We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (90)
Room & Suite (21)
Pool & Beach (7)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Our superb range of self-catering properties on Kintyre's east coast provide accommodation for groups of between 2 and 10 people. The estate offers the perfect opportunity to experience the comforts of modern day living whilst relaxing within a stunning and stress-free environment. Breaks are available for a minimum of 3 nights throughout the year.We are also embracing green technology, and have installed a biomass boiler to serve several properties on the estate, and a small hydro scheme which will generate enough electricity for 90 houses. In addition, our innovative tree planting scheme allows you, as our guest, to plant a tree for every holiday taken. Within the ground floor of the castle is a beautifully furnished self-catering apartment and set within the peaceful wooded grounds are a further four superb cottages and houses.The Kintyre Way passes through the estate, which is an ideal base for those looking to complete the long distance walk in individual stretches, being almost halfway on the 87 mile route.Of special interest at Torrisdale is the organic tannery, specialising in natural coloured sheepskins and deer skins using an ancient tanning method to produce a superior skin.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gems
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
113Reviews
109Photos
2Q+A
15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 97
  • 12
  • 0
  • 4
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This was a return visit to the servants quarters in the fabulous Torrisdale Castle. The castle is situated stunning grounds with woodland walks, lawns, river and even its own gin distillery. The gin produced at the castle, Beinn an Tuirc, is up there with the best and oak barrel
Read more
Response from Niall_Machall, Owner at Torrisdale Castle
Responded 8 Nov 2018
Janice, thanks for the great review, and we are all delighted you enjoyed your holiday and the gin! Hopefully we will have some more different gins for you to try then next time you visit! Niall and Emma.
Read more
We drove up into the estate, and decided to do the Bicentennial Walk, before a fact-finding tour of the Kintyre Gin shop! The walk took us through woodlands on the estate, and was very well signposted. It’s a gentle experience, allowing you to get the most out of the beautiful
Read more
Response from Niall_Machall, Owner at Torrisdale Castle
Responded 4 Sep 2018
Thank you for the great review, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the gin! Keep an eye out for more releases over the next year or so!! Niall and Team
Read more
In the grounds of the Castle the Laird himslf gives you a quick tour and he and his winger are very knowlegdable about the gin production in a spotless production area. They do a tour plus taste visit and although tricky to find it was well worth it and gives you the lowdown on
Read more
Response from Niall_Machall, Owner at Torrisdale Castle
Responded 4 Sep 2018
Thank you for the review and we are glad you enjoyed it! We are all very pleased how things have gone with the new gin business! Kind regards, all the team!
Read more
Amazing place, stayed in the garden cottage, lovely grounds , lovely walks around the area nice bit of beach to sat and relax. Hot tub a great idea loved it! Great area to see lots of nice places to go and visit. Only downside was I get bite all over by midges lol, never bite
Read more
Response from Niall_Machall, Owner at Torrisdale Castle
Responded 19 Jul 2018
Thanks for the review, and glad you had a good time! Yes, the midges seem to be very selective in their prey! A good gin and a bit of steam from the hot tub keeps them at bay for me! Thanks again, Niall.
Read more
Was a beautiful place, grounds lovely although lots of animals, and their waste that was not collected. We had a lovely space outside for games but couldn’t be used due to dog faeces a plenty! I told my kids to behave and respect the grounds but yet the mess meant they couldn’t
Read more
Response from Niall_Machall, Owner at Torrisdale Castle
Responded 26 Apr 2018
Thank you for you review and apologies if you didn't have a good time. On the dog crap, there are indeed a few dogs who use the grounds, including guests who bring theirs with them, however their mess is usually ALWAYS collected. If for some reason one was missed by a guest, or after they had left by us in our normal inspection, then you should have told us immediately and we would have cleared it for you. There certainly were not 'plenty'. In terms of the sauna, it is in the trees, next to the burn, away from any public paths. The nearest public path is over 50 metres away and you can hardly see anything from that due to the bushes and trees. This is the most secluded spot and everyone to date has commented on it. Indeed, if it were right next to the castle, as we first considered, it would not have been personal at all. I think the preceding reviews to this one would tell the true story - not one negative comment regarding the hot tub! Apologies for the wifi, we have had issues with it recently, and unfortunately that is outwith our control and BT. Being remote also has its disadvantages!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachFamily and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Side window in Arch Cottage.
Livingroom windows in Arch Cottage.
View from Arch cottage across to Arran.
Cottage on the estate viewed from Kintyre way.
postcard view from livingroom window!
PreviousNext
12345
The Campbelltown ferry doesn't sail daily so your options are two (or more) ferries via Arran, via Portavadie or drive. We drove there on the owners' recommendation - about 3 hours from Glasgow - and they were right, the views are beautiful. I'd driven from Leicestershire and the last 3 hours were by far the most enjoyable. On the way back we booked on the Brodick - Ardrossen ferry and took a chance on the Claonaig - Lochranza ferry early so we could spend the day on the Isle of Arran. That also was beautiful. Calmac say the Claonaig - Lochranza ferry takes 18 cars, but they must be talking about Matchbox models as we were 14th and didn't make it on as they were full. We were not brave enough to risk it the other way round as you can't book on the Claonaig - Lochranza route and we didn't want to get stuck on Arran with 3 dogs. Can't tell you about the Portavadie route, but it didn't appear to save any time over taking the A83 / A82.
0 votes
"Garden cottage seems the most secluded."
"Servants Quarters great for families - two twin rooms and a very luxurious double."
"The south lodge has the best bay/sea views!!"
"Arch Cottage has great views out to sea"
"just take a look out the picture window - it says it all"
PreviousNext
123
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandCarradale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing