We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Cairndow Stagecoach Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cairndow Stagecoach Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 305: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for a night on my birthday. We paid extra to have one of the Loch view rooms. The rooms in that small block look like they have recently been refurbished, very modern interior lots of room, nice comfy bed and the underfloor heating was a bonus on a cold November day. Decent sized patio area looks out across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed over for business, stayed two nights in two different. The first room was a twin room with two single beds, one of which was rather creaky. We arrived around 8pm on a Sunday evening and the room was distinctly chilly. Despite turning the radiator up (it had been turned to lowest setting) there appeared to be no heat....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
Marple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited the Stagecoach with my son whilst touring Scotland. The people were most welcoming and friendly. We had a good chat with the locals and the barman whilst having a drink,and the food was tasty and filling. Beer was well looked after and the room was perfectly okay. The position of the place right on the loch is superb also....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

A very clean and comfortable hotel with a friendly family atmosphere, with fabulous views overlooking Loch Fyne. Exceptional food, menu and service. Really enjoyed my short stay and will most definitely be returning again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susie l
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Yup a coastal spot look it up. Friendly staff and reception Large room and bathroom with twin beds, slept quite well, right above the bar but it was quiet quickly. Restaurant good and reasonable. Filled up ( where did they all come from?) Breakfast good Have the locally caught kippers, huge fresh and tasty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antinmelb
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

It just ok. The beds are ok if you have no back issues . The price is ok. Wifi is free but touchy. Must give notice for dinner, give notice and pay to use hottub, the shower is like bathing with a sprinkler, place smells like fried food and old wood, its rather odd old ugly decor. Now the pros:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caymro
cairndowinn, Manager at Cairndow Stagecoach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Caymro, Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry to read that you thought our Inn was just OK! I guess one of your party have a bad back and this resulted in a poor night sleep, however the person who had no back problems had a good night sleep?... We do replace our mattresses on a regular basis but...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016

First time in this lovely Inn and won't be the last,the Deluxe room was worth the money with spa bath, just make sure you fill it up before turning on the jets..lol major fail on my behalf...lovely Lochside setting,the girlfriend had a full breakfast which got a thumbs up and i had the poached eggs which to be honest was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hibernian73
cairndowinn, Manager at Cairndow Stagecoach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Hibernian73, Thanks for your feedback. Glad to read that you enjoyed the Deluxe room and the Spa-Bath, even though by the sounds of things you managed to give yourself a soaking...and this was before you were in the bath! We are looking forward to welcoming you back once again. Jamie

Stirling
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We drove 20 miles to the Inn for dinner only to be disappointed. We sat down at 6:45 at a table set for dinner next to the bar. We were greeted by Lizzie who asked what we wanted to drink. When she returned with our drinks I asked for the menu only to be told that as we hadn't booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Midgemoo
cairndowinn, General Manager at Cairndow Stagecoach Inn, responded to this review

Sorry for your experience on this occasion. We did have a large function in the restaurant at 7pm on the evening you came for dinner so there was a wait of about 30 minutes. Apologies for not informing you of this on arrival. Please don't let this put you off returning to dine with us, but do book in advance...

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We had a fabulous 3 nights here. Wonderful staff, so welcoming. Delicious breakfast, with the best black pudding we've ever had, seated in a cosy conservatory overlooking loch fyne with breathtaking views for miles. So peaceful. The staff and other guests were lovely, with everyone wishing you a good morning and looking up and smiling. Our little twin room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hollboll2003
cairndowinn, Manager at Cairndow Stagecoach Inn, responded to this review

Dear Hollboll2003, Glad to read that you had a fabulous 3 nights with us. I will pass on your great feedback to the team! We are looking forward to welcoming you back once again. Jamie

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Stopped here once again on our way back from the Scottish Islands and once again they came up with the goods. Clean, airy and well appointed dog friendly room overlooking Loch Fyne. Excellent evening meal in the bar (more extensive choice in the restaurant) and proper cooked breakfast with quality bacon, black pudding and sausages, always the sign of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TGRoberts
cairndowinn, Manager at Cairndow Stagecoach Inn, responded to this review

Dear TGRoberts, Thanks for your amazing feedback! I will pass this on to the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back once again. Jamie

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (50)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairndow
5.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,231 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
382 reviews
15.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
608 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
604 reviews
4.6 mi away
Thistle House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Douglas, Catherine and family extend a warm welcome in the best traditions of Scottish hospitality to one of the oldest Coaching Inns in the Highlands. The Inn is delightfully situated on the upper reaches of Loch Fyne, and presents to the visitor a haven of sparkling views, high mountains and magnificent woodlands and rivers. The location of the Inn makes it the ideal centre for a touring holiday, especially for visiting such places as Loch Lomond, The Mull of Kintyre, The Cowal peninsula and the breath taking scenery of the West Highlands. For the Hill walker and Climber, Cairndow is within easy reach of some of the finest terrain in Scotland. It is also a popular spot for boating and sea angling, and deer stalking can be arranged in the Autumn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cairndow Stagecoach Inn

Address: Cairndow, Cairndow PA26 8BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cairndow
Price Range: £66 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairndow Stagecoach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cairndow Stagecoach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairndow Stagecoach Hotel Cairndow
Cairndow Stagecoach Inn Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cairndow Stagecoach Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Strathaven, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cairndow Stagecoach Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only used the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles NigelandCarolB, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Lochside Rooms with Balcony and Power Shower”
  • Lochside Double Room
  • Lochside Balcony View
 of 5 bubbles Dylan65, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“authentic experience”
 of 5 bubbles aureliancristianf, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“recommend the Loch side rooms”
 of 5 bubbles JeanetteH321, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If possible ask for a front view room”
 of 5 bubbles robydipp, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay