Duisdale House Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Duisdale House Hotel

Traveller (521)
Sea View
Room & Suite (220)
Dining (96)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£616
Breakfast included
£616
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 boutique hotel in Sleat
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Duisdale House Hotel is a luxury, award winning, family run boutique hotel on Skye’s southern Sleat Peninsular. With breath taking views over the sea loch to the mountains beyond, this former hunting lodge, oozes character and charm. Each of our individually styled bedrooms is unique and distinctive and complements the historic features of Duisdale House. From standard or twin rooms with woodland views, to deluxe rooms overlooking the garden and our popular suite with sea views, we are sure you will find staying at Duisdale House a delight. Comfort and relaxation is paramount with each room thoughtfully equipped with everything you need for your stay, including free wifi, LCD TVs, ensuite bathrooms with power showers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. Our delux rooms all have espresso coffee machines. Dogs are now welcome. The hotel boasts an award winning Restaurant, and an elegant lounge with high ceilings and log fire and patio overlooking the gardens. There is also a stylish, contemporary bar, well stocked with local gins and malt whisky. With 2 AA Rosettes for food, dining is always a special occasion at Duisdale, with a delicious a la carte menu that focuses on showcasing the best of Skye’s fresh local produce. Located only 10 minutes from Broadford, Duisdale is well located to explore the many world class attractions of Skye. You can also book activities at Skeabost, our sister hotel near Portree, which has its own fly fishing on the River Snizort
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Hiking
Fishing
Taxi service
Banquet room
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Sleat IV43 8QW Scotland
1,010Review3Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 587
  • 210
  • 112
  • 66
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
richie216 wrote a review Jun 2021
Chelmsford, United Kingdom29 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Didn’t get off to a good start at Duisdale House Hotel, we had booked the garden suite but it had building works going on all around it. Problem soon rectified by Rosemary who relocated us to room 1 on first floor with a sea view. This room had everything we needed, well thought out location of power points, good size screen easily watched from bed, and clean,modern bathroom fittings. Fine dining menu only at £65 a pop with no alternatives. Dined there first evening but nothing special so had to travel for other evening meals. Definite price fix going on with other establishments in the area. There is a lack of good walks in the immediate vicinity so if you are into walking, be prepared for a drive first. Staff training and attentiveness generally good. Hot tub there one morning, gone the next. Dovecote rotten and looks untidy. Maybe the deck and garden area will get fixed up once the building works are complete.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlackandWhite1885 wrote a review Aug 2020
Dunfermline, United Kingdom305 contributions74 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a good experience at Duisdale House Hotel. Very comfortable accommodation in a period house set within large garden area. Location at the south of the island is good if you are crossing by ferry from Mallaig to Armadale. Road up from Armadale is the best for miles around and so could easily be used as a base for exploring southern half of Skye and the Cuillins.

Covid-19 precautions were evident even before entering, sanitiser before entering, Perspex screen at reception. Staff all wearing masks and managing not to touch them as well!

We had not booked the most expense of rooms but our room was big and had a large bathroom with bath as well. Fridge and complimentary gin and tonics.

Dinner and breakfast were excellent only observation would be that given the size of the dining room it was not necessary to seat everyone in the nice conservatory part where seats struggled to be two metres apart.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neil MacDonald, Guest Services / Front Office at Duisdale House Hotel
Responded 26 Sept 2020
Dear BlackandWhite1885 Thank you so much for your recent review of Duisdale House Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and explored the lovely landscaped garden, we also have wonderful woodland walks in our native woodland and then the views that you get from the top of the purple heather covered hills is worth every step. We have plenty space for each of our guests to enjoy in the great outdoors with the arrival of our autumn colours. Its reassuring to us that overall our guests seem to be happy with the steps and measures that we have in place with our covid precautions. Each of our rooms are unique and different and each one has something different to offer to our guests stay I am so pleased that you enjoyed each of your meals with us and once seated the social distance changes to one meter but if any of our guests dont feel comfortable with this we are always happy to offer another table for them to enjoy their meal so thank you for brining this to our attention. We hope to see you returning to Duisdale soon and hopefully for a bit longer on your next visit too.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim Kilcreggan wrote a review Jun 2021
Helensburgh, United Kingdom8 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As soon as lockdown started to ease we booked a four night stay at Duisdale House Hotel and from that initial phone call right throughout our stay there wasn’t an aspect of of service that disappointed us.

On arrival we we’re checked in by Lynsey and made to feel very welcome. We dined in the restaurant each night which was under the supervision of Rachel, not a large menu but well cooked and presented, a good wine choice at reasonable price for a well respected supplier of wines. Breakfasts were first class and freshly cooked to order Our room was well appointed with an extremely comfortable bed.

The only problem we had was having to leave, but definitely planning another break to explore more of this magical island
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neil MacDonald, Guest Services / Front Office at Duisdale House Hotel
Responded 14 Jun 2021
Dear Dream370327 Thank you so much for your glowing review of your recent stay at Duisdale House Hotel. We are just so happy that we were your preferred choice to stay at after what has been a very strange and different year. Its most pleasing to hear that we carried you on a journey of exceptional care and kindness from the booking process to wishing you a fond farewell on departure. Lynsey and Rachel are just great and we are very happy to have them with us at Duisdale. Our menus may not be vast in quantity but each of our dishes definitely have quality. Leaving is never difficult when you know that you are able to return and we hope this time we can welcome you with open arms soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
claire m wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
my husband & myself stayed here on Sunday night 1/3/20, we stayed in room 10, when we were taking to the room both the windows were wide open and the room was frozen, the male receptionist turned on the heater to heat the room up.
On arrival we were asked if we were going to be having dinner at the hotel, as it was late we said yes, on arrival to dinner we were given a set menu, if we had known it was £55 per person to have dinner in the hotel we would never had said yes to this, as this was well out of our budget, I agree if some people want that menu then they can have it but I do believe there should be another menu with more affordable food on it, I also get you pay for quality (not quantity), my husband was still very hungry after dinner and had to go and get more food. After dinner we went back up to the room which was still freezing, the heater was only slightly hot at the top, we called down to reception to ask if someone could look at the heating a few minutes later, the male receptionist chapped on the door & said the pressure had dropped & gave us a wee fan heater, which was okay to an extent but due to the noise of it & was scared to leave it on all night in case it was a fire risk, we went to bed cold I had a hot water bottle with me, but we were still cold.
I bought this as a special gift for my husbands birthday & for the amount of money I paid for room the least you expect is to have a warm room.

I have spoken to the hotel manager since this to be offered a 20% discount and a free bottle of wine when we pay for dinner on our next stay here I have replied to that explaining that I would not return to this hotel for a little discount of 20% off and free wine which we would still have to buy dinner again so would cost us too much to get to Skye and for that offer it isn’t
Worth the cost of travel and staying another night.
We have since been told there was another menu that we should have been given so we could decide if we wanted the £55 per head menu or a more affordable menu, not given the option really is shocking as if they make it out that there is only 1 menu (the experience 1) then you have no choice to pay it therefore they get more money out of you.

In summary not a happy experience here
•Freezing room - no heating in a luxury hotel is awful
•food far to expensive for what you get very small plates and definitely not £55 per person worthy
•looked lovely rooms well decorated
•staff friendly
Breakfast was okay all served to you, you could have 1 starter fresh fruit, compote and yogurt, porridge or cereal
As we were hungry and had a long drive home we had the porridge but would have been nice if there was a fruit bowl with bananas or other fruit because you couldn’t choice cereal & fruit for example. We then both had the full Scottish breakfast with poached eggs which was very nice. I personally when I’m away like the continental breakfast where you can help yourself to fruit, cereal, pastries, toast etc then get your hot breakfast served.

I have not heard back from the hotel since I responded to there email offer of the discount.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neil855, Manager at Duisdale House Hotel
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear clairemO340NL Thank you very much for your recent review We are deeply saddened to be reading your online review. We are very sorry that when you arrived to your room that one of the windows had been left open and upon realising this it was closed and the radiator temperature was increased. A dinner reservation was taken for yourselves as we were aware you were here for a special occasion and this was reserved in our beautiful dining room with its roaring fire. If the menu whilst you relaxed in the lounge and looked over was not to your liking or budget we would have been more than happy to offer you our a la Carte menu. Whilst you were in the lounge we briefly chatted to you and I am very sorry that you didn’t mention that the room was still feeling cool as we could of very easily put an extra heater in the room so it was lovely and warm for you returning from dinner. I am a little surprised that your husband still felt hungry after dinner when you dined with us you both enjoyed canapés in the lounge, the starter course that you chose a soup course followed this along with your choice of main course and then dessert after. I would presume that since you had a hot water bottle with you, you must have a preference for lots of warmth. We offered you a 20% discount as an apology because we always endeavour to give our guests the best possible experience that we can and it was an oversight on our behalf that the window was left open. We had our on-site maintenance check the heating system the following morning and everything was working as we expected it to be so if anything was wrong this was a blip in the system. We advertise all of our hotel facilities in our in room guest folder where we have a sample of both menus that we offer each evening plus this has also been filled with lots of other extras for our guests to get the best possible experience out of their stay on our beautiful island. Breakfast each morning every one of our menu items is freshly prepared for you and served to your table along with your juices, tea/coffee and toast with a smile from one of our lovely staff. We believe this to be a much higher calibre of service than a self - service buffet. If our guests wish to have cereal plus yogurt and fruit we are more than happy to provide this as each person has different appetites and portion requirements. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your cooked breakfast and found our staff to be pleasant too. We are very disappointed that in your last correspondence with the hotel you stated that you wished never to return to Duisdale or any of our other hotels in the group as we would of loved to of welcomed you back and embrace you with our warmth of hospitality. Thank you so much for your comments and we wish you well on your future travels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MFC17 wrote a review Jul 2021
Durham, United Kingdom362 contributions245 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Duisdale for three nights in a first floor, four poster room with magnificent views of the Loch. Our room was large, comfortable and well appointed. The public rooms, dining room and outside terrace were all lovely and we found it a relaxing place to stay.

The staff were trying really hard and were friendly and eager to please.

We dined in the restaurant each evening and the food was excellent. At first we were disappointed that the a la carte menu advertised on the hotels website was not available and the only option was the set menu at £60 per person for three courses. However, the food was delicious and it was possible to have two course for a reduced price which was the preference for one of us. The food was imaginative and the cheeseboard was one of the best we have had. Breakfasts were good too offering a lot of different options.

This was our fourth visit to Skye and we thought that this was the best of all the hotels that we have stayed at.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anne Gracie, Owner at Duisdale House Hotel
Responded 30 Oct 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review Duisdale House Hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will be able to return again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keveeee wrote a review Mar 2022
Aberdeen, United Kingdom157 contributions68 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived for a 2 night stay for my partners birthday treat . It was amazing . The hotel has plenty parking and has very attentive staff who welcome you like one of the family . Rachel showed us to our room (Rm 3) which was perfect for us with a side view of the garden . The views from the front of the hotel are outstanding . Our room felt it was recently refurbished & was very cosy with ample tea/coffee , biscuit & water provided . Bedding was very nice & comfortable. There is tv with services but we did not have tv on once . The bathroom was spacious with power shower , bath and complimentary products. We booked dinner our first night as a treat . It was a 3 course delight . The staff on duty were so polite and chatty & interested in getting to know us . We are not “ needy” guests in any way and it was so nice to chat with the youngsters , working so hard at making our wee break truly memorable. I’ve not staff so lovely in a hotel for a long time . Breakfasts were also amazing . Lots of options for every taste . Food was fresh and served swiftly with top ups offered of juice and hot drinks and alternatives to what is on menu too . We got great advice about what trips were on offer and all in all we loved every minute of our stay and highly recommend this hotel. The nicest part was the welcome each and every time we arrived in and out and offers for dining and room service . Nothing was too much for the team on duty . Thank you very much Duisdale Hotel .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pets are welcome. You can eat meals in the bar with dog there . Great to know as hotel is...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neil MacDonald, Guest Services / Front Office at Duisdale House Hotel
Responded 11 Mar 2022
Dear Keveeee Thank you so much for your amazing review of your recent stay with us at Duisdale House Hotel. It is so nice to be recognised with all the personal touches that we provide to make sure that our guests have a memorable stay with us. We have literally just finished a full refurbishment from top to bottom with beautiful new wall coverings, new beds and fabrics to give a more luxurious stay. George our chef is very talented and the dishes that he creates are received graciously by our guests who are dining with us. Our staff are a joy to work with and its very nice to hear that they took the time to ensure that you were having a lovely time on the island. I am sure that Rachel shall be very pleased to read that you have given her a personal mention in your comments. Thank you once again for taking the time to review your break with us and we shall be delighted to welcome you back to Duisdale soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
april s wrote a review Aug 2020
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a lovely hotel this is. The staff were all lovely, friendly and helpful even storing my son's bike securely for him overnight.
We had a standard twin room looking out the back so no view but we didn't come to Skye to look out a room window so the lack of a view wasn't an issue at all. The room itself was great with two comfortable single beds and plenty of nice soft pillows and duvets. We had a huge modern en-suite bathroom with nice fluffy towels.
Breakfast was amazing with plenty to choose from and something for everyone. It all seemed really fresh and tasty.
The only slight downside was the dinner menu which I thought was rather expensive so we ate elsewhere.
Overall though, a lovely hotel and would definitely book again next time I go to Skye.
PS we got 20% off booking a special offer direct with the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neil MacDonald, Guest Services / Front Office at Duisdale House Hotel
Responded 14 Oct 2020
Dear aprilsW1367DV Thank you so so much for your amazing review of your stay at Duisdale House Hotel. We are all just delighted to be reading how much you enjoyed it all and anything that we can do we are always happy to do for our guests. Each of our rooms are all different and all of them have every comfort that you need for a good nights sleep. Breakfast each day everything is cooked to order to make sure that it is fresh tasty and wholesome. I am sorry to here that you didnt get to experience our wonderful evening menus with the finest of locally sourced produce. We would be absolutely delighted to welcome you back to Duisdale and booking direct would be the absolute best option with our best available rates on our own website and over the phone.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Centralg wrote a review Aug 2021
Preston, United Kingdom286 contributions170 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend. The staff were all lovely in particular Joanna and Rachel who helped us with places to go and the wines that were on offer. The food is excellent you don’t get a lot but so filling anyway you don’t need a lot. Starters and mains were all delicious never tried a sweet but they too looked delicious. The food was presented so nicely on the plates it looked like a work of art. Breakfast was a great choice of starter and main along with toast and fruit juice. Views from the garden and front of hotel were beautiful. There’s also a lovely beach to walk to across the road. We did well with the weather which is always a bonus. We loved the Isle of Skye it was our first visit but we hope to come back one day and stay again at the Duisdale thanks again to all the lovely staff. Didn’t get to know all of them by name but they were all good thanks again. Hamish was pretty cute too 😃
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Sitting in the conservatory for breakfast and dinner is nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anne Gracie, Owner at Duisdale House Hotel
Responded 23 Aug 2021
Thank you for your glowing review, We have a lovely team and I am glad to hear you enjoyed our company and your time with us. We, including Hamish would be honoured to host your stay again in the future. Best wishes from all at The Duisdale House Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Old guy wrote a review Jul 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom195 contributions103 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in room number 7. Which is above the kitchen. Between 1700 and 2300 the kitchen fan made the bed vibrate and buzz. We were told that there were other rooms but saw several people arrive after us and on check out were given the impression that rooms were available (ie she said “why weren’t you offered another room?”).

I had to ask for help on my third visit downstairs, to move the bed away from the wall, so our bed was now in the middle of the room. The bed still vibrated uncomfortably but the buzzing sound had stopped. The chap in the room above ours also complained about the noise and vibration.

My wife went to see what options we had and Andreas the manager was really rude to her.

My wife had a bath to try and relax and could pretty much heat the conversations and every clatter in the kitchen below.

To cap it off the walls were do thin that we could hear the dialogue from the TV next door through the wardrobe area while in our bed.

The food was average and sent back to be warmed up to above room temperature. Apart from Andreas the manager the staff were helpful and friendly.

We wrote to complain and received a quite patronising first reply. I’m told that the fan has been changed.

It was expensive for a very poor room overlooking the gas storage area. We won’t return and would advise others to avoid room 7 and all others above the noisy smelly kitchen,
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neil MacDonald, Guest Services / Front Office at Duisdale House Hotel
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Dear G567AAmarkh Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us I am very sorry to hear of your experience during your time with us We have installed a new fan in the kitchen and we have been assured that this should help with any vibration issue. I am pleased that you found our staff to be pleasant and courteous to you during your stay and we wish you well on your future travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie Swan wrote a review Oct 2021
12 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 2 nights. Room was nice enough as was view of garden but the building site next to it wasn't. Bathroom was badly finished and shower was not high pressure.
Had dinner there first night and for £59 a head for tiny portions was seriously overpriced, my husband could not eat anything off the menu but they were good enough to cook him a steak. Didn't bother second night got sandwiches from the co-op much more filling for a tenth of the price.
I like the windows left open in my room and housekeeping closed them all, also sure someone had been in my suitcase as things were not as I left them, there was no reason to move my suitcase.
The whipped butter at breakfast was not pure butter and they didn't seem happy when we asked for real butter.
When we went to leave receptionist was stood with bill and pen waiting for me to sign, were they thinking I was going to run off because of what I look like (blue hair, piercings and tattoos, don't judge people by appearance) bill was 3 times what it should have been and on my checking I discover I had been charged for someone else's dinner and drinks. Not surprising as waiting staff were of the nice but clueless variety.
Overall it was ok but not worthy of 4 stars and very overpriced all round. I work in a 3 star hotel (I do every job) and could stay there for a week for the price I paid for the Duisdale and I would get better food and service.
Definitely won't be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neil MacDonald, Guest Services / Front Office at Duisdale House Hotel
Responded 6 Nov 2021
Dear Scots Quine666 Thank you for taking the time to review our property from July of this year. I am pleased to hear that you found your bedroom nice and enjoyed the view of the garden. We did have some building works going on as we are developing and expanding our hotel with minimal disruption caused to our guests. I am a little surprised to hear that you had an issue with water pressure as we have two mega flow tanks on our system to avoid this ever happening, we did not have any other complaints from other guests in regards to water pressure during your time with us. It is most disappointing to be reading your comments about your dining experience. Dinner is priced at £59.00 per person and your evening starts off in the lounge enjoying our log fire with canapes whilst you read over our menu making your selections of locally sourced dishes with a choice of meat, fish or vegetarian options for starter and main course, and our seasonal puddings from our pastry chef. I think that your comparison of mass produced factory sandwiches from the coop to be most inappropriate as a comparison to freshly cooked locally sourced produce. Our lovely servers were most kind and offered your husband a steak as the menu for the evening was not to his liking. Our housekeeping staff are very considerate when servicing each of our guests bedrooms, our rooms are aired each day whilst the room is being serviced so as guest bedrooms are at an adequate temperature for our guests returning for the day. Each bedroom is hoovered every day so I can only presume that one of our staff moved your case for this to take place. When you whisk butter it becomes light and airy and this can change the texture, our staff were again attentive to your needs and brought you sliced butter for you to enjoy with your breakfast items. I must also address your comments that you have put in writing in regards to the staff that work here your comments of “The waiting staff were nice but of the clueless variety” this is most unprofessional of somebody who also works in this industry regardless of their own appearance and to insinuate that our staff were judgmental of you I find very hard to swallow. Our receptionist being attentive in her roll having everything ready for you to literally sign on the doted line I would call good service and if there was an error this was rectified very quickly We have remained with our four star status along with our 2 AA Rosettes for our food quality by the industry professionals and I would certainly think that these people should know how to quality grade properties as many of them have also been in the industry for many years. Thank you for your comments we wish you well on your future travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Floyd J
Salt Lake City, Utah10 contributions
Yes, at least there was in May 2019
Answer from RobfromMedford
Medford, Massachusetts27 contributions32 helpful votes
You need to contact the hotel management
Answer from Jac2024
Scotland, United Kingdom208 contributions69 helpful votes
no lifts, really friendly hotel just along the road where the food is incredible, Duisdale is quite stuffy
Frank T wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not forget the hot-tub and sample all the gins!"
Read full review
RPG625 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Los Angeles, California668 contributions215 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Easy on-site parking"
Read full review
Alexis M wrote a tip Feb 2024
Scotland, United Kingdom13 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free parking onsite, you can hire a hottub for £10 in the gardens. "
Read full review
JScot_13 wrote a tip Feb 2024
London, United Kingdom40 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free parking"
Read full review
Christine S wrote a tip Aug 2023
Nebraska15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Restaurant reservations are recommended to ensure a table."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sleat area.
PRICE RANGE
£322 - £560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandThe HebridesIsle of SkyeSleat
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DUISDALE HOUSE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Duisdale House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Duisdale House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Gallery An Talla Dearg (0.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Duisdale House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Duisdale House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Duisdale House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Duisdale House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant at Kinloch Lodge, Am Praban Bar & Restaurant, and An Crùbh.
Are there any historical sites close to Duisdale House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Clachan Duich Burial Ground (9.4 miles).
Does Duisdale House Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Sleat HotelsSleat Hotel DealsHotels near Duisdale House Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire