Ruthin Castle Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ruthin Castle Hotel

Hotel Corridor
Traveller (4173)
Panorama at the Ruthin Castle Hotel
360
Panoramas (30)
Room & Suite (766)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
£109
Get rewarded with One Key
£93
Get rewarded with One Key
£76
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#2 of 2 hotels in Ruthin
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
A magical Welsh hotel with medieval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU Wales
4,041Reviews44Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,598
  • 1,043
  • 591
  • 370
  • 441
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
shelemar wrote a review Aug 2020
england171 contributions97 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here 40 years ago and had a fantastic holiday. We recently booked for a 2 day stay which we have just completed. This hotel which is a genuine castle was bought at the end of last year for 5 million, and probably requires another 5 million to be spent to bring it up to the high standard where it should be.
It had only just opened following lockdown so there were no recent reviews, but the ones now published do not paint a rosy picture. In fact, our first day here left much to be desired and it was that evening that the first reviews were published making hard reading for the new owner.
I can report that following this, an overnight transformation took place much for the better.
If you are looking for a memorable experience in a historical building of interest book here, if you want bland book the Travelodge.
The good points, the rooms are Ok, most have great views, the enormous beds are comfy, the air conditioning was efficient and silent which in a heat wave was a blessing. The bathroom included a roll top bath with shower, complimentary toiletries and large fluffy towels. There is free WIFI and a TV. The gardens cover 35 acres and are certainly worth a stroll round. The restaurant menu and wine list are a little limited but the food was of a good standard. There is a comfortable bar and friendly lounge where you can swop stories with other guests. The staff were all friendly and helpful.
There’s no getting away it needs a bit of TLC but how often will you get the chance to stay in a place like this, it's in a wonderful part of the world and you will come away with lots of memories.
Will I stay again Yes and I won’t wait 40 years.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mjstyles wrote a review Jan 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom58 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
For the most part the stay was great.

Sadly the service doesn't tend to come with a smile. Someone else who was staying with us had an argument after the price agreed for their room on the phone was increased when it came to pay.

We went down for breakfast and it was cooked to order. When we asked for a vegetarian breakfast were told that there weren't any veggie replacement options and the breakfast was limited. Actually the breakfast was fine but the staff member seemed more disappointed than us!

Sadly the spa was closed for refurbishment. The spa facilities were a big reason we chose the hotel so it is pretty disappointing that we weren't informed in advance, or offered a refund. There are plenty of low review for the hotel as a result of this, none of which have been responded to. I do think management should at least acknowledge that this is a problem. Supposedly it opens again today.

The decor is nice but the bed was rock solid. I assume (I hope) that our mattress was one which is due for replacement as part of the refurbishment. The double bed was two singles pushed together.

This hotel has a huge amount of potential but it needs some customer service and renovation completions for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from operationsruthin, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Dear mjstyles Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I was clearly disappointed to read that we did not live up to our usual standard of service. I would really like the opportunity to discuss your stay with us , I am happy to call you to discuss further .Could you please email me a time to arrange a call . My email address is : ops@ruthincastle.co.uk Thank you again for taking the time to give us this feedback
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Teecee28 wrote a review Mar 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom13 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my partner stayed here for his birthday for one night which included dinner and breakfast. We stayed in a suite which was absolutely amazing we had a huge four poster bed, ab amazing dual bathtub as well as a super huge shower and amazing bathroom. The room also included a dressing room area and provided everything he needed such as an iron and a trouser press. dinner was served as a three course option however payments for surplus items was needed. The food was very delicious as well as the drinks accompanying them.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rhys Davies, General Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Hi there Teecee28 , thank you ever so much for taking the time to rate us , I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us , I will be sure to show the team . Until next time Rhys Davies Operations Manager Ruthin Castle Hotel & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FlintshireWhittle wrote a review Mar 2020
Caerwys, United Kingdom65 contributions20 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and myself went to Ruthin castle for Sunday lunch yesterday.
We have been to a number of restaurants with Groupon but this has to be the worst!!Hubby had the Ham hock terrine to start which was ok but the 1/2 slice of dry yellow bread tasted like what I'd imagine smelly socks to taste like, i chose the prawn cocktail which consisted of a small lettuce leaf with a few prawns and sauce on, no lemon, garnish or brown bread and butter.
We ate that which didn't take long and our plates were cleared away, 1/2 hr later i managed to get the attention of a waitress, she came over and asked if we were ready for deserts?? I told her we hadn't had our dinner yet so she said she would go and tell the chef, 10 mins later she came to apologise and said it wouldn't be long, another 10mins and it was brought out. It wasn't good, we had 2 small slices of rare tough beef, 3 small pieces of cauliflower, a splat of mushed carrots and 2 small kept warm roasties, the Yorkshire pudding was huge but extremely greasy with a tiny amount of gravy, I couldn't catch a waitresses eye to ask for more!! The plates were cleared and we asked if we could have deserts instead of the bottle of wine as we rarely drink so were told yes that would be fine. We ordered the sticky toffee pudding and once again after 1/2hr we had to ask for it, i am glad we waited for it as it was definitely the nicest part of the meal. All in all it took 2hrs for us to have our meal. I would definitely say give this place a miss and don't waste your money, you'd be better off going to weatherspoons for your lunch.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rhys Davies, General Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Hi there , I am terribly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit , I do however thank you for your feedback as without it we cannot improve as a business. I have arranged a team meeting in the next coming weeks and will be addressing the points that you have made! Rhys Davies Operations Manager Ruthin Castle Hotel & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tamar T wrote a review Aug 2020
Suffolk, United Kingdom249 contributions213 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I feel sad to give a two star review but despite the wonderfully historic building there are so many problems at this hotel I can’t give it a higher rating. The staff are friendly. The public rooms are grand and display brave decoration but the large cracks are not only in the external walls (and there are some worrying cracks on those walls!)
The rooms were never cleaned. We were told that is because of COVID-19 but other hotels manage cleaning by going in no sooner than 30 minutes after guests have left the room.
We had dinner on the first night and it was ok. Not as bad as some of the reviews I’d read; average I would say, which doesn’t quite fit with the image of a castle that regularly entertained royalty.
Breakfast was something else. They couldn’t cook scrambled eggs because they were too busy . . .these paying guests are such a nuisance! Orange juice was served in individual cartons with plastic straws: the sight of those being plonked on tables resulted in a lot of jaws dropping in astonishment. I’ve never seen anything like it in a hotel that claims to be a four *. Breakfast was a full Welsh. No alternatives (probably because there were too many of those irritating paying guests ) which was fine but in a four* hotel I would have expected options, even pre-packed ones.
The rooms aren’t great, comfortable enough but the rooms allocated to us had terrible views from the windows: damaged pipes, weeds growing out of walls, moss covered damaged flat roof and similar views. The hotel wasn’t that busy so why rooms with better views of an indisputably beautiful place weren’t allocated first I don’t know. The gardens are, sadly, neglected but it is possible to see that in more prosperous times they would have been fabulous.
The day we left the cleaners were in the rooms almost the moment we left, completely contrary to the COVID-19 rules and making even more of a nonsense if the fact that our rooms weren’t cleaned during our stay.
I wish I’d stayed at Ruthin Castle in its day but that day seems to be long passed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Another hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janette C wrote a review Sept 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Ruthin Castle and took advantage of the Limited Edition Spa Break on 13th September, and what a great deal it was. Like many others, we were slightly apprehensive after reading so many bad reviews on Trip Advisor. We needn't have worried for one second, the stay was perfect.
The staff could not have been more courteous and professional if they had tried. We purposefully arrived an hour after check-in opened, as we understood extra cleaning was taking place due to Covid-19 and wanted to give the hotel some extra time. This also worked out well for us as we took advantage of the beautiful sunshine and had lunch in the nearby town.
We were checked in quickly at reception and our dinner and breakfast reservations were made. As we were checking in later, the main restaurant was full so we were put in to the library room. We still had the same menu but we definitely 'lucked out' here, as the room is fab with a nice ambience and a host who couldn't do enough for us. The food was lovely (ham hock and tomato soup for starters, followed by the beef and seabass for the main course).We had some questions about our treatment the following day, and the gentleman at reception was kind enough to answer them, even though I believe he was no longer on duty.
We had room 202 which was very clean and had a great view, especially of the peacocks wandering around the castle. The only comment I could make was that the iron had some black marks on it, which caused a mark on my husband's shirt, nothing that couldn't be fixed, and I did tell him it was his own fault for not ironing his shirt before we left!
I'm not sure if the room has recently been renovated, as we couldn't see any signs of wear and tear that others were talking about. Yes the hotel is worn in places, but it's a castle and is understandably going through a lot of changes.
The king size bed was comfortable and we both had a great nights sleep.
The next day we had a Welsh breakfast in the main dining room, again good service and we felt very safe with all Covid precautions that have been taken. It was the first day that masks were compulsory in Wales, signs clearly on display everywhere and all guests were adhering to this. I can honestly say I have not felt as safe anywhere recently, as I have done here.
Finally to top off our stay, we had our massages in the spa. The girls were so lovely and we came out feeling very relaxed. We honestly didn't want to leave and will definitely be back soon! Credit where credit is due, great place, great staff, great location. Take the reviews on here with a pinch of salt.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James Cunningham, General Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel
Responded 15 Sept 2020
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review - I am so pleased you enjoyed your brteak with us here at Ruthin Castle. The team are working very hard to ensure people feel safe, secure and above all welcomed so I am so pleased their efforts are recognised. I look forward to welcoming you back to Ruthin Castle again very soon! James
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RebeccaG wrote a review Sept 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at Ruthin Castle quite a few times in the past and absolutely loved it. We were in North Wales for a family funeral at the beginning of August. We booked a suite for 2 nights. On their website it says the hotel is dog friendly. I called the hotel 19 times at different times of the day and evening in the week leading up to our visit just to double check that it was ok to bring our dog, no one ever answered the phone. I left 2 voicemails, no one returned my calls and sent numerous emails which were ignored. We arrived after a 5 hour car journey to book in, it was 8 minutes to 3. Book in time is 3pm. The receptionist said your room is not ready yet, we said it's 8 minutes to 3, she said let me go and check if it's ready, it may not have been cleaned yet or there might be another guest in it. I should hope not during a pandemic. She asked if we had read the notice on reception, I said no we just walked in. She showed us a notice which said they are very short staffed and could people please be nice. Not a great start. We were then told that the restaurant was not fully operational and that they had a buffet available with a choice of 3 main courses. When we booked direct with the hotel there was no mention of this at all. We then had to drive for a further hour and a half to my husband's sisters house who very kindly offered to look after our dog overnight for us. We were absolutely exhausted. The Hotel has a pub in the grounds which we have been to on previous visits, we once went to Medieval Banquet there which was great fun. The pub on this visit was locked up as were all communal lounges/bars which we had previously enjoyed very much, the doors to all these rooms intended for guests to relax in were locked. The hotel in general is incredibly run down, the carpets are not hoovered there is dust and cobwebs everywhere, the windows are rotten and filthy. There was mold in our bathroom, the windows in our bedroom would not stay open, we had to prop them open with a coat hanger. What an incredible shame. The receptionist was pretty rude and unhelpful. We were told that the hotel was fully booked. The only bar open was really small, more of a hatch with a very confined space to sit. Luckily it was just warm enough for us to sit outside. None of the staff wore masks which in a hotel charging that kind of money is absolutely unacceptable. We will never stay there again. How sad. If they are short staffed they should not accept maximum occupancy and offer nothing to people who deserve a lovely place to stay which Ruthin Castle once was. We cancelled the second night as it was so bad.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heebee100 wrote a review Sept 2020
Crewe, United Kingdom9 contributions21 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 1 night. There are some positives. It is a beautiful building with lovely grounds. The front of house staff are doing their best but it is clear there are several issues.
The Housekeeping manager needs to train staff properly. The room we had was very small. We could forgive that however not the huge cobwebs and residue left on the sink. Shower curtain dirty at the base. No mugs with kettle either. Large chunks of plaster missing out of the bedroom wall and the bed , whilst comfortable, sank in the middle as was either cheap or old. Soundproofing is poor as all conversations in the corridor can be heard as well as loud snoring of a guest in the neighbouring bedroom which kept us awake.

Dinner was good. Breakfast was acceptable however we had to rush it as we were forgotten about. You book a set time which is perfectly understandable in the current climate. Ours was for 10am. We were seated and ordered by 10.10am and were given breakfast at 10.45am after a reminder. We don’t mind waiting but not when an order is not being processed. When it arrived it felt like it had lots of what perhaps was left (4 rashers of bacon!) and no egg but was edible.

The building itself is being decorated no problem with that as it does need upgrading, but the priorities need looking at. Doors to bedrooms give a shoddy appearance as the paint is chipped on the majority which creates a poor impression. These should be done ASAP.

It is such a shame as it could be outstanding with better organisation. Sadly, there are lots of small things that add up to make the hotel not worthy of the price they charge. I would suggest giving it 6 months before you visit by which time it will either close due to lack of returning clients and recommendation or they will have taken on board issues raised by visitors. Nice people do not complain- they just don’t go back and advise others not too.

I would like this hotel to be successful but fear it is lacking effectively managed departments that all combine to make it a 2 of 5 instead of the 5 out of 5 experience it has the potential to be.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jane D wrote a review Feb 2020
Walsall, United Kingdom23 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
25th January we visited Ruthin castle for 3 course meal one nights accommodation in a deluxe room with buffet breakfast included . Room was not as Ruthin castle web site photos . Room was shabby dirty an freezing cold . Curtains where hanging loose of railing coffee or tea run stain marks up walls. Bed head was broken & badly glued back on whilst the wooden stead an frame thick with dust socket hanging of wall.The bathroom had one towel rail to keep it warm measuring 5 square meters by 4 meters high 🥶 it’s was freezing also bath mat had black mould on it and shower seal had orange rusty staining very of putting. Our bed room also only panel heater to heat 4 meter high room bedroom was so cold we had to sit under covers to keep warm. Meal was very nice service not what you would expect paying castle prices. Breakfast was buffet no vegetarian sausage no choice of eggs just fried. The bainemar Marie was empty no eggs . I saw staff with a tray of eggs walking to buffet so I got up and went to stand waiting for eggs to be placed in container. Server stood to side of me placing one egg on peoples plates as I continued to wait for said eggs. After he served 6 random people walking up not in queue. I said excuse me can I have eggs please he place one egg on my empty plate then turned to serve people walking up again. So again I asked excuse me can I have another egg ? His reply NO one egg per person there’s a lot of people here want eggs 👀👀 I was so embarrassed an tearful I left the breakfast room to complain. I made a formal complaint there an then. I also asked for a copy of complaint . That was 8 days ago as you can see on email complaint I asked to be contacted. Today after several attempts to get some one to answer phone I got through. To be Tod the head of operations Johnny some thing ? I did ask for name but was told by reception she can not spell it I did ask is it not on paper work etc but her only concern was to end our call as people was trying to get through to book ! After asking for contact number she said he has no land line 🤷🏻‍♀️ Email address then he doesn’t have one 🤷🏻‍♀️🤷🏻‍♀️ Really ? Service terrible room terrible buffet insulting response to complaint is to block you contacting the person that deals with complaint .. we stayed in July 2019 loved so was looking forward to this visit sadly I can not recommend Ruthin castle. Please see attached photos not as web site shows deluxe room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from operationsruthin, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Dear P1425EPjaned Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I was clearly disappointed to read that we did not live up to our usual standard of service. I would really like the opportunity to discuss your stay with us , I am happy to call you to discuss further .Could you please email me a time to arrange a call . My email address is : ops@ruthincastle.co.uk Thank you again for taking the time to give us this feedback
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra J wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We went for a Friends 40th birthday to the spa. NEVER AGAIN !!!!
2 girls on the front desk one young (she was lovely) the other one was so so rude and had shocking costumer services
The filtered water (from the tap) was warm when I asked for proper filtered water she was extremely rude and said her water is filtered from the pipes and then to the tap (not sure about this I'm not a plumber)
We Asked for ice to cool the water to he snapped at sayin I've told you we don't have ice my answer was somewhere in this hotel there must be ice she just continued to be rude!
We then went to the relaxation warm room for her to come and slam a bottle of cold water in my hand RUDE again I said to her your extremely rude she continued to argue.
The spa is very dated and was busy for the size of it.
Wet floors were very slippery
glasses and drink cups weren't clean but at this point thought it's best not to ask for anything else.
Changing room is extremely small and both hair dryers were broke we asked for a different one to be told if we hold the pipe then it will work better this got to hot to hold and was burning hot !

Afternoon tea.
We were seated the room smelt of wet dog or dirty dish water the tea cups were dirty.
We asked for clean cups and they smelt also.
The young waitress went and washed the cups so we could drink from them she was lovely.
The older waitress not so much

Over all the place needs a massive renovation and some staff training on customer services or a big change of staff before they lose even more costumers.

Remember manors and a smile are free they cost nothing and could give a completely different experience
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Sue T
Bangor, United Kingdom82 contributions33 helpful votes
Hi, we stay here at least once a month and absolutely love it.We were upgraded to Prince of Wales suite last time and it is amazingly luxurious , You need to appreciate the history and gorgeous grounds , and that it is dark in places as a castle should be . Enjoy your stay
Maureen S asked a question Oct 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Does the castle have a lift to the bedrooms
Answer from Steve55789
Wirral, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
I didn’t see any as I used the stairs but I don’t know.
Kps1955 asked a question Jul 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom124 contributions72 helpful votes
Without air con. How hot or not are the rooms ?
Answer from Debbie D
16 contributions
Rooms don't get hot, old part of castle have very thick walls. Bedding just right to keep you comfortable while sleeping.
Sam asked a question Jan 2022
11 contributions
Do you have room service
Answer from bucksian
London, United Kingdom19 contributions14 helpful votes
Think so but didnt use it. Really not a nice place.
terii15 asked a question Jul 2020
Do you accept dogs?
Nomad23264979416 wrote a tip Yesterday
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking ample and free. Staff friendly and welcoming. Food great. Not very good for disabled, many steps. Magical place, just ‘tired’"
Read full review
James1657 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Derby, United Kingdom71 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Easily walkable 10 mins into the village. Visit the prison a great couple of hours."
Read full review
Lesley G wrote a tip Apr 2024
Leeswood, United Kingdom17 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only had an afternoon tea here"
Read full review
Mike Price wrote a tip Apr 2024
Leicester, United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure that you look around the amazing gardens. The village itself is definitely worth the small walk. "
Read full review
Mrs X wrote a tip Apr 2024
manchester65 contributions64 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Children can’t use the spa but they will love the peacocks "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ruthin area.
PRICE RANGE
£67 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castle ruthin
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesDenbighshireRuthin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RUTHIN CASTLE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Ruthin Castle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ruthin Castle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Ruthin Gaol - Carchar Rhuthun (0.2 miles), Nantclwyd Y Dre Historic House and Gardens (0.1 miles), and Church of St Peter (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ruthin Castle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Ruthin Castle Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Ruthin Castle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ruthin Castle Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ruthin Castle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Small Plates, Leonardo'sDeli, and Manorhaus Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ruthin Castle Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Ruthin Castle Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Ruthin.
Does Ruthin Castle Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Ruthin Castle Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Ruthin Castle Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Ruthin HotelsRuthin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RuthinHotels near Ruthin Castle Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire