The Outbuildings
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Outbuildings

Bodowyr Menai Bridge Llangaffo, Menai Bridge LL60 6NH Wales
Traveller (110)
Our bedroom - Pink Spotty Jug
Room & Suite (41)
Flaming Menai Mussels
Dining (28)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 2 B&Bs in Menai Bridge
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tucked away on the south-west corner of Anglesey, The Outbuildings provides luxurious and welcoming bed and breakfast accommodation. The setting is sublime - surrounded by tranquil farmland with glorious views of the Snowdonia mountains. Each of the five individually designed en-suite bedrooms has its own private outside entrance and includes a welcome tray with homemade cake or biscuits on arrival, small flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations and WiFi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Tennis court
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Canoeing offsite
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Housekeeping
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
283Reviews6Q+A55Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 234
  • 29
  • 12
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
duke032 wrote a review Jan 2020
Llangefni, United Kingdom30 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Outbuildings is hidden away on Anglesey but easily found even on a dark winters night. A vast interior awaited and as the only group dining we were given a table in the more cosy upstairs area. A very warm welcome from the owner and staff was followed by a delicious meal, which we had pre- ordered (as we were a group of ten). Service was superb throughout.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, so glad that you found us without difficulty. We hope you will visit again or one of our supper clubs or feast nights when there will be more people around.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
discerninglad wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 2 nights recently - only wished we could stay more. Apart from the accommodation (warm, spacious en suite rooms with fabulous views of the Welsh countryside), the breakfasts....oh my goodness - the phrase " to die for" doesn't cut it. There was fresh fruit (grapefruit, kiwi,grapes,you name it)various cereals (including granola and muesli). Homemade bread,free range eggs and locally sourced sausages, bacon and meats,all beautifully prepared (full vegetarian breakfasts also), then a variety of pastries to go with the freshly made coffee. Friendly staff and nothing too much trouble. I'm guilty of overeating but it was a joy to do....will be back
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. It has put a skip in everyone's step to read your words on a wild and windy day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Inspire557272 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a fabulous place! Despite Storm Ciara we had a wonderful few days staying at The Outbuildings. It is in such a beautiful setting with views to Snowdonia and easy access to places on the island, Caernarvon, the Llyn peninsula. After being out and about on the blustery days it was so lovely to come back to such a warm and friendly welcome, Bun was the perfect hostess and made us feel at home. Everyone here was so friendly. The food was divine, breakfasts were five star and my sister and were treated like royalty. t We had such a lovely time. Thank you so much, Bun xxx
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings
Responded 15 Feb 2020
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. The Pink Spotty Jug is snug and comfy in the wild wintry days - just heading into Storm Dennis now - roll on Spring.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mitch wrote a review Jan 2022
Royton, United Kingdom14 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great accommodation,everything you could possibly need for self catering and the weather was mostly kind for the full week.The owners are friendly and helpful and leave you to it once they’ve explained the do’s and dont’s.
WiFi brilliant and two lounges(one with a full size snooker table) with a large TV in both make the long dark evenings fly by. Overall a fantastic week away on Anglesey in winter…
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Spacious parking. Sat Nav post code leaves you a few hundred yards short or too far if you come...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Millie Mantle, General Manager at The Outbuildings
Responded 24 Jan 2022
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday. Hopefully we will see you back here in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lesley Mumford wrote a review Jan 2020
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very friendly greeting on arrival, fabulous afternoon tea which was beautifully presented. Gorgeous countryside surroundings, The Outbuildings is a tastefully converted barn with a roaring log burner in the dining area and another in the comfy bar area. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and we are so pleased you enjoyed your tea.... You may like to come and try one of our Supper clubs or Feast nights? They are on the web site.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sianehopwood wrote a review Feb 2020
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom125 contributions77 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Once again, a beautiful stay. If you need an escape from the world then this is the place. Outstanding dinner and scrumptious breakfast! We stayed in the Granary Steps this time, a beautiful room with super comfy bed! Look forward to returning again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Theoutbuildings, Owner at The Outbuildings
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Oh what a lovely review thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cheryl wrote a review 3 May
Manchester, United Kingdom21 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic house perfect for a large family holiday. Plenty of space and everything you need for self-catering. Beautiful views.
Only downside is the house is in need of a little TLC bit shabby in parts but this didn't distract from how much we enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lehani W wrote a review Jun 2014
Western Australia, Australia32 contributions19 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
While I see that my mother has taken the time to review The Outbuildings, I also see that she has signed my name at the bottom of her review. Here I would like to express my own opinion as while it may be similar to Wendy W's opinion, it is not the same, and her words are not of my own.
The Outbuildings are immaculate. One would be pressed to find a piece of dust anywhere. The beds are ultra comfortable, the carpet lush. It is beautiful. Sometimes such attention to detail comes with an attitude that I am not accustomed to experiencing in any form of customer service.
Alcohol / no alcohol rule aside - when we drew the curtains to shut out draft and the owner popped straight over to reopen them, the air in the room felt as though it could be sliced with a knife. Four grown professionals sat sheepishly on the couch; we were virtually gobsmacked at the coldness with which we were treated. Personally, I would usually speak up in such a scenario, asking for a little courtesy and respect but did not want to embarrass my mother, aunt and uncle as by that point I could have become a little fiery!
I am a Primary Teacher by profession and this experience led me to be ever more cautious with the way I talk to my students, as there is a thin line between re-stating the rules and demanding adherence. If crossed, it can lead a room full of grown adults to feel like kindergarten students!

The little cushion in the common area with "Rules are Made to be Broken" on it, is complete hypocrisy embroidered into quite an unreal setting.

The breakfast was delicious and the chef delightful. I still remember the homemade cookies in the rooms. Overall, this place will be one of the more memorable places that I have stayed in the world, though not necessarily for the right reasons. However, I shared a beautiful time with my family here, so gratitude to those who made our stay possible.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BunMatthews, Manager at The Outbuildings
Responded 3 Jun 2014
Thank you for adding your words which i take on board. Perhaps you will also remember that you said to Francois you all felt told off and I did write to apologise at the time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lindzey G wrote a review Apr 2016
North Wales, United Kingdom1 contribution9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Awful service from the The Outbuildings. Arrived in pouring rain on Monday for our four day honeymoon. We had tried to contact venue to advise we were running late that day but got no reply. When we did arrive my husband and I receive a lukewarm greeting. We were offered a choice of rooms for the duration of our stay and then promptly told to move our car away from the main building by the owner Bun Matthews as we were unpacking!!! No coffee, shower or telephone in the room. Had to drink coffee in main area of building as an extra in an extremely cold atmosphere. The pre-booked 5 course dinner was a lovely start to our first romantic evening together and we spent a fun evening opening our wedding cards, gifts and drinking champagne. (No signage to suggest we could not!!) Woken up next morning on the hour every hour from 10 am onwards by the owner rudely knocking on the door to request we vacate our room within 30 minutes as they were moving us!?! I knew check in was 4 pm so could not understand the rush or indeed why we were being moved at all...when tried to speak to Bun about this she was extremely agitated we had drunk in her room as her own wine was in her words "reasonable priced"...She said she could smell drink on me (!) and that wine was not allowed as there had been an emergency in the past...when pressed further the said emergency was red wine on the sheets....The tone and attitude of the owner was frosty and we were made to feel terribly unwelcome...especially when she walked off after I informed her we wanted privacy in our room all day. Twice she suggested she help pack our bags...and was about as subtle as a sledge hammer in making it obvious we were not welcome. I informed Bun that I looked forward to reviewing this lack of hospitality on Trip Advisor. At this point she subtly insinuated that we may wish to reconsider staying there. Rhetorical banter in this regard ensued until I requested that my husband pay the nice lady. Bun got extremely offended at this and requested that I not call her nice...!?! She then preceded to offer the room to us for free in a lame attempt to gloss over the upsetting incident. As someone who cannot be paid to keep quiet I insisted that we pay every penny we owed. The whole situation was extremely upsetting and ruined the start of our honeymoon as we wasted one day arranging alternative accommodation. I cannot believe a formal apology has not been forthcoming as yet...all in all a bum deal from Bun Matthews.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings
Responded 4 May 2016
Thank you for your review which I have read carefully, unfortunately anything I may say in response is not going to alter your view. Bun
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cezza wrote a review Jul 2015
Cascais, Portugal8 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to the Outbuildings for a Graduation celebration 11 adults and 2 toddlers in our party. The food was poor for the amount of money, the chicken was dry and over cooked, the salmon was poor it was a small filet with no sauce, not even a slice of lemon, both were served with a sparse salad and burnt potato wedges. I came away hungry. A complaint was made about our party from another diner regarding noise, we were allocated the top gallery for our party, the only thing we can think of was when we were moving around, after this complaint we felt very uncomfortable and left shortly afterwards. I found the staff unfriendly which also gave an atmosphere. I personally think if you have a large party in the other guests should be aware and then complaints wouldn't be made. We had the staff going up and down the stairs throughout the whole time which also made noise.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings
Responded 14 Jul 2015
Good evening and thank you for your review which i have read carefully, together with the email you sent us, which has been acknoledged awaiting full reply when we are all together following days off. Firstly i am sorry that you felt you had to write to us and to also to write a poor review. We strive to please all our guests and special occasions are special occasions. I am glad you enjoyed the canapes and your pudding, and sorry that you were disappointed with your main course which we will reply to your email in full and a second reply via trip advisor when we have spoken to the staff that were in the kitchen that evening. Children for special occasions are welcome, The OUtbuildings although very relaxed and in lovely grounds is a restaurant and we expect that the children are seated and quiet and respect the surroundings in which they are in for a special treat and the other guests. We did let our guests know that you had a special party, but they in our view did ask quite farily for the children to respect the surroundings. Then everyone can have a lovely evening and fun.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from
Llangaffo, United Kingdom
I am SO sorry for the slow reply. We have a different menu each evening - if you would like to come for dinner please give us a call and let us know what you like don't like and we will work a menu to suit. Please look at the web site for the supper club and feast nights. Again sorry for slow reply.
RachelPerryPeek1992 asked a question Aug 2018
Manchester, United Kingdom57 contributions24 helpful votes
Tried to get in contact re a wedding and nobody answers the phone?? New number??
Answer from Paula W
14 contributions6 helpful votes
You could try and call Menai Holidays as think they are connected to them. Hope this helps!
MrC asked a question May 2018
West Kirby, United Kingdom274 contributions139 helpful votes
Are you open for Morning coffee?
Answer from
Llangaffo, United Kingdom
Hi I am so sorry I have only just seen this, do pop in.
Tony C asked a question Sept 2015
Atherton, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes Please
Answer from BunMatthews
Anglesey32 contributions20 helpful votes
??
Tony C asked a question Sept 2015
Atherton, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Do the rooms have private bathrooms
Answer from BunMatthews
Anglesey32 contributions20 helpful votes
Hello The Pink Spoty Jug and Boys' Room have walk in shower rooms and The Granary Steps and The Button Room have bath's but no shower and no hand shower. thank you for asking. Bun
Mitch wrote a tip Jan 2022
Royton, United Kingdom14 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Spacious parking. Sat Nav post code leaves you a few hundred yards short or too far if you come in the other way.Use the owners instructions"
Read full review
gillg55 wrote a tip Mar 2019
Manchester, United Kingdom20 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Button room was lovely"
Read full review
SGNMAN wrote a tip Jun 2018
Manchester, United Kingdom114 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sat nav and then Google maps struggled to update so make sure you know where it is on a map as well. Look out for the red spotted jug signs."
Read full review
Leslie H wrote a tip Apr 2018
Reading, United Kingdom25 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not all rooms have a bath, we enjoyed the upstairs spacious 'Button Room, which did"
Read full review
Christinewales wrote a tip Oct 2017
Wales57 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upstair rooms lovely views"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Menai Bridge area.
PRICE RANGE
£745 - £745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the outbuildings hotel menai bridge
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesAngleseyMenai Bridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE OUTBUILDINGS - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Outbuildings
Which popular attractions are close to The Outbuildings?
Nearby attractions include Beacon Climbing Centre (4.3 miles), Royal Welch Fusiliers Regimental Museum (3.8 miles), and Foel Farm Park (2.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Outbuildings?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Outbuildings?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a view of the mountains, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Outbuildings?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Outbuildings?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Outbuildings?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sheeps and Leeks, Caernarfon Tandoori Restaurants, and Bonta Deli.
Does The Outbuildings offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Outbuildings?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Outbuildings?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Caernarfon Castle (3.8 miles), Plas Newydd House and Garden (3.7 miles), and Bryn Celli Ddu (3.0 miles).
Is The Outbuildings accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Menai Bridge HotelsMenai Bridge Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Menai Bridge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire