We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Loch Aluinn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sconser
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Loch Aluinn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 57: English reviews
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Unfortunately our two day stay on Isle of Skye was during a gale. Loch Aluinn is superbly situated to watch the rain go sideways down the Loch while the wind generated some good waves. We were welcomed to mini waterfalls streaming down the mountain valleys. The B & B was very welcoming in this period of storms. Marjory and Eric...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
Marjory and Eri... J, Owner at Loch Aluinn, responded to this review

Many thanks indeed for your lovely review! You did indeed experience some wild weather during your short stay with us and we were very impressed by your ability to embrace it! We're glad to hear you found our new memory mattresses so comfortable and that you enjoyed the varied breakfast choices. Our very best wishes to you and the rest...

High River, Canada
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Unfortunately my wife an I had to leave 1 day early, the result of poor weather and a ferry cancellation from Armadale to Mallaig, which altered our plans somewhat. This B&B is cozy, clean and certainly warm and inviting. Very likeable lady and nice breakfast. From your bedroom window and sitting area in front of this B&B, there is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RCM1
Marjory and Eri... J, Owner at Loch Aluinn, responded to this review

We were sorry that you had to leave early due to the ferry not running; as you say it left me with only limited time to converse while Eric was engaged preparing your choice of breakfast. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful view and the warmth of our hospitality. Due to some previous guests sharing with...

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Staying here for a week for our anniversary, my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our loch view room was clean, comfortable and had excellent touches to make our stay as pleasant as possible such as the option of fresh milk for drinks. The view from our window was stunning, even on misty mornings - we even had the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pittstop99
Marjory and Eri... J, Owner at Loch Aluinn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary week with us and that the eagle was around to welcome you to Loch Aluinn. Thank you also for your cross-stitch appreciation - the results of the longer winter nights! We will be delighted to welcome you both back to celebrate many more anniversaries.

Sale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We stayed here 17th - 19th June. You could not help but enjoy your stay here. The views are magnificent. We had a very enjoyable stay here in June, lovely friendly hosts, very comfortable room, so clean & inviting. Skye is such a magical place & Loch Aluinn is the ideal place to stay. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katchars
Marjory and Eri... J, Owner at Loch Aluinn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. As you point out, we have the luxury of fantastic views to go along with our really comfortable and clean rooms! We hope to welcome you back to Loch Aluinn again soon. Best wishes Marjory

Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Excellent accommodation. Spotless, very welcoming hosts who cook a delicious breakfast! Would stay here again. Very central location on Skye so ideal base for exploring the island and even Lochalsh mainland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
Marjory and Eri... J, Owner at Loch Aluinn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Michelle. I was a real pleasure having Liz, Margaret and yourself staying with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes Marjory and Eric

North east
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Its been around a year since our last visit to Skye and the Loch Aluinn B&B and we have run out of superlatives to describe this accommodation, and struggle to say something original as its just about all been said before! We arrived for the first part of a 14 day holiday in Scotland to a warm welcome from our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MicknMargaret
Marjory and Eri... J, Owner at Loch Aluinn, responded to this review

Thank you so much Michael and Margaret for your fantastic review. It's always a real pleasure to welcome you both back to Loch Aluinn and we're delighted that the dolphins made the decision to escort you on your day trip to Raasay! We'll be sure to look after the bunnies in the garden until you return to us! Marjory &...

Paphos, Cyprus
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Beautiful location in central Skye. Easy to find. We stayed for two nights in one of the two rooms which faced the back of the bungalow overlooking the hills. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean, with everything and more you could need. The bathroom was huge - could have had a party in there. The bed was fantastic - great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cassidy62
Keith, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015

I have just spent the best two weeks in many years here, in the self catering part. It is immaculately clean, comfortable & very well equipped. Marjory and Eric are very friendly and helpful, and there was a welcome bottle of wine & pint of milk waiting for me on arrival. The weather was brilliant most of the time &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Along with two friends, my husband and I spent two nights in the most comfortable accommodation I have experienced. With only two rooms it meant we had the place to ourselves and could enjoy the lounge in the evening making it a real home from home. The rooms were immaculate and so many little extras had been thought of to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 515sher
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2015

Very homely place, and very comfortable. There are just two letting rooms, one at the front overlooking the loch and one at the back. There is a comfortable lounge for guests which also looks over the loch. The bedroom was of a decent size and spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was of an excellent standard and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The Fat Punter

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sconser
7.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
930 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
14.8 mi away
White Heather Hotel
White Heather Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyleakin
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Sligachan Hotel
Sligachan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sligachan
425 reviews
7.5 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#24 of 99 in Portree
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Four star graded B & B set in a panoramic location at the foot of the Red Cuillins, owned and run by Skye born couple. We offer two very comfortable double bedrooms with en-suite facilities and access to guest lounge. Free off street parking and Wifi, along with extensive breakfast menu to chose from. Four star luxury self catering accommodation which sleeps up to 3 guests is also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Loch Aluinn

Address: 7 Sconser, Sconser IV48 8TD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sconser
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Loch Aluinn Sconser, Isle Of Skye
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Loch Aluinn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Loch Aluinn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“best view: the front room overlooking the loch; however, back bedroom has mountain and sheep. can't go wrong with either.”
  • views along the Loch
  • old bridge up the road from the B&B. Hiking trails start here. dinning here.
  • view from the front window on wake up.
 of 5 bubbles rogerd891, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask owner if this B&B is located close to a major road. Picture shown is view from rear of home. Major highway is out front.”
 of 5 bubbles RCM1, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are great!”
 of 5 bubbles MicknMargaret, 30 Mar 2015 | Read review
“There is a room with a sea view or a room with a hill view, neither will disappoint!”
 of 5 bubbles 661kayj, 2 Aug 2014 | Read review
“We got the backside room with the mountain view and we loved it! If you want to have a look at the lake, just sit at the lounge. We did that as well!”
 of 5 bubbles kdsmumbai, 28 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5