The Gazelle Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Gazelle Hotel

Traveller (280)
ROOM 1 - TWIN EN-SUITE SEA VIEW
Room & Suite (46)
Marinated vegetable starter
Dining (36)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
£100
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£100
£97
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#3 of 5 hotels in Menai Bridge
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value

Gazelle Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Menai Bridge, offering a romantic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Oriel Tegfryn Gallery (1.8 mi) and The Presbyterian Church of Wales (2.0 mi), guests of Gazelle Hotel can easily experience some of Menai Bridge's most well known attractions.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, and Gazelle Hotel makes getting online easy as free internet access is available.

In addition, guests can enjoy free breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Menai Bridge's popular tapas restaurants such as Freckled Angel and Tafarn Y Bont - The Bridge Inn, all a short distance from Gazelle Hotel.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular garden like Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens, which is a short distance from the hotel.

Enjoy your stay in Menai Bridge!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Beach
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Parking
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Sun terrace
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Glyn Garth, Menai Bridge LL59 5PD Wales
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 49 out of 100
49
Anglesey Airport
16.8 mi
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 0.75 miles
504Reviews1Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 256
  • 126
  • 50
  • 27
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Steve H wrote a review Aug 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom44 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned home after a wonderful 5 night stay at the Gazelle Hotel. The room we had must have a view that is up there with any other hotel View in the UK, it is truly stunning to wake up to wonderful views of the Menai straights and Snowdonia, it is even better to sit outside with a good quality beverage and watch the world go by.
I would definitely recommend that you book a table in the restaurant for dinner during your stay, we thought the food here was amazing and totally exceeded our expectations - the chef here can certainly cook, and it is all freshly cooked local produce at a reasonable price.
The staff from Maldwyn the owner, to the waiting on staff and the bar staff are lovely, nothing being too much trouble at any time, and they are always available to chat or offer advice on other restaurants to try or days out whilst staying in Anglesey.
To sum up, we loved our visit and we will definitely return in the future for another stay and meal.
Thanks to all for making our staycation so pleasant.
Regards Steve and Attracta.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Sea view is highly recommended
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maldwyn Jones, Owner at The Gazelle Hotel
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Thank you for your review, and weas a team are really please you enjoyed your stay, you are right though the views are stunning and opening the curtains every morning is often a smashing surprise as the view is always different, you never know what to expect. I especially love the evenings, though we do not see the sun actually set, the soft lighting onto the Carneddau mountain range brings out the amazing colours, I never tire of that view. I agree the chef has done an amazing job, he was a great find and a huge asset to the Gazelle
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacqui B wrote a review Sept 2020
United Kingdom25 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came across this place at the last minute, after refusing to stay in the hotel we had originally booked. It’s in a fabulous location on the Menai Straits with some rooms having a stunning view over the water. Chis had only just taken over a few days previously , so the drinks and menu choices initially were a little limited, but picked up once the new delivery came.
Matthew and the young girls provided excellent service during our stay. Our room was clean and comfy, not large but just big enough and had fabulous views . The shower ( no bath ) was generous in size but the thermostat had a mind of its own at peak times. We feel that once Chis and his lovely wife ( who was working hard as we left to tidy bit up ) put their own stamp on this place , it will be a place to reckon with . Would definitely recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ShiftZZ wrote a review Jul 2023
Warwickshire, United Kingdom1,331 contribution278 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Have stayed there before, in a dog friendly room, which was really good.
This time, arrived at 4:30 on a Sunday to be advised that the last orders in the dining room was 6:30. Lucky I got there early.
Right, the room is small, but has everything you require, double bed is fine, but one side pushed against the wall.
After I had dined, the Sunday Menu is a bit limited, but as I had had the fish and chips before, I thought I was on a safe bet. It was average, the chips appeared to the “end of day “special, fish was ok. I finished off with sticky toffee pudding and ice cream, the pudding was at best luke warm, the ice cream was very soft and not vert cold.

Now back to the room, my room was at the rear of the hotel, I went to bed early as I have been up since before 4AM and have driven over 250 miles. At 10pm the guests in the adjoining room came in, I could hear every word they said, the sound insulation in the bedrooms is abysmal, the wall separating the bedrooms appears to be a stud wall. I have poor hearing, I have two hearing aids, even with these removed I could hear my neighbors snore.
Breakfast, was served at 8:00, which is unusually late, but as I had dined there before and raved about the quality I was looking forward to it. Eventually the chef served breakfast, coffee was good, Orange juice good, but, ½ a mushroom? I know inflation and the cost of living has gone up, but ½ a mushroom. Toast was ok, but no jam or marmalade.
The location is brilliant, parking can be an issue, especially on Sunday, cars parked very inconsiderately.
Overall, I was impressed with the dog friendly room previously, but not so with room 7, it needs some remedial work. Lastly, the circular extension cable reel hooked onto the ‘wardrobe’ is not good, but you could claim it to be ‘art’..

I will be back in September, but in a dog friendly room..
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Try and avoid room 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah W wrote a review Sept 2020
Lancashire, United Kingdom85 contributions58 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of this pub is gorgeous, right on the Menai. You could not beat the location. However, the rest of the place is like Fawlty Towers. We were greeted by the manager, Mal, who immediately told us he was leaving because he couldn't trust staff and spent 24 hours watching cameras after one person stole from him.
The room we were in was basic (to be expected of a 3 star) no issues with that, although the bed was very uncomfortable. The issue was hygiene. The sink looked like it had recently had vomit in it that hadn't been cleaned, the shower was filthy - even the remote control was vile. The radiator made me physically sick. We called Hotels.com who we had booked through who told us that they had spoken with the manager and he had agreed to move our room. When we went to reception he refused saying that there were no other rooms - we checked everywhere else on the island to try and move hotels but being bank holiday everywhere was full. He was very keen to know if we had taken photos as he needed 'proof' to confront his 'cr*p' cleaner after numerous complaints. I said I had only snapped the remote control (in sheer disbelief) and showed him. When we checked out the next day he first accused me of not paying for the room (it was pre-paid through Hotels.com) he then told me I was 'suspicious' and insisted that the remote I had shown him a photo of was not one from the "hotel" he was insulting and passive aggressive to the point I was physically upset. Avoid this place at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucyhughes1 wrote a review Aug 2020
Bangor, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We returned to the Gazelle last night for our wedding anniversary. Food, setting and staff were excellent and I highly recommend a visit. On arrival we were taken to the dining room where we ordered drinks and were enjoying the peaceful ambience and scenery. The evening was perfect until unfortunately a family arrived with a very noisy, relentless yapping dog...I tried not to let this ruin our evening but it was very distracting. Fortunately a member of staff intervened and asked them politely to to control their dog as it wasn't fair to the other guests. The lady was very rude and argumentative to the member of staff and blamed covid for her dog's behaviour(?!?!), which created an awkward, aggressive atmosphere and it was a relief to all when the family moved outside; other guests also remarked about how rude, unreasonable and aggressive the woman had been.
I hope that anyone visiting the area will visit the Gazelle and appreciate how attentative staff are towards guests. Luckily for us the staff cared enough to quietly resolve a potentially awful evening and situation and it's a shame that some visitors refuse to have any respect for others, even in front of their children.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maldwyn Jones, Owner at The Gazelle Hotel
Responded 20 Aug 2020
Lucy, thank you for your kind words, they are very much appreciated, as it happens regarding the incident you mentioned above I received a rating of 1 on the other page (I have copied the review below), your words will counter balance it with the truth. I did reply to this sad review last night but TA clearly did not agree with my reply and removed it, this is the reason we in this industry have no faith in TA, as these rude arrogant customers because everything has not gone their way attack the restaurant and the owner, thankfully people see straight through such rubbish, shame there is no TA for customers as these would most definitely be on the 'DO NOT SERVE' list Anyway, I am glad you enjoyed your anniversary meal, and thank you for your support. Not a welcome here We booked our family in for dinner and asked whether we could bring the dog - the person who answered the phone checked whether there was a ‘dog table’, confirmed there was and so we went with the dog. We were shown to a table and a lovely waitress took our order - including accommodating our autistic son who just wanted plain pasta. Our dog is only a year old and hasn’t been out much due to lockdown. She barked every time someone came near the table. We did shush her and tried to interest her in the treats we had brought. A man ‘in charge’ came to ask us to ‘keep our dog under control’ as we were in the quiet section. I said that couldn’t be right as we had booked a dog table. He told us that there had been a problem with their system and it had lost bookings so they had put us in the quiet section instead - but could we please ‘control’ our dog. Although I understand a barking dog is annoying I don’t see how they can blame us for putting a booking with a dog in a quiet section. One of our sons took the dog outside and our autistic son got very upset. We ended up voluntarily moving to an outside table. We then waited 50 minutes for drastically overcooked dry steak and left. We will not be back. I have to say though that the two waitresses who served us were both lovely.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
700heh wrote a review Feb 2023
Halifax, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is perfect. Everything went just as planned, very easy to find. Chris (I think the owner/manager) was there on reception when we arrived. Our rooms were perfect, very nicely decorated and homely. The place was very warm with radiators on and all preheated for us and very cosy. We were given two rooms for our family as when we booked the 'family room' we didn't realise that option in most hotels is better suited to younger children (ours are 12 and 15) as sofa beds are often used therefore we were given an upgrade into two rooms (we split into Mum and daughter and Dad and lad) which helped a lot and made our stay even more comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and tasty. Location is fantastic even though we travelled in February and obviously not the best weather conditions to admire the great views! Honestly can't fault this lovely hotel and have every intention of returning. We have recommenced this as a place to stay to all our friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sue796 wrote a review Sept 2021
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom116 contributions77 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited with friends 3 weeks ago for drinks and a meal. Initial there was a problem with our booking 2 days before even though it had been booked 3 weeks prior. This really upset my friend, however it was eventually sorted. The Gazelle is set in a beautiful location right next to the Menai Straits. We all found the food prices quite pricy. I had the Sea Bass at £26 and it was average especially as I visit another restaurant a week later and paid £14 and it was better presented. £30 for a fillet!The dessert menu was limited to a choice of only 3.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Parry wrote a review Jul 2021
5 contributions10 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a table for myself and my wife for lunch at the Gazelle as we haven’t been out for a meal since lockdown last year, so we were looking forward to lunch here. We are local so we more than know the area. The service from the restaurant staff was excellent, however we were very disappointed with the attitude of the supervisor/manager on arrival. He didn’t seem to treat his staff very well at all, which put us off from the outset. The other thing we felt, there was very little to no atmosphere, (background music). We are both vegan and we’re disappointed with the lack of vegan options, there were no vegan options on the menu at all, several vegetarian but only one that was made to be vegan, the other was salad. The food was also just Luke warm. Overall very happy with the service of the restaurant staff who were very polite and helpful and spoke Welsh, very disappointed with the management attitude and lack of atmosphere and vegan options on the menu, also a little over priced. Dont think we’ll be going there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ASallyO wrote a review Feb 2023
Chesterfield, United Kingdom35 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What an amazing little place! Beautiful view over the water from our bedroom (No1) Sunrise was the icing on the cake really! Very friendly and helpful staff, everywhere absolutely spotless!

On our first evening we had 3 starters to share 'tapas style' (baked Camembert, classic Mussels and also Humus and flatbread. The portions for the first two were very generous indeed! Presented beautifully too.

The bedroom was fantastic, the biggest king sized bed Ive ever seen! (could maybe do with the headboard fixing straight though) very tastefully decorated. Not a speck of dust anywhere, hats off to your lovely cleaning lady!

The ensuite was lovely too, plenty of room, free shower gel and hand wash, lovely fluffy towels. (I'm hoping the bit of string holding the shower up is a temporary measure, it did let it down a little, but not enough to make a complaint as everything else was perfect!)

Cooked breakfasts were lovely, Full Welsh breakfasts with eggs fried to perfection, excellent sausages! Vegetarians catered for too. It would have been nice to see an eggs Benedict as an option too, with so many other 'on toast' breakfast options.

On our second night we had already had fish and chips at teatime do didn't need an evening meal, so we just had a a few drinks and sat in the little area in front of the reception with a cosy sofa which was really comfy and relaxing.
Thank you for making our little break so special!

My tip for other visitors is check out their instagram and FB for offers and book directly with them for the best price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check their instagram and FB for current offers and book with them directly for the best price.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joe D wrote a review Aug 2020
Wirral, United Kingdom109 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 3 nights from Friday the 21st of August.
Lovely hotel right on the water front and an ideal location to get around and see the island sights.
Whats outstanding about this place is the staff and the manager Maldwyn Jones
Maldwyn and his team have a rating of 10 for me in the customer service the provide they cant do enough to please and make your stay very enjoyable.
The food as we ate breakfast and evening meals was first class and its obvious from check in to check out this is a very well run establishment well done Maldwyn and his team your a credit to your trade.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms 2-3-4 for sea views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maldwyn Jones, Owner at The Gazelle Hotel
Responded 31 Aug 2020
Jo thank you for your very kind words, they are very much appreciated by all, today is my last day and it is wonderful to be leaving on a high.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Gazelle Hotel
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Hello, we are dog friendly, we allow dogs in the tables near our reception area which have slate flooring rather than our other rooms which all have carpet flooring, sorry if this causes any inconvenience, looking forward to seeing you , The Gazelle Hotel
Andy L wrote a tip Jan 2024
Weston, United Kingdom12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms 1 to 4 have sea views"
Read full review
deb C wrote a tip Sept 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The views are fantastic"
Read full review
ShiftZZ wrote a tip Jul 2023
Warwickshire, United Kingdom1,331 contribution278 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try and avoid room 7"
Read full review
jen bradshaw wrote a tip Jun 2023
Blackpool, United Kingdom14 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sit back, relax and enjoy the view!"
Read full review
Phil R wrote a tip Mar 2023
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom172 contributions68 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use the car park. Not off road at the top. Lots of steps down."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Menai Bridge area.
PRICE RANGE
£79 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gazelle menai bridge, gazelle hotel menai bridge
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesAngleseyMenai Bridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GAZELLE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Gazelle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Gazelle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bangor Garth Pier (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Gazelle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Gazelle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Gazelle Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Gazelle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Voltaire, Torna a Surriento, and Whistlestop on the Pier.
Are pets allowed at The Gazelle Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Gazelle Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Beaumaris Gaol (1.9 miles), Plas Newydd House and Garden (4.6 miles), and Beaumaris Courthouse (2.1 miles).
Does The Gazelle Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Menai Bridge HotelsMenai Bridge Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Menai Bridge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire