We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Howards Way Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howards Way Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Great overnight in Howard's Way. Everything was perfect from check in to check out. Rooms spotless and beds very comfy had everything we needed and best of all was the fantastic breakfast. Excellent location, outdoor area was welcomed as the weather was amazing. Keep up the good work.......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
breeze126, Owner at Howards Way Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this review it makes us very happy to see you enjoyed everything Haste ye back

East Lothian, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We booked this de luxe room with patio for the views and the opportunity to sit outside. The room was recently refurbished and we have no complaint with the room, apart from the very obvious unsightly cabling running around a stepped up area which could have been concealed. Nice ensuite with a good shower. The problem with this accommodation is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shanley32219
breeze126, Owner at Howards Way Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review but we're a bit confused as to some of the things you have said you only stayed on 8 August and posted it know but you were asked was everything all right with your stay to which you replied you had no problems and the cable you mention is under...

Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Howards way for the night, easy check in, rooms lovely and fresh with all clean bedding,beautiful view to the sea, breakfast to die for, will be back as central to everywhere, very friendly people in rothesay, late check out toll 10.30 which was fab as we took a walk round the shops until we got the ferry back,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katenb7492
Lesmahagow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Two of our workmen stayed here this week and they had nothing but praise for Howards Way Guest House. Extremely comfortable beds and immaculate rooms. Breakfast was amazing. A little gem in Rothesay. Please stay here with the peace of mind that you will be well looked after.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jsemple2016
saroypoppy, Owner at Howards Way Guest House, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review .we value the Buisness that companies give us and hope that we do a good job on your behalf

Greenock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

Had an overnight stay here and can't fault it. Friendly staff. Basic but clean room. Spotless bathroom. Nice bar area. And omg the breakfast was first class. In the past I've stayed in a hotel where a cooked breakfast was £15 😯 and absolutely minging. Well the breakfast here was cooked to perfection. Best bacon ever! Would definitely consider staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
saroypoppy, Owner at Howards Way Guest House, responded to this review

Thankyou for the glowing report and we're glad you enjoyed your stop over Sorry for the late response

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in room 7 a lovely big room with an amazing sea view with a large balcony. The Owners are very friendly and the breakfast was really good .Will definitely be back as we go to Rothesay at least once every year Thanks Anne & Kenny

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Rooms were good. Nice outdoor patio next to the bar for drinks. Breakfast was excellent. The hosts are nice people and very welcoming. Short walk into the town. Great views across the bay. I would come back here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heathy50
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015

In terms of the standard and quality of accommodation the Howards Way hotel was at the lower end of the market and pricey. Our room had a view of the rock face and washing lines, whereas the front of the hotel had a magnificent views over the sea to distant mountains. The sink was tiny and we had to fill...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank m1000c
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2015

We stayed for 2 nights B&B , we arrived early about 12pm and were surprised the door was locked and the public bar not opening until 2pm. It is only a five minute walk into town were we took the open top bus tour around the island. We returned about 4 and were meet by the owners who were pleasant,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Val M
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely stay here while at a wedding on Bute! Our room was lovely, spacious, clean with a stunning big balcony looking over the water front! Staff were very friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would recommend to all. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy J

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
841 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
224 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardyne
Ardyne
#4 of 19 in Rothesay
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bayview Hotel
The Bayview Hotel
#7 of 19 in Rothesay
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Howards Way is a 7 bedroom family run hotel nestling on Rothesay sea front. It is only a 5 min. walk from the ferry terminal and town centre. We are now fully licensed and our bar does look out onto Rothesay bay so you can sit out on our sea facing patio or sit in the comfort of our bar lounge and enjoy the views through the floor to ceiling windows. All rooms have free WI-FI. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howards Way Guest House

Address: 23 Battery Place, Rothesay PA20 9DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Price Range: £62 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howards Way Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Howards Way Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howards Way Guest House Rothesay, Isle Of Bute
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howards Way Guest House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
merseyside

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Howards Way Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 7 with the balcony and views”
 of 5 bubbles 226valm, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Rooms 3 twin quiet , 2&6 doubles also quiet .”
 of 5 bubbles brendao84, 5 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Room 7 is amazing”
 of 5 bubbles ElaineF711, 25 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Definitely room 7”
 of 5 bubbles chloeglasgow, 19 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Room 7 Fantastic view and balcony”
 of 5 bubbles janeta808, 4 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay