We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Muthu Royal Hotel

Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (12)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, and with its stunning setting in the village of Tyndrum, in the middle of the Scottish Goldfields, this hotel has fantastic views and four acres of sheltered gardens. With plenty of space in both the dining room and the entertainment lounge for dining, relaxation and dancing, each capable of accommodating 200 guests. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair access
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
41Car recommended
Grade: 41 out of 100
9Restaurantswithin 5 miles
2Attractionswithin 5 miles
Contact
A82, Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RY Scotland
Getting there
Oban Airfield26 mi
Glasgow Intl Airport41 mi
See all nearby hotels
271Reviews
106Photos
8Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 89
  • 87
  • 34
  • 26
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
When we arrived at the hotel there was a couple trying to book in. The receptionist didn't appear to be helpful. He asked who they booked through and when they replied 'Groupon' he started laughing stating that Groupon sold rooms that the hotel didn't have. He further stated
Read more
This hotel i conveniently located for visitors travelling between the highlands and central belt. The hotel is impressive from the outside and has an attractive lobby with large wooden staircase. Upstairs, however, the rooms are basic and seem to have been left without
Read more
We stayed at this hotel over a week ago. Can honestly say from the moment we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome. The manager was lovely and friendly as were all the staff we met. We stayed in a family room which was spacious and cosy. We had a lovely meal in the hotel.
Read more
Food fine. Staff aught to speak better English. Not sure beds made every day cups not washed no entertainment as was advertised But enjoyed our stay and tour of the area both drivers excellent . Hope to return in the future
Read more
Response from Quest814473, General Manager at Muthu Royal Hotel
Responded 30 Sep 2018
Dear Elizabeth- thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your Highland Heritage Holiday and look forward to welcoming you once again .Please rest assured that all rooms are cleaned and replenished each day. We do have some staff under training and they may make an occasional error however they are being trained and I am sure you will see improvements. Sincerely Michael and the team.
Read more
We were very disappointed in this hotel. Pictures of it make it look better than it is. You cannot charge a drink to your room and have to go the bar to get a drink to have with your meal. Food was below average. They push bus tours through here and serve a set menu that is
Read more
Response from Quest814473, Guest Relations Manager at Muthu Royal Hotel
Responded 26 Sep 2018
Dear Joanne K- I am very sorry we didn't seem to have met your expectations, however I can assure you that we are making a number of changes which will improve service levels. Having said that, guests can order a drink and charge it to their rooms now and pay for it with their meals or on departure. Many guests compliment us on our food, however we will pass your comments to the chef. Our breakfast offering is substantial and includes three choices of quality fruit juice, three or four choices of cereals, muffins, croissants, ham, salami, cheeses, five or six choices of fresh fruits etc plus of course, bacon, eggs to order, sausages, baked beans, mushrooms, tomatoes, and potato scones, plus jams and marmalades etc. I believe we offer excellent value for money with free parking and free wifi all included. Whilst we welcome coach groups, they represent around two thirds of our guests in the Summer months and about half in the Winter. We hope you will see the positive side of staying her eand try us again one day. Sincerely
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
View from room 86
view from our room
View looking North
My view
PreviousNext
1234567
Good morning Sir , you don't need to be worry ...we try to provide all that u need regarding the meals ... We will have for breakfast rolls, toast and special sausages and during dinner rolls , gravy , and cakes just you need to inform the manger when u arrive at the hotel ... And also you can speck direct with the chef when you arrive at the hotel if you want to make sure that all will be ok ..Are comments previous because people don't tell as if are gluten or special requirements and they aspect from as to know .. From 177 people that we have here every day we can not guess with one have special diet ...We looking forward to see you and accommodate at our hotel .. Royal Hotel
0 votes
Show all answers
whot is there to do if you dont wont to go day trip
do you have to pay for swimming pool
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"Get another hotel"
"Views from all rooms are great. Eat at the local chip shop. Don't Stay"
"Choose a different hotel"
"Ask to see it first"
"Pre-book somewhere else!"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$83 - US$183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandLoch Lomond and The Trossachs National ParkTyndrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing