We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Castle Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 9 guest houses in Haverfordwest
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are situated just metres away from Haverfordwest castle. There are 9 recently refurbished en suite rooms all to a very high standard.We also have a restaurant called "Turrets" our head chef caters to a very high standard and produces outstanding food.Within easy reach of the cinema, sports centre and lots more Pembrokeshire attractions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Room features
Room service
Kitchenette
18Reviews0Q+A4Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Cathy R wrote a review 20 Apr
Gosport, England, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
The state of the shower cubicle in my room was unhygienic and disgusting. The room itself was okay although the mattress on the bed was not very comfortable as it dipped heavily at the head of the bed. Lots of tea and coffee sachets but no milk and I would have had to walk down 4 flights of stairs to speak to someone in the bar about it and then climb back up to my room as there is no lift . It says they offer room service but that would only apply if you are prepared to go downstairs into the bar to order anything and then climb back up to your room - they could at least install a house phone in the rooms. Although I booked to have breakfast I couldn't find any information as to where or when it was served (other than finding out by taking the long trek to the bar and back) so I didn't bother and went out and bought breakfast at one of the local cafes.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
AdeleC wrote a review Feb 2024
Cardiff, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
We popped in by chance on one of the wettest days ever. We had a lovely welcome from Lucy the manager. She was very chatty and mentioned they had rooms available upstairs. She even offered a reduced rate as my daughter and I are healthcare workers, which was a lovely gesture. There was a special on the menu, 2 main meals for £15. My daughter and I both had steak and ale pie , which was freshly Cooked and absolutely delicious. This is a really lovely pub, with fresh, tasty meals and lovely staff. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ailinor E wrote a review Dec 2023
Central African Republic14 contributions5 helpful votes
Went for large party, 3 course, Xmas dinner - it was excellent. A wide variety of both traditional and modern elements, the food was cooked to perfection and there was plenty of it. The service was great and the staff were amazing. Would definitely go again & would definitely recommend 👍
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Totally value for money
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sandytoes_1 wrote a review Sept 2023
pembrokeshire16 contributions3 helpful votes
I went to The Castle for Sunday lunch with a friend. The restaurant is upstairs and has been nicely decorated. It was light, airy and clean. Staff were very attentive and helpful throughout the meal. They checked that everything was to our liking throughout the meal. Even the chef came to see us. The food was amazing and there was plenty of it. The beef was tender, the Yorkshires were huge and homemade. There was a good selection of vegetables including roast potaotoes, parsnips and carrots. Delicious creamy garlic potatoes, cauliflower cheese and brocoli. Desert was just a good. A rich sticky brownie served with cream or ice cream. Great value at £38 for 2 mains, 2 deserts and a couple of drinks. I'll definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ali wrote a review Sept 2023
Milford Haven, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
Ate roast dinner here, it was really lovely food…asked if we wanted more veg, would definitely recommend, bar also looks lovely and inviting will come again. Thank you 🙏 Staff are really accommodating and helpful
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucy S, Innkeeper at Castle Hotel
Responded 4 Sept 2023
Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shelagh M wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
+1
We were notified that the hotel had entertainment and were warned it may be noisy, this was fine, noise was bearable. That said, the noise outside the hotel was awful, it went on till 430 in the morning both nights we were there. It was a disco in your room with cars racing up the road. Talking to locals, this apparently is the norm for that area. Cleanliness is an issue in the hotel. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, you could see and feel every spring. Bedside lights were unplugged and the room required rearranging to plug them in. The building is old so the floor slants in the room which meant that nothing in the room was level however the furniture was of such poor quality that it flexed and made the opening of doors difficult, the hotel are aware of this as they have attempted, unsuccessfully, to screw furniture to the walls. WiFi access point was plugged into a three pin outlet and just left on the landing floor. No towel rail in the bathroom, a towel rail/heater had been removed and open wires were left in what is a wet area, we reported this and a blanking plate was put on (if you look through reviews someone has mentioned this previously), there is a light in the bathroom which we don't believe is up to regulations. There was a short hallway outside the bathroom, one wall was covered with plasterboard only, there was a gap which meant you could see into the next room. Not sure how a plasterboard on a wall fits in with fire regulations for the building. When we reported this we were assured no one was in the room next door, we were initially offered another room but that offer was withdrawn an hour later. We were informed the room was fine and no one else had complained, looking through the reviews this isn't the case. We offered to move to another hotel, this was accepted by the manager but if we did then in accordance with the terms and conditions of moving there would be no refund.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Noise outside hotel on a weekend is horrendous, no sleep! Would look to other hotels!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucy S, Innkeeper at Castle Hotel
Responded 31 Aug 2023
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your comments and would like to address your concerns. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the minor building works in the adjacent room. While we understand that this was not an ideal situation, we did inform you in advance and unfortunately could not offer an alternative room due to being fully booked. We regret that you felt the need to express verbal abuse towards our staff, as that is not an acceptable way to address any issues. Regarding cleanliness, we can assure you all laundry and bedding was clean before your arrival the confusion regarding the room setup and the availability of plugs for the lamps. You took it upon yourselves to completely move the furniture and beds around to join together, may have resulted in the furniture becoming loose,we therefore feel it would have been no issue to plug two small lamps in, which indeed are left unplugged for safety reasons. We will make sure to provide clearer instructions in the future to avoid any inconvenience. As for the Wi-Fi, we understand that it is an essential amenity for many guests, and we strive to provide a reliable connection throughout the premises. We can confirm the router was no where near your room, causing no trip hazard. We appreciate your understanding regarding the character of our old listed building. The slant in the room is indeed part of its unique charm. Regarding the wires you mentioned, we assure you that they were not live and were covered up for safety reasons immediately In regards to a refund, Our refund policy is outlined in our terms and conditions, and unfortunately, we were not able to give you a free weekend stay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lynnehw7050 wrote a review May 2023
Caernarfon, United Kingdom108 contributions80 helpful votes
We stayed this weekend for two nights. We booked two rooms - a double and a single for a family of three. What struck us most was the absolute genuine lovelyness of the staff. Everyone was so nice and willing to help. The lady who owns the business was perhaps one of the nicest peope I've met and genuinely wanted you to have a great stay. Nothing was too much trouble. This is their first summer owning the business and they had not realised how hot the rooms can get but they were immediately on the case and looking for fans. They provided us with one for each room and they were a god send. The rooms were very clean and you could see an effort had been made to update the decor . The bathroom was big and had a lovely hot shower. There was plenty of tea and coffee in the room also. The beds were very comfortable and none of us had a problem sleeping. Because the hotel is on the maon square of the town there are some noises from nearby pubs and takeaways but the hum of the fans in our room drowned that out easily and we had two peaceful nights sleep. The bar down stairs was really nice. Perfectly clean and lovely lay out and furniture. There was a large selrction of drinks. We ate both nights at the hotel restraunt upstairs. We were equally impressed both nights. The menu is small but offers something for everyone. I had the Cauliflower Korma one night and is was stunning. Portion sizes were generous also, which pleased my husband! On the second night we had puddin with our meal - the apple crumble was gorgeous and could easily have fed two. I really liked the make over they had given the restraunt area , the colour scheme was very relaxing. The nicest part on the Saturday was having a Welsh speaking waitress. Having not heard a word of Welsh all weekend it was lovely to converse with her in Welsh. And she was so kind and attentive. The owners are working hard to make a success of the business , that is perfectly clear. I really wish them well. There is a lovely group of staff there that give the place a real charm. If ever I had reason to go back to Haverfordwest I would most certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: At the moment they d o not serve breakfast but there is a Morrison Cafe a short drive away and a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucy Sturley, Innkeeper at Castle Hotel
Responded 17 May 2023
Thank you so much for your kind review, would love to see you again! I’m so happy you enjoyed your stay ❤️
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mark A wrote a review Apr 2023
2 contributions
Wouldn't it be wonderful to be able to review this place? Outside looks lovely.... But at 10.30pm when you have a reservation but you are trapped outside a dark, closed hotel, one can only imagine the delights it must offer. My work booked this for me but I ended up looking for somewhere else for two hours or face a night on the streets of a small town which was all closed up. Abysmal service. Why would you close when you know your rooms are booked?! Because you know you get the money without the need to clean up behind a guest? Not the first time you've done this either according to the receptionist at a hotel that was able to take me after a lot of begging. Avoid booking here... Who knows if you'll get in and who needs that kind of uncertainty? TOTAL RIP OFF MERCHANTS!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucy Sturley, Innkeeper at Castle Hotel
Responded 9 Apr 2023
Sorry to hear of your negative experience but hope we can clarify matters. When booking the hotel via booking.com, we clearly state a check-in window of 4pm-6pm. Despite this, we welcomed your colleague who was also staying, with no prior notice of any late arrivals. at 10pm. When checking them in, we enquired as to your arrival and were informed that you no longer needed the room. We therefore left shortly after checking in your colleague on the understanding you were no longer needing the room. We always do our best to host and worked on the information we had at the time. The check in window is also confirmed in all booking confirmation emails. And I’m unsure of the local hotel you stayed at and have no knowledge of any complaints
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mia G wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
The Sunday dinner.... Absolutely excellent! So good we are booking again for today. Ample portions, delicious cheesy side and rich gravy complimented a great selection of veg, a huge yorkshire pud and cracking roasties. Our whole party was happy (which is rare lol)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lucy Sturley, Innkeeper at Castle Hotel
Responded 6 Feb 2023
Thank you so much for your review, I’m so glad you enjoyed
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Companion58360988742 wrote a review Feb 2023
United Kingdom
I recently had food here with my fiancé and our friend. We had fantastic service and the food was delicious. Staff were extremely helpful and kind. The Castle hotel is a fantastic looking space, very clean, very welcoming and very reasonable prices for food and beer. Highly recommend anyone to pay a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Haverfordwest area.
PRICE RANGE
£95 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesPembrokeshireHaverfordwest
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASTLE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Castle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Castle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Creative Cafe Haverfordwest (0.08 miles), The Ark (0.1 miles), and The Welsh Spitfire Museum (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Castle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Castle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Castle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Georges Restaurant & Cafe Bar, Get The Boys A Lift, and The Bristol Trader.
Is Castle Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Haverfordwest.
Are there any historical sites close to Castle Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pembroke Castle (9.0 miles), Chapel Bay Fort & Museum (9.5 miles), and Upton Castle Gardens (8.1 miles).