We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 125: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

It had an empty feel to it than when I visited in the summer. Alan seemed to be working there himself as I didn't see anyone else. However, the service was fine and he was completely courteous and polite. He makes a good meal too. The prawn starter was delicious. However, the bath in the Dulus room took about 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColinJackie
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We couldn't get somewhere to stay in our price range and at short notice in the Dolgellau area, then found this one and it had rooms vacant. Bit more expensive than what we usually get, but well worth the money. Staff were excellent, polite and helpful. We spent the weekend walking in the surrounding area exploring old gold and copper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Had booked The Mawddach room as a bit of a luxury break during a busy holiday. Didnt dissapoint. Fantastic view of the garden with the sounds fo the waterfalls at the bottom. Arrived right after leaving a 4 day music festival, so personally was in a bit of a muddy state. But the Staff couldn't have been nicer. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingy2nd
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Beautiful location and very nice breakfast. BUT - don't take the room with the balcony. We woke early hours with smell of fumes/soot. We could only sleep with the window open! The member of staff on the desk at check out dismissed my complaint with a hard to believe reason and no apology.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SarahRuth2014
DollyHallSnowdonia, Manager at Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel, responded to this review

The room you had was gamlan with an oriel window on the front of the hotel I remember the conversation we had about the Biomass boiler, I thought I had appologised at the time so I am sorry for that, I thanked you for your suggestion that you had had a problem with a log burner and it was acid...

Stoke Lacy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016

I stayed a night here as part of a weekend driving in Wales. Between us we took three rooms, variously priced but all were reasonable given the sizes of the rooms and the setting. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept on, the mattress was perfect for me, not the usual plank of wood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul w
bristol
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night if our motorcycling tour of the Snowdonia national park. Our twin room was huge with comfy beds and a view over the large gardens. The staff were friendly and there is a cosy bar with board games and books. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the British full breakfast was fab!! Set back from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wanderingalbatros
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We arrived late at the hotel and were glad to hear that the bar would be open until 23.30. Our room was quite good. The bar left a lot to be desired. It is such an impressive building but the bar let it down a little. However, the hotel was generally good and the views were great. The staff in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugh016
Crosby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2016

The hotel was much more than I expected: We stayed in the Glaslyn suite, which was a perfect combination of rustic elegance and modern amenity. The grounds and gardens were beautiful, the hotel was very comfortable, and the staff cheerful, welcoming and friendly. This personal touch made it a first class break for us and our son. We'll definitely stay...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Patfromcrosby
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Hotel set in astounding scenery. Room was old fashioned and needed updating. Helpful waiting staff, Found management to be quite rude and interuptive and didn't seem to want to listen to what we were saying. Evening meal was ok but did notice cutlery was not clean to standard. Would sadly not stay in this hotel again. There are far better...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jjefflongstone
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Arrived early on Friday 20th May and this wasn't a problem. Stayed in Mawddach and couldn't complain about the room, lovely views and an all singing all dancing jacuzzi bath and sauna. The evening meal was amazing the rib of beef was to die for and breakfast was well cooked and hot. Overall I would happily go back here the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pete N

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ganllwyd
3.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
303 reviews
20.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen
Craig-y-Dderwen
#4 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
347 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,323 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
353 reviews
8.3 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestling in Snowdonia National Park is Dolmelynllyn, a Victorian Gothic hotel with over 1000 years of history. With the mountain biking and walking trails of Coed-y-Brenin on our doorstep and surrounded by several waterfalls, gold and copper mines that nestle within the surrounding forest. A warm and relaxed hotel in which to unwind and with some of the purest air in Europe! We do accept well behaved insured dogs in some rooms but will make an additional charge if you try to check into the hotel with your dog without contacting us first, as we would not be ready for them. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel

Address: Coed-Y-Brenin, Ganllwyd LL40 2HP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Ganllwyd
Price Range: £93 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel Ganllwyd, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wi-fi in public areas but was available in my room, Dulas, at the front, but not in my brothers' rooms behind.”
  • Early morning mist on the hills over our cars in the (quite crowded) car park.
  • Dulas suite, comfortable king size bed.
 of 5 bubbles PaulWilkin, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Be aware that access to some rooms may not suit less mobile travellers.”
 of 5 bubbles 871nickieb, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms got a views and they are very well decorated. If you really want the best view I would say Mawddach.”
 of 5 bubbles KASD17, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Prysor room has low door frames, nice view though”
 of 5 bubbles Sarahinwales, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“I don't recommend Artro”
 of 5 bubbles zctlm35, 7 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay