We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lochside Hotel

Save
Traveller (77)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (3)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good32%
  • Average11%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
56
32
14
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
56
32
14
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscleaned every dayhotel restaurantgreat viewbowmore distillerystaff were brilliantgreat selection of whiskybirthday dinnercooked to ordersuperb hotelvenison casserolerecommend this restaurantminor nigglesshower roomlarge roomcomfortable bedfish and chipsloch indaal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got room 2, which is a really small double - but we expected that. What we didn't expect was that it is right over the dining area and that they would think it OK to inflict a band on us until one in the...More

Thank NotGraeme
Response from Rona M, Manager at Lochside HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We apologies if you were not made aware that we had a band on over the whisky festival week. We will ensure that in furture any customers booking rooms over this period are made aware that we have live music.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the restaurant for dinner recently after arriving with a late ferry. Amazing whisky selection at the bar, beautiful views across the bay. Unfortunately, the food didn’t quite deliver what the menu had promised. I’m sure the ingredients were amazing, but most of our food...More

1  Thank kris1138
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I do love the location of this place, and the outside seats, but the food and drink are not good. The nachos had no sour cream, no quacamole, no jalapeños - it was Doritos and mince. The venison burger was a hockey puck - I...More

Thank Jamie K
Response from Susan M, Front Office Manager at Lochside HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jamie Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy our foood here at the Lochside. We pride ourselves on our food. If you were to read other reviews you will see that normally the food is excellent. It...More

Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel was such a treat to stay in! So tastefully done with modern and traditional decor. The room was huge with panoramic views and comfiest sleep I have had in a long time. You can watch the sunset out the conservatory , chill in...More

Thank Chermaine M
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Just enjoyed an excellent haddock and chips for lunch. There was a comprehensive menu of main meals and snacks. The view across the bay was lovely if a little obscured by rain but then it is Scotland. The staff were very pleasant and efficient.

Thank Anne N
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Islay
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$171 - US$251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$171 - US$251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (77)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (3)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Laura T
25 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from neil m | Property representative |
Please call the hotel on 01496810244 or book online at lochsidehotel, thanks
1
Vote
izzy065
28 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Krister L | Reviewed this property |
There was indees a kettle in the room and no extra charge for the towels and sheets when we were there. Do call them on the phone to be sure and clarify any uncertainties. They are really helpful!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ask if they have any entertainment scheduled, if yes go elsewhere."
Read review
"As far up as you can possibly get!"
Read review
"Great little pizza place 3 house down."
Read review
"If you can manage the winding stairs, the top floor rooms have great views."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing