We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

851 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 851: English reviews
Start your review of The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Glenburn Hotel is now having a great deal with Newly refurbished Room+ Mystery Gift. Lobby, Restaurants have been upgraded. Brand new furniture, mattresses, new toilets & All rooms in flat Screen LED TV. Make sure you call directly to get Package Deal & secure the newly refurbished rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zheng M
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

since the new owners arrived they are refurbishing the place. advertising and events within this hotel have rocketed. they hold tribute nights and it is great! food is now openly advertised and served and cannot be faulted. before the new owners you never heard much from this hotel. nothing advertised, no nights held for locals to also attend. what a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank LMGls
Management response:

What a lovely review big thank you from the team at the Glenburn. We have lots going on and more plans for the future so very exciting times ahead of us. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you again for your review. Kind Regards Debbie

Reviewed 1 week ago

the island is beautifull but don't ever go with shearings coach travel when I booked shearings owned this hotel however between booking and and arriving for the new year break it had been sold. we was not informed about this so wasn't given the opertunity to either continue or cancel. we were not given what we was promised and on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen Lane H
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our site. We are sorry to see that you were left so disappointed with your stay. We are getting major refurbishing done throughout the hotel and it is all looking fantastic. Should you decide to stay with us again call us direct at the hotel where we will be...

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel in need of refurbishment, as a single traveler with National holidays, I get the usual rubbish room, literally overlooking the rubbish bins. On complaining to the not so friendly receptionist, I was offered the room opposite, but at a charge of £7 extra per night, which is on top of my extra single supplement for being a single traveler....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gazorro
Management response:

Thank you for your posting, can I explain the only other room that was available was a sea view room which is a supplement of £7 per person night. We could not offer you anything else as we were full. We do have a great taxi service on the Island and we have a free phone in the hotel should...

Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017

I booked again for the last New Year with Shearings. I had a filthy room in the hotel they use in Tarbet. I complained at the time but was told no other room available. I was offered £50 off my next holiday so thought probably a " one off" NOT...I have photos of this room and previous ( 422..Single)...I once...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Charlotte331
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time post your review on our site. I am sorry to see that you were left so disappointed with your bedroom. The room is a little tired but I would say we don't get a lot of complaints about cleanliness. Thank for you comments about the staff and the food and I will pass on...

Rothesay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Stayed in this excellent hotel over New YearExcellent value for money Staff,food,entertainment all superb Can't fault the place and can't wait to see this grand old lady when it is fully refurbished. My mother is elderly and walks gingerly with the aid of a stick. Staff could not have been more helpful in letting her get about. Thanks for a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alanmaconie
Management response:

Many thanks for the fantastic review you've posted on our site, we really appreciate it, and I'll be sure to pass on your comments to the team. We're now closed, and the workmen are back in continuing with the refurbishment work, so it' shouldn't be long till this grand old lady is back showing off her new facelift, so look...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

we stayed here over new year and had a nice time, the only let down was the entertainment on New Year's Eve. There was a group of Scottish dancers from the island who were brilliant and it was nice for a short show. Next there was a young lad who had a brilliant voice but spent the night singing songs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel A
Management response:

Many thanks for a great posting and a Happy New Year to you. Can I just clarify entertainment program, we do not plan the schedule the entertainment team do that themselves. I was in the ballroom that night and the team did do a selection of some Scottish music plus we had a piper. But we will pass on to...

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Overall we greatly enjoyed our stay here and we found the rooms to me comfortable, the food of a good quality as well as being a reasonable price for the weekend we stayed. The majority of staff (in particular a young girl who always was the person to serve us at the bar or greet us at reception) were friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nathan W
Management response:

Happy New Year and thank you for your posting. Sorry to see you had some issues with your stay but we are a little confused some areas that you were unhappy with. We do not have a young girl who works in both the bar and reception, we also did not serve breakfast during this period it was brunch. We...

Liverpool
Reviewed 17 December 2016

We were under the impression that the Glenburn was a Shearings hotel as everything on the walls around reception gave that impression. However, the hotel had been bought by a Malaysian company in October & when we had a complaint about the 3rd party coach Shearings had forced us to travel on, the hotel reception staff were very quick to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1travellerLiverpool
Management response:

Thank you for your posting, but as stated at the time we have no control over the coaches. We did explain to you at the time that you would have to take your complaint up with Shearing's. We were not in anyway not being helpful but we are a private hotel and have no say on what coaches are allocated...

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Hotel good and at the moment being refurbished,staff very good and friendly, breakfast very good and evening meals reasonable but not many fresh vegetables but overall satisfactory. Our bedroom was at the back of the hotel but still had a view of the Clyde, the bathroom was quite large, only down side was the window only had a lace curtain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 703Dan
Management response:

Many thanks for your review on your stay at the Hotel. Yes as you say we are under refurbishment and we are all looking forward to see the end product and the massive improvements it will make to the Glenburn. I will pass on to the team your kind comments and hope you give us another visit in the new...

346 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (336)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
225 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
290 reviews
12.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 1 in West Kilbride
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 19 in Rothesay
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Price Range: £70 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Isle Of Bute
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Glenburn Hotel Ltd staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from The Glenburn Hotel Ltd staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for Sea View, Stunning View”
 of 5 bubbles 557zhengm, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“do not go until its been refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“facing the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles gazorro, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ones that have been renovated”
 of 5 bubbles Charlotte331, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Select sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 660rachela, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5