We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Panoramas (22)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,113: English reviews
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Enjoyed a night at the Buchanan Arms recently. Room was lovely and large as well as clean, if a little tired. Bathroom again large, but perhaps needing updating. Breakfast was plentiful with both hot and cold buffets with plenty to choose from.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David B
AYRSHIRE, SCOTLAND
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We spent a few days here from 5th until 7th November. Check in at 3.pm and check out 11am. Nice peaceful location to chill out and get away from it all. Lovely scenic views and totally relaxed atmosphere in hotel. Room was nice , basic but clean and tidy and pretty spacious.TV, kettle and the usual things. Breakfast was superb,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OLLIO C
Blackpool
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel has a few really positive points going for it, one the location, very handy for either side of Loch Lomond, trips to Glasgow, Stirling or Edinburgh, and secondly a first class pool and leisure facilities.Some aspects of the hotel are quite 'tired' and the decor could probably benefit from being freshened up. We had a dinner that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank posinthornton
Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank skyelover_10
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Edinburgh
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were there for a 'hen party' and the facilities we had were excellent. I was given a big room to accommodate a gathering we had planned in the bedroom and the hotel were very helpful in organising this room for us. We had fun and silly games in the room (c'mon it was a hen do' ) . Then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diane c
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Firstly a positive, the staff were friendly, helpful and the hotel was handily placed for accessing loch lomond, with a good pub just down the road. However, on the downside the hotel is very tired looking and in need of refurbishment, as someone else has stated the walls are paperthin, combined with creaky floorboards and noisy hen parties running up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stickolas
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Guests i thank you for your comments, The Buchanan Arms Hotel was sold to new owners on the 4th Novemeber 2013 and since then the hotel seen a huge amount of work getting completed. With a start the main car park and leisure club overspill car park were completelly recovered, we had painters working every available day and the...

Skelmersdale, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Some 28 members of the Macdonald family gathered to celebrate the birthday of its eldest member. What a weekend! We all had a ball. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the food was brilliant. The rooms were very clean and spacious and not one member of our family had a complaint. In fact they all want to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest we thank you for your kind comments. Regards Volker Steinemann

Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Three friends & I booked for a Spa day early September. We are all busy working Mums so were looking forward for the chance to relax. Arrived to a noisy front of hotel. There was a wedding party in and they were all so loud the receptionist couldn't hear what we were saying! We were shown where Spa was and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mandy S
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Visitor I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations at your recent visit. I apologize that our Relax health and leisure club was so noisy during your recent visit. I noted you feed back and I will discuss them with the department heads to ensure we will do better next time. I wish you would have brought...

DongGuan, China
Reviewed 19 October 2013

It's near Loch Lomond, which is the reason to stay at this hotel. There are also several nice pubs in short walking distance. Breakfast, which came with the room, was also good. Room was clean, and the staff was very polite. On the bad side, the hotel is a little run down, and walking back to the rooms is like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dkkckk
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2013

nice food but rooms were very shabby bed base was broke you could see the divot on the mattress the electrick socket did not work the lights in the bathrooms only half of them worked room 9 and we seemed to have a dance hall above us the person above was tap dancing all nite

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dscobie

440 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (170)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (107)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (259)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Family Room (21)
Viewed
Master Room (22)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (78)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (16)
Viewed
Super Double Room (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Twin Room (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
997 reviews
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
16.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 4 was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles 532duncanb, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms i have been in they have been very quite and to the back off the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles georginaj525, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Look for deals -”
 of 5 bubbles Hedgehog344, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 39 was spacious with a huge bath and a good shower.”
 of 5 bubbles TraceyMak, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles pn_davies, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5