We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coolin View Guest House

Traveller (114)
Room & Suite (53)
Dining (3)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Family
HOTEL CLASS
344Reviews
126Photos
4Q+A
61Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 151
  • 104
  • 48
  • 31
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is a beautiful little guest house over looking the harbour of Portree, Skye. Beautifully clean , beautiful views and right in the centre of the village. Such a warm welcome and highly recommend. Wonderful breakfast, WiFi, tv, coffee machine etc etc None of this shall be
Read more
Response from Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Niall, thank you very much for taking time to write your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Coolin View Guest house and hopefully you will visit us again in the future.
Read more
Stayed here for one night on business trip. Room was perfectly adequate and had brilliant view of the harbour. Location was excellent. My only complaint was that breakfast was small but very tasty. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Response from Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking time to leave us your feedback. We are very lucky to have the views of the harbour and the mountains beyond. I will pass on your comments to the breakfast staff. Hopefully if you are back on business you will stay with us.
Read more
Located directly across the street from the bay with unobstructed views the scenery is beyond description. Watch the sunrise from the window of your room as the harbor lights gradually fade as the sun rises into view. While the rooms are a little small, the rest of the
Read more
Response from Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are very lucky with the location of our guest house. Hopefully we will see you again inn the future.
Read more
My husband and I stayed in Coolin’s View in December while on the 3 day Isle of Skye tour. The room was comfortable and clean, however, the service was quite poor. We also were very disappointed with the breakfast on the 2nd day as we were only allowed to have 1 egg each due to
Read more
Response from Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking time to provide us with your feedback. I will pass on your comments to the breakfast staff. Regarding the wifi unfortunately as we are an island and sometimes in inclement weather the signal can be a bit erratic. I am glad you thought Coolin View was a 'great place' and hopefully we will see you again at some point in the future.
Read more
We booked as a family of 5. They gave us a "family room" and frankly the most expensive room rate of our stay in Scotland. We arrived to find that they gave us a room on the 2nd floor (having to lug our collective 65kg of luggage up a flight of stairs ... no elevator),
Read more
Response from Eddie T, Owner at Coolin View Guest House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking time to write your review. When you booked your family room it was explained to you that the room only sleeps a maximum of 4 persons however you asked if you could squeeze 5 guests in the room. It was explained to you that there are other rooms available if you wanted to book 2 separate rooms but you stated it would be ok to squeeze into the one room. Regarding having to 'lug 65kg of luggage' up a flight of stairs, I am not aware of any guest houses in the area that have an elevator. With regards to the room rate you stated you had a room in the Royal mile in Edinburgh which was 3 times the size for only £65 per night for the 5 of you. I assume this would have included full Scottish breakfast which was an excellent price. However what you find is many large establishments will sell their rooms at a loss in order you eat / drink in their bar or restaurant. Unfortunately we are a small independent operation who can not sell rooms at a loss. Your comments about an in house laundry also leads me to believe that staying on a Scottish island guest house is a bit of a rarity for you as, again, I don't know any local guest houses who offer in house laundry service. All in all I think you are more used to staying in large hotel chains which unfortunately / fortunately the Isle of Skye has none of.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Best window view ever! With no editing!
The view from across the road, and, presumably the front rooms.
View from Coolin View carpark
PreviousNext
12345611
Do you have two rooms available for August 16-18 2018
Is there parking at the guest house?
Yes there is parking at the guest house. Both on and off street
1 vote
Show all answers
I am sorry but we are fully booked on the dates requested. I hope you manage to find suitable accommodation regards Eddie
0 votes
Can we bring our very well behaved labrador ?
Hi we do not allow dogs in the guesthouse (apologies) however we do allow dogs in our apartments at 4A Wentworth Street Portree. Pls contact us for further info
0 votes
"Try another hotel"
"Ask for a room in the back of the house if you need quiet."
"book early"
"Avoid the first floor, the street has a lot of foot traffic and there is on buffer between the guest house and the street."
"ask fir a sea view"
PreviousNext
12345613
PRICE RANGE
US$96 - US$148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
coolin view hotel portree
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandThe HebridesIsle of SkyePortree
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing