We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bryn Aethwy Guest House

Bryn Aethwy Pentraeth Road Isle of Anglesey, Menai Bridge LL59 5HS Wales
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (75)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 guest houses in Menai Bridge
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bryn Aethwy is a Victorian house of charm, character and history, in an elevated position overlooking the Menai Straits. Arguably the best views on the island. 4 Ensuite Rooms: 2 with King size beds, 1 Twin room, and a Four Poster en-suite. Originally owned by the Paget family with the 1st through to the 7th Marquess of Anglesey being mentioned in the Deeds. Free Parking in generous sized Parking Bays near the Main Entrance. Mature gardens and everything to ensure you will have a wonderful stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
230Reviews0Q+A49Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 168
  • 44
  • 9
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Miriam Bentsen wrote a review Oct 2021
Wadhurst, United Kingdom12 contributions5 helpful votes
Run down, tired, over prices, rubbish breakfast of the sort you would expect in a Travel Lodge. The garden was frankly disgusting, over grown, un loved, rubbish, broken things, the rooms tired. If you wish to keep receiving guests you need to overhaul your rooms, the outside and your breakfast. Only really nice thing was sitting in the armchair by a warm log stove. Sorry to write this but having cycled from one end of Wales to another and received fabulous accommodation along the way at a fraction of the price I think you need to know. Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jake wrote a review Aug 2021
12 contributions
+1
Not up to 4 star standard. We read the reviews prior to booking Bryn Aethwy, looking forward to our stay, however on arrival we were immediately disappointed. The following drawbacks were observed throughout our stay: - There was no assistance with our baggage or even an offer to help, meaning having to carry all of our luggage up 3 flights of stairs (which were steep). - Payment requested on immediate entry to the B&B - we felt taken back by this as we would like to settle in first. - There was no offer of a drink on arrival (after a long drive) - The whole feel to the building felt very dated, especially the room. - When we were shown to our room, a smell of damp was in the air. On closer inspection, mould and damp was visible around the room. - The wallpaper was falling off the wall and the room had mid-matched decor - No digital television or free view! You can only watch catch-up via Roku - The Roku signal was intermittent, therefore when watching catch-up TV it would often buffer - The furnishings were very dated - Breakfast very basic! There was no offer of a cooked breakfast, this would be expected from a 4 star. - It would be beneficial to have a microwave to heat up food, however, there was not one available - Security risk - our room keys were left in another persons room door - Room servicing needs improved, no bin liners in bin, dirty tea saucers left in room which weren’t in the room before the service - No en-suite - Wi-Fi can be a little slow at times We looked for alternate accommodation on immediate arrival, however, due to other establishments being booked up, we had to stay at Bryn Aethwy. If rooms were available in other hotels/B&B’s, we would not have stayed at Bryn Aethwy and would have left without staying a night. One positive, good shower in the non en-suite bathroom. This is not a 4 star establishment, the room we were put in is a 2 star at most.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Christine A wrote a review Jul 2021
Warrington, United Kingdom7 contributions6 helpful votes
We feel extremely lucky to have been able to book an overnight stay at Bryn Aethwy. It is such a gem of a place, a real find ! The house is grand and full of character and the grounds are lovely too, with seating area from which to admire the beautiful view of the Menai Straits. Our room was spacious, the bed extremely comfortable and the bathroom facilities were excellent. Everywhere was spotlessly clean! The complimentary continental breakfast was very good and an unexpected added bonus! The owners are great hosts and they made us feel completely relaxed as soon as we arrived. Thank you We will have no hesitation in booking a return visit, hopefully for longer next time!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
irons70 wrote a review Jul 2021
Carlisle, United Kingdom33 contributions55 helpful votes
A friendly family run guest house with comfortable rooms, the use of the garden and deck chairs or table and chairs and a great continental breakfast with coffee and lots of choice. It is close to local amenities and they let you bring take aways and drinks back. Lovely family will come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Darren P wrote a review Jul 2021
Farndon, United Kingdom161 contributions116 helpful votes
+1
Imagine a place, not overcrowded, and to stay in a period property with amazing views across the menai straits and the Brittania bridge. Bryn Aethwy has all these things and more. Hosts Jana and Nathan offer the warmest of welcomes to their guests, and nothing is too much trouble, both offer a wealth of knowledge and history of the local area. Rooms are quite spacious, with little extra touches, the beds and pillows offer the comfiest of sleeps, the continental breakfast at your leisure is more than adequate Having now stayed at Bryn Aethwy I doubt that we would want to stay anywhere else, thank you Jana and Nathan
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Very Handy for walk into Menai Bridge town, cash machine in garage opposite Waitrose very close by.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bazandcaz wrote a review Jun 2021
Preston, United Kingdom75 contributions68 helpful votes
We have just stayed at this guest house for 3 nights, it was nothing like the pictures on the web site, booking com, trip advisor Such a shame it is a beautiful historic old house that has been left to go to rack and ruin by the current owners, how anyone could welcome guests into such a hovel Is beyond me. The gardens although large and offering beautiful views, were untidy, unkempt and in need of a total make over, just left to grow wild. The house did not get any better, thick with dust in the entrance room and dining room, build up of dust along the edges of the carpets next to the skirting boards looked like it had not been properly hoovered in months. The bedrooms did not get any better, poor quality bedding and duvets, again dust along the edges of the carpets, one day the bed was re-made but teacups were not washed or tea, coffee,sugar etc not replenished, toilet roll not replaced. The shower was filthy, towels were hard and not changed daily. All in all this house needs a complete refurbishment and redecoration with an update throughout. Doors were banging all night when other guests came back as there were no fire door closers on any doors, a pump on the boiler was constantly firing up all night making a loud noise. No proper fire regulations or procedures just a pencil, hand written not on the back of the door. I think this business would seriously fail a fire inspection and would not be granted a inspection. On complaining on our last night we were served by the family sons, seems this business is run on a shoestring, just involving their children, the following morning the host completely blanked us I am presuming because we had complained. The complimentary breakfast, do not bother! Tables with no table cloths, the hosts not interested in serving you, no customer service what so ever, only coffee.was in sachets or from a machine that was broken, a complete shambles. In my opinion this guest house is an accident waiting to happen and should avoided at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jana Gill, Owner at Bryn Aethwy Guest House
Responded 22 Jun 2021
I am not surprised to read this review. When I tried to apologise for not servicing their room properly because of personal reasons that weekend, (they claim that they only spoke to my son, but I was right there and spoke to them as well) they just continued their list of complaints. They were trying to find as many things as possible to complain about. We want our guests to have a comfortable, relaxed stay, but have come to accept that there are circumstances when we cannot please everyone. And the doors were banging because of the fire door closures, not, as the guest claims, because they are missing fire door closures.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Liz wrote a review Apr 2021
60 contributions5 helpful votes
Lovely house in beautiful setting. Gorgeous relaxing seating areas in garden. We visited during Covid restrictions so we had breakfast tray which was lovely. Hostess was friendly and welcoming. There did seem to be lots of improvements being made so “things around the place”. Really enjoyed! Great bed! Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
nanddk2019 wrote a review Oct 2019
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom2 contributions
Bryan Aethwy is a beautiful Victorian house with amazing views over the Menai straits. Our host was very welcoming and our breakfast was cooked to perfection. We had a huge and very comfortable bed in a lovely spacious room with an on suite. A very relaxing place to stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lesley B wrote a review Sept 2019
26 contributions17 helpful votes
Great location, lovely clean room, nice people. They go the extra mile and do a lot of little things for example small pots of butter so its soft to spread, breakfast table allocated, free parking they even clean the jam and marmalade jars after use. Very organised, order your breakfast day before or when you arrive so its ready for you at the time you have chosen from the breakfast time options.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house have better views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Christina O wrote a review Aug 2019
Congleton, United Kingdom13 contributions8 helpful votes
Very welcoming large house with tastefully decorated rooms providing lovely views of the nicely kept gardens and the Menai Straits. Elaine the owner was a lovely lady and great hostess; she made sure we were well looked after. The room was airy with nice furnishings plus the shower was large with multiple settings, also the rooms were clean and stocked with necessities.I Breakfast was delicious, I loved Elaine's homemade muesli and chocolate/banana milkshake. My partner enjoyed his cooked breakfast, there was plenty of food and drinks. I fully recommend this charming hotel and will be staying there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There are only a couple of rooms with good views and tasteful, comfy furnishings.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Menai Bridge area.
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesAngleseyMenai Bridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BRYN AETHWY GUEST HOUSE - Guesthouse Reviews (Anglesey)

Frequently Asked Questions about Bryn Aethwy Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Bryn Aethwy Guest House?
Nearby attractions include St Tysilio's Church (0.3 miles), Menai Suspension Bridge (0.2 miles), and Menai Heritage (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bryn Aethwy Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and baggage storage.
Is parking available at Bryn Aethwy Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bryn Aethwy Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sage Kitchen, Freckled Angel, and Sosban and The Old Butchers Restaurant.
Are there any historical sites close to Bryn Aethwy Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Beaumaris Gaol (3.9 miles), Plas Newydd House and Garden (2.6 miles), and Beaumaris Courthouse (4.1 miles).