Lyons Woodlands Hall Holiday Park & Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Lyons Woodlands Hall Holiday Park & Hotel

Traveller (182)
more park views
Room & Suite (52)
Lyons Woodlands Hall Bar
Dining (18)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#2 of 2 small hotels in Ruthin
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Set on the outskirts of historic Ruthin, Lyons Woodlands Hall offers a quaint and quiet break in the countryside. Seven hotel rooms, a variety of static holiday home accommodation, a restaurant and excellent facilities mean that we have something to offer for everybody - whether you're looking for a secluded hot tub retreat or a quaint country hotel escape. Ideal for walkers, cyclists, and nature lovers - and those who yearn for relaxation in our gym sauna, and tennis courts.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Game room
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Non-smoking hotel
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
307Reviews6Q+A58Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 175
  • 64
  • 28
  • 12
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Stephanie Nicole wrote a review Feb 2020
Denbigh, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our room. We were given the king size Tower room with a separate staircase to our bathroom. Very nice although the windows had been left open so when we checked in at 9pm it was pretty chilly!! There's an iron in the room but couldn't find an ironing board so if you wanted to iron something you might have some fun with that. Also couldn't find a hairdryer in the room so it was lucky I had brought my own. The toilet also did not flush very well and there were dead flies in the bathroom light.
One thing in particular had let down the hotel during our experience which relates to the inaccurate information in the information folder in our room. (Please see attached photo of the page in the folder).
We needed to get up early as we had plans and the book said that breakfast was 8am so we went downstairs for 8.10am and there was nobody to be seen. We had to find the breakfast room as we were not shown where it was. It was laid out ready but no staff at all, either in the kitchen or on reception. We were very confused so we waited ten minutes and luckily the Warden wandered in and said breakfast didn't start until 9am at the weekend. To be fair to the Warden he offered to make us some toast and showed us where to make our own hot drink, so a huge thank you to him because that it not his job!
However the situation was incredibly frustrating as it meant we couldn't wait around because we had somewhere to be and our room rate had included breakfast so we felt like we had overpaid. By the time we left at 9am there were staff finally arriving but we had to go. We just felt like we weren't really valued as customers of the hotel. Hopefully the inaccurate information in the books will be corrected so other customers don't go through what we did!!
We hope the hotel might consider us for a refund for the breakfasts.
Customer service and accurate information sadly left a lot to be desired during our visit.
I don't like to complain, but I do like the highlight areas where a hotel can improve as I have worked in hospitality.
To finish on a positive note: the Woodlands is in a nice location with lovely old fashioned rooms and we were grateful for the hotel fulfilling my request that chocolates be left on the pillow as it was a special Valentines trip.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lyons RobinHood, Owner at Lyons Woodlands Hall Holiday Park & Hotel
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Hello, thank you for your review. We are very pleased to read that you 'loved' your room. We always try to make sure that any special requests are met as we feel that it is the little things in life, which, so often make a difference. We thank you for the kind comments regarding the venue, however, we would like to assure readers that all our rooms do have a hairdryer (usually found in the top left hand draw of the chest) and the ironing board in the Tower room is in the big cupboard, together with the iron and fan. We have checked the toilet flush and it seems to be working perfectly. We found no flies in the bathroom light. We have checked the folders in the rooms with regard to information and can confirm that this has been updated. We are sincerely sorry that this caused you an inconvenience. With regard to Customer Service, our team at the park will always put our guests first. We feel that a good example of this is detailed in your own review when you describe how our Park Warden stepped in and offered to make you some toast and showed you where to make a hot drink. We will always receive any feedback as positive as we use it to continually improve our offer. We hope you will return again soon to the hotel to enjoy the beauty of both the hall and the surrounding countryside.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paulwoodhall wrote a review Aug 2021
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Some friends and I have just had the pleasure of staying at Woodland Hall caravan park in one of the many fantastic static homes on offer, from Monday to Friday for our motorcycle tour of North and Mid Wales.
On arrival at the park we were greeted by a very polite Joan and Belinda who swiftly checked us in and showed us to our home for the week. Everything was explained very clearly by Belinda and her knowledge of the local area was a great help.
The static homes are superb, a real home from home with everything and more needed for our stay. We parked our motorcycles directly outside the french doors to the front of our Static. When entering inside We were greeted with a fully furnished home with everything you would need for your stay. The kitchen was fully stocked with cuttelry, pots and pans etc. A large fridge for our beer and a gas grill with electric oven which cooked our bacon sarnies to perfection. Even the little things were catered for like all the condiments provided. There was a 4 seater dining table/chairs, a large sitting room with a 3 seater + 2 and a tv. Outside we also had a table and chairs for 4.
The 3 bedrooms consisted of 1 double and 2 single beds in each of the other rooms. One of the sofa’s turned into a double bed if required. All beds were fully made with fresh clean white linnen and extra pillows if required. The home had full central heating via a combi boiler which was perfect for drying our motorcycle gear and showering at the end of a long 200 mile day.
I must comment on the standard of cleanliness throughout which was exceptional.
The Hotel & Bar onsite were well presented and served good home cooked food with decent portion sizes. The bar was well stocked and served a good drink.
The site is quiet and tranquil with stunning views of the surrounding countryside. On the short walk to the pub on a night you can see the work that goes into maintaining the grounds and gardens which are very well kept.
We chose Woodlands Hall as our location for our annual motorbike trip as it is perfectly located with excellent biking roads. As soon as you leave the site the roads begin twisting their way and Within 10 minutes ride we were at the famous Ponderosa cafe and Horseshoe pass. Venture a little further to places such as Snowdonia, Lake Vyrnwy and even Elan valley to mention a few. Over the 5 day stay we rode the best roads that North and Mid Wales has to offer, some quite long days made easier knowing we were staying somewhere warm and friendly with good food and a bar when we had finished our route.
All in all what a fantastic week had, we cannot wait to return to this park again and ride some more as there’s so much more to see.
A huge thank you to Joan in bookings at Woodlands hall for arranging our stay and Belinda for ensuring our home from home exceeded expectations.
See you both again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah wrote a review Jan 2020
Anglesey, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this as a last minute suprise for my husband who grew up in this wonderful house. He had wanted to go back for a while and after a day out at chester zoo I suprised him with a night in this wonderful property. We arrived to a very friendly member of staff (I am so sorry I didnt get your name) Who promptly checked us in and we settled into the Tower room (my husbands childhood bedroom) Such an impressive building with stunning rooms and views. The Tower room comes with a really good sized en suite which is located just off the bedroom down approx 5 stairs, Bath, shower basin and loo. Bedroom has a good sized comfy bed with nice clean bedding, towels were also provided. Tea and coffee making facilities and water bottles were provided. Views from the window were stunning. We ate in the restaraunt and were not disappointed, we both had the mixed grill which was wonderful! Lovely atmosphere, very clean and tidy and stunning! We had a wonderful stay and will definitley be back. Thank you for such a fabulous trip down memory lane.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Tower room has wonderful views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LyonsHolidayParks, Public Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Holiday Park & Hotel
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Hello, what a wonderful story. We are so glad that your trip down memory lane was perfect for you. It must have been really strange for your husband waking up in his old bedroom again!! We thank you so much for your lovely comments, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FT967 wrote a review Nov 2021
London, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is not a hotel; it is a mobile home park clubhouse with rooms above. Absolutely not a hotel for a work trip. Avoid like the plague.

Loud, live music will thump in to your room and then loud recorded music until around 10.45 pm giving you a headache. You will then be subjected to drunks in the clubhouse below shouting and screaming until well gone midnight.

Food is overpriced, over-cooked and not to the menu. Breakfast only starts at 8 a.m. and they will ignore you until that time if you manage to find the breakfast room. Lucky I didn't turn up a day earlier as other guests told me the breakfast chef didn't turn up that day, so they got no breakfast!

Only saving grace and why I would give the one star if I had a choice, is the cleanliness of the bedroom. The bathroom has a low ceiling in this beautiful period room, so do be careful when getting out of the bath. Bed was so wobbly that it shook every time the music thumped!

When mentioning the noise levels and lack of sleep I was told "well, it does say about live music on our website". This was from the same receptionist that checked me in and knew I booked through hotels.com and not the establishment website. hotels.com makes no mention you get very little sleep here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Go elsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mel D wrote a review Jun 2021
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is my new favourite place to stay. Such a lovely warm welcome from all the staff,the room (Tower room) was simply stunning with original features ,exposed beams and wood panelling . Spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you need. The hotel has beautiful wood carvings throughout ,cosy bar area ,lovely conservatory that serves outstanding meals. Patio area at the front is a suntrap and the surrounding caravan park is immaculately kept and lovelyto walk around before for after your evening meal with very friendly residents.Breakfast was served by a lovely lady and was delicious especially the sausage.Can't wait to come back with friends so they can share the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chloe L, Marketing at Lyons Woodlands Hall Holiday Park & Hotel
Responded 6 Jul 2021
Thank you so much for your glowing review, we hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helen arbuckle wrote a review Sept 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked 3 rooms for my family for a birthday trip. The hotel was lovely with gorgeous views,the rooms were spotless and the staff were absolutely lovely and just go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick and MA L wrote a review Jul 2021
North Wales, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Billed as a 4 star business hotel , we were expecting the holiday park setting, but the stay was truly awful. Starting with the highlight … staff were really friendly and welcoming. Thank you. But the room was dirty, we could write in the dust.. it was really dirty. The bed was not made up after our first night, one needs to ask for loo roll or coffee. The bed was uncomfortable, the high speed WiFi advertised as slow as a snail ( but 4g so toggling with phones worked). Staff did not wear masks consistently or comply with COVID regulations. Others have reviewed food as good so perhaps we struck unlucky … but asking for brown bread or fresh milk at breakfast to find that it could not be done … we were pleased to leave .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stuart G wrote a review Nov 2022
Longton, United Kingdom
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in the hotel Sunday to Thursday from the 11th September. I didn't have very high hopes as I read reviews before I stayed, but work booked this venue for me.

Arrival, collect your keys from the bar area. Asked the very polite staffembwr about breakfast, and was told it was just downstairs, despite other reviews saying the breakfast room was hard to find. Got shown to my room, WAGNER, initial impression were good.

Then I had a look around my room. It's a step up into the bathroom. The shower sealant is definitely mouldy, pictures attached.

Breakfast, could find the breakfast room and had to ask. I was the only person in there. Set out on the table was milk, juice and a fruit bowl. The apple on top of the bowl was mouldy, and had seen better days. Was offered a cooked breakfast, but had cereal in the only remaining clean bowl.

Day 2, no clean bowl, had cereal in a mug that was on the table.

Day 3, no milk on the table, had a look in the fridge next to the table, and found a jug of moulding milk, I showed this to staff who I believe was the staff, he apologised and said he had been on holiday. No clean bowls again, has cereal with fresh milk again in a mug from my sticky table. I never bothered with breakfast again.

Room was never cleaned, there was a large dead spider behind the bedroom door which stayed there all week, and there was long hair in the shower tray.

The remote control for the TV was filthy, again, please look at my pictures.

I would NEVER pay to stay in the place, and from reading other reviews I don't know why anyone does. Such a shame because the site looks really good.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Go somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lila2708 wrote a review Sept 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a one night stay for the bank holiday Monday for myself and my husband and our 2 children. First and foremost the staff were incredibly lovely and helpful and the reason I gave this hotel 3 stars.
Room was clean and a really good size but a little worn and old fashioned. Amenities in the room were good, lots of storage and tea/coffee facilities. Bathroom was clean and a good size if again a little dated in decor.
When we arrived a member of staff told us that they were short staffed because several are off self isolating due to Covid-19. This meant that the kitchen was closed and there was no dinner available or hot breakfast (that we had paid for in the price of the stay). This is something that should have been communicated before we arrived - a quick phone call so we could have booked a meal for the evening at least. As such we have no where booked and as it was the last night of the eat out/help out we drove for over an hour to find somewhere to eat ending up in a Wetherspoons near by.
The place was really noisy through the night and unfortunately the walls are paper thin - I mean this when I say I literally heard the person in the room next to us using the toilet. This needs to be addressed.
Breakfast was actually really good. The manager made a huge effort to compensate for the lack of hot food and gave us a beautifully presented and substantial selection of cold food. Big thank you to him for his efforts.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carllb1 wrote a review Dec 2021
Crewe, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent Christmas here and we had a fantastic time. The staff, Joan, Steve and all the other staff were fantastic, nothing was to much trouble at all. The food was amazing, hot, fresh, we chose to take ours away and eat it in our accomodation. Food serverd on proper plates, well wrapped so it stayed hot and was delicious. We have stayed here many times now and this was our best experience ever. Thanks so much all of you, we will see you again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elyse1416 asked a question Oct 2022
St Helens, United Kingdom1 contribution3 helpful votes
Is there a swimming pool?
Retro Sue 58 asked a question Sept 2018
4 contributions8 helpful votes
Do they Allow dogs? Ty
Answer from Tony B
Walsall, United Kingdom
My family and I stayed in a caravan on site and my dog was made very welcome yes
Sharon H asked a question Oct 2016
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom138 contributions74 helpful votes
Hi do you have an iron in the room thanks
Answer from Cliffordjon
Darwen, United Kingdom137 contributions10 helpful votes
Hi You can get iron and board , they will bring them to your room, if not in Also tea coffee biscuits and bottled still or sparkling water all free
brownpeter33 asked a question Aug 2016
Liverpool, United Kingdom3 contributions
any smoking facilities
Kristy H wrote a tip Jun 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Reception isn't the best, and the location is very rural so don't expect to be able to get food delivered! "
Read full review
clarapandy wrote a tip Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom47 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Perfect for Sunday lunch, if you are in the area on a Sunday you can’t go wrong"
Read full review
Bev E wrote a tip Sept 2023
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom654 contributions129 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"we stayed in caravan 94. Can't go wrong"
Read full review
John N wrote a tip Sept 2023
4 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Its a must to eat on site as they are second to none. "
Read full review
clairiewales wrote a tip Jun 2023
Holywell, United Kingdom47 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use sat nav to get there through narrow roads "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ruthin area.
PRICE RANGE
£62 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesDenbighshireRuthin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LYONS WOODLANDS HALL HOLIDAY PARK & HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Lyons Woodlands Hall Holiday Park & Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Lyons Woodlands Hall Holiday Park & Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Ruthin Gaol - Carchar Rhuthun (1.9 miles), Nantclwyd Y Dre Historic House and Gardens (2.1 miles), and Ruthin Craft Centre (2.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lyons Woodlands Hall Holiday Park & Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Lyons Woodlands Hall Holiday Park & Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lyons Woodlands Hall Holiday Park & Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lyons Woodlands Hall Holiday Park & Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Small Plates, The White Horse Restaurant, and Nant y Felin.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lyons Woodlands Hall Holiday Park & Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Lyons Woodlands Hall Holiday Park & Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ruthin Gaol - Carchar Rhuthun (1.9 miles), Nantclwyd Y Dre Historic House and Gardens (2.1 miles), and Church of St Peter (2.1 miles).
All Ruthin HotelsRuthin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RuthinHotels near Lyons Woodlands Hall Holiday Park & Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire