We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Loch Eyre House

Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (8)
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (1)
Kensaleyre, Portree IV51 9XE Scotland See on map
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
3.5 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Loch Eyre House is a tastefully decorated Guest House, with 9 bedrooms en suite with views over Loch Eyre. Each room has tea and coffee making facilities and television. There are a mix of rooms available from More twin (single occupancy available), double and family rooms. There is a comfortable lounge to sit and relax in front of our log fire (if cold enough), take in the views, read our books or watch our feathered friends visit our bird feeders. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
Price range
US$70 - US$258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Loch Eyre House Portree, Isle Of Skye
United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 nearby hotels
Redwood House Hotel
233 reviews
4.92 miles away
Marmalade Hotel
107 reviews
6.37 miles away
Portree Hotel
625 reviews
6.67 miles away
Bosville Hotel
275 reviews
6.72 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 142 nearby restaurants
The Pier
93 reviews
2.26 miles away
Edinbane Inn Restaurant
1,077 reviews
4.68 miles away
Greshornish House Hotel
33 reviews
4.86 miles away
Edinbane Lodge Restaurant
36 reviews
4.76 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 176 nearby attractions
Skye Bike Shack
29 reviews
2.68 miles away
Skye Minibus Tours
78 reviews
6.62 miles away
St. Columba's Isle
20 reviews
2.39 miles away
Portree Harbour
1,342 reviews
6.27 miles away
Reviews & more
5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 26
  • 4
  • 5
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
The hosts were really nice and greeted us with warm welcome. Room and location was exceptional. Emily made extra efforts to get us the vegetarian breakfast. Living room had a wonderful decor, overall the stay exceeded our expectations.
Read more
Response from AdamT3603, Manager at Loch Eyre House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Akshay, thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to welcome you both back at some point.
Read more
For those looking for an absolutely stunning escape on the Isle of Skye, we can't recommend Loch Eyre House enough. The building was charming and modern with a stunning view of one of Skye's beautiful Lochs. The beds were comfortable and the entire place was spotless. The breakfa
Read more
Response from AdamT3603, Manager at Loch Eyre House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Sarah, thank you very much for your kind comments. We are lucky to have such a great view of the Loch from our Guest House! We hope to welcome you back at some point.
Read more
Because of lack of basic knowledge about card transactions hotel charged my card 3 times instead of only one. I lost considerable amount of many on currency exchange because of that. Hotel refused refunding, what I have lost. Beside that, room wasn't cleaned properly and towels w
Read more
Response from AdamT3603, Manager at Loch Eyre House
Responded 30 Oct 2018
Hi Grzegorz, I have noted your review. Firstly we have a very good knowledge of credit card systems as we process many thousands of transactions per year. The problem arose from yourself, as you did not read / understand the concept of a non-refundable room only booking where the payment is taken from the card details provided when the booking is made. Your credit card was not charged 3 times as you state. You were initially charged on your original card which was then refunded at your request. You provided another card and the payment was taken from the second card. You thereafter attempted to extort free breakfasts from the guest house as you stated you had lost money on the currency exchange. This was refused by the staff. I personally inspected your room before you arrived as I suspected due to your initial behaviour you would make a spurious complaint. The room was spotlessly clean. You stayed for 7 nights, your room was serviced daily and towels changed when you requested. It was also brought to my attention the filthy condition you left the room daily (food ground into the carpet etc) however we continued to clean and service the room. What you need to understand is making false complaints is a dangerous thing to do. It can effect an owners impression of his workforce and is very demoralising for the staff concerned. However having received numerous messages from you prior to your arrival (including ' My suggestion is to add a 'free' breakfasts for my stay in the hotel.') I am confident I have very good staff who do clean the rooms properly. It is just a pity that Trip Advisor does not allow owners to review the guest like Airbnb or you would have received 0/5
Read more
We reserved a family room for two couples. The room was very clean and tidy, also very warm. Emily, the girl who works as a receptionist was very friendly and nice. She also served a really tasty breakfast in the morning.
Read more
Response from AdamT3603, Manager at Loch Eyre House
Responded 20 Oct 2018
Alessandro, thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at Loch Eyre House. We hope to welcome you all back at some point in the future!
Read more
Located 10 minutes by car from Portree; the room gave directly on the splendi view on theLoch, and was comfortable and clean. The hosts are very friendly and helpful; breakfast is also of very good quality.All this should lead to a better ranking than the one that we gave, but...
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementLoch Eyre House
View from Loch Eyre house was breathtaking- thanks again for the lovely time.
Photo provided by managementLoch Eyre House
Photo provided by managementLoch Eyre House
Photo provided by managementLoch Eyre House
"There are rooms with a lovely balcony and views on one side that are not to be missed."
"Check for rooms on the loch/water view side."
"Choose rooms at front, which have a view + now have a balcony and might be slightly larger. Don't choose ones at the rear."
"Rooms on west side overlook the sea loch. The twin room was great for views and brightness."
"The family room we we stayed in is superb."
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing