Trecastell Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Trecastell Hotel

28 Trecastell Park Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SA Wales
Bar / ding area
Traveller (162)
Panorama of the 11 Double at the Trecastell Hotel
360
Panoramas (33)
Room 1
Room & Suite (199)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£127
£120
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 2 hotels in Amlwch
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Amlwch? Then look no further than Trecastell Hotel, a romantic hotel that brings the best of Amlwch to your doorstep.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Trecastell Hotel offer a flat screen TV.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including room service. Guests of Trecastell Hotel are also welcome to enjoy free breakfast, located on site. For travellers arriving by car, free parking is available.

Our Lady Star of the Sea and St Winefride Church (1.3 mi), located nearby, makes Trecastell Hotel a great place to stay for those interested in visiting this popular Amlwch landmark.

Amlwch has plenty of cafes. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Blueberries, The Quays, and The Sail Loft Cafe, which are serving up some great dishes.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular historic site like Parys Mountain, which is a short distance from the hotel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Trecastell Hotel as you experience everything Amlwch has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Beach
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Sun terrace
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
505Reviews8Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 303
  • 135
  • 28
  • 17
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Alison R wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a brilliant stay this wk at the Trecastell Hotel. It was set up with great attention to detail regarding Covid 19 so we felt perfectly safe during our stay. The room was pleasant and comfortable, a real home from home. All the staff and owners were friendly and approachable and couldn't do enough for us. A real highlight was the food. The breakfast was very good but the evening meal was good home cooked food which was delicious and really good value. The chips were gorgeous. Thankyou for making our staycation perfect. Hopefully be back in the not too distant future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James Trew, Owner at Trecastell Hotel
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Thank you for being so understanding in this difficult and worrying time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
happyhols1321 wrote a review Jul 2021
North West England, United Kingdom142 contributions42 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our Anniversary and the owners and staff looked after us incredibly well, very friendly, helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was just amazing with the most fabulous sea view across the bay. Breakfast was delicious and extremely well organised with the covid restrictions, tables spaced apart, staggered times etc. We ate in the restaurant on one of the evenings and the meal was lovely, again staff were helpful, friendly and knowledgeable of the local area and very welcoming. View across the bay from the conservatory restaurant was breathtaking at sunset. Excellent location on the coast road with the coastal footpath on the doorstep with a lovely walk along to the Brickworks and Cemaes Bay in one direction and the lighthouse in the other direction. Would definitely stay again, I would recommend the rooms with a sea view if you appreciate the scenery. Thank you for a most enjoyable stay, we look forward to visiting again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Request a sea view room if you appreciate the scenery. Book a table in the conservatory...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James Trew, Owner at Trecastell Hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2021
Please do.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gbrack wrote a review Mar 2022
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom25 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Trecastell Hotel on Saturday 19th March 2022 for our wedding anniversary. We stayed in a suite room 14 which is at the top of the hotel and faces the sea. The room was beautiful with stunning sea views and it was wonderful to have a coffee and watch the waves crashing against the rocks. Every part of the room was very clean and the bed so comfortable. The bathroom suite is very modern and the shower so warm and refreshing. We had a meal in the evening and the food was very delicious and plentiful. The staff cannot do enough for you and are very friendly. I loved the choice of gins that they had. Thank you for such a wonderful stay and I can't wait to come again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Every room has a sea view. Suites are suitated at the top and have lots of space.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James Trew, Owner at Trecastell Hotel
Responded 18 May 2023
Ah thanks for that review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Innyperson wrote a review Aug 2020
Stafford, United Kingdom693 contributions167 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped for lunch and the sign said that there was home cooked food and a grumpy landlord. The second of these statements is accurate.

The sandwiches - warm baguettes that were those half cooked ones that you finish in the oven, with pre-produced sandwich fillings that melted.

Cheese and onion was a greasy oily filling that you can buy ready made and the crab was just awful, like chopped up crab sticks.

Very expensive for what we had and a ridiculous price for a kid’s drink.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James Trew, Owner at Trecastell Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2020
In this world of Covid 19 it is still good to see that there are ignorant people about. Due to social distancing we have had to make significant changes to our menu's just like major food chains like Whetherspoons and McDonalds. But you expect to be treated differently.............................and you wonder why I'm grumpy. I hope that everywhere you go you get refused service. Grow up. Most if not all apart from you have enjoyed their visit. GOD YOU MAKE ME SICK
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pamela B wrote a review Sept 2020
Warrington, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A short break at the Hotel started with a welcome email prior to arrival on what to expect due to Covid guidelines, gratefully received. I had made a couple of personal requests for our room and Jill, the owner, went above and beyond to supply these. Well organised for food service, pre-booking a table and excellent customer service from all the team. We enjoyed the superior kingsize room with fabulous view's, very comfy bed and a Good nights sleep. We look forward to our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Fabulous views and close to some lovely bays and beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James Trew, Owner at Trecastell Hotel
Responded 6 Sept 2020
Glad you enjoyed your visit
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nelehzzz wrote a review Sept 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We didn't stay here but went for a lunchtime meal as the other reviews looked good, but we were extremely disappointed. I had 'vegetable curry' which was tasteless and bore no resemblance to curry just a tomato type sauce with nothing to flavour it and it seemed like any old veg had been thrown in without thought, coupled with a soggy naan bread. The only bit worth eating was the popadom. My other half had scampi and chips, which he said tasted just as it looked - overcooked frozen food, definitely not the delicious home-cooked food promised. I don't usually feel the need to write a review because staff usually come round and ask if everything is OK, and you can let them know if there's a problem - but they didn't come to ask, nor to clear the plates (even though I left almost the whole meal), and it wasn't busy. We just went to the bar to pay and when I said I wasn't happy with the meal I just got a very insincere 'I'm sorry'
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James Trew, Owner at Trecastell Hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2021
Most of our hardworking staff are nice to nice people not those that aren't. Sorry due to staff shortages our fresh scampi collectors are busy doing other things and if you can find someone that doesn't use frozen scampi please let me know.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carol wrote a review Aug 2020
New Mills, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our Gransdson picked this venue for lunch after a family walk. The surroundings and view were amazing and the staff we polite and friendly. We ordered "Crusty Baguettes" (never seen crusty) with various fillings as there wasn't a lot of choice on the menu. The baguette looked liked it had been lifted out of the freezer last night, the side salad was poor and the filling was no better than a sandwich filler from a local supermarket. We expected better than this,very poor for the money spent and we won't be returning. The grandsons meal looked more appetising from the kids menu.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James Trew, Owner at Trecastell Hotel
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Not sure if you are aware but there is a virus affecting the world and most eating establishments are serving a limited menu. Sorry with all the extra cleaning and sanitising to do we don't have time to get up at the crack of sparrows and freshly bake bread. There were main courses to choose from for the adults too. Most normal people are very happy with the menu and also understand the world situation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stay608143 wrote a review May 2023
Buxton, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately I can't agree with other reviewers. I don't like to giv,e negative reviews but for the price we were looking forward to an uninterrupted sea view only to find scaffolding obliterating our view and workmen painting outside our window. No apology from manager or offer of refund as his explanation was it had to be done at this time of year. For £655 for a 4 night stay I thought this unacceptable as not given a choice in advance to cancel . The rooms are quite spacious but rather tired. The bed was very comfortable . Breakfast was OK but nohing special. Fine if you like an early breakfast as finished at 8.45 and needed to be booked the previous evening.The soup we had the firstevening was oversalted but we were too tired to complain. Needless to say we left a day early as found a really great airbnb place at half the price and extended our holiday as Anglesey is lovely. I cannot recommend this hotel and suggest you could do better elsewhere
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James Trew, Owner at Trecastell Hotel
Responded 18 May 2023
Now there's a surprise. You failed to metion a few parts of your stay which I thought I would share. You booked through Booking.com and requested a room on the first floor. I replied to your request within 2 hours saying that sorry all rooms on the first floor were booked and should the second floor be too much that you would be best to cancel. You chose to ignore that. Then you arrived and were abusive to the person that checked you in. The next day you were abusive to the head housekeeper. That evening I showed you the e mail reply and even though was on the booking.com extranet, with the time and date you didn't beleive me. Then when I told you that if you had booked direct with the hotel you could have save £120 on that booking, your face told it all. I'm glad you found an AirB&B as at least no one had to deal with your constant moaning and whinging. Needless to say you won't be back........thank God
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paulm1002016 wrote a review Aug 2021
St. Neots, United Kingdom198 contributions102 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Chose Anglesey because we haven't been there for years and chose the hotel for the location. The room we had was small but with a lovely sea view; in fact unless you looked down all you could see was sea! Bar/restaurant was very good with excellent beer and food and a superb view out of the conservatory part of the restaurant. By the way, the restaurant gets very busy so book at breakfast time to make certain.
Despite the Covid restrictions all was very well organised and the multi-tasking staff were always friendly and efficient. We'd fully recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 5 looked very pleasant. Or perhaps the rooms above either, numbers not known.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James Trew, Owner at Trecastell Hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2021
Thank you for your comments
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sally j wrote a review Oct 2021
Chelmsford, United Kingdom1,839 contribution193 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
this was the last hotel we stayed in for our Welsh holiday. I was so disappointed, we stayed 2 nights. Our room was over the kitchen, with the very large extractor fan outside of our window, it was incredibly noisy, and the room was so hot, even with the window closed the noise was so loud. I went down to complain, but there were no spare rooms, so we couldn't be moved, also we had the fire escape door off of our room, so we felt uncomfortable leaving valuables in the room. we dined in the restaurant in the evening, I so wish we hadn't. Everyone was crammed in, hardly any space between tables, the food was bad too, I had the BBQ ribs, and they were under cooked, my husband wasn't keen on his fish either. we were in 2 minds whether to leave the next day, but we had lots of things planned, so we had breakfast, which was ok, and headed out for the day, we had dinner somewhere else and got back late, this worked out ok. but seriously think twice about staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't stay in room 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James Trew, Owner at Trecastell Hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2021
OK then........Firstly the room is a fire exit but the door will not unlock unless your key is used or the fire alarm goes off. Yous belongings totally safe. There is a kitchen extractor outside which is switched off just after 9pm most night and then it's oh so quiet. As for the food then look at most of the other reviews of which there are numerous and get a life. Obviously people don't like it here as we are full until early November and have been since we re opened. We shall carry on as we are then I think, don't you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John C asked a question Feb 2022
Ludlow, United Kingdom24 contributions6 helpful votes
Have you a lift please?
GaynorJS asked a question Apr 2017
4 contributions6 helpful votes
Is this hotel child friendly?
Answer from Chris L
Derby, United Kingdom19 contributions31 helpful votes
Hi Sorry but did not see any children when we went although it was January and fairly quiet, there is a children's small playground in the garden though.
Mike McGeown asked a question Sept 2016
10 contributions12 helpful votes
Is this Hotel open to non residents
Answer from Emma B
St Helens, United Kingdom37 contributions21 helpful votes
Yes we saw people eating in the restaurant and drinking in the bar that were not staying in the hotel.
Answer from JuneandPeter
Wigan, United Kingdom37 contributions13 helpful votes
We were on the top floor. Didn't see room 4 but it will be on the first floor I expect so very few stairs (which did not bother us anyway).. Really enjoyed staying there. Breakfast was great! Hospitality great! Lovely owners! You will enjoy it I am sure! X
lorraine s asked a question Aug 2015
Warrington, United Kingdom1 contribution5 helpful votes
Are dogs allowed and do they have sky sports
Answer from Roseline1968
5 contributions
Just to be clear on my answer Lorraine, there is no sky sports in rooms but they do have a TV room downstairs with sky sports.
nanach0cch0c wrote a tip Oct 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just enjoy!"
Read full review
michael m wrote a tip Sept 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go to the restaurant "
Read full review
martinsmith580 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom29 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Remember to order breakfast the night before / at check in. "
Read full review
Elaine D wrote a tip Aug 2023
Chester, United Kingdom12 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want to eat at the hotel, book early to avoid disappointment, ask for a table by the windows in the conservatory, the view is amazing"
Read full review
tcadman123 wrote a tip Dec 2022
Dudley, United Kingdom215 contributions60 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking which is always a bonus in Wales 👍🏻"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Amlwch area.
PRICE RANGE
£105 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesAngleseyAmlwch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRECASTELL HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Trecastell Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Trecastell Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Parys Mountain (2.3 miles), Llanbadrig Church (3.2 miles), and Cemaes Bay Traeth Bach Beach (3.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Trecastell Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Trecastell Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Trecastell Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Trecastell Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lastra Farm Restaurant & Bar, The Bell Y Gloch Cafe, and Caffi Pen Y Dref Cafe.
Are there any historical sites close to Trecastell Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Porth Wen Brick Works (1.6 miles) and Amlwch Harbour, Anglesey (1.4 miles).
Does Trecastell Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Trecastell Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire