The Grove
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Grove

Traveller (143)
Room & Suite (44)
Gary with me on our departure
Dining (19)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
£100
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#5 of 6 hotels in St. Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value

Looking for a place to stay in St. Davids? Then look no further than Grove Hotel, a family-friendly hotel that brings the best of St. Davids to your doorstep.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel.

Grove Hotel features a sun terrace and outdoor furniture, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts free breakfast. If you are driving to Grove Hotel, free parking is available.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting St. Davids, Grove Hotel is located a short distance from Loshin's Emporium (0.1 mi) and St Justinian Lifeboat Station (2.0 mi).

Travellers looking to enjoy some lobster can head to Cwtch* or St Davids Kitchen. Otherwise, you may want to check out a cafe such as Oriel Y Parc Cafe, The Meadow, or Kayleigh's Cupcake Hut.

Should time allow, St. Davids Cathedral, St Davids Bishop's Palace, and St Non's Chapel and Holy Well are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Grove Hotel as you experience everything St. Davids has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitWales.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English

Location

High Street, St. Davids SA62 6SB Wales
593Reviews3Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 202
  • 179
  • 100
  • 54
  • 58
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Bob The walker wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A friend and I choose The Grove Hotel because it was convenient for walking the Pembrokeshire coast path, had onsite parking and free cancellation until a few days before the trip. We were taken aback by the busyness of St David's but then it was October Half term. However, we found the hotel team all friendly, relaxed and at ease making breakfast a pleasant experience. Because of the number of visitors to St David's all, the not very many, eating places were full but the Grove hotel team squeezed us in for dinner despite a sign outside saying fully booked and having been told in advance they recommend booking. The icing on the cake was a phone call received an hour after I returned home to say they found two pairs of walking boots and a coat left in the room I was using. Being over a four hour drive away made collecting them a non-starter. I asked if they could parcel them up and send them to me if I paid for it. They readily agreed to post them but would take no money, service beyond the call of duty I felt. Everything arrived five days later very well packaged and contents all as I left them. Why not five stars, the room we used was a little tired, everything worked and beds very comfortable but a fresh coat of paint would have brightened things up.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marston's Inns, Revenue Management at The Grove
Responded 15 Nov 2021
Hello, thank you, we really appreciate your feedback! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sigoLondon wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom212 contributions151 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The design and presentation concept of the hotel is good, nice little touches...originally.
All the staff we had contact with during our overnight stay were great. Couldn’t have been more helpful, professional and friendly.
The Sunday night dinner was freshly prepared, tasty and well presented. The breakfast the following morning also excellent for this class of hotel.
I have written to Brains HQ in Cardiff (constructively I hope) to bring to their attention that The Grove is in urgent need of a serious refresh. I have sent them photos, I will not post them here since the local management are probably just as frustrated as my wife and I were.
It seems such a pity that when otherwise the location is good, the staff excellent and the kitchen in capable hands, that the shabbiness lets everything down.
I hope something is done soon. Until it is, I wouldn’t dream of going back.
That all said, the room, bathroom and bed was very clean and we had a good night’s rest.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Josh Phillips, General Manager at The Grove
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Hi, Thanks for taking time to leave us a review and i appreciate the constructive comments. I am so pleased to hear that our staff and service was appreciated and I will pass on your comments to our team. With regard to refurbishment, there has been an ongoing development of the main front of house areas in the lounge and bar areas which has received a lot of positive feedback. There is an ongoing schedule of works planned to improve the bedrooms and wider hotel environment. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Thanks Josh Phillips
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jon e wrote a review Sept 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom18 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Having read some recent Trip Advisor reviews I was a little concerned before arrival for a four night stay at The Grove with my dad. I needn't have worried. Yes, the decor is a little dated but our twin room was clean, breakfast was fantastic and the staff friendly and accommodating. I wasn't expecting 5 star for the price unlike others it seems! Also people - the staff cannot enter your room because of the pandemic so if you run out of stuff - communicate! Everytime we did, whatever we asked for was at the room five minutes later. Special shout out to the blond haired lady (sorry never got the name) who welcomed us on day one and seemed to be working all hours. She deserves a raise :) . The only criticism I have is the number of times I needed to get the key card reset!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from martyn young, General Manager at The Grove
Responded 19 Sept 2020
Hi!! Thankyou so much for taking your time to review. Yes we completely agree we need some decoration and we are having a refurbishment this winter. The key cards are becoming more and more of an issue with the onset of smartphones (they wipe the roomkeys) and this will also be sorted during the refurb. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you again next year with a brand new Grove!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pauley85 wrote a review Oct 2021
Cardiff, United Kingdom3 contributions18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the hotel at the last minute the night before our stay for £115, which we thought was probably fair, we selected it due to The attractive looks of the hotel exterior in the photographs.

As soon as we entered the hotel it was clear that this was a very tired pub. Although the manager on shift, Mark, was quite amenable and helpful. We decided to go out for our evening meal to an outdoor pizza pop up restaurant ‘Grain’ quite charming.

When we entered our room, Room 10, there was immediately a damp smell a bit like cabbage boiling. The room was well appointed to be fair, with a big shower room. However again it just looked extremely tired, thin paint everywhere, the floor finish was worn thin and there was a lot of signs of damp that had simply been wiped off but the mould residue was still evident.

There worst part was that there was an emergency light on the ceiling directly above the pillows of our bed. The green battery back up light for this was shining in our faces all night, which resulted in a terrible nights sleep for both of us.

At breakfast the coffee machine was being descaled which meant I had to go back to my room to make a coffee from the Nespresso, why would you do this at breakfast?? I also had to go back to our room to use the toilet as the pub toilets were very poor.

We decided not to risk anything cooked for breakfast after seeing the chef emerge from the toilets after quite some time. Instead waited 20 minutes for 4 slices of toast. The manager appeared quite embarrassed and rightly didn’t charge us for breakfast, but the gesture was appreciated.

On my way out I was surprised to see a number of the floor tiles by the bar severely cracked and damaged, held together by duct tape. I felt sorry for the manager that the pub had clearly been so poorly invested in by Brains brewery.

This should only be a booking of last resort.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid staying here until it receives a full refurbishment.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Horton, General Manager at The Grove
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Thank you for your review and my apologies that your experience was less than excellent, having recently taken over at The Grove I am keen on speaking with any guest who has a less than excellent experience. If you are happy to chat about your experience then please call the hotel and ask to speak to myself. Kind regards, Mark - General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
474jenettea wrote a review Sept 2020
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom24 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just arrived back from an overnight stay at The Grove Hotel with my daughter. We love St David's and wanted somewhere comfortable to stay, we were not disappointed. Firstly the staff were extremely friendly and helpful on our arrival. We were given an upgrade due to an issue with the room we booked and I was impressed with it being sorted beforehand. Staff then went through the social distancing measures that were in place, making sure that we understood. The one way system was clearly marked and hand sanitizers were stationed around. The room was lovely and spacious as well as being very clean. My daughter was very impressed.
I had booked a table for our evening meal, the menu had lots of choice and the food was delicious and hot.
This morning's breakfast which was included in the price was very nice and again the staff were very friendly efficient.
Both check in and check out was done online and was very easy to do. Myself and my daughter loved our stay and will definitely be booking again. I would highly recommend The Grove and would like to thank all the staff for their warm welcome and friendliness.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from martyn young, General Manager at The Grove
Responded 3 Sept 2020
Hi! Thanks for your lovely feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here and would love to see you again. Take care
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
caroline-thomas wrote a review Sept 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights at The Grove Hotel in St David’s whilst walking the coastal path. Our room, Room 9, was dark, gloomy and had an overwhelming musty smell. The consequence was that we had to have the windows open permanently but this compromised our security when we went out as the room was on the ground floor. Even then the smell never left the room. There was also mould on the shower ceiling and dirty hand marks on the doors. The tea and coffee was not replaced and only enough for one night so we ran out. Likewise there was no spare toilet roll and again it ran out.
Breakfast was served at 15 minute intervals and no convenient slot was left when we arrived, the reason given was because of COVID 19, but the tables were all socially distanced.
Likewise we were told we could only have dinner at 8.30 on the first night but when we arrived the restaurant was virtually empty and there was only one other couple eating.
The whole place had a shabby and neglected air and at £125 a night was an absolute disgrace. We agree with previous comments that Brains should be ashamed of itself for running such a establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from martyn young, General Manager at The Grove
Responded 15 Sept 2020
Hi Caroline-thomas, thank you for reviewing The Grove, lots has changed in our sector and we do have new rules which we must follow to keep our guests and team safe. In regards to the coffee and toilet role, we do explain to all guest at check in the new ways of working, as we can not enter your room after you have checked in so politely ask if guest can let us know if anything is needed and we could get that straight to you. Kind Regards, The Grove
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joneseybj wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Certainly not worth the cost
Liked · Location
Disliked · The room we had room 11 was damp no air, we arrived the floor was wet from being cleaned, it remained wet for hours due to the condensation. The musky smell was terrible, dark and dingy and the bathroom desperate for an upgrade, I compared rooms on the website which looked nice and saw we were paying the same rate. I would class it more a store room. Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from martyn young, General Manager at The Grove
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Hi Pollybj, Thank you for taking the time to review our inn, with out making excuses the Grove is an old building and with wet weather we have had hasn't helped with some of the issues you have raised. we are due a refurbishment in the near future and can only apologies we never lived up to expectations on this occasion Regards, Martyn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lilian A wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff at Hotel Excellent, Hotel a dump !!!!
How this hotel opened after being closed due to pandemic is a mystery, it needs a complete refurbishment , it would have been an ideal time to carry out refurbishment whilst closed. We were shown firstly to a room which had seal on door to show it
had been deep cleaned, which had furniture in I wouldn’t put on a tip, mismatched and of poor quality, windows were filthy, staff apologetic and showed us to a downstairs room which had just been cleaned therefore stone floor still wet, went for walk 1 1/2 left window open floor still soaking on return started to dry with hairdryer then looked at Stone wall also wet, as was bathroom wall, staff were extremely apologetic and efficient. Hotel owners do not deserve such staff if they are not willing to invest in property. Would never recommend this hotel to anyone and voted with our feet.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from martyn young, General Manager at The Grove
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Hi 188liliana, thank you for your kind words about the team here at the Grove, we are due a refurbishment and hope to welcome you back soon Regards, Martyn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
katamaral000 wrote a review Jul 2021
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After searching high and low for a place that caters for gluten free diets, stumbling across The Grove was perfect! We were seen within a few seconds and upon asking for dishes suitable for coeliacs, we were welcomed with very accommodating service. Especially the waitress Lauren who was super kind and checked everything with the kitchen for us. The food is also super lovely, I recommend the Taverners Chicken, they also do a deal which is two set courses for £12.50; BARGAIN!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Horton, General Manager at The Grove
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Thank you for your review and I am so happy that you had a great experience. Kind regards, Mark - General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flossy42 wrote a review Aug 2020
Chester, United Kingdom44 contributions43 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our 3rd visit & we really noticed how downhill the place has gone. It has great potential to be a lovely little boutique hotel. Lockdown was a perfect time for the place to get done up. The rooms are really tired, carpets fraying, wallpaper coming off the walls & the shower seal was black with mould. Brains you really should be ashamed of yourselves as a company to be charging such prices for such poor quality. I was really disappointed as this break was for my birthday & it should have been my husband & I & my Mum. I got a call the night before we were due to go to stay to say our double room was unavailable due to a leak. No fault of the staff & Martin was very helpful but even so it did spoil the break away. I was really taken aback about how run down the place is. We won’t be staying again until it’s been improved if it ever does?! Also a tip if you do decided to stay, avoid room 6 as this is right above the kitchen which is very noisy from about 6.30am-11.30pm, doors slamming, people speaking very loud & some sort of fan going constantly. Two terrible nights sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid room 6 very noisy above the kitchen!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pub Service Desk, Owner at The Grove
Responded 19 Nov 2023
Flossy42, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. I have taken over managing the Grove and a full refurb is under way.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from mewales
north wales17 contributions8 helpful votes
My room was very nice, but it was one of the larger rooms
William E asked a question Jan 2016
Bridgwater, United Kingdom28 contributions29 helpful votes
Is breakfast included or extra?
William E asked a question Jan 2016
Bridgwater, United Kingdom28 contributions29 helpful votes
Is breakfast included?
Pipscat wrote a tip 15 May
London, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here"
Read full review
Caroline O wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Relax and enjoy!"
Read full review
treacles73 wrote a tip Aug 2023
7 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book elsewhere if you can"
Read full review
NiceWeather? wrote a tip Jul 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom128 contributions85 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get breakfast in Pilgrim’s Cafe. It’s in the Visitor Centre opposite the hotel, and is the best full breakfast in town."
Read full review
Liz B wrote a tip Jul 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom190 contributions73 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Grove used to be so good, these days you are lucky to get even a drink"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. Davids area.
PRICE RANGE
£78 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grove hotel st davids
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesPembrokeshireSt Davids PeninsulaSt. Davids
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GROVE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Grove
Which popular attractions are close to The Grove?
Nearby attractions include St. Davids Cathedral (0.2 miles), St Davids Bishop's Palace (0.3 miles), and Oriel y Parc Landscape Gallery and Visitor Centre (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Grove?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Grove?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Grove?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Grove?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Really Wild Emporium, Grain, and MamGu Welshcakes.
Is The Grove located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.04 miles away from the centre of St. Davids.
Are there any historical sites close to The Grove?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Solva (3.7 miles), St Davids Bishop's Palace (0.3 miles), and Solva Woollen Mill (3.2 miles).
Is The Grove accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All St. Davids HotelsSt. Davids Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St. DavidsHotels near The Grove
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire