We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Waterings

Anchor Drive High Street, St. Davids SA62 6BW Wales
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 15 B&Bs in St. Davids
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated in a quiet location, close to the National Park Visitor Centre, the Waterings is a short walk from the city centre and its 800 year old Cathedral. The Waterings offers comfortable, quality accommodation surrounded by tranquil landscaped grounds. On offer are 5 spacious, well-appointed, en suite rooms, situated around a sheltered courtyard. Rooms facilities include TV and beverage tray and free WiFi. Other amenities include a tranquil water garden, picnic area and ample free private parking. A warm welcome awaits you with William & his family, we operate the B&B in a relaxed informal manner. It’s a self-check-in process for arrivals and continental self service style breakfast where you can help yourself and take the food back to your room.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Sofa
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English
168Reviews1Q+A38Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 127
  • 30
  • 8
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jon Wilcox wrote a review Aug 2023
Ipswich, United Kingdom17 contributions13 helpful votes
Stayed here with my partner for five nights in August 2023. Very highly recommended. Will is a personable, efficient and communicative host. The accommodation is ideally located within walking distance of St. David's cathedral and the local shops (CKs, the supermarket, is a few mins walk away), as well as being a short drive from Solva, Newgale, Whitesands, and so on. Our rooms were clean, warm, and comfortable. Basic breakfast was provided with plenty of lunch and dinner options nearby. One couple we met there has been going every year for sixteen years. This accommodation is run by a local family well known for their work for RNLI and we loved how embedded in the local community it was. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from William Chant, Owner at The Waterings
Responded 3 Sept 2023
Thanks Jon for your the amazing review, glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully I’ll see you again in the future. Kind regards Will.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gerard Sieljes wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
Will was invisibel, made no contact en when you tried to phone him: silence. Poor breakfast. Maybe in the past. Owner looks unhappy. There is no service, and Will didn't answer text messages. Costs still 100 pounds a night....
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try another bb
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from William Chant, Owner at The Waterings
Responded 6 Aug 2023
Thanks for the feedback, sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay. You phoned me on 2 occasions once I was working for the RNLI afloat performing a rescue, the second time I was behind the wheel of my car driving. You didn’t leave me an answer phone message on either occasion. Both my website and room information state the my accommodation is a self service style arrangement. I’m not sure why you thought I was unhappy, I went out of my way to talk to you when I showed you in and bumped into you on my property. Again I’m Sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay. I hope the rest of your holiday was more enjoyable. Regards Will.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Christine L wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
This was our first visit to St David’s. We stayed for 4 nights in the Captain’s room in the Waterings B&B. The accommodation was exceptionally spacious, a large bedroom, bathroom, there was a comfortable lounge where we could return to during the day. William was very welcoming, he was friendly and helpful throughout our stay. He ensured we were Kept Covid safe. The choice of breakfast was excellent, it was freshly cooked and nicely presented on a tray and delivered to our room. Thé Waterings was an excellent find, we would highly recommend it. Free Wifi and parking an added bonus. Thank you William. Christine & Robert.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JessicaPorky wrote a review Aug 2021
Nottingham, United Kingdom4 contributions
Excellent all round could not fault anything. Accommodation clean and covid safe. Spacious and plenty of cupboard and drawer space. King size bed very comfortable. Breakfast excellent quality, bacon and sausage. Fruit selection amazing. Delicious Pastries. Will could not do enough for you. Nothing was too much trouble. Location excellent two minute walk to the town. Would highly recommend you stay here. Veronica and Martin
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
akajudithchalmers76 wrote a review Aug 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom124 contributions77 helpful votes
Stayed 3 nights at The Waterings B&B. Will was very welcoming and provided a tray service breakfast, which was excellent. The ensuite room was clean. Handy position for St Davids centre and the coastal path.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LilianWales wrote a review May 2021
Wales341 contributions68 helpful votes
Our longed for return to this favourite venue in St David's was perfect. Rest asured that the owner has done everything possible to safe guard guests from arrival to departure. Breakfast was served in our self contained apartment - with bedroom, bathroom and lounge. Top up necessities for your room are available for you to access throughout the day. The Waterings is just a short walk to Main Street and its many shops and restaurants. There is a large private car park, edged by the free range chicken coup where your breakfast eggs are laid! The courtyard outside the rooms has been beautifully upgraded and has a definite Zen feel with a Coy Carp pond, trickling water feature and bonsai trees. I can thoroughly recommend The Waterings as a safe, peaceful and incredible value holiday residence. One of it's prime advantages is that it is small and personal, so make sure that you book well in advance of your stay, especially as summer is just around the corner. Enjoy!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I can only recommend The Captain's Room as that is where we always stay.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bicesterian wrote a review Sept 2020
Bicester, United Kingdom223 contributions196 helpful votes
Worked around the COVID rules really well, it was a self-contained apartment opening onto a large courtyard. The room size was great for the two of us with a nice lounge area & good sized bathroom (with bath). Will delivered a delicious breakfast daily (pre-order night before) which could be eaten at the table set up in the lounge. St Davids itself is small & quaint, but the COVID restrictions meant it struggled with the amount of visitors & finding somewhere to eat at a convenient time very difficult, booking is absolutely essential, unless you want to queue for the chip shop for 1/2 an hour. There is one supermarket with a range of hot snacks & nibbles if you are caught short. The Waterings provides great access to the coastal path (Pembrokeshire Way) which has to be the main attraction, as well as the impressive Cathedral of course. Well worth a visit & I'm sure Will would make you very welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from William Chant, Owner at The Waterings
Responded 1 Oct 2020
Thanks for the super review. Glad you enjoyed your visit. Kind regards Will.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
foolish13 wrote a review Sept 2020
nr hereford27 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed in the cabin boys room and we couldnt fault it. Lovely setting, lovely people and a place to park the car - what more could we want? Breakfast is a feast which gets delivered to your room to keep to social distancing rules and has lots of choice. The town, as usual was very busy but we did find places to eat (book beforehand if you can). Its also quite quiet - we hardly heard the other guests. Will use again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ronald L wrote a review Aug 2020
Market Drayton, United Kingdom41 contributions26 helpful votes
We first discovered The Waterings in August 2006 and my wife and I have returned every August since. To us it is most certainly 'home from home' and this year due to the pandemic things were different but our perfect host left no stone unturned to make us comfortable. Again we booked The Captain's Room, spacious, clean, lovely and comfortable. Delicious breakfasts were delivered to our door at the agreed time every morning and everything was done by Will to make us feel safe. An excellent location for all that St David's has to offer, ample parking and spacious gardens all help to make The Waterings such a special place to stay. We love holidaying there and we look forward to next year's week's stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: All the rooms are very good with views over the fish pond and the gardens
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from William Chant, Owner at The Waterings
Responded 1 Sept 2020
Thanks for the great review Mr Lucas. Stay safe. I’ll look forward to seeing you next year. Regards Will.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LaRackley wrote a review Aug 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
We loved our family stay for 3 nights at The Waterings. Such a great location; lovely and quiet too. My kids enjoyed making friends with the fish. A stroll from beautiful Caerfai beach or St David's. Very clean and comfy for the 4 of us, easily accommodated in the First Mate's room, with our own mini sitting room and diner too. Will is brilliant! Tasty breakfasts delivered to our door. Would definitely recommend to friends and family. And thanks for the duck eggs - we made delicious omelettes!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from William Chant, Owner at The Waterings
Responded 25 Aug 2020
Thanks for the lovely review. Kind regards Will.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. Davids area.
PRICE RANGE
£81 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesPembrokeshireSt Davids PeninsulaSt. Davids
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WATERINGS - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews (St. Davids)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Waterings
Which popular attractions are close to The Waterings?
Nearby attractions include Oriel y Parc Landscape Gallery and Visitor Centre (0.09 miles), St Davids Plant & Garden Nursery (0.2 miles), and Unsunghero Surf Shop (0.2 miles).
Is parking available at The Waterings?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Waterings?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Really Wild Emporium, Grain, and The Bench Icecream Parlour.
Is The Waterings located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of St. Davids.
Are there any historical sites close to The Waterings?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Solva (3.5 miles), St Davids Bishop's Palace (0.5 miles), and Solva Woollen Mill (3.0 miles).
Is The Waterings accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.