We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Portpatrick Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Portpatrick Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 469: English reviews
Louth
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here on Shearings Coach holiday. The quality of the holiday was excellent. The driver was very knowledgeable about the area and its history. The welcome to the hotel by the manager was warm and friendly and this was echoed by all the staff. There was a good choice of food, including vegetarian and it was very tasty. Have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Rooms have been modernised recently.visit this hotel usually six times each year.staff go out of their way to make your stay comfortable.plenty of car parking spaces,great view over the village.very quiet in the evening

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrsvalerie B
Clarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent location we paid extra for a sea view room, very good driver and knowledgable about the area. Staff were friendly and the food was fairly good. The public rooms were good but our bedroom was lacking the same standard especially seeing photos online the room had no comparison. The en-suite was very poor, a cracked wash basin, wood chip...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 47Vonnie
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I will look into your issues and see what I can do to resolve them.

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here over the Christmas period 2016 and was pleasantly surprised, after staying at another hotel owned by the same group that was definitely under par. Although we were battered by storms Barbara and Conor, the rooms and hotel were warm and cosy. Breakfast is served at a reasonable hour and the choices seemed endless. The evening dinners were all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elvis210814
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your Christmas break with us. As we do the bathrooms up, were are replacing the bath/showers with shower only. This hopefully will resolve this issue. Thanks again.

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

I visited Portpatrick in July and stayed at The Portpatrick hotel on a wonderful unforgettable coach holiday, there were glorious views of the port from the hotel grounds and the hotel was one of the best I've stayed at in Scotland. I was fortunate to be there on the hottest day in 2016 on July 19 and enjoyed the scenery...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 983joans
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the review. It has been known to be a bit breezy sometimes :-)

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We went with shearings and apart from the journey to and from Normanton we had a gsood holiday the driver of the coach from their was very good and very informative the hotel in in a very good position overlooking the sea and the village,the staff are very pleasant the food good, we had a room at the back of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank George K
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your Shearings holiday with us. I do hope you have many more enjoyable holidays with them. Thanks for writing.

Reviewed 5 November 2016

Shearings Holiday took me to the Portpatrick Hotel late October, through to Nov.4th 2016. Wonderful hotel- the self service breakfast was superb, and the evening meal, served at 15-minute intervals, from 18.15, were restaurant standard. The servers were young Scottish people of superb manners and helpfulness. One has to go a long way to have a hotel perched with such...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Reg N
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

It was very kind of you to write such a lovely review. Thanks for taking the time to do so.

Denbigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

This is a very impressive hotel situated high above the small village of Portpatrick. The hotel has gone through some recent refurbishment and feature two impressive lounges, one featuring a TV and the other is used for entertainment. There is also a bar area. There is also a spacious seating area in the reception area which unfortunately, is the only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie A
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind review. It was good to read you enjoyed you stay here with us

South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

The Portpatrick Hotel is a grand old building on the cliffs overlooking the harbour. It really is an enchanting place with turrets and really looks the part. The only reason I gave it 3 stars rather than 5 is because the apartment we stayed in although clean was a little outdated. The carpets have stains on that cleaning cant take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roamingways
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are slowly but surely get round to upgrade all areas of the hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed your weekend break

Strathaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Booked this hotel for a last minute Friday night stay. The hotel was very clean and nicely decorated. Our room was a turreted one on the first floor with glorious views of the harbour and countryside. As it was booked at a reduced rate we presumed we would have had a basic room.....not at all. It was larger than average...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Morag N
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and the fantastic views. I do hope you come again sometime.

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (234)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.1 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
250 reviews
11.4 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
5.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Portpatrick is a small fishing village set in a peaceful and unspoilt corner of Southern Scotland. The Portpatrick Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore this delightful area. The Portpatrick Hotel is a spectacular property standing on Galloway’s clifftops in nine acres of grounds, overlooking the village and its secluded harbour. The area is a haven for lovers of sports and the outdoors, with its own tennis court and 9-hole golf course. You’ll also find a variety of wonderful opportunities for birdwatching and fishing. From the hotel you can enjoy day trips to nearby Stranraer, magnificent historical sites and gardens, or even a trip by ferry to Northern Ireland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Portpatrick Hotel

Address: Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Price Range: £88 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portpatrick Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Portpatrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portpatrick Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Portpatrick Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Lichfield, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Ayr, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Coleraine, United Kingdom

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Portpatrick Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always have had a comfortable room”
 of 5 bubbles mrsvalerieb2016, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Good seaview rooms, although cold weather did cause a lot of condensation.”
 of 5 bubbles 47Vonnie, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a turret room, I have heard they are great.”
 of 5 bubbles Elvis210814, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Its worth getting a upgrade if you like views.”
 of 5 bubbles JackieA284, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I believe you can pay an extra one of payment of £10 and choose your room. Sea view being the most desirable of course.”
 of 5 bubbles moragn692, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay