The Bull Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Bull Hotel

The Bull Hotel
Traveller (139)
View from third floor
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
£119
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Get rewarded with One Key
£119
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Get rewarded with One Key
£101
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#1 of 1 inn in Llangefni
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP! We have just acquired The Bull Hotel as of December 2022 - the hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment - we appreciate your support & patience. Stay at one of the most central hotels in North Wales. Ideal for exploring the coasts of the Isle of Anglesey and the many outdoor activities North Wales now has to offer, including Surf Snowdonia and Zip World. Only 20 minutes from the ferry terminal to Ireland. 22 rooms of which some are in our pleasant courtyard old stables house.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitWales.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Bulkley Square, Llangefni LL77 7LR Wales
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 82 out of 100
82
Anglesey Airport
403Reviews1Q+A73Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 115
  • 108
  • 69
  • 54
  • 57
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
katiemayxx wrote a review Feb 2022
Wirral, United Kingdom53 contributions79 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Came here for an overnight stay with my boyfriend. Love the location and old feel to the building. Free parking and staff on arrival extremely welcoming.
Room cosy and bed comfortable/clean. Had tea/coffee and a TV. Negatives however was the bathroom especially needs a major refurbishment. The bathroom was not clean/had mold all around the shower. Shower very old and outdated/not powerful or hot went cold very quickly where by boyfriend had to wait half an hour before he could use it. Decor in the downstairs pub also needs maintenance. I appreciate this is a old and historic building but uncleanliness in a bathroom is unacceptable. We had lunch before we left and could not fault the sausage and mash whatsoever tasted very nice. The staff very friendly and chatty without them the place would fall apart. The owners of the building need to sort out the outdated bathrooms and plumbing so they can be cleaned properly. However me and my boyfriend would definitely return here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve wrote a review Nov 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom316 contributions80 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with family as getting morning ferry from Holyhead which is approx 20 drive away.

Received a warm welcome. The Bull Hotel is in the middle of a small town. There is small in a small car park in the courtyard or there is public parking next door.

The town has in addition to The Bull Hotel another 3 pubs in walking distance. There are a number of takeaways also in walking distance as well as banks, chemists and general shops.

The hotel itself is old and looks tired. However, the rooms were clean and the beds comfy.

Ate there on the night which was ok. Didn’t stay for breakfast as up and out early. There is not a night receptionist so you see yourself out.

The price was better than a Premier Inn and had loads more charm, but if you prefer sterile perfection, this might not be the place for you.

Staff were very welcoming which made it for me. The court yard rooms would be my preference if choosing again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rikki Hampton, Revenue Management at The Bull Hotel
Responded 12 Nov 2021
Thank you for your review, we will certainly be passing your comments onto the team and hope to see you again soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason J wrote a review Jul 2023
Hyde, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just had a two night stay at The Bull Hotel Llangefni. The hotel became under new ownership Dec 2022 and you can clearly see the great work they have done to the place. Secure parking in the courtyard which looks great. Rooms are decorated keeping with the look of the hotel ( to be honest you could still smell the nearly painted walls in some areas ). The bar is large with plenty of seating and is well stocked with some guest ales.
The staff are a credit to the hotel and always asked about your day, nothing was a problem for them.
The one and only downside at the moment is the kitchens are having a refurb so no food available but this was made clear on checking in and alternatives were recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Saz A wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel looked really nice on the outside but the room was dusty, mouldy, sloppily painted and half of light fixtures were broken. It was also set out stupidly so that the wall-mounted TV is obscured by the wardrobe if you're sat in bed, despite the blank wall directly opposite the bed, which just seemed an odd decision. The room also lacked a lot of basic amenities it was supposed to include, such as shampoo, enough toilet roll, a spoon to stir the provided coffee.
The female staff were all really friendly and tried to rectify mistakes, the guy on reception not so much. When we asked about parking since the booking included an option (which we selected) for onsite parking, he told us there was none (after chiding us for being the last to check in, a couple of hours before last check in time) but we could use the pay and display carpark next door. Gee what a great alternative to 'free parking provided on site'. Don't offer services you can't fulfil and upon failing recommend more costly alternatives like you're doing us a favour.
They made a lot of mistakes. We ordered breakfast once, both of our orders were wrong, we were charged incorrectly and even after correcting the charge to the smaller breakfast they still missed off items, and ignored partners request for well-done bacon. Pricey but poor.
They forgot we were staying 3 nights and locked us out of our room after 2, which we didn't find out about til we'd already walked up the 4 flights of stairs with all our shopping.
It was all quite petty stuff but just seemed like a lot errors that were all easily avoidable and basic, like stocking the room properly. The thing that makes it a 1-star review was the hotels insane decision to test the fire alarm in our room at 8am with no prior notice. I guess this is another mistake stemming from the expectation that most weekend travellers leave on Sunday, rather than Monday, so they just didn't bother to check their system to see if guests were still there. Still, I am not an early morning person, particularly don't appreciate being woken early on holiday, but particularly disliked the reception guy's response of 'well we're legally required test the fire alarms at this time'. Completely unapologetic, and a lie since the requirement is that they be tested once a week but not a specific hour so he could have waited till our 11am check out, and in no way excuses his failure to notify us that they were going to do this. He acted like we were an inconvenience by occupying the room we had paid for, and like it's not the job of the hotel staff and management to know they have guests in house and reasonably prepare for that. Screw that guy.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
don Sadler wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hotel for my birthday for a three night stay when we arrived we were shown to our room which was large but a bit tired when we went into the bathroom the shower hose was missing from the bath so we decided to have a quick bath to find there was no hot water.
My partner went to complain to be told they had a boiler problem which the plumber was arriving next day, when we returned there was still no hot water so spoke to the manager who promised to refund our money but we would have to speak to booking.com who had already taken payment.
We had to try and find another place to stay as we had not had a shower or bath for a couple of days after contacting booking.com I was told the hotel had taken the payment from them !! Till this day we have still not had a refund and I had to pay for another hotel for the last night.
I think this is absolutely disgusting behaviour from the hotel and also booking.com I hope no one else ha to go through this process
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marston's Inns, Revenue Management at The Bull Hotel
Responded 22 Dec 2021
Good Morning Firstly, allow me to apologise for the experience you have had with the Bull, indeed we have previously had issues with out boiler system and do have regular maintenance to ensure hot water is provided to our guests. In terms of refund, indeed booking.com does allocate a payment to the hotel AFTER taking payment from the guest. We can certainly process a payment but would need details from booking.com to refund this to you which would explain the delay. However, I am happy to discuss this over the phone or email should you wish to Kind Regards James General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CNTravellers wrote a review Aug 2021
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom122 contributions95 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice food but dreadful service. Waited 15 mins for 2 pints to be poured. Bottomless children's drinks aren't actually bottomless - they are original plus one refill only. Food took ages and when it did arrive was covered in sauce that I askrd specifically for it not to be. Barmaid tried to tell us children couldn't have pudding that was part of what wr paid for because we didn't specify what we wanted at the time of ordering.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Find somewhere else to eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David wrote a review Apr 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are a couple in our 60s and we have friends on Anglesey so when we visit we stay at The Bull Hotel in Llangefni. We love staying at this hotel because it meets all our needs, hard working friendly and helpful staff, its an old building so full of character, its clean, the rooms are a good size, has a shower and bath, conveniently located in the centre of the island. We did'nt eat here but were told by other guests that it was very good.we never encountered any problems parking either.It is very good value, i read some reviews and some people expect The Hilton but dont want to pay Hilton prices. I can assure anyone thinking of staying here to do so, you wont be disappointed.
I cant and i wont say anything negative and cant wait for our next visit.
Diolch yn fawr am pob dim.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marston's Inns, Revenue Management at The Bull Hotel
Responded 12 Jul 2022
Hi W605rwbrianb, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Bull - Hotel. We're happy we could meet your expectations!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danielle V wrote a review Aug 2021
5 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival staff weren’t very welcoming and seemed to want rid of you quick. We were early so had a drink and food in the bar, food was nice to be fair. When we did check in the room wasn’t very clean the bathroom was filthy. There was mould on the walls, around the window frame and ceiling and the paper was peeling off as was the paint. The bathroom tiles had orange filth and mould all over them so I didn’t even want to go near the shower.
It was cold of a night due to the fact we couldn’t even close the window. The blind was nailed to the window frame. There was cobwebs by the bedside cabinet and around the bed frame.
We paid 17.00 extra to have breakfast. One item of each, no cereal or fresh juice on offer. The black pudding was rubbery, beans looked like they had been warmed up numerous of times, the tomato looked boiled. The cups were all stained. So for £95 it wasn’t worth the price.
I definitely wouldn’t stay again and glad it was only one night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Linzi wrote a review Jul 2021
Liverpool, United Kingdom58 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the bull llangefni on a tour of the island of Anglesey.
Interesting building with courtyard rooms. Perfect for people with poor mobility
Warmly welcomed. Rooms were very clean.
Hotel parking is in courtyard so car right in front of our accomodation.
Evening meals are very reasonably priced.
Social distancing maintained.
Full cooked breakfast was really lovely and freshly cooked
Staff very pleasant and helpful to guests needs at a difficult time for them when protocols are in place and times of uncertainties.
Best wishes to them all working so hard.

Situated in the heart of the town so very accessible for shopping items.
Great base to stay
Would definately recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rikki Hampton, Revenue Management at The Bull Hotel
Responded 29 Oct 2021
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.. Kind Regards General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ivan h wrote a review Sept 2021
Rossendale, United Kingdom19 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On check in greeted by a young lady who's first words where " I don't know what I'm doing I don't normally do check in' this set the tone for my single nights stay.
I booked the room in desperation due to not wanting to drive 3 hours home then drive 3 hours back in the morning due to work commitments and my previous hotel (premiere Inn Bangor) being horrendous.

The positives: clean towels , double glazing.
The negatives. Pumping dance music drifting through the floorboards from the pub below. Food a little expensive for such a tired venue.
The room, I can not describe how bad it was. The walls chunks missing out of the plaster, missing paint, split door frames, rampant mold in the bathroom, black fungus in the shower, no hot water despite running the tap for nearly 5 minutes. The bed a piece of MDF stretched across a bed frame. ROCK HARD every time I turned more creaks than 2 truckloads of dinosaurs.

The locals treat the town square as a race track even with a supposed fuel shortage, and covid lurking like a bad smell individuals found time and ability to canon around this tiny Welsh village like Mika Hakkinen on a Welsh forest stage rally!

I had about 5 hours good sleep in hindsight driving home I should have done.

I was asked if I wanted breakfast. Innocently I asked for 7am as I had to be on site for around 8.15am. I was informed 8am to 9am Sharp and £7 extra. I politely declined. On passing reception later in the evening I happened to mention on the poor state of the room to be met by a chorus of staff shrugging shoulders saying " yeah we know perhaps you should complain to the manager he's in in the morning".

Top quality room and superb customer service. NOT! Please avoid this ramshackle rundown archaic mess.

These are my views based on a single night stay you may have better look and a better room. This is my opinion based on my stay.

Thanks for reading.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rikki Hampton, Revenue Management at The Bull Hotel
Responded 12 Nov 2021
Thank you for your review, I am terribly sorry that you felt that your stay was not up to our usual standards. We take pride in delivering excellent service so to fail to deliver this deeply disheartens me. We have recently taken on new contractors to make the relevent fixtures and refurbishments in our building and I would love to welcome you back. We have also abolished any timings for breakfast and would love the opportunity to prove that this instance was in fact a one off Kind Regards General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Tyke1961
North Wales334 contributions169 helpful votes
no idea....
B'man wrote a tip Apr 2024
Wales, United Kingdom18 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Off road parking in the courtyard is a real plus. I didn't eat at the hotel but the dining room in the evening did seem relatively busy"
Read full review
Janet L wrote a tip Aug 2023
Sheffield, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Research places to eat as no restaurants in walking distance "
Read full review
Andrew L wrote a tip Jul 2023
Leigh, United Kingdom4,687 contributions516 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request a room towards rear of hotel as quieter"
Read full review
Peter H wrote a tip May 2023
26 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The town has unfortunately seen better days "
Read full review
Gemma S wrote a tip Aug 2022
28 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nature reserve nearby providing stunning views"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Llangefni area.
PRICE RANGE
£85 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesAngleseyLlangefni
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BULL HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Bull Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Bull Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Dingle (Nant y Pandy) Nature Reserve (0.1 miles), Old Foundry Vaults (0.07 miles), and Railway Inn (0.02 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bull Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Bull Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bull Hotel?
Yes, free parking and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bull Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Avondale Cafe, Foundry Vaults, and Cosy Corner Coffee.
Is The Bull Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the centre of Anglesey.
Does The Bull Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bull Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bryn Celli Ddu (4.5 miles) and Bodowyr Burial Chamber (4.7 miles).
Is The Bull Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Llangefni HotelsLlangefni Hotel DealsHotels near The Bull Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire