Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site

Lligwy Beach Moelfre Anglesey, Moelfre LL72 Wales
Traveller (168)
Dafarn Rhos/Lligwy Beach
Pool & Beach (29)
View from Room (21)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 2 campsites in Moelfre
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-serve laundry
301Reviews5Q+A25Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 195
  • 46
  • 23
  • 12
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Renata Ferenczi wrote a review Sept 2020
Whitegate, null, United Kingdom42 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
To alleviate our post lockdown blues we purchased a VW Campervan and booked a weekend at Darfan Rhos Camping Site. We arrived late Friday and we were met by Matt who gave us a great welcome to kick start our first holiday this year ! He took us directly to our pitch, and gave us a really helpful talk about all the available facilities on site, and told us to simply call reception if we had any queries at all. The site was completely compliant with Covid regulations, and the toilet/shower facilities were spotlessly clean at all times, even the pot wash area was pristine. Every member of staff that we passed during our visit had a lovely smile 😊 there was a lovely beach cafe within 2 minutes of walk , and a young guy who served delicious breakfast and lunch snacks just outside of the campsite gates!

Would highly recommend this site and we will definitely be re-booking as soon as we can !!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dafarn Rhos, General Manager at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site
Responded 26 May 2021
Apologies. Delayed reply due to Covid effecting our business. We are so pleased to hear you had a "Great 1st weekend away" to alleviate your post lockdown blues in you new VW campervan at Dafarn Rhos last September (2020).
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
helsteeth wrote a review Sept 2020
Stockport, United Kingdom16 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We've just returned from a family camping trip to Dafarn Rhos, and we had an absolutely brilliant stay. If you want a campsite near a beach, you literally could not get any closer.

The staff were amazing, so helpful and friendly. The weather in Angelsey has not been kind for most of the back end of August, and the campsite even went to the lengths of ringing us three days before our planned stay to let us know that the ground was quite wet in places on the site. We spoke to them every day before we came, where they offered us a refund if we didn't want to come. But we decided to risk it and are so glad that we did!

The pitch we were on was perfect, not too soggy, and the moment we arrived the sun came out, and stayed that way for the duration of our stay.

We were greeted on arrival, and guided to our pitch by Matt. He lent us an extension cable for our hook up as ours was not quite long enough.

The facilities on site were spotlessly clean, and everything felt safe and secure.

We were pleased that this was a quiet site, there was no noise at all at night, it felt like a proper relaxing getaway from it all. (We are a family with two teenagers who were also really happy with their stay!).

We came with our two dogs, it was really easy to get onto the beach for dog walks.

We even had an encounter with a friendly pheasant, won't be forgotten in a hurry!

We will be back! Thank you Dafarn Rhos, we loved it. xx
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dafarn Rhos, General Manager at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site
Responded 26 May 2021
Apologies. Delayed reply due to Covid effecting our business. What a wonderful information review - thank you so much.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BambiAB26 wrote a review May 2021
North Wales, United Kingdom18 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently had some annual leave so my partner and myself decided last minute to have a couple of nights away in our recently converted camper van we live in North Wales not to far from Anglesey so decided as we only wanted a couple of nights away to stay fairly local and we both love Anglesey so after searching the internet I came across the Dafarn Rhos Caravan & Campsite amongst others, but the pictures of this campsite with its location caught my eye, and stood out from the rest. I always research before I book anywhere so looked at the reviews on trip advisor and as always I read the negative reviews first, there were a few negative reviews about the staff etc, but my gut told me to see for myself, and I am so glad I did, I couldn't get through when phoning but left a message and they rang back and were very helpful and friendly .I asked for a sea view if possible and the lovely lady said she couldn't promise a sea view well she didn't disappoint we had a lovely pitch with a lovely sea view the two days/ three nights we were there the weather was gorgeous we caught the sun, this has to be the cleanest ,tidiest smartest campsite I have been to, we were greeted just inside the gates by a lovely friendly staff member (didn't get her name) she walked us to our pitch explaining everything to us and gave us some information on walks etc, this campsite is two minutes from the most stunning beach, the toilet blocks & showers are immaculate, it wasn't busy on the site having just come out of lockdown so don't know if the same applies in high season but they defiantly have very high standards, we are looking at buying a caravan as well as our camper and I would defiantly like to site it on this campsite if possible we loved it, we walked along the coastal path recommend by the staff and it was the most beautiful walk with some history thrown in and took us into Moelfre where there is a lovely pub the Kinmel Arms food was gorgeous, there is a café, bar, ice cream shop etc at the beach but they weren't open when we where there I did hear a couple talking and heard them saying that they have a marque and tepee there also in the summer. This is an amazing little gem of a campsite in a stunning location and we will defiantly be going again soon, ignore any negative reviews and see for yourself , thank you Dafran Rhos for the best couple of days away
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dafarn Rhos, General Manager at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site
Responded 5 Sept 2021
Thank you so much for your very informative review. Pleased to hear you had a great couple of day away. Look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stanley50 wrote a review Oct 2020
Huddersfield, United Kingdom20 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we stayed here in August as soon as Wales opened up for camping. There were very few sites with facilities open but this one had very good covid safe showers, toilets, washing facilities. They were exceptionally clean and probably brand new. Every plot had its own tap and electric hook up and was well spaced out. The staff were friendly and available and made sure all campers adhered to the rules eg dogs on leads. fantastic location right next to the beach. Walks and bike rides from the campsite. places to eat nearby. A bit more than we usually pay but worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: good level sites available for tents
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dafarn Rhos, General Manager at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site
Responded 26 May 2021
Apologies. Delayed reply due to Covid effecting our business. Thank you for your great review especially mentioning our "covid safe showers, toilets, washing facilities" and friendly staff, spacious pitches, appreciation of rules, and fantastic location.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
karen k wrote a review Sept 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from an 11 night holiday at Dafarn Rhos and what an exceptional campsite. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome, all the staff we met were friendly and helpful. The site is very clean and tidy with wonderful free hot showers and warm outdoor showers to wash off wetsuits and beach shoes after returning from the beach. Security gates for added peace of mind. The views of Lligwy beach are amazing. The coastal paths run from either side of the beach so lots to explore, a medieval village a short walk from the site. No shop on site but a walk into the village of Moelfre there is a well stocked shop.
A wonderful place to recharge will definitely be going back, thankyou Dafarn Rhos.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dafarn Rhos, General Manager at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site
Responded 11 Oct 2021
Thank you for your great review. We look forward to welcoming you back at Dafarn Rhos
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul L wrote a review Sept 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Got back in the last few days after spending a week with family and friends. We took our trailer tent. One evening we were all chatting in one of the tents with the radio on as back ground and we got a polite reminder it was approaching 10:30pm.

On another occasion myself and my wife went to wash the dishes so we asked a friend to keep an eye on our Springer Spaniel, he decided as it was quiet to take him off the lead and throw the ball for him.

NOW, at this point you might be checking my rating being 5 out of 5 as I seem to be complaining, well, you would be wrong I would like to congratulate the staff for upholding the rules which we were totally aware of before hand. This site is so perfect for us. I actually wish more would do the same well done.
If i do have a small complaint it would have been nice if the guy in question would have approached our friend instead of shouting it across the field, we heard him tell his colleague that even though it was quiet rules are rules. Which I absolutely agree with.

The toilet areas were fantastic, very modern and clean, however, the taps were cold (I believe to stop the possibility of children getting scalded) and by the end of the week was getting a bit fed up of shaving in cold water.
Although this is probably easily solved with a couple of mixer valves, I again get why they might be waiting until the winter/quieter months before a more permanent solution is carried out.

The shower rooms are very modern, spacious, clean and the water is lovely and hot. I even tried shaving in the shower but didn't quite work for me (I'm used to a mirror). The views from the site are sensational, and is one of the more secure sites ive been to, the staff are very polite and helpful. On the whole apart from the cold taps can't fault Dafarn Rhos at all hence my 5 out of 5

Would I return, 100% I would. If they will have us of course. Thank you for a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dafarnrhos Ltd, General Manager at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site
Responded 7 May 2024
Very pleased you had a lovely week and we appreciate your comments.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve W wrote a review May 2022
Stockport, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff at the site make you feel like an old friend, even if you have to arrive a day after you booked due to unexpected mechanical problems.
The facilities are better than some hotels we’ve stayed in and the scenery is beautiful.
With a short walk to Lligwy beach and access to the coastal paths you can get the dogs out for a good walk and then use the first rate showers to relax before dinner.
A special thanks to Linda for helping us out after all the mechanical problems and keeping our pitch.
I genuinely don’t understand why this site hasn’t got a full five star rating as we feel it deserves six.
The only drawback is Apple maps has a tendency to try and take you to the farm next door! Sat-nav can still be stupid.
We’re going back again as often as we possibly can.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dafarnrhos Ltd, General Manager at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site
Responded 25 Jun 2022
We really appreciate your great review mentioning how helpful we have been. Look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian C wrote a review Sept 2021
Gloucester, United Kingdom47 contributions19 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Should have got the insurance. Basically, I didn't, and when I tested positive on a lateral flow the day before we were due to arrive I thought I would do the responsible and legal thing, and self isolate and get a PCR.
I e mailed the park, who basically weren't interested hiding behind the saying " We told you to get your own insurance"
I would have understood if they would have kept the initial deposit, and refunded the rest but no. All other composites have rescheduled before, but at Dafarn Rhos, there is no compassion and no rescheduling. The member of staff was very rude on the phone, should have read all the reviews before booking, but never again, they have had enough cash from me without any services provided.
So, I learned the hard way, just don't book with these people without insurance, because allegedly they are 100% fully booked all of the time and won't entertain re scheduling at all.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dafarn Rhos, General Manager at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site
Responded 11 Oct 2021
Thank you for highlighting getting adequate holiday insurance for cancellations. “All other composites (campsites) have rescheduled before.” It is sad to hear that you have cancelled many other campsites, we certainly hope not “the day before we were due to arrive” saying “tested positive on a lateral flow”, preventing others from booking a holiday and due to the short notice businesses losing money. You booked by telephone and before any payment was made, we explained our cancellation policy and recommended you take out holiday cancellation insurance. In the email confirming your booking, the booking summary, with the payment details which we asked you to check has “Advised of cancellation and lock down terms and to get holiday cancellation insurance”. There were 4 occasions where you were personally given the cancellation information, there is also detailed information on the campsite website under Booking info tab “Cancellation, Lockdown and Insurance”. We do allow re scheduling up to 20 days before arrival date. Your booking was in September and yes we were fully booked to the end of September when the site shuts. Cancelling the day before arrival did not give us any time in which to re book your pitch. A member of staff was contacted on the telephone by your daughter, not yourselves, who was advised that we could not discuss the matter of the booking details with her due to data protection. However, the general cancellation policy was very politely explained in detail.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
amycurran wrote a review Sept 2021
Hadleigh, United Kingdom123 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Dafarn Rhos for 5 nights after our neighbours recommended the site.
The views are incredible and the beach is lovely. The Welsh coastal path is nearby and offers some great walks. You’re only an hour away from Snowdon too.
The site itself is kept very clean and tidy, the pitches are nice water close, and the grass areas are really nice and lush.
The facilities are really good and cleaned daily.
Before writing this review, I’ve just read some of the negative ones and I’m shocked.
We only had nice experiences, the staff were all friendly and this morning when we left they opened the office early for me so I could return the key fob and check out as I was too early.
When booking on the phone it was made clear that dogs were to be kept on leads and no noice after 10:30pm…. Perfect!
It’s nice to know the rules before arrival so you know if the site is for you or not.
We were out walking / exploring all day so no chance of us being up later than 9pm anyway.
The area is lovely and there is plenty of amenities close by.
If you want a loud roudy site with dogs running about and any Tom, Dick or Harry allowed on any time of the day and night go to a festival. If you want a quiet, clean, friendly campsite with fantastic views and a lovely beach give Dafarn Rhos a visit, we thoroughly enjoyed it!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dafarn Rhos, General Manager at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site
Responded 19 Sept 2021
Pleased you followed up your neighbours recommendation and you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda W wrote a review Jun 2021
Chester, United Kingdom14 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned after an 11 night stay at Dafarn Rhos caravan and camp site. It was our first visit with our two dogs but most certainly will not be our last. Without exception every single member of staff was so friendly and helpful, always on hand to help in whatever way they could. The shower blocks and toilets were always clean and the whole site is spotless.
The location is just stunning, with Lligwy Beach right on the doorstep, it really is breathtaking. Do not hesitate in booking this site you will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dafarn Rhos, General Manager at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site
Responded 5 Sept 2021
After 11 nights stay we are so pleased you will be returning, you found the staff friendly and helpful with the facilities clean and site spotless.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Dee S
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
Yes your dog needs to be on a short lead while on the campsite, but when you are on your pitch your dog can be on a longer lead as long as its on your pitch and not on anyone else's. Hope this helps.
Answer from fatbelly33
Manchester, United Kingdom69 contributions30 helpful votes
Ring the site. Their number is on their website
Answer from Snapplegrape
United Kingdom378 contributions183 helpful votes
Having worked at Dafarn Rhos there is only only one tent allowed on each pitch and they must be next to each other. Site usually opens just before Easter so ring the number on the website.
Answer from Snapplegrape
United Kingdom378 contributions183 helpful votes
As a previous warden,you are advised that arrivals are after 2pm. Lunch is from 1-2pm so the office is closed. There is only a narrow road leading to the site, we always suggested if you arrived before 2pm park in the large car park in Moelfre then at 2pm drive the 3 min drive to the site and there would be no problems.
Answer from Dafarnrhos L
Moelfre, United Kingdom1 contribution
There is a pub and several other establishments that serves food in the nearest village of Moelfre, which is just over one mile by road, or 2 miles by the all Wales coastal path. For up to date availability please contact the site office on 01248 410 607
iain & Sam wrote a tip 9 Jun
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want an enjoyable holiday, look elsewhere "
Read full review
Leonie D wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Follow the directions of the staff and on the email confirmation don’t follow satnav. Other than that enjoy, it’s amazing. "
Read full review
RobH1983 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Liverpool, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stick to the rules of the site to keep it nice for everyone! We’ve been to so many that have been spoilt by not keeping to the rules. "
Read full review
Irene B wrote a tip Sept 2023
Accrington, United Kingdom9 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look for a site that gives everyone the same standard of pitch 5 fields different standers as you get to back field 🤔"
Read full review
Natalia B wrote a tip Jun 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Campsite not hotel. 🙃"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Moelfre area.
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesAngleseyMoelfre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DAFARN RHOS CARAVAN AND CAMPING SITE - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site
Which popular attractions are close to Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site?
Nearby attractions include Parys Mountain (4.2 miles), RNLI Moelfre Lifeboat Station (1.2 miles), and Benllech Beach (3.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, internet access, and self serve laundry.
Is parking available at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site?
Conveniently located restaurants include Benllech Tandoori Restaurant, Pebbles Bistro, and The Tavern on the Bay.
Are pets allowed at Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lligwy Burial Chamber (0.6 miles) and Capel Llugwy (0.2 miles).
Is Dafarn Rhos Caravan and Camping Site accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.