath for up to 6 persons, room only rate low season £100 to £110 high season. Breakfast and evening meals can be purchased separately at the lodge dining room / restaurant. Restaurant as required.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Wifi
Special diet menus
Hiking
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
212Reviews1Q+A35Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 91
  • 47
  • 27
  • 19
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Trudi S wrote a review Jun 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My self and my grown up son spent a night here in separate bedrooms and we both remarked on how comfortable the beds were, the bathrooms were clean. Gillian(the owner) was very welcoming and showed us around the kitchen and the lounge explaining how it was self catering and to feel free to use all the facilities.
Next visit is being planned with the hope to use CLUNEBEG Lodge as our base. Very good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carl Daley, General Manager at Clunebeg Lodge Guest House
Responded 5 Jun 2022
Many thanks for your kind remarks. It means a lot, as we do try hard to keep our guests happy. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and looking forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mikaela32 wrote a review Aug 2023
scotland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The room we got was big enough for the family. Beds were comfortable and it was great to be able to make our own meals from the shared kitchen. Drainage in kitchen was a bit of an issue but overall we had a great stay. We checked in late and Gillian was very accommodative. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mfurie2540 wrote a review Sept 2013
Gt Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room had a bit of a 70's feel too it , felt more like an hostel than a b&b as there was no staff around until breakfast in the morning who in fairness were more than friendly enough .
We found this a bit too far out from the town and pubs , and the taxi company we tried refused too come all the way up the hill too get us , thus we had too drive so we couldnt enjoy a drink together at our evening dinner.
Just had the feeling we paid too much for what we got .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alex wrote a review Aug 2021
Scotland, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived at destination after a near off road experience…should have had a four wheel drive!!! Stated WiFi available it wasn’t, all we needed it for was to connect to tv for some evening entertainment…
Met owner and went to inspect the room booked for myself and grandson, it smelled and was not very clean…. No way could could I stay there with a child it was totally unsuitable for us. Owner nowhere to be found.
We left and looked for other accommodation, I emailed owner and she was very unhelpful blaming me for leaving and not appreciating her home or the views, I have holidayed in Scotland for years and stayed in cabins, tents ,caravans and done glamping so I do appreciate our lovely stunning scenery, she also said the forestry commission had told her she had one the best roads in the highlands!!!!!
We are all only to aware of the pandemic and the suffering caused by it but it’s not an excuse to let rooms that clearly are not suitable for purpose.
All we needed was a clean fresh smelling accommodation to stay in and that was not provided I genuinely thought pets had been sleeping on the beds…… damp dogs…
The bathroom had cobwebs and also smelled not a nice smell, a very disappointed grandson who had been looking forward to our short break in the highlands
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We didn’t stay so can’t offer any helpful tips to anyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carl Daley, General Manager at Clunebeg Lodge Guest House
Responded 29 Aug 2021
This does not concur with other guests whom have stayed with us. When you inspected the room you did not mention any issues with the room, smells or anything else, otherwise I could have accommodated you elsewhere. There had been no dog staying in this room, and the weather was dry. This is patently untrue and only mentioned on Trip adviser and not to booking.com re smells and unclean, this has been done as you did not get your money back. You only mentioned your grandson needed wifi for gaming, and we do not have the high gaming internet that he required. You complained to booking.com and they found in my favour as we do have Wifi. In the lodge we have the latest BT hybrid broadband backed up the the ee phone network. I was around but you drove off and I thought that you had gone for dinner. You had the clunebeg telephone number. You did not contact us for another week, I held the room as I did not know what had happened to you. You were highly in sult ting about my home, which as previously stated your comments do not concur with others. However, When booking.com get a complaint they look at frequency and there were no other complaints of this nature. You have been particularly vic cious, since you did not get your money back. You blamed me for ruining your week-end with your grandson, what a shame your grandson only wanted to game whilst with you. What a shame you did not give the place a chance and go kick a ball about outside, or go for a walk to look for deer on the Great Glen Way right outside our door, and where golden eagles fly. The deer often graze where you can see them from the lodge bedroom windows, it is awesome. So sorry you did not enjoy the magic.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pamela B wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this for my partner and I plus our 6 month old puppy. It is fantastically situated, right on the Great Glen Way, and close to the local amenities. Initially I was hesitant having read the reviews but honestly think the reviewers must have been at a different place.

Gillian was welcoming, friendly and always asked if we needed anything everytime she saw us, and her dog Jack was just so friendly. We stayed in room 2 which had twin beds which we pushed together and had plenty of room for a large dog crate too. The rooms have their own shower and toilet facilities which was a surprise for me. It was clean, plenty of room to sit and mingle with other guests and a vast amount of outdoor space too. The beds were comfy and we had 2 pillows each which was great as I'm a 2 pillow girl.

Due to Covid and other things it is being run as self catering atm, and it worked perfectly well. Yes the walls are thin, but it only affects you if the other guests are shouting really, you cannot hear their TV or conversations. For the price you pay it is perfect, with access to a communal kitchen area if you want to cook.

I wouldn't hesitate to come here again, and we will be back. Please go with an open mind and remember for where it is you could be paying a heck of a lot more for a lot less.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carl Daley, General Manager at Clunebeg Lodge Guest House
Responded 29 Aug 2021
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we really do appreciate them. We are all glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was our pleasure. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deborah Petty wrote a review Sept 2023
Montgomery, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
-How rundown and unkempt the builing was. Rusty old chairs at the side and a dogs bowl full of cigarette butts. The walls very thin felt like we were in the rooms with other guests. Our Four Poster bed was clean and looked lovely till we tried sleeping in it. Felt every large hard spring so ended up leaving in the night. Tea splashes up the wall and only one bedside lamp. The sofa in the lounge was filthy and none of the tables set as seen on their website. The fridge was switched off and no drawer covers on the drawers. Someone left the patio doors open all night, so no security which was concerning. The young foreign guy greeted us nonchalantly chewing gum and was sat outside drinking alcohol with other people. Certainly wasn't the warm greeting promised online. However, after complaining I was given a partial refund, after much argument from the owner! So had to involve booking.com to resolve the issues. This place needs a lot of work but lack of basic touches needed, which would cost nothing, are not an excuse for losing money during the pandemic (the excuse the owner gave). Definitely needs some TLC and as guests we didn't feel looked after at all. No breakfast with this place either. So not a B&B. Won't be returning unfortunately. The road leading up to it is extremely damaged and full of pot holes, so be careful with your cars. After a long drive from the lsle of Lewis, this place didn't provide the comfort we needed for the last leg of our journey which was another 10 hours!

The location is lovely if the diggers and old scrap cars weren't on the estate and we saw a couple of beautiful Deer.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stewart A wrote a review Aug 2021
Marlborough, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Pleasant B&B located on the Great Glen Way, currently operating on a self-catering basis (Covid restrictions). Our hostess, Gillian, made us all (dog included) feel incredibly welcome at the Lodge, ensuring we had everything we needed for our stay.

En-suite facilities were clean and spacious, and facilities with the kitchen were more than adequate to allow self catering.

Ideally located for walkers on the GGW, but also for ourselves to take strolls locally with the dog.

Somewhere we'd happily visit again, when we're in/near Drumnadrochit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The Lodge is situated at the top of a steep gravelled bend. Would not recommend for lowered...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carl Daley, General Manager at Clunebeg Lodge Guest House
Responded 29 Aug 2021
Thanks so much for your kind comments, we do appreciate them. Glad you enjoyed the magic, and that we could share it with you. Always glad to welcome you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle m wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I where booked in to another hotel but when we arrived it was closed due to COVID!! No email or explanation.

We managed to book here and arrived 30 mins later, the owner was so welcoming and made the kids feel at home. She told them the history of the place and spoke of battles that took place. My boys 9-11 loved hearing them.

The lodge it self is very basic but it was spotlessly clean and the beds where comfortable. The views from the lodge where outstanding, in the morning it’s has a magical feel about it. We only stayed 2 night but wish it was more. We will be booking again for next year and will definitely stay longer.

Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carl Daley, General Manager at Clunebeg Lodge Guest House
Responded 21 Jul 2021
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we really appreciate them as we do try very hard to keep the magic. WE look forward to welcoming you all again. Take care.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ross M wrote a review Sept 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had to leave a review here ! Just seen an eagle soaring over the lodge. I have been here a few days now to de stress from the city! I can smell the county air and the views are just stunning 😍

In terms of the cabin where we have booked the facilities are just perfect 👍 the cabins are spaced with a super distance providing some privacy and countryside retreat we have a Fridge freeezer. The cabins are in the country and are basic but are so cosy if we are cold at night the cabins are accommodated with appropriate manually heating facilities.

Great price beside the Great Glen Way and over Loch Ness - we are still looking for Nessie,

A big thank you to Gillian Natalie And Junior who have alllowed us to enjoy the highland as much as we can

Truly recommend location and staff -
We will see you again-
Phil & Karen
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
debz1066 wrote a review Sept 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Clunebeg lodge is a run down estate that I'm sure in the right hands could be turned into a beautiful place to stay. The cabins look like sheds with unsecured doors and windows as shown in pics below. Shower door came off runner when trying to close. Owner said to just leave shower door open, we could have more towels to put down if needed. Toilet seat was a danger to all unless you like to end up on the floor. Dirt and dust under the beds also double divan bed with spaces where the drawers should have been. Our cabin had no storage for clothing so lived out of bags for three days. Shared kitchen in main lodge was an absolute disgrace, no cupboard doors or drawer fronts and filthy. No restaurant so not a BnB as advertised on booking.com. All photos on booking.com are just to get you to stay. All monies paid are also non refundable. An expensive, horrible place to stay. Not disabled friendly as incomplete paths to cabins and road up to place is a gravel path with large pot holes. Only nice thing was scenery but no estate cattle or any other animals to been seen so another lie. Avoid if you want a relaxing break.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from maimiemacd
Inverness, United Kingdom
\I am asking the question ?
Seaside50447066194 wrote a tip May 2024
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very difficult to get accommodation in the area at the time of year we went but wouldn’t bother again. Very much left to your own devices."
Read full review
Trilogy&Humble wrote a tip May 2024
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty Parking. Arrive during daylight for the breathtaking views."
Read full review
Lesley-Anne B wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"time to relax and get into nature."
Read full review
debz1066 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book somewhere else"
Read full review
Christine M wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Drumnadrochit area.
PRICE RANGE
£68 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsLoch Ness RegionDrumnadrochit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CLUNEBEG LODGE GUEST HOUSE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Clunebeg Lodge Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Clunebeg Lodge Guest House?
Nearby attractions include The Loch Ness Centre (1.2 miles), The Falls of Foyers (5.0 miles), and Urquhart Castle (1.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Clunebeg Lodge Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, free internet access, and baggage storage.
Is parking available at Clunebeg Lodge Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clunebeg Lodge Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Eighty2, The Loch Ness Inn Restaurant, and Waterfall Cafe & Foyers Gift Shop..
Is Clunebeg Lodge Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Drumnadrochit.
Are there any historical sites close to Clunebeg Lodge Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Urquhart Castle (1.7 miles), Boleskine House (3.8 miles), and St Ninians Church (4.7 miles).
All Drumnadrochit HotelsDrumnadrochit Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DrumnadrochitHotels near Clunebeg Lodge Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire