Tyn-Y-Coed Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Tyn-Y-Coed Inn

A5, Capel Curig, Snowdonia-Eryri National Park LL24 0EE Wales
Big Welsh Cooked Breakfast - really nice and very filling
Traveller (96)
my room
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (21)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 inn in Capel Curig
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Zip World Tyn-y-Coed Inn at Capel Curig, Betws-y-Coed amidst the beautiful mountains of Snowdonia has been developed into a very relaxed and friendly quality hotel with bedrooms tastefully furnished. The menu and daily specials are served throughout the ground floor. Ideal location to tour North & Mid Wales and to use many activities nearby.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitWales.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles293 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in the heart of Snowdonia, the Tyn-Y-Coed Inn garners high praise for its stellar service, with guests consistently lauding the staff's friendliness and helpfulness. While the inn's prime location is a hit among adventurers, travelers also appreciate the overall value, citing good food at fair prices. Rooms at Tyn-Y-Coed Inn are celebrated for their cleanliness and comfort, although a few guests suggest they could benefit from some updates. Opinions on the atmosphere are mixed, but the amenities generally receive positive remarks.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
293Reviews5Q+A60Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 188
  • 73
  • 14
  • 11
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Richard B wrote a review Feb 2020
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a two night winter stay at the Tyn Y Coed a few months in advance knowing full well that Welsh Winter weather could be fickle! Now this coaching inn has been in the same hands for 40 years, and in that time I have drank of significant amount of their beer and eaten well off the menu. On this occasion four lads booked the bunk bedroom which was more than adequate as a sleeping quarter with its en-suite with large shower. Breakfast as ever was more than sufficient to keep you going for day on the hill and the evening meals were up to their usual high standard. One of my compatriots requested the rather unusual condiment of tartare sauce with very well cooked sirloin steak, this was no problem what so ever and I believe has initiated a somewhat taste sensation!
It came to departing on the Sunday morning to see that the A5 immediately outside the front door was 6 inches deep in fast flowing water and the car park was quickly becoming a small lake.. we elected to make an expeditious departure but alas the flooding was that great it proved impossible to get out of Capel Curig. We returned just after 9am to be offered our breakfast that we had foregone and to wait for the flood waters to recede somewhat... the owners were more than accommodating obtaining updates from down the valley as to road conditions and as such a couple of hours later we chose to make good our escape. An exciting way to end a short break!
If you like a roaring fire, a good choice of real ales and lagers,wine and spirits, good food and really friendly staff then this remains a must visit for anyone passing through Capel Curig.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Priscilla V wrote a review Nov 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had an amazing stay, it had a warm and welcoming atmosphere.
The staff are very friendly and have great local knowledge.
The breakfast was wonderful, just what you need before a long day of hiking.
They even dried my wet hiking gear everyday after a long day of hiking in the mountains.
I would highly recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Rushton, Owner at Tyn-Y-Coed Inn
Responded 12 Dec 2022
Thank you so much for a great review. We really hope to welcome you back soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
BB wrote a review Oct 2022
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This place has a lot of relaxed charm. The contemporary website design doesn’t quite match the old school decor, but that doesn’t matter as the warm welcome, excellent food and friendly vibe all make up for it. Our family room was great, except for the non-existent water pressure (room 6), but we were offered another room to shower in, which worked just fine. The whole place has a very clean, tidy and youth hostel type feel, and the bar is brimming with a buzzy atmosphere of walkers and locals alike, with a great pool table, darts and loads of board games. Location is great too. All in all, a really enjoyable stay!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Rushton, Owner at Tyn-Y-Coed Inn
Responded 6 Nov 2022
Hello, Thank you for a great review. Sorry again about the water pressure, it is something we will have fixed during our winter months ready again for the season. See you soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ellie wrote a review Oct 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have booked this via the Zip World website, which was advertised as one of the closest hotels and of course come under the chain. We have turned up, checked in, got explained the house rules… we were told to leave our room key down at the reception, when hardly anyone is there. At this point, due to some of the items we had with us had some monetary value to them - we did not feel comfortable doing this and did not give us the greatest impression. Anyone could realistically come to reception (when the staff are not there, and take the key). We went up to the room, put our stuff down, and in the bathroom it was evident the bathroom was no clean as the floor was mucky and there were pubes/hairs around the shower on the ground. Also to mention you get a curfew essentially, as we were told that if you’re not back at the hotel by 11, there would be no one to let you in. Now if you add that they ask you to leave the key at reception, you may as well sleep outside. We’ve only been in the room once to drop our bags.

Regardless, we went to the town centre, had some dinner there and when we came back we expressed our complaints to a receptionist, who was really lovely and helpful, but we were disappointed with the whole experience overall and did not feel comfortable staying there and left that night. Our Zip World event was cancelled and the staff had no idea; considering the hotel is owned by Zip World as we were told.

Also to mention, it’s absolutely miles away from zip world. I would recommend getting something more central, and would recommend the Gwydyr hotel who are approachable, lovely and definitely do not have a curfew!

We have got home today; and I have called up to get a refund as a result of this experience to which the General Manager has called me back and essentially was quite rude from the get go. Told me that I’m basically making the hair/pubes up in the bathroom, and that the house keeper could not find anything etc. I used to be a housekeeper and I know how high quality of standard cleaning looks like. Similarly, how the other 1/2* reviews, the attitude of this place is appalling and if you have any issues and the General Manager gets on the phone - good luck. He is one appalling man, who started raising his voice, constantly was talking over me and did not let me speak. I am no Karen, at all - I rarely ever make complaints unless I have to. So overall, as a customer, I’ve been branded a liar, and reading some of the replies from the hotel, I’m looking forward to the reply with an attitude that is to come under this review.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kim F wrote a review Dec 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was recommended by Zip World as being the nearest hotel to them.. Zip World are lying! There are better hotels nearer so please DON'T book this hotel when Zip World recommend. Very dated hotel with shocking service. Upon arrival no one at reception had to ring the bell twice then a mature lady came out who didn't seem to know what she was doing each question i asked was answered with a don't know. Did ask if there was anyone that does know the answers to my questions and she replied i could ask manager tomorrow. Food isn't served after 8.30pm and when i asked the manager the next morning why this was got a very aggressive and defensive answer. Manager comes across a tad rude and brash with an attitude of take it or leave it to paying customers. Awful shower no pressure feels like having a wash instead of a shower with trickle of water which comes out of the shower. Towels are not changed daily and no housekeeping as when we returned from our day out the bed was still unmade and no fresh towels. Very dated hotel. Manager and staff need to go on a customer service course. Manager does like the sound of his own voice. The doors to this hotel are locked at 11pm and was told by the manager what could we be possibly be doing to be out at 11pm at night. The hotel did remind me of Faulty Towers!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't book this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Rushton, Owner at Tyn-Y-Coed Inn
Responded 12 Dec 2022
Hello there and thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel and pub. I am really sorry you did not enjoy your visit, I am rather shocked as it really does not sound like us at all. Firstly Zip world recommend us because we are central to their 3 sites, so it is a 15 minute drive to any of the sites, there are closer hotels to each site but if you are looking at visiting more than 1 we are the best location. Also being in Capel Curig and at the bottom of Moel Siabod offers views like no other pub in the area. We do in fact serve food until 9pm mon-sat and on a sunday we stop at 8pm. We do not change towels everyday unless requested this is very normal across all Hotels in this day and age, apolgises no one made your bed as that should have been done. I am shocked that Carol who checked you in, as a Welsh Lady who has lived here for 40 odd years and worked in the pub for a decade I can't possibly think of anything she could not tell you. I am really sorry about the shower, we only discovered this after you left, we also had to replace the holder that was broke, please do tell us this sort of thing during your visit as we can solve the issue rather than suffer in silence. We have now stopped selling that room and are awaiting a new water pump to be fitted to the rooms tank. We do indeed lock the doors at 11pm, we are a small family run hotel not a 24 hour holiday inn. We ask if you are going anywhere because there genuienly is no where to go and infact wondering around our hotel in the dark can be very dangerous, due to rivers, waterfalls and sheer drops, if a guest does need to be out for instance on a night hike or mountain leader courdser or wedding we always give our code to the door for 24 hour acess, I am sorry you thought we were trying to be funny. I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit to Capel Curig, the fact your scored us 1 for location (middtle of snowdonia) shows this destination simply may not be for you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roving29823339725 wrote a review Jan 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been going to the Tyn y Coed pub in Snowdonia for around 12 years and until a recent change of management/owner, zip world, we have always had a positive experience on each visit.

We stayed there this weekend ,checking in on Friday afternoon. On Friday nightand Saturday morning /eveningthe staff were great, friendly and polite. Service was good.
Sadly on Sunday morning when going down for breakfast we had the most bizarre encounter with the manager, who we had not seen Until Sunday morning.

We went down for breakfast at around 07.45 and we're confronted by the manager , Daniel I think.
He was loud, patronising, condescending and officious.
I felt like we had been told off for coming down to early and not fully reading the establishments rules and regulations regarding booking a breakfast slot and sent back to our rooms like naughty children.

We felt so embarrassed and aggrieved by this encounter that we decided we did not want to stay for the breakfast we had paid for pack our bags and leave the establishment and go elsewhere in Capel Curig to eat.

When checking out we raised the issue of how we were spoken to and his attitude with this manager, but were met with the same condescending response, talked over, laughed at and he practically blamed us and put it down to ' a clash of personalities '.

This is not the first run in we have had with this individual. The first time we encountered him he told us off in a really sarcastic manner in front of other customers for coming in the wrong door, when previously the pub had this arrangement of entrance and exit due to covid protocols.
When I explained we felt we had effectively received a rollicking from him he said something about being in the military and he knew what a rollicking was !
He made a bad situation worse. Talked over and at us and stomped off after we settled our bill muttering something having the last say and taking his huge ego with him.
No doubt he will respond with a load of insincere twaddle and excuses.
I don't think this man understands customer service or reflective practice.

I will never again eat,drink, or stay at this pub.
I would never recommend it to anyone so long as Dan the manager is there. He ruined our stay and caused my partner much upset.

I would like to say a huge thanks to Dorina and Paul,at Siabod Café Capel Curig ,for turning a bad start to the day into a positive one with a warm welcome and excellent service. A great example of how to do hospitality right.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margaret L wrote a review Jun 2023
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here overnight to then have easy access to the Penrhyn Quarry to do the velocity 2 zip wire. The rooms were very comfortable and had most things you would need for an overnight stay. My room did not have a hairdryer but others may have done. Neither of the rooms my friends and I had had hot water for a shower in the morning but we didn’t have time to ask staff as we were running late for the zip wire event. That may have been a simple fix. The rooms were basic but comfy. The food in the pub was very tasty… my friend has cottage pie and I had sausages. Locally sourced and good quality. The staff could not be faulted. They were very friendly, professional and welcoming.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jamie W wrote a review Jul 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked with Tyn-Y-Coed hotel through the Zip-World website. We checked the reviews on trip advisor, all looked good. On arrival at the hotel they were happy to check us in early and were pleasant and polite. The room was clean, but the shower didn’t work and toilet wasn’t working properly either. The walls between the rooms are very thin, we could hear the full conversation of our neighbours at 00.15am. We were spoken to quite rudely in the morning when we enquired about breakfast, apparently if you don’t book the night before it’s completely unacceptable to ask in the morning and it will be made very clear to the entire restaurant. Clearly we were terrible customers, so we left and had breakfast at Starbucks. I have given a poor review in this case, but expect this may have been all our own fault, as that’s how we were made to feel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Rushton, Owner at Tyn-Y-Coed Inn
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Hi Jamie, Thank you for the review. I am sorry you found us not the best. I am sorry about the water issues. As I explained to you in person, sadly the pressure is not great and we are awaiting works this winter to replace the entire water system. Again we only took the business over in March and have only discovered the issues as the business gets busier. We are on it and have the work planned, again I am sorry this impacted your stay. The breakfast issue could have been avoided. I am comfused that the day before when I gave you a free early check in you found me nothing but polite and friendly however suddenly the following morning I am rude? I asked if you had booked breakfast, you replied no and I said not an issue sit where you like and when I have sorted the bookings out I will get to you. We do ask if you would like to book brfeakfast at the time of reservation. We then ask you again at check in, just in case you miss both these chances we even write on the welcome letter that we hand you to ensure you book breakfast the night before. We gave you 3 chances to book and you ignored each one. Regardless I offered you breakfast and you did not feel it fair to wait behind those that had booked. It would have been rude if I had let you skip the queue. Again I am sorry for the water issue but the rest could happily have been avoided.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CitizenErased wrote a review Sept 2020
Cheshire, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We headed here after hiking Moel Siabod - just for a few beers. The service was really kind and welcoming, even though we weren't ordering food or staying. The location is great, with good outdoor seating. Covid measures were in place, too. The ales were a bit on the pricier side, but that's probably on me for hoping they'd be more around the £3.00 (rather than £3.80) given the location. Evidently, it's not dissuaded me from leaving a 5/5 review.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michele R wrote a review Aug 2022
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked and paid for this accommodation two months in advance but the hotel cancelled the booking a week before our arrival, by email, with no explanation. On calling the hotel I discovered that they have changed their policy and the family room can now only be reserved for a full week. The hotel was not willing to honour our booking and I found Dan the hotel manager to be rude and extremely unhelpful.
Prior to the cancellation I was already receiving very poor customer service and was advised that only limited catering was available due to staffing problems.
I called into the hotel to get a refund as the hotel manager was not replying to my emails and was quite relieved I was not staying there, as I found it to be scruffy and run down. I was kept waiting at the reception desk for 5 - 10 minutes whilst the receptionist served food to customers and whilst I was there, I witnessed another complaint regarding a booking. This hotel obviously has serious problems and in my opinion a manager that does not care.
I booked this hotel because I believed it to be owned by Zip World as it is advertised on their Web site but I have since found out that this not the case.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Rushton, Owner at Tyn-Y-Coed Inn
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review even though you never stayed at our site. I am sorry that you had to wait 5-10 minutes whilst I served food to another guest. Quite why you would expect me to stop serving a guest to serve you is beyond me. Our pub is far from scruffy and if you look at the pictures online from both ourselves and guests you will the rooms to be a very high standard. When we spoke in the phone I explained that I had not cancelled the room and it had been done your end. I also offered an alternate room as the one you had booked had then been booked after it had been cancelled, I explained that our system is a 24 hour system and people could book rooms whenever they liked. I am saorry but I really don't understand how other than offering alternate rooms what more we could have done
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barry Q asked a question Feb 2023
Wigan, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
How far is swallow falls from the hotel. Is there anywhere to go walking in the area..
Answer from Ryan W
It's a short walk from the hotel.
Jan D asked a question Nov 2016
Co Durham110 contributions72 helpful votes
Is the bar dog friendly?
Answer from Jan D
Co Durham110 contributions72 helpful votes
He is well behaved! Thanks
Tone W wrote a tip Yesterday
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Everything was good except with the thin walls so noise from next rooms (especially TV’s) was a bit annoying. "
Read full review
Curious771598 wrote a tip May 2024
3 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best rooms with mountain views face the A5, so if you need a window open at night choose a cheaper room on the other side of the building"
Read full review
Andy_Norwich wrote a tip May 2024
Norwich1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a drying room you can use. If you want a vegan breakfast, it’s possible but you have to ask in advance. "
Read full review
Dawn O wrote a tip May 2024
Ruthin, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free parking if you eat there , just pop your vehicle registration in the parking machine which is directly as you enter the building"
Read full review
GJ wrote a tip May 2024
Swansea, United Kingdom81 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great place but noise levels are on the high side at this location - traffic and general sound through walls from other guests."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Capel Curig area.
PRICE RANGE
£70 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesSnowdonia-Eryri National ParkCapel Curig
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TYN-Y-COED INN - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Tyn-Y-Coed Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Tyn-Y-Coed Inn?
Nearby attractions include Gwydir Castle (4.5 miles), Zip World Betws-Y-Coed (4.5 miles), and Swallow Falls (2.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tyn-Y-Coed Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Tyn-Y-Coed Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Tyn-Y-Coed Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tyn-Y-Coed Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Olif Restaurant, Chandlers Brasserie, and Tir A Môr.
Is Tyn-Y-Coed Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Capel Curig.
Are pets allowed at Tyn-Y-Coed Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Tyn-Y-Coed Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Michael's Old Church (4.0 miles), St Grwst Church (4.8 miles), and Gorsedd Stone Circle (4.9 miles).
All Capel Curig HotelsCapel Curig Hotel DealsHotels near Tyn-Y-Coed Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire