We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Commodore Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Commodore Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 154: English reviews
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Surely the best on the island, spotless, warm and homely, and the Breakfast is one of the best we have ever had, Harry keeps the laughter going in the morning, his banter is so funny and he also has great knowledge of the Island and Glasgow, we will be back next time we are in the area and will stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billgilliespie
Esher, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

A great b and b.Clean,decent size rooms and bathrooms,premiere quality breakfast and helpful owners.In good position for bars ,restaurants etc. An alltogether good experience.....well done Harry and Hazel !

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andygee2014
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Stayed for 2 nights in one of the cottages as we had a dog with us, very handy having a separate entrance when you get up early to walk the dog. Our hosts were friendly, the accommodation was clean & comfortable, breakfasts fine. I would go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hazel m
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Spent 7 weeks working in Rothesay this summer so I wanted a wee home from home. I stayed for 4 weeks in the garden cottage and 3 in the kitchen cottage, The kitchen cottage was my favourite out of the two, but both were great. Loved it. Comfortable, peaceful and welcoming, just what I needed. Hazel and Harry were there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lainey M
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Due to a car breakdown we (family of four) were stranded on the island and needed a room at short notice - a problem on a Friday night bank holiday weekend! Harry managed to make room and get us set up. He then made a dinner reservation at a local restaurant (which was fully booked). Great service, room clean, breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 10familytraveller
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Came to Bute for one night with my 3 kids and 2 dogs. We were all welcomed by Harry and got a family room with a wonderful view and was really comfortable. Fantastic Scottish breakfast and the dogs really enjoyed their sausages! Would definitely stay there again- thanks Harry and Hazel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophiejwallace
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Only a short walk from Rothesay town centre and ferry, so handy if you're not bringing a car. Hosts are very welcoming and down-to-earth, happy to advise you about the island. Good choice of food and very tasty cooked breakfast, with a friendly atmosphere in the breakfast-room. Bedroom comfortable, and room and bathroom both very clean. My bedroom didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elainesd2014
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank You for your review and for taking the time to post it, you were wonderful and we hope to see you again in the future.

Maybole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Harry and Hazel made our party feel sooooo welcome. Typical Scottish warm greetings on our arrival. Beautiful house with delightful comfortable cosy rooms with comfy beds. Spotlessly clean, beautiful décor and attention to detail second to none. And then the following morning there was breakfast. Delicious freshly prepared Scottish breakfast. Lots of toast and piping hot tea by the pot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain C
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, glad you enjoyed staying with us, just a pity the weather was so poor, if it had been sunny and you guys had more time you could have enjoyed an open top BUS trip around the island, but seriously thank you all, and we look forward to a return visit from you all again...

Reviewed 4 June 2016

The best thing about this guest house is their host. Harry and Hazel are two wonderful people and having some super cute pets Socks and Tasha. Our trip was one of the best experiences because of the host.. 5 ***** for them. The location of guest house couldn't be better. You can walk from ferry terminal to guest house, sit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prateek A
HAZELGRE, Owner at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank You for your review and the wonderful photographs of Tasha and Sox, the one of Sox is so good I have made it my screensaver, you were all wonderful with lovely well behaved children, thank you for staying with us and hopefully we will see you all again in the future

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Just got back from our tour of Scotland and finished with our last night on Bute, The Commodore guest house was a great place to spend our last night, the owners were very helpful and friendly even though we only got in in the early hours after a night on the town, the breakfast kept us going all the way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank captGraham
HAZELGRE, Manager at Commodore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank You guys for your kind review, glad you liked your night out in the Town and more importantly made it safely back to Liverpool.

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
842 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
224 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ardyne
Ardyne
#4 of 19 in Rothesay
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howards Way Guest House
Howards Way Guest House
#12 of 19 in Rothesay
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Commodore Guest House is Visit Scotland 3 Star Graded and is situated on the Rothesay Sea-Front with panoramic views over Rothesay Bay, Just 3 - 4 minutes walk from Rothesay's Main Pier and Town Centre, we are ideally situated for that midweek break, long weekend or a longer stay. All out rooms are tastefully furnished to a high standard complete with Double Glazing, colour DVD/Televisions and free internet access. Each bedroom has a full en-suite with shower facility. We provide complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits which is replenished daily, also provided in each room is a hair-dryer. Try our Famous Hearty Scottish Breakfast, with Free Range Eggs from our own Commodore Hens. We are totally Non Smoking throughout The Commodore and The Commodore Self-Catering. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Commodore Guest House

Address: 12 Battery Place, Rothesay, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Price Range: £78 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Commodore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Guest House Rothesay, Isle Of Bute
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Commodore Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Oban, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Commodore Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea-View.ones have a super view”
 of 5 bubbles billgilliespie, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The cottages are at the back of the main house and very quite and peaceful”
  • Garden Cottage
 of 5 bubbles 989laineym, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a seaview if available. Beautiful location.”
 of 5 bubbles 842iainc, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“try the cottage at the back, its nice”
 of 5 bubbles 936prateeka, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“No 1 seeview”
 of 5 bubbles brp84, 12 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay