We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

434 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 415: English reviews
Start your review of The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a two night break here with our 10 year old and 4 month old puppy. The hotel was very warm and welcoming. We had the family room (4) which had plenty of room for the dog crate too. It was clean, well stocked with tea and coffee, soft towels and a hairdryer. It had a tv but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jj1470
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the cabins to run the Glencoe Half Marathon. These little cabins are amazing, very cozy inside with the heater on. The hotel bar has great beer and the bar food is yummy. Had breakfast each morning, and nothing was too much trouble from the staff. Would highly recommend these cabins. We've booked to go back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruthyh21
Glasgow
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We have stayed here twice before on New Year's Eve and twice before at other times of the year and always found it cosy and practical and enjoyed our stay. However this time we were very very disappointed. We stayed with another family in the cabins so 2 cabins with 2 adults and 2 children's in each. We arrived and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dollydoyle
Helen T, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this review

Please let me apologise that you felt the Hogmanay party was disappointing as we know from your previous visits that you have always enjoyed them. Mark and I are upset that you did not feel you could broach any of your complaints at the time of the stay and that this is the first that we have heard about them....

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 11 November 2016

We had a lovely stay in Kinlochleven. The staff were really nice, food tasted great and the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. There are plenty of beautiful sights to see during the day, and in the evening you can enjoy a lovely meal and some drinks while chatting with fellow guests in the bar. Having food allergies, I was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvonnemoe
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016

I stayed here with my dog, he was made as welcome as I was which was good, I had went to go explore the Great Glen, Glen Coe and the Nevis range, for my purpose it was great 20 mins from fort William, I'm a keen photographer so the scenery was spot on, the view from the seating area outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bge92012
Aberdeen
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for the night while walking the West Highland Way. Rooms are a bit dated (and rather purple) but comfortable. We chose to stay here as having been here previously found the food to be excellent and this was still the case. We enjoyed the meal we chose to eat in the bar very much, and breakfast (cooked to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AbClare
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I stayed one night in one of the cabins of the hotel. There was an oven inside so it was cosy and warm. The staff was excellent and very helpful. The facilities were alright and the atmosphere in the Bothy Bar was perfect. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martina1888
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I liked this hotel but it wasn't one of the best I stayed at along the West Highland Way. The staff was very friendly. The room I was in, however, was down a hall shared with the kitchen so there was a lot of noise and absolutely no view. The bed was ok but the shower was great. The onsite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IrishScotYank
Helen T, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to feed back about our hotel on Trip Advisor and your kind words about our team, food and view. The room you stayed in was our budget single room, which as you say is by the kitchen and has no view. However, it is priced accordingly.

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

My family went here for a meal on Sunday. It was very welcoming, service was really good and meal was really really nice. We had our dog and he was allowed in. Will go back again next time we are on holiday..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norma G
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

I visited the MacDonald hotel this weekend with my boyfriend for a two night stay in the highlands. The views we woke up to every morning were outstanding and this was only complimented by the service, food and comfortable rooms. The atmosphere in the bar at night is lively, with a pool table and dart board along with happy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin C

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
8.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
96 reviews
6.5 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
613 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,095 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MacDonald Hotel and Cabins in Kinlochleven is at the head of Loch Leven with breathtaking views. Ideally situated for those walking the West Highland Way, along with other walks in the area. Mark and I took the hotel over on 17th January 2014 and appreciate all of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but look forward to receiving our own. We have seen the feedback on Breakfast times and this will be addressed! Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you. Helen & Mark ... more   less 

Additional Information about The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Address: Fort William Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4QL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Price Range: £63 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel Kinlochleven
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins Kinlochleven, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are the same they all face the same way so doesn't really matter”
  • The view from outside the bar
 of 5 bubbles bge92012, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms seem equivalent”
 of 5 bubbles teresat994, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a Room facing the river for a quiet night off the road”
 of 5 bubbles LovesAWine, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Personally would wild camp somewhere further along the Way”
 of 5 bubbles PatrickRAwesome, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book it early. This time of year everything fills up quick, especially this little gem!”
 of 5 bubbles 540raeganb, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5