Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Old School Restaurant and Rooms

Inshegra Old School Restaurant and rooms Inshegra, Kinlochbervie IV27 4RH Scotland
Like view from room 8
Traveller (141)
Kinlochbervie, Old School Restaurant, la salle
Dining (33)
Room #5
Room & Suite (32)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 4 B&Bs in Kinlochbervie
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Our rooms are open for pre booking only. We aim to provide you with as pleasant experience as we can during this stressful time, please be patient as many things will be different from before. For your safety and the safety of our staff we have made many changes.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Restaurant
Hiking
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
436Reviews4Q+A54Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 262
  • 124
  • 30
  • 12
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
alicehill2016 wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay. We were very warmly welcomed when we arrived and were lucky enough with the weather to watch a beautiful sunset over the loch whilst sipping a glass of wine in the outdoor eating area. The Old School is taking a lot of COVID related precautions and we were warned/advised in advance of these including re dinner and breakfast arrangements. Dinner and a packed breakfast were brought to our room which was equipped with folding tables to eat at. The food was hearty and home cooked - just as we like it! The room was slightly small if it was to be for a longer stay but it was perfect for our needs and we had an amazing view from our window. We would definitely recommend a stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We were in room 8 and think it has the best view (from what we could see of the other rooms’...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anita d wrote a review Oct 2022
Bridport, United Kingdom40 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a one-night stay on our trip around the NC 500, and are so pleased we did. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and had a lovely view of the nearby waterfall, it was roomy and even had a fridge which was very useful. Dinner was excellent and the staff were very helpful as I have various allergies and they went out of their way to ensure that I could have the dishes I wanted, albeit tweeked to my needs. We had a very relaxing evening and a good night's sleep and the breakfast in the morning was also excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Macleod, Owner at Old School Restaurant and Rooms
Responded 6 Oct 2022
Thank you, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DevonPetal wrote a review Oct 2020
Devon64 contributions22 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I am sad that people have given bad reviews. I accept that the food may not be what it was pre-covid, but we stayed a night here as part of our NC500 trip, and were very happy with the experience. We really felt that the owner had tried hard in these difficult circumstances. We were made to feel welcome, the room was spacious, we had a put up table to eat off, and although the food was served in a foil container, was delicious and we had proper cutlery to eat it with. After choosing what we wanted, the breakfast was brought the evening before in a cool box. We found all items fine. If we had had more time we could have waited until the restaurant opened in the morning to have something cooked. Keep up the good work!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Macleod, Owner at Old School Restaurant and Rooms
Responded 5 Oct 2020
Thank you so much, we really look forward to being back to having the restaurant open again. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.#
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lincsman wrote a review Feb 2020
N.E.Lincs308 contributions153 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed and ate at The Old School Rooms whilst touring Scotland. We loved the restaurant with it's 'old school' artefacts and photos. The restaurant was popular in the evening -rightly so- good menu choice, huge portions, freshly cooked and quality food. I enjoyed a chicken dish with haggis. Service was friendly and efficient. Would recommend.
We were disappointed with our room which smelled damp and felt cramped due to the large bed being wedged in next to the bathroom door. The bathroom was very small but perfectly serviceable. We felt the view from the room was 'oversold' as it was a side on view of fields and the loch in the distance.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan R wrote a review Aug 2020
6 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stopped for dinner while touring around Scotland in our motorhome. The weather was great and the location is perfect so we looked forward to sitting overlooking the bay and mountains. We were very aware of the Covid-19 restrictions so could understand that they were offering a limited menu and only takeaway or sitting outside.

The schoolhouse is near the fishing village of Kilnochbervie so the menu understandably includes fish along with traditional Scottish dishes like venison burgers.

We ordered the Cullen Skink starter which, for those who don't know, is a Scottish chowder of smoked haddock, potatoes and onions, usually served with fresh bread. For the main course we ordered battered Kilnochbervie haddock and chips. To go with this we ordered a bottle of wine.

The menu says that all food is prepared to order so we expected to have to wait and were surprised how quickly it was served.

The first disappointment was that it was delivered in a paper carrier bag, but we accepted this was due to Covid-19. The Cullen Skink was in a paper coffee cup, with a wooden spoon. However, it contained virtually no fish or onions. In fact it was a thick potato soup. It was accompanied by an oatcake, which is like a biscuit. For £6.50 I considered this very poor value.

The main course was also in the bag, and was a cardboard box and was conventional fish and chips. The fish was relatively small and was probably oven cooked from frozen. I strongly suspect that it was not locally-caught.

The best part was the wine, which was a New Zealand sauvignon blanc, but at over £20 we expected that to be good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Macleod, Owner at Old School Restaurant and Rooms
Responded 20 Aug 2020
Given that you say your accepting that we are in the middle of a pandemic, I'm not sure why your commenting on our choice of takeaway containers all of which we have chosen as they are eco friendly and compostable. I can assure you our fish is fresh and local and never oven cooked, always freshly battered and deep fried to order as are our home made chips. If there is an issue its best to let us know at the time so we have the opportunity to rectify any problems.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ajkedar wrote a review Sept 2020
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom470 contributions318 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Third visit as we loved last two and gave glowing reviews! I rarely leave poor reviews unless a really poor experience.
Start with a couple of positive points. Room 5 is lovely and so is the scenic location.
This was a re booking as we were due to vist in June. The first we knew that they had changed the restaurant into a carry out with rooms was a couple of weeks prior to our visit when the strange rules email arrived!
On arrival we had to phone but first issue no signal! So on entering the restaurant had to shout for attention. We were told prior to our arrival that the restaurant could not be used due to social distancing! Rubbish as 4 or 5 rooms ! The real reason was it has been set up as carry out to the absolute detriment of the paying quests! We paid £ 220 for two nights in room! Our meals extra
Breakfast was dire! It came the night before in cool box. We choose yogurt fresh fruit and porridge. The yogurt was sugar laden, the fresh fruit poor and the Stoats syrup porridge was absoluely sugar laden gross! My husband ate nothing and we did not order anything the next morning. We went to the Spar in Kinlochbervie to get fresh grapes and biscuits and cheese!
The evening meal order was delivered by nice enough staff. Supposedly the quests were given special menu and bits of the meal were okay. Chips in container were soggy with no salt provided the first night! Left as terrible. Basically an expensive carry out with cutlery!
Also shower first night no shampoo or conditioner! We showered with Carex hand wash!!!!
Thank goodness I had our own coffee, mugs and biscuits.
Were were on an 8 day trip walking and staying. Everywhere else we stayed was wonderful with delicious meals in their restaurant and superb hot cooked breakfasts!
Obviously they were aware of all food sent back and no breakfast order second day but at no point did anyone! Pay the bill with no deductions. Disgrace!
The owners here should never have opened up the rooms and it can only be due to greed! What they provided was truly awful and given we have stayed twice before and loved!
Would we return? Never!
The reason for this review ,as well as our anger , is someone may read my two previous reviews and book something which no longer exists!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Macleod, Owner at Old School Restaurant and Rooms
Responded 30 Sept 2020
In response to your review, the strange rules email you received was our covid terms and conditions set up to protect our guests and staff. It was made very clear that things are very different in the middle of this pandemic. You did say in your email that you would reluctantly accept them which obviously you didn't and should maybe have booked somewhere else to stay. We are very open about what we can provide. We are doing our best to provide a service for all our customers, residents and restaurant. It clearly states in your room that if you require anything eg toiletries to just ask and they will be provided as they were. As far as the food is concerned if you had such issues and were here for two nights why did you not just come and speak to us about it, we would have done our best to accommodate your taste. Your statement that we shouldn't have open up and have only done this due to greed shows that you have obviously no understanding of running a small family business that provides employment to local people. After lockdown we are grateful to still have a business, many don't. As you have stayed twice before and loved it you you more than anyone should be able to see that this is not the norm but unfortunately it is the position we are in. We always welcome feedback and are continually changing things to work better for everyone. It would have been helpful if you had just talked to us rather than rant on trip advisor.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
anne wrote a review Jul 2021
18 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I understand that times are not normal and all hospitality has to adapt to reflect the risks for Covid, but sadly our stay here was marred by the extreme Covid measures in place. Starting with the email telling what the measures were which included a suggestion that if we felt we didn’t want to stay they would understand if we wanted to cancel which led to a worry that they may cancel leading to the collapse of our trip as all accommodation in the area was booked. Evening meals were “ served” outside with them being handed to us through a window. They were doing a roaring trade in takeaways and perhaps this should be the focus. Breakfast was given to us in a cool box to eat in the room after completing a form which warned against over ordering because of waste! On the positive side however, the room was spacious and clean and the view beautiful. The cooked meal was nice and I am sure in normal times this would warrant a better rating.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Macleod, Owner at Old School Restaurant and Rooms
Responded 4 Jul 2021
Thank you for your review. We email our our customer to tell them of the measure that we have put in place to protect you, our staff and our fragile local community. They may feel extreme to you but our staff are dealing with hundreds of people each day and we will take what every measures we need to to keep them safe. That is why we give you the opportunity to cancel should you feel this is not the place for you. We state as well that we don't "serve" to the outside tables but residents are given the option of being served to their rooms. The "warning" is a polite message to guests as everything that is ordered an not used is binned the following morning and we did have a lot of waste, this has reduced dramatically since we put the message on. we are happy for people to order as much as they want to eat, we just don't like too much waste. We are a small local business trying to survive this ongoing situation and are very much looking forward to getting things back to "normal" with a fully functioning restaurant and rooms.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Craig S wrote a review Jul 2021
Ayr, United Kingdom3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Six weeks after our visit, despite the friendliness, cleanliness and acceptable food, I am still irritated at being notified shortly after booking, and maybe two weeks before arriving, that the restaurant would not be open because of lack of space, such that we had to we eat our takeaway in a not-too-large bedroom. I believe the reasoning was to increase food sales at the inconvenience of the guests who were paying £99 for bed and breakfast. Unacceptable.
Craig Simpson.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Connor wrote a review Sept 2020
Cumbria, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If you value your insides don't go here... Bought the scampi and it hadn't long been in my mouth before it was coming back out again. For your own sake carry on driving past it. Bring a packed lunch...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
deannerichards wrote a review Sept 2021
Newmarket, United Kingdom31 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had visited the restaurant a couple of years ago and enjoyed it so much we booked a two night stay this September. Unfortunately due to Covid and staff shortages their restaurant was not open but they were catering for takeaways, Breakfast was delivered to our room as were the evening meals we selected from their extensive menu. The staff were really welcoming and friendly, our room with magnificent views was fantastic and the meals were delicious. They are doing so well in these challenging times. We hope to be back next year and hope very much for their sake that life will be kinder to them by then.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FVI80 asked a question Apr 2018
Venice, Italy9 contributions5 helpful votes
How can I contact you? do you have an email address?
FVI80 asked a question Apr 2018
Venice, Italy9 contributions5 helpful votes
How can I contact you? do you have an email address?
Answer from oldschoolklb
Kinlochbervie, United Kingdom
Hello call us on 01971521383 cheers
Laura T asked a question May 2017
Castell'Alfero, Piemonte, Italy1 contribution2 helpful votes
Posso sapere il costo in euro per persona e per notte ? Grazie !
Answer from oldschoolklb
Kinlochbervie, United Kingdom
hello our rates range from £45 including breakfast.
BinksyNr_York_UK wrote a tip 14 Apr
Pocklington, United Kingdom141 contributions112 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you book for dinner. Kinlochbervie is otherwise very short of places to eat."
Read full review
rainmeister wrote a tip Jun 2023
9 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make a booking in advance if you're intending to have dinner as the restaurant fills up quickly."
Read full review
Gillian B wrote a tip Apr 2023
Skipton, United Kingdom25 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The opening times vary from day today, so if you want food during the day you need to check they will be open. Check in is 4 to 6 pm "
Read full review
Hariet wrote a tip Jul 2022
Carnarvon, Australia22 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early"
Read full review
Andrew wrote a tip May 2022
Buckton, United Kingdom153 contributions105 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No check-in until 4pm"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kinlochbervie area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Old School Bed & Breakfast
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsCaithness and SutherlandKinlochbervie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OLD SCHOOL RESTAURANT AND ROOMS - Updated 2024 (Kinlochbervie)

Frequently Asked Questions about Old School Restaurant and Rooms
Which popular attractions are close to Old School Restaurant and Rooms?
Nearby attractions include Oldshoremore Beach (3.5 miles), Polin Beach (4.3 miles), and Highland Charcuterie & Smoke House Ltd (2.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Old School Restaurant and Rooms?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Old School Restaurant and Rooms?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Old School Restaurant and Rooms?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Old School Restaurant and Rooms?
Conveniently located restaurants include Old School Restaurant & Rooms, Worth A Look, and The Quay House.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire