We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa

View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 118: English reviews
Start your review of Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms are large, very large no smoking however smoking just outside the door of room does linger from previous smokers if they don't move away from the door frame. 2 person spa bath overlooking valley to the north (private, I think) that is in the bedroom, gas log fire, large bed. Bathroom is large for a hotel, has large shower,...

Thank Scott H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Reception staff were very friendly. Our room was very clean and the bed was comfy and the room warm. When I got home I realized that I had lost my earring in our room. Ten minutes later a return phone call to say they had found it for me. What great service! Would definitely stay again.

Thank Faye M
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was onsite for a wedding and stayed at the property, it is in a picturesque part of town and the conference facilities where the wedding was held took advantage of this but as others have alluded to, more of a motel than a hotel. Reception isn't 24hrs, check-out is quite early at 11am, nothing on site. Restaurant is leased to...

Thank Tim A
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an enjoyable one night stay at Macedon Ranges Hotel. We arrived much later than anticipated, with the hotel calling us prior to closing in order to arrange an alternative method to check in. The rooms are quite quaint with a spa bath (that had some nice headrests as well), comfy bed (I slept amazing) and a nice gas...

Thank Ben M
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

When my husband said he had booked us into the Macedon Ranges Spa at $240 a night, well, let's just say I wasn't expecting your average drive up motel. I've stayed in plenty of those for well under $200 per night - perhaps a price check is required based on what the motel rooms look like nowadays (quite antiquated -...

Thank Lynette A
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We arrived quite late one afternoon but the lady at reception kept it open for us until we got there. It was very quiet the weekend we were there and there didn't really seem to be too many other guests. This was probably because the spa was currently out of order. Our room was nice and had a king sized...

Thank Jacki W
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

We have stayed here previously before the Day Spa had reopened and had a lovely time, so we were so excited to return and enjoy the spa as well as the beautiful rooms. We were not disappointed, the rooms are still beautiful, and the Spa is a fantastic addition to the hotel. Overall a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. We...

Thank Ema_L0u
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2017

The name of the place is hotel but it is really a motel- no amenities at all currently- the restaurant was closed, the spa was closed and the pool was closed. There was no room service. Reception hours are limited and there was no-one around after five pm. In fact the whole place was deserted. Despite this, we were put...

3Thank Jill999
StaffResponse, General Manager at Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jill999, We do apologise you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel and found the amenities limited. The hotel is located in Regional Victoria and I am sure you will find most of the hotel in the area operate with limited facilities during the summer months. However, we would be delighted to pre-arrange any requirements you have to...

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed at the Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa, we were hoping for a romantic getaway out of the city for the weekend but were very disappointed. The place feels like a day to day motel with a spa bath thrown in the corner. The view from the room is down onto a forestry plantation that...

2Thank John M
StaffResponse, General Manager at Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear John M, Thank you for your candid feedback and we are dissapointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are priced competitively when compared to hotels in the local area. Unfortunately, we do not have any control over the harvesting of trees in the surrounding forest, however, the good news is that all trees harvested have been...

Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights whilst working in Castlemaine midweek. Most of the place was vacant as it looks to be mostly a holiday function venue. The location is beautiful and peaceful. The rooms are clean, modern and roomy with a spa overlooking the valley in the room. I can imagine coming back one day for a personal trip.

Thank Peter S

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (24)
Room/Suite (7)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Bathroom (2)
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (6)
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macedon
14.8 mi away
Grange Cleveland Winery
Grange Cleveland Winery
#1 of 2 in Lancefield
222 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Grange at Lancefield
The Grange at Lancefield
#2 of 2 in Lancefield
59 reviews
1.3 mi away
Black Forest Motel
Black Forest Motel
#1 of 3 in Macedon
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Woodend Old Schoolhouse B&B
3.4 mi away
Mirkwood Forest Self-contained Accomodation
3.1 mi away
Braeside Mt Macedon Country Retreat and Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa is a boutique property comprising 36 beautifully appointed rooms, The Macedon Wine Room and The Macedon Valley Conference Centre. The day spa and swimming pool are currently closed for renovations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa

Address: 652 Black Forest Drive, Macedon, Victoria VIC 3440, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Macedon Ranges > Macedon
Price Range: £96 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on level one quieter than ground floor next to car parking.”
U8343XLscotth, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Away from any other guests”
Jill999, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“spa bath tub with the view in each room, gas heater”
vitilon2905, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for an upstairs room for better views”
JP69445, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
dmarn0tt, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$131* /night
View Deal
View all 7 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates