Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Chateau Rhianfa

Beaumaris Road, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS Wales
Traveller (1476)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (418)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£115
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
Breakfast included
£104
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£115
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#3 of 5 hotels in Menai Bridge
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A private home until 1955, the Château Rhianfa estate in North Anglesey has undergone an extensive revamp in recent months. The Grand Hall, wood-panelled sitting rooms, Music Room, Drawing Room and Dining Room have all been carefully refurbished complete with Lady Sarah Hay-Williams' meticulously renovated painted ceilings. The opulent 42-foot Banqueting Hall at Château Rhianfa is a superb setting for lavish events and weddings in North Wales with wooden flooring, panelled walls, and breathtaking views are sure to impress. Enjoy gourmet dining with a view of the Menai Strait and Snowdonia in our award winning restaurant, Le Dragon Rouge. Elsewhere, wine cellars and tasting rooms, vaulted spa rooms, a lounge bar, as well as a private beach. The whole house has the feel of a regal hideaway making it an ideal location for weddings, business conferences, events, or your next product launch.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Tennis court
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
1723Reviews36Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 942
  • 381
  • 219
  • 121
  • 61
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
David A wrote a review Feb 2020
Cannock, United Kingdom30 contributions8 helpful votes
Couldn't fault the staff or the wedding venue. Had a small basement room with a shower you could fit 5 or 6 people in great breakfast with attentive staff on duty. The only concern is the amount of stairs you have to go up and down during the day.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roz N wrote a review Feb 2020
Sandbach, United Kingdom171 contributions69 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights in the Gate House Lodge, it was clean, warm, comfortable and spacious with beautiful views over the Straits and Snowdonia. Breakfast was wonderful and the staff are super friendly. My only word of warning is do not order a glass of wine in the bar without checking the price first (£18.00 per glass?1).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tryingtohelp wrote a review Aug 2020
Derbyshire, United Kingdom76 contributions32 helpful votes
We were a bit worried prior to our stay, due to reading negative reviews. We ended up agreeing with most of them good and not so great. The chateau is architecturally impressive and the age of the building makes social distancing difficult on stairs. The grand history of the chateaus is evidenced in room names with The Dukes room, Kate’s bedroom, and Williams’ bedroom giving some idea of who’s stayed there in the past. There are plenty of sanitising stations but we didn’t see anyone using them, nor anyone wearing masks, however tables in the dining room and other communal areas were well spaced so we felt safe. All the staff team were very helpful and clearly tried hard to make our stay as great as possible. We had the Menai Suite, which has the round bed featured on the website, it was super comfortable, although the pillows were very low, we’re glad we brought emergency ones from home. The views took in Menai Bridge in one direction and the out to the sea on the other. Other reviews have complained that this is a rooftop view but we thought it offered great variety and it definitely is a sea view. The windows were ill fitting due to age and certainly rattled a lot as we stayed during a storm, adding to the feeling that were living through a chapter of Wuthering Heights.
The suite was very clean and the L’Occitane single use toiletries added a touch of luxury, great shower, plenty of hot water. Plenty of variety of good quality tea and coffee, replenished immediately on request. The only downside is the dining experience, the food was delicious but the dinner service was extremely slow. We waited 15 minutes for a menu and 45 for our first course. The menu is small, 4 choices of starter / main, with veggie, vegan option available. We chose the fillet steak and lamb rump, both were served very rare, which was fine for us but we saw 3 tables return their dishes. One couple left after waiting an hour and not receiving any food. The food was delicious but there were no ‘side order’ available, so my lamb was just meat, a courgette, tomato and slice of hispi cabbage plus very tasty jus, all delicious but I really would have liked a carb option. There were some other problems and the staff were very apologetic but it would have been better if they’d been up front about the delays and lack of some options as soon as we were seated. Having said that the food was great, expensive but tasty. Is the kitchen too small to allow sufficient staff due to distancing, are suppliers not supplying? Tell us then we can choose what to do. Breakfast was lovely, we were told about supply issues as soon as we were seated and were able to choose lovey hot food items that we knew would be available.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chateau Rhianfa, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa
Responded 19 Sept 2020
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay here at Chateau Rhianfa. I am delighted that your stay was a positive experience overall. Unfortunately we quite often find that most people who leave reviews are ones that wish to leave negative reviews, and as such it can be a little misleading. This is not to say however that we can always look at some of these reviews, as we endeavor to always improve our product and service. I'm very disappointed that your stay was somewhat let down by your dining experiences. We were encountering some supplier issues during the first month or so of re opening that had an effect on our food offering. As a result we were running a reduced menu. Needless to say this should had not have been to the detrimental impact on our other diners. I can advise that since your visit we have made some changes to our kitchen team, as we did not feel that it was working either. Since then we have seen the quality and execution of the food return to the levels that we expect, and AI'm sure that should you visit again you would agree.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charlotte D wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Lovely location, clean bedroom though quite small, friendly check in, everything seemed great until we went for our evening meal we were greeted and told to choose a table and someone would be over with a menu, 25 minutes later we still had not been given a menu there were 4 guests in the room so they certainly weren't too busy after trying to catch their attention for half hour finally we had a menu, the evening meal was tasty but the service throughout the night was awful not what you expect for the prices you are paying. Breakfast was even worse again slow service, ordered vegetarian breakfast when it arrived it was tiny compared to the full English it was missing the vegan Black pudding had 1 tiny flat mushroom, half tomatoe 1 Glamorgan sausage tiny spoon of beans as nd poached egg we asked for tomato sauce by time we caught their attention we had finished the breakfast I asked about the missing item and was told oh we ran out, woukd of been nice to have been told and maybe given an extra sausage instead. They had ran out of quite a few food items from overhearing other tables. If you have booked to stay here I recommend eating elsewhere. Really disappointed will not return or recommend which is a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LAW64 wrote a review Jul 2021
Tonbridge, United Kingdom1,799 contribution767 helpful votes
We loved our one night stay in the 3 bedroom coach house as a party of six adults. We had quite low expectations but we then wished we could have stayed longer. The views over the water are stunning - they reminded us of Lake Bled. The coach house was very comfortable for six adults - with lovely views and large sitting room area with comfy sofas, good kitchen and separate dining room. All 3 double rooms had excellent showers and the back bedroom had a balcony over the water. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. The only issue was with the heating as we couldn't work out how to adjust it so you might want to ask about that. One of the rooms has a fan which suggests it gets hot which might not suit everyone. I would get rid of the coat hanger stands to avoid bumping heads in the night. As we were leaving we heard others complaining about the food but we had a lovely dinner delivered to the coach house and the staff were so kind about changing the timings when we were a bit late arriving. The steak was excellent and others enjoyed the salmon. In the morning breakfast was included and it was fine with very friendly staff - especially the lady that took our orders and the porridge was delicious. Overall we had a really lovely stay and we would definitely stay here again. (car parking is a bit tricky when you arrive but there is an overflow car park).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: 3 bedroom coach house for six was lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cltw wrote a review Jul 2021
Eastbourne, United Kingdom31 contributions15 helpful votes
This was our third of four nights away in luxury hotels on our first post COVID trip.

On the plus side, the Chateau Rhianfa is a fascinating building set in beautiful gardens with stunning views to the sea and mountains beyond. The main communal rooms are nicely decorated in old world antique style but with a faded glory theme thus looking rather tired.

The staff are helpful and friendly and our room had a comfortable bed and brilliant shower.

However it was in the basement and whilst correctly described as a double room sea view, one cannot actually sea the view unless sitting by the desk at an extremity of the room and there’s only room for one person in that location.

The room itself (“William’s room” for those who want to avoid it) was at best functional with something of a charity shop motif including ancient lampshades barely standing upright and blinds with threadbare material. We may have been unlucky but the room bore no resemblance whatever to those featured on the hotel’s website.

On to meals and we would probably have eaten elsewhere on price alone if we had spotted any local restaurants within walking distance.

The website suggests that the AA Rosette awarded Le Dragon Rouge restaurant offers “a truly unique dining experience” which is absolutely correct but not in a good way.

I am aware that there’s a shortage of chefs at the moment but this did not affect the excellent cuisine in the other three hotels on our trip.

Our dinner cost £107 including a very ordinary bottle of red wine and the food was barely edible! Our starters were okay but my paella was dry, colourless and rather taste free whist my wife’s £32.00 lamb dish had a layer of fat and an unappealing flavour! We decided against desert.

Having read some lukewarm reviews of the Full Welsh Breakfast, we both opted for the safer Eggs Royale. Sadly the kitchen had run out of the advertised crumpets so we were offered toast with rather suspicious looking salmon and eggs smothered in a revolting sauce which was nothing like Hollandaise.

If this standard of cooking merits a Rosette award, then I was clearly in the wrong job!

The tragedy of the Chateau Rhianfa is that with decent refurbishment and a total rethink in their cuisine, this could be every bit as good as the other three hotels we stayed in on our trip.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chateau Rhianfa, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa
Responded 28 Aug 2021
I was disappointed to read that your stay was not up to the expected standards during your stay. Unfortunately the location of the windows of bedrooms are something that was part of the original property, before it was converted to a hotel. Whilst we appreciate that some of these windows must be stood at to see the view, it's unfortunately not something we can change. On our website we show different pictures of some of the bedrooms at the property, and when booking through our website or through a third party site, these show the rooms associated with the room type being booked. We were thoroughly disappointed that you felt the dining experience was not up to standard. We put great emphasis on ensuring that we can offer consistency through our food. We have had to adapt our food offerings slightly in order to ensure that the kitchen can manage the numbers being fed, this is as you point out due to the shortage chefs the industry is currently facing. We are always working hard to maintain and improve on our standards, and whilst we have like many businesses faced many challenges since the lockdown, I'm sure that should you visit again you would have a much more positive experience Dylan Hughes GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Minx wrote a review Jun 2021
AMLWCH20 contributions8 helpful votes
After reading through other reviews, I felt I had to give my opinion.

People seem to forget that during this difficult period, many hotels and resorts are under tremendous pressure to provide the same service that we are all used to, however, working in the industry myself, I am very aware of the leagal obligations and the covid secure restrictions placed on the hospitality industry, just so every is aware, you are not allowed to clean a room or enter a guest room for the duration of the guest stay under current guidlines, hotel staff have to quarantine any items removed from the rooms for a minimum period of 3 days in order to ensure the safety of guests and staff alike. This is law, this is not an option.

Billions have been spent on re-training staff members on the current government guidelines which change sometimes daily, so I for one applaud hotels who like Chateau Rhianfa who abide by current rules and regulations in order to keep everyone safe. I am not the one to say - I can't have what I want so I am unhappy.
Quite the opposite, businesses still need to make money and I for one am happy to pay the price to feel safe and secure rather than complain about menial issues that mean nothing when compared to the lives that my be lost if the secure enviroment is compromised.

Great staff - happy people, good atmosphere, keep up the good work, some of us repsect the values you employ when considering the safety of others.

Well done you guys.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chateau Rhianfa, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa
Responded 7 Aug 2021
Thank you for your kind words following your tome at Chateau Rhianfa. It is fair to say that the industry has endured a difficult time since reopening with the pressures of restrictions as well as the staff shortage challenges that have blighted our industry. Needless to say we always thrive to offer our guests the best levels of customer service at all times, and are very grateful when this is recognised. We hope to welcome you again soon Dylan Hughes GM
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Getaway671895 wrote a review Jan 2020
19 contributions3 helpful votes
We were so looking forward to staying at the chateau but I just think we were unlucky. It’s such a beautiful location and so is the building, but nothing seemed to go right for us! We were given a double room after confirming via email and phone that we would have a twin. The first room was tiny, the second room was fabulous but I think it must have been next to an external kitchen entrance as it was so loud and brightly lit, there was no escaping the noise or artificial light. The restaurant was freezing but it’s an old building so that’s completely fair enough. We had to ask for everything that had been arranged at the time of booking, e.g. bottle of Prosecco, tour, twin room and as we arrived in the middle of a wedding, we felt like we were intruding in the hotel.
I agree with another traveler in that the staff need a lot more training, (they were really lovely though). If you go, make sure you confirm your booking at least three times and take an eye mask, ear plugs and some warm clothes.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ChateauRhianfa, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Chateau Rhianfa, I was disappointed that your experience was not in keeping with your expectation. As many hotels we are also a popular wedding venue, and as such it is imperative that we ensure that all our guests can enjoy the facilities of the hotel, without the wedding taking over. I have discussed the fact that your extra requirements were not delivered for you. There is no excuse for this, and points to a possible lack of communication between departments in ensuring that these are delivered. I very much hope that we get to welcome you back to the Chateau, as I am sure that you will see how we constantly work on improving any aspects as needed.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helen M wrote a review Aug 2020
Warrington, United Kingdom147 contributions45 helpful votes
We stayed at the Chateau for 2 nights during the first week of August, we booked direct and chose a room in the chateau, the rate included breakfast and dinner. When we arrived the first room we were allocated was very poor, the mattress was sunken, the carpet stained and the view was of rooftops, but the main problem was the heated towel rail was full on which made the room absolutely boiling (weather was raining, cloudy and not very hot when we stayed). I phoned to reception to ask someone to turn the towel rail off, when it didn't go off they moved us to another room which was better (the hotel wasn't full so we were surprised to have been given the inferior room). We enjoyed the experience of the shower in the turret in the room we did stay in. On the plus side all the staff we met were very friendly and helpful, Jemma on Reception was excellent and advised us on a good route round Anglesey. The food was delicious and on the day we checked out the weather cheered up and we had a lovely walk round the grounds which are beautiful and have great views across the Menai Straits. Overall we felt the hotel was quite dated in places, the food and staff excellent but the drinks were more expensive than other hotels we have stayed in and we didn't feel that the rate we paid for the 2 nights had been value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chateau Rhianfa, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa
Responded 6 Sept 2020
Thank you for you comments following your stay with us at Chateau Rhianfa at the beginning of August. I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you in a different room, after the first room wasn't up to what you were expecting. All rooms are allocated based on the room type booked at time of booking. Due to the style of the property, some rooms do have a view of a rooftop or the internal courtyard area. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meals, and that the staff had made such a positive impression, and we will be sure to congratulate Gemma on her customer service.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian P wrote a review Dec 2020
Rhyl, United Kingdom29 contributions12 helpful votes
My wife and I decided to tour three of the best Hotels in Wales: Llyn Vrnwy; Gliffaes ; and Chateau Rhianfa over a week as an escape from. COVID. The first two were excellent and we recommend them, Chateau Rhianfa however was deeply disappointing. There were good parts to our overnight stay: the hotel is an interesting building in a wonderful location; the staff are friendly and attentive but unfortunately that doesn't make up for the dreadful food. Our dinner lacked any real taste or refinement, it was also expensive ( which we expected). Fine dinning it was not. At first it was easy to believe that due to COVID the chef was having an off day but the cooked breakfast the following day was also a disaster - greasy and overcooked to the point the bacon snapped rather than being cut. It had obviously been precooked and reheated.

When paying the bill it became more obvious that we were being taken to the cleaners. £9 for a small glass of Rose wine from a bottle that would cost about half that in a supermarket really showed this place to be a rip off. If you really want to stay here and enjoy a classic location then do so but my advice would be to eat and drink elsewhere. We will not be returning
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Ask for one at the front
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
voodoosue asked a question Feb 2023
Wigan, United Kingdom800 contributions83 helpful votes
Can you have a cream tea here & a drink in the cellar if your not staying overnight?
Answer from Nina C
London, United Kingdom89 contributions70 helpful votes
Absolutely!
Marilyn P asked a question Jan 2022
Windsor, United Kingdom7 contributions12 helpful votes
Do you take small dog
Answer from John E
6 contributions2 helpful votes
I did not see any pets there and doubt they would accept them.
Show all answers
Hilary asked a question Jun 2021
West Midlands34 contributions45 helpful votes
Can you walk to Beaumaris from hotel
Answer from Hil
Llandudno, United Kingdom44 contributions21 helpful votes
You can but it’s a very dangerous road . We did it and I would never do it again . There is no footpath and it’s narrow and winding with no lighting.
AnnieBannanieWales asked a question Sept 2020
Wales85 contributions78 helpful votes
Do any of the rooms have balconies to sit and watch the view?
Answer from Alan R
London, United Kingdom46 contributions19 helpful votes
Zooey we only went for lunch
Show all answers
Answer from racbeth
Exeter, United Kingdom115 contributions174 helpful votes
Hi Smart casual Thanks
Anne-marie S wrote a tip Yesterday
Makadi Bay, Egypt242 contributions67 helpful votes
"Only one EV charger at present. There is an overflow car park. Make sure you explore the chateaux!!!"
Read full review
Peter G wrote a tip 19 Feb
Chester, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
"Discover the wine cave!"
Read full review
QueenofSlaithwaite wrote a tip 13 Feb
Huddersfield, United Kingdom102 contributions60 helpful votes
"There are better places to stay on Anglesey."
Read full review
PHP1407 wrote a tip 9 Feb
Windsor, United Kingdom32 contributions13 helpful votes
"Parking was fine, lift up to floors, please check out the views! Staff are super helpful"
Read full review
Michael H wrote a tip Jan 2024
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
"There’s a lift so don’t worry if your room is on an upper floor. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Menai Bridge area.
PRICE RANGE
£114 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesAngleseyMenai Bridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHATEAU RHIANFA - Updated 2024 Reviews (Island of Anglesey)

Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau Rhianfa
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau Rhianfa?
Nearby attractions include Xscape Rooms (1.0 miles), Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens (0.9 miles), and Beaumaris Gaol (2.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau Rhianfa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Chateau Rhianfa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Chateau Rhianfa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau Rhianfa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Happy Valley Pavilion, Domu, and Sage Kitchen.
Does Chateau Rhianfa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Chateau Rhianfa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Beaumaris Gaol (2.7 miles), Plas Newydd House and Garden (3.9 miles), and Beaumaris Courthouse (2.9 miles).
Does Chateau Rhianfa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.