We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Gadlys Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gadlys Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
UK
Level Contributor
150 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Quiet location on a hill over the bay (not in quite the right position for beautiful sea views though.) Lovely gardens with views towards the sea. Spacious entrance with grand staircase to upper floors make for a good first impression. Rooms were of a good size, with comfortable beds, and bathrooms were large. This is an old property with some... More 

Helpful?
Thank b56c
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed en route while doing the Anglesey Coastal Path. Had a warm welcome from Patrician, was given a larger room than we'd initially booked and then had an excellent meal downstairs in the restaurant. They completed their hospitality by giving one of our injured party an ice pack for his knee and driving him into town the following day.

Helpful?
Thank Julian S
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The room was very clean and the people were very helpful. We were on the top floor so this meant climbing lots of stairs and as we aren't fit we found this difficult. The meals were very good and the drinks were also nice.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Iv read previous reviews stating place is old and needs upgrading!! Well yes the furnishings are old the furniture mainly antique and may i add some beautiful antique s.its an old country house with a vast history so if it's all mod cons your after then book elsewhere. The grounds are stunning and food including breakfast very nice. Paul and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank theresa e
Gadlys670, Owner at Gadlys Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you both. Hope you are able to return to Anglesey again some time soon. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel in a beautiful part of the world. Bay looks really close but it is about a 15 minute walk. As you enter it has a gallery with grand staircase. The place is well looked after by the owners. It's clean great shower fluffy towels etc. The food is really really good. Would recommend the lamb shank. The food... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank alsue43
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We had a pleasant room with a king sized bed. Views were not the best from our room but imagine would be lovely from some of the others. We had a meal in the bar on the first night which was lovely, service was excellent. The breakfasts were fine, but with a choice of full english with variations, cereal, toast... More 

Helpful?
Thank pebstig
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Booked to stay here but didn't due to the absolute disgusting attitude of the owners, we had friends stay here who also said they where very rude. Had to cancel my 2 rooms last minute luckily found a much nicer hotel in a beautiful area with lovely staff near by

Helpful?
9 Thank iKirsty

Travellers are raving about these Cemaes Bay hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Don't be fooled by helpful voice on the phone. Booked through third party. Rang to confirm booking with Hotel. Proprietor confirm booking but said all rooms were booked. So we left it. Low and behold, payment was taken. I rang to explain what we had discussed prior and the owner was downright rude and denied saying the room was not... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Richard I
Gadlys670, Owner at Gadlys Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Putting this review into perspective. 25.07.16 telephone call from Richard Illingworth to ask if we had a room for Friday August 12 and Saturday August 13 2016. Apart from a twin room on the Saturday, we were fully booked and he was told as much. He said he would leave it till a later date. Subsequently on the same day,... More 

wales UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Not what I thought it would of been. 3 beds in room each one squeaked really bad. Could not sleep and so noise every time you moved...... bed covers same as curtains very old fashioned Breakfast marmalade in bowl no jam sugar bowl used by others butter in small curls not enough for two.... coffee not in pot had to... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Joyce H
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Beautiful gardens and amazing view to Cemaes Bay from the gardens. Our room (9) was very large and the bed was comfy. There was a lack of options for something to eat in Cemaes so we ended up eating here. As it turned out, it was a great decision. We really enjoyed the food and having a bar here helped!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adam T

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cemaes Bay
9.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
273 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
818 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Woburn Hill Hotel
The Woburn Hill Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Gadlys Country House Hotel

Address: Cemaes Bay LL67 0LH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Cemaes Bay
Price Range: £92 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gadlys Country House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Gadlys Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadlys Country Hotel
Gadlys Country House Hotel Cemaes Bay, Island Of Anglesey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gadlys Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Gadlys Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“too many stairs for unfit people no lift no wheelchair access”
 of 5 bubbles barbaracF3289KQ, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't chose room 2”
 of 5 bubbles gillhession, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had room 4. Excellent room with 4-poster bed. Others at the front might have a proper shower though. Great view.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeP807, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Number 4 with view of the bay”
 of 5 bubbles SarahTrans, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“ask for bedroom with front garden view if available”
 of 5 bubbles alangY3652YJ, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay