We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Crianlarich Youth Hostel

Station Road, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8QN Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hostel in Crianlarich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This friendly youth hostel is located just over an hour's drive from Stirling and provides a great base for families, groups and outdoor enthusiasts looking to explore the northern area of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. Crianlarich Youth Hostel provides good budget accommodation and facilities include a well-equipped self-catering kitchen, multi-share and private bedrooms, a cosy lounge, large dining area and a drying room. There is also ramped access for wheelchair users, ample parking and a children's playground nearby. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Internet
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
113Reviews1Q+A14Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 51
  • 41
  • 14
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
jane r wrote a review Apr 2023
4 contributions2 helpful votes
This was my second stay at Crianlarich. The staff were as friendly and helpful as ever. This wasnt as good a stay as last time as there was a large group of friends staying, they weren't unfriendly just self contained. The hostel is well equipped and a really convenient place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ian wrote a review Sept 2022
11 contributions4 helpful votes
Very convenient for the railway station. Otherwise a bit disappointing. Very run down. Generally a bit tired with many things which do not work most notably the electric hob. Piles and piles of unwashed laundry in the reception area. Big dinning area. Nice lounge. Heating on full blast in middle of summer. Handy for drying clothes but an outrageous waste of energy. Their fuel bill must be astronomical. Long walk to the toilets in the night. I expect this means the wash basins get used instead. Would you agree? Despite all this I wouldn't be put off from using the hostel again. We meant some nice people and played table tennis on the table provided.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hostelling Scotland, Agency / Consultant at Crianlarich Youth Hostel
Responded 21 Sept 2022
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. we always like to get honest feedback from our guests. Some of the things that you have brought up have already been changed. Sadly there is nothing we can do about the bathroom situation as we can change the layout of the building but we not aware of the sinks been used. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope you come and stay with us again here at Crianlarich. Kind Regards Christina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Talya M wrote a review Sept 2022
22 contributions13 helpful votes
Note if you are coming from WHW - its almost 1 mile off the actual trail just as a heads up! We did a four person private room which was spacious and adequate for our group of adults. The rooms were clean and so were the bathroom. The wifi did not work anywhere outside the couple chairs in the lobby area, and even there it was weak and not reliable. We showed up before checkin and we were locked outside until 4pm (even though email said 3:30pm). I understand not being able to check in but not allowed in the building with no heads up about that? Luckily it wasnt raining so we sat on the bench outside but if the weather would have been bad, I would have been extremely annoyed about this, so just something to consider.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hostelling Scotland, Agency / Consultant at Crianlarich Youth Hostel
Responded 21 Sept 2022
Hi Tayla, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we always appreciate the feedback that we get from guests to make sure that we are giving the best service possible. we are looking into ways to change the WIFI (if this is possible) Check in with the company opens at 4pm and the building is locked for security reasons throughout the day as usually there is only one member of staff in the building. We hope you stay with us here at Crianlarich again. Kind Regards Christina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
P C wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We all enjoyed our stay at this hostel. Beautiful scenery. Some good walks. Claire, the redhead at reception was brilliant. Big smile and whatever I can do for you, just ask. Great lass. Her and David made a fantastic team. The receptionist in the morning was so miserable, though. Would come again, anyway.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hostelling Scotland, Agency / Consultant at Crianlarich Youth Hostel
Responded 1 Sept 2022
Thank You for your review, I hope that your enjoyed your visit with us in Crianlarich Youth Hostel, I will Pass your feedback onto the management team there to better ourselves moving forward. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Chris Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tracyanne wrote a review Jul 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom165 contributions57 helpful votes
Rooms good. Beds comfortable Staff need to give you the heads up regarding coming in past 9pm. No code was given (to hinted at) which meant a lot of banging o the door at 10pm En suite smelled a little and the water pressure was poor. I would stay again but remember to ask for the code!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hostelling Scotland, Agency / Consultant at Crianlarich Youth Hostel
Responded 14 Jul 2022
Thank You Tracy for your review, I hope that your enjoyed your visit with us in Crianlarich Youth Hostel, I will Pass your feedback onto the management team there to better ourselves moving forward. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Chris Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Beenonatrip wrote a review Sept 2021
London112 contributions72 helpful votes
A comfortable stay, with reasonably sized rooms, clean and well appointed. Covid rules prevented us from catering ourselves, but staff offered pizzas which were amazing. The only down point about the accommodation was the toilets and showers got busy at peak times and the shower was not overly powerful. The bathroom facilities were also a bit of a distance from our room, but this didn’t not cause us any major problem. Given what this place cost to stay, you can’t expect too much! The local shop was well stocked with many of their products aimed specifically at visiting walkers. The station is opposite and the local pub a few minutes walk although I would not recommend it, beer was good but staff were not very welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hostelling Scotland, Agency / Consultant at Crianlarich Youth Hostel
Responded 13 Dec 2022
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Crianlarich Youth Hostel and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Chris & Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cara L wrote a review Sept 2021
2 contributions
The manager (Blair) went above and beyond for my friends and I after a very long and tiring day. He was very patient and, after arriving late at night, we could not have been more appreciative of how welcoming and accommodating he was… tears were almost shed over the offer of late night pizza! He made what could have been a stressful evening/next morning so much easier and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hostelling Scotland, Agency / Consultant at Crianlarich Youth Hostel
Responded 12 Sept 2021
Hello, its amazing what a coffee and a pizza can do to people!!! lol. we are pleased you got here and refueled and rested before progressing on to the next stage of the West Highland Way. great to have you stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again sometime. thanks, Blair, Hostel Manger.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
wildfirejc wrote a review Aug 2021
Lydd, United Kingdom235 contributions77 helpful votes
We needed a stopover between County Durham and Oban. So chose this Youth Hostel as it had twin bedded rooms with private toilet and shower. As Youth Hostels go, it was good. The Dining Room had freeflow of coffee and tea. However due to Covid, there were no cooking facilities. The person in charge was Martin and he was super helpful. He turned off our noisy room ventilation when we told him about it and also offered to heat up food which we had brought with us if we needed to do so. Free parking and nestled amidst greenery, overall a good 1 nighter.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hostelling Scotland, Agency / Consultant at Crianlarich Youth Hostel
Responded 1 Sept 2021
Hello, Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location lends itself well to a good layover stop before guests progress further north, we hope to see you on the return journey. Thanks again, Blair, Hostel Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dean A wrote a review Aug 2021
Sheffield, United Kingdom213 contributions126 helpful votes
Stayed for 2 nights and had a very pleasant stay. Good location for exploring southern Highlands. Hostel modern, clean and comfortable. Room more like a budget hotel, but at less than half the price. COVID restrictions meant no kitchen facilities, but dining room (with free tea and coffee) and lounge available. Staff very pleasant and helpful. WiFi. Parking on-site.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hostelling Scotland, Agency / Consultant at Crianlarich Youth Hostel
Responded 1 Sept 2021
Hello Dean, Thank you for your 5* review and kind words. Hopefully we get our kitchen facilities up and running soon when we get the 'OK' to do so. we hope you enjoyed exploring the Munros in the local area and Southern Highland region. We look forward to seeing you again, Blair, Hostel Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Matchapls wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Thank you Super Star Martin! You made our stay at Crianlarich youth hostel an exemplary experience. Needs? Met. Dreams? Lived. Satisfied? Completely. Would give 10 stars if I could. We very much look forward to coming back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hostelling Scotland, Agency / Consultant at Crianlarich Youth Hostel
Responded 1 Sept 2021
Hello Matchapls, are we talking about the same Martin? the guys that's here goes by the name 'Ambassador Martin'... nonetheless, thank you for your 5* review and very kind words, I will pass on the comments to Martin and reward him with Ferrero Rocher. We look forward to seeing you soon, Thanks again, Blair, Hostel Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Crianlarich area.
PRICE RANGE
£98 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandStirlingshireLoch Lomond and The Trossachs National ParkCrianlarich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CRIANLARICH YOUTH HOSTEL - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Crianlarich Youth Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Crianlarich Youth Hostel?
Nearby attractions include The Green Welly Stop (4.9 miles) and River Fillan Viaduct (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Crianlarich Youth Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Is parking available at Crianlarich Youth Hostel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crianlarich Youth Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Artisan Cafe - Tyndrum, The Real Food Cafe, and The Tyndrum Inn.
Is Crianlarich Youth Hostel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Crianlarich.
Is Crianlarich Youth Hostel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.