We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Golden Fleece Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Golden Fleece Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Golden Fleece Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 355: English reviews
Haverfordwest, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We were up in the area staying in Porthmadog and booked in for Sunday Lunch, which was fabulous and reasonably priced. Service was quick even though the restaurant was busy. Will certainly return should we be up this way again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LainyWils
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for placing your positive review. I'm pleased you enjoyed our Sunday lunch which offers great value at just £12.95 for 3 courses. We are delighted that you will be returning and look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Stuart, Liam and the Team

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017

We recently went to the Golden Fleece for lunch. The pub is a typical village pub with some quirky features. Generally nice atmosphere. BUT that industrial heating unit in the fire place is a big disappointment. What about a nice open log fire!!! My wife was happy with her fish finger sandwich, (brought back memories of childhood). Surprised my baked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy S
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry that you didn't like our fire. We did used to have an open fire however its heating capability wasn't sufficient for our building and it had reached the end of its life hence it has been replaced with a new eco friendly wood pellet heater which only uses around a...

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for the night as we were trying to stay as close to snowdonia as possible for as cheap as possible and this is what laterooms offered us The staff were really friendly and chatty. The room was nice but not great but we could deal with it. The toilet was quite loud though every time we flushed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SARAH J
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Extremely friendly welcome when I arrived , my original plan was to stay for two nights and move to a new location but ended staying for four nights due to the homely atmosphere. The rooms are nice and large very clean, the food is excellent and the staff are so friendly, Seren was a little Star very informative about the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jmhoppy
Sheffield
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We booked 8 rooms for Festival Number 6. Booked early to make sure - but were pleasantly surprised. Had a great and varied selection of rooms to choose from - catering for singles, couples and families. We took up the great option of a cooked breakfast when we arrived (made all the difference). We had a great time and escaped...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank klive1961
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

What a lovely place! Me and my partner comes at least once a week for a meal! Staff are so polite and always make sure that we are OK and are very attentive (special shout out to Seren and Bo who really make this place special) nice country feeling, nice and cosy. Food is excellent and will keep on coming...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chloeevans7
Pembs, Wales
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

A quaint little bed and breakfast with clean, warm, lovely rooms. Welcoming and polite staff. Breakfast the next day was excellent value for money. I THINK we paid £5pp and it was good quality and delicious. Would recommend it to anyone thinking of staying here. PS loved the oil lamp wallpaper in our room!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pembsgirl24
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Had a couple of fab meals here recently. Food excellent and good value for money. Once of my dishes wasn't hot so instead of just heating it again they gave me a whole new meal! The staff are really welcoming and attentive. Definitely be back again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mittensmum30
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for placing your positive review. Im delighted that you have experienced consistently good food and service with us and that you have found us to offer good value for money. I will pass on your praise to our team who will be delighted to receive the feedback. Kind Regards Stuart, Liam and the Team

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

We went here for new years eve with two other couples. All our rooms were amazing and nothing was too much for the staff. We had a three course meal. The food was fantastic. The owners were very friendly with everyone. We would definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisburton90
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for placing your positive review. We're delighted you enjoyed your New years Eve here at the Golden Fleece. I shall pass on your praise to our team who will be pleased to hear it. Kind Regards Stuart, Liam and the Team

Cardiff
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night combining business with visiting relatives. We had a king size room in the annex about 40M from the main building. Spacious, clean and practical with a good bathroom. Ample tea and coffee and 2 bottles of water supplied. Decor was not to our liking a bit of a miss match, but thats just our opinion. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SandDCardiff
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you plan to return in the future Our Executive king rooms are individually designed and people seem to either love or hate the decor in the specific room you are referring to. I personally really like to room and think the chandelier...

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremadog
0.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
658 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,394 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
357 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 12 in Porthmadog
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the historic market square of Tremadog (The Birth Place Of Lawrence Of Arabia) The Golden Fleece Inn is a truly traditional and quite unique family run Welsh Coaching Inn with a modern outlook on service and standards. Aside from our outstanding Real Ales, extensive wine list and fresh locally sourced food, we also encompass a Bistro for private dining and hotel quality B&B. You will find us recommended in many North Wales & Showdownia guides including The Good Pub guide, The Lonely Planet, CAMRA Northern Ireland, Our Tuesday night live folk jamming sessions have always been popular and are a great mid week entertainer. Our Jam session has been running for over 2 decades now and is listed We have also featured heavily in the press with wonderful recommendations and articles from newspapers such as The Guardian, Our intimate bar provides the perfect location for a romantic, drink or a quick catchup with friends over a real ale, a glass of wine or even one of our Welsh spirits including Five vodka, Brecon Gin and Penderyn whiskys. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Address: 8 Market Square, Tremadog, Porthmadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Tremadog
Price Range: £59 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Fleece Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Tremadog
The Golden Fleece Inn Tremadog, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Golden Fleece Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Golden Fleece Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn't see any rooms in the main building but the Madoc Building has updated rooms.”
  • Comfortable bed
  • Room lighting fixture
QRooBound, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't look at web pictures”
883kerensaj, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cant offer any comments re accommodation, only used it as a watering hole!”
Ysbryd, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for back room as the flag at the front of building flaps in the wind all night and is quite noisy”
DeniseScotto, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Family room with plenty of room.”
Bethan255, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5